paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 / Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 / Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007

Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 76
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
I3 Pro Features:
* Soft Ears with CoolMax backing, super light injected material. Deflect many of those ears shots without a break.
* Comes standard with advanced anti fog High Definition Single Lens.
* 2 stage foam is specifically designed to sheet sweat and moisture away from your face. Open and closed cell foam technology provides comfort and moisture wicking properties.
* The patented Invision3 Multi-Directional Venting will throw your voice farther and clearer than any other vented mask on the field. Utilizing precise blade angling and a proven venting configuration, the Invision3 Multi-*Directional Venting will make communication with your teammates effortless, as if there were no vocal obstructions.
* Tri-Mold Soft Flex Technology offers various mask flexibility without sacrificing safety or performance. *Utilizing a revolutionary process of co-molding, the Dye design team has developed a firm base frame, coupled with a very flexible facemask and patented venting system.
* Silicone is out, woven rubber is in. The Invision3 retention strap system needs to be adjusted once and once only. Designed to fit your head and stay that way, like it should. The elasticity of the woven rubber straps will out last the competition. .
* The anatomically correct Invision3 Pro mask system offers the best of comfort and performance for the player. Tested at twice the current ASTM impact standards for safety. Good protection is key.
* Low profile and removable, the Invision3 visor adjusts vertically to provide maximum shade for your eyes and protection for your forehead.
* The Invision's compound radius lens gives the player the ultimate in vertical / horizontal peripheral vision and optical clarity. Setting the standard in visual performance, the dual-bowl lens design offers phenomenal visual performance.
* The Invision3 goggle frame is molded from tear-resistant polyurethane and is designed with maximum flow-through ventilation. Designed to be anatomically correct and low profile to your face, the Invision goggle frame is a first in the paintball industry.
* Adjustable comfort chinstrap to secure goggle during active play.
Product Availability 
The Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Stalkin Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A plethera of JT's.
Marker Setup: Orracle 'Cocker with lots of shiny stuff
Strengths: Light! Comfortable! Vision A+! Sexy!
Weaknesses: Stock single layer lense fogs like crazy!
chin strap and chin coverage
price
Review: While looking for a new mask, I wanted a big window, light weight, good padding on the interior, great fit, comfort and security. A good price would be a huge bonus!

Seeing this one, I was willing to pay the $100. So I ordered and received the mask directly from Dye. I cracked that bad boy open and instantly noticed that it didn't have any lens protection film that I've often found on a new lens and that was listed on the instruction booklet. Looking past the really pretty amber tint on the lens - I saw that it was also single layer. I thought, "Okay... maybe this is something new for thermal lenses."

Yeah, I was wrong. It was a single layer stock lens. Maybe it was my fault for assuming, but I was expecting a thermal lens with a big dog mask like this. Reading about all the bells and whistles that it offered, I don't think a thermal lens is something crazy to expect - especially for the price. Reading some of the reviews here, I see that only one person reported fog issues. I've sent an email to Dye in hopes of finding out if it was their mistake during assembly.

First time using it - aside from the constant fogging - I loved it! It's comfortable, light and I can be heard through it easily. I can also easily taste paint through it, but I'll just play better next time. LOL! Lens is huge, but also is kind of a pain in the arss to clean and the lens isn't that scratch resistant.

I do wish that the chin came down a little more, not because of neck protection, but just out of preference. When you speak, your chin is exposed very easily.

-Ear pads are great.
-Foam felt like it could be better.
-Chin strap was uncomfortable, not easily unclipped, and the padding kept twisting around the strap - I stopped using it and had no issues.


ADDED:
This is what I got from Dye in response to my question about the stock lense.

Hello,
The I3 pro comes with a high definition single lens which has a scratch resistant coating, UV protection and optimal lens clarity. Thank you for supporting Dye and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Aurora Boling
Customer Service & Retail Sales
Dye Precision, Inc.
(858) 536-5183 ext. 229
service@dyeprecision.com


IF ANY OF YOU HAVE RECEIVED THE DOUBLE THERMAL LENSE WITH YOUR PURCHASE OF THIS MASK, CAN YOU LET ME KNOW. THANKS GUYS!
Conclusion: Looking back, if the mask came with the thermal lense, I'd buy it again. Comfort and protection is great.

Added 4/19/07 - installed my newly ordered thermal lense. Did a bunch of indoor matches last week and had zero problems with fog.


You should try it on, first, just to make sure it fits.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 19th, 2007 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nomahsib Tuesday, August 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage mask that I got as a starting mask for a present - Horrible
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion - Q-loc neck, 2006 Smart Parts Progressive barrel, DXS N2 tank, and VL egg 2
Strengths: Breathability
Small Profile
Comfortable
Fits Over Glasses
Bouncability - That's not a word :P
Weaknesses: Price
Comes with Single Lenses
Review: This mask was perfect for me. I used to use the crappy Extreme Rage X-Ray something mask and they were absoloutely horrible! Although I have never tried the E-Vents, Profilers, Proflexs, ect. I still think this mask competes with them. The foam around the face is very soft. Some people complain that the stock lenses fog really easily, but I haven't had that problem yet. Another big worry for me was that these wouldn't fit over my glasses from reviews, but suprisingly they did fit very well. The only weakness to this mask that I have seen so far is the price. For a brand new one the lowest price I could find was $90 and topped out at $110. You can get them used for a lot cheaper though as the resell price isn't great.
Conclusion: Overall, I am very pleased with this mask, but it may not be for everyone. Masks come down to personal preference. Get whatever is comfortable for you. Just don't be cheap and buy a $20 mask because remember it's your eye protection you're paying for.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

boing7472 Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Varios Rental Mask(none even close)
Proto Axis(Close but not quite)
Dye I3 Invision(same but slightly heavier)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 20th century limited edition marker
12in J&J ceramic barrel with apex
Collapsible stock(helps my accuracy)
Respone Trigger
Techt A fang trigger
Dye stickies
Apache Ricochet
Strengths: Light
Very Comfortable and snug
Looks great
Thermal lens
Good protection
Low profile
Wont fog
Weaknesses: Lense removal
Review: I recieved this mask for Christmas and fell in love with it. When i first saw it I noticed it was unwrapped and out of the box. I looked at my Dad and he just smiled and said, "I had to try it on, it looks so comfortable."
and boy was he right. you only have to adjust this mask once for your headsize, it never slips out of position. The mask never once fogged up or slipped down. The thermal lens cut down on deception and had a very wide field of view.
The foam around the mask is very comfortable and cover every part that your face touches. Dye has even included some soft ears that can be bought in different colors or patterns that match your style.
the mask is great!
Edit 2-22-07
Have played with mask about 8 times now, hasnt fogged up once, hasnt slipped still excellent.
Conclusion: I say if you have the money, buy it! Its pricy, but well worth it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 22nd, 2007 at 5:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

okitoki Monday, May 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Events
JT Flex8, Proflex, Proshield, IZE
Vforce Grills
Marker Setup: Dye NT
Dye Ironmen DM9
Empire Prophecy Loader
Ninja Regulator
GA Myth V1 with HP Spring
Luxfer fiber wrap bottle

Strengths: Comfortable, breath well and well sized for big heads like mine :)
Weaknesses: Lens changing... Foam
Review: OK, I originaly bought a used I3 to try out, and it was the most comfortable masks I have ever used at the time. Coming from using a full headed Flex8, and eVents, it was a god sent.

I had no issues with seeing with these lenses. The I3 I bought came with the mirror, HD yellow and smoke. During bright sunny days, I found the mirror lens gave me very good visual, with minimal glare and eye fatique. However, when playing in bushes, I had difficulty seeing when in shadowed areas. I started using the HD lenses during Autumn and Winter time, and I have to say it was amazing with how clear I can see. (Specially good for weathers that is too bright Clear lens, but too cloudy for Smoke/Mirror lenses) No fogging at all...

Comfort wise is second to none... even now I am using Grills, and Flexes, the I3 is well padded, especially the ear. After getting shot by my ears, I have to say the I3 padded ears gave the best protection, with no pain, or ringing of ear. It breaths well, my team mates can hear me yelling from the back, and it covers my head and chin pretty well... when I had my vent, my first time use gave me a lump on my forehead, and a bleeding neck shot just below my chin.

OK, the bad part for the I3 is probably the same for all I3 owners... that the lens is a real major PIA to take off and clean...

if you thought it was hard to take it off... wait till you have to put the lens back on... its another nightmare by itself... I thought the Flex8 was hard to put back together, but this I3 raise the difficulty level by a lot :(
Specially comparing to how easy it was to take the lenses out for the Vents, Grills, I4....

Overyall, its a great mask to get... specially now the I4 is out, so you can pick up an I3 pretty cheap nowadays. Only down side I had was finding a new lens frame to replace my first one as the foam on it has completely fallen apart... But I guess I can try to find a replace from most BST.
Conclusion: Get one, its a great masks for tourny and scenarios at a great value for money now... but be warned about taking the lens off and putting it back on... it can be a deal breaker for some new users.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannCCI Monday, November 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
various rentals
dye i3 invision
proto axis
proto switch
Marker Setup: Tippmann 20th Anniversary Limited Edition
JCS Combat folding stock
Ricochet Apache
J&J Edge

CCI Phantom VSC
Strengths: Light
Hsnt fogged yet
breathable
Weaknesses: Lens removal sucks
price
Review: I have been playing with this mask for 1 year and it has yet to fog. This mask is so stinken light that i usually forget its on.
It is a big plus to your game when you dont have to worry about fogging and this thing also never slips, once you adjust it, it stays.
The mask has little to no voice restriction so you \r voice can be heard.
Breathing is never an issue you will never have to struggle for air.
And for all you glass' wearers, i can very comfortably wear this with glasss
Conclusion: This mask is expensive but you get what you pay for.
If you want a mask that you dont have to worry about during the game buy this
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jack Bauer Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Events (owned)
JT Pro Flex (tried)
JT Flex 8's (tried)
V-Force Profiler's (tried)
Marker Setup: Scenario:
SP-8, Opsgear Interceptor Barrel, Q-Loader (primary), Ricochet Apache (secondary), Adjustable Stock, Extended Foregrip.

Recball/Supair:
Angel One

Secondary:
Tiberius Tac-8
Strengths: Very Light
Extremely Comfortable
Customisable (Fan, Timer etc.)
Good Looks
Weaknesses: Price
Difficult Lens Changing System
Review: Ok, well where do I start? I'll tell you where, let's start with the box. One thing I noticed when the box arrived was just how small it was and how light the box was! I'd already tried a friend's pair and decided to buy some on that alone, but I wasn't prepared for what I received in the post! I had to open the box quickly just to check the goggles were in there because you see I was used to the big display cases of the Events as they were the only other pair of goggles I had bought!!

Once you open the sleek, customary Dye packaging, emblazoned with the words '20% lighter', you're greeted with the beautiful looking goggles. The contents are pretty standard- Goggles (fitted with Hi-Def lens), Visor, Bag and manual. However, the fun starts when you put on these goggles and use them for the first time!

One thing that hits you when you adjust the various straps (chin/head) to your liking, is just how comfortable this mask is. It really seems to slide on and off with such ease to the point that you hardly notice you're wearing them, which ultimately is what you want. As well as being very comfortable, these goggles are extremely light which again adds to the illusion of not wearing anything. Owning a pair of Events (which are also considered to be quite light), I found these goggles to be even lighter, however, don't quote me on that!

Another advantage to these goggles is just how breathable they are. Compared to other goggles that I've tried these seemed to be one of the most breathable masks i've used! Another neat feature is the ability to use a fan and/or game timer. Although I haven't bought or used the game timer, I have made excellent use of the fan. As well as keeping me slightly cooler, the fan also acts to help keep the lens from fogging up.

There are a few disadvantages with these goggles:
1. Lens changing is difficult- Not really a problem for me as I haven't needed to change the lens, the Hi-Def suits me just fine!
2. Slightly left vulnerable around the chin/neck area- It has been mentioned in a previous review so I thought I better reiterate it here. Although the neck are is slightly exposed, I've yet to be hit there and TBH this is not really the function of the goggles. They are meant to protect your eyes and if you want your neck protected then you should buy a separate neck protector. Saying that, I've yet to receive a blow to the neck area since using these goggles, touch wood!
3. Price- Well the old adage 'You get what you pay for' really rings true here. These are probably the best goggles on the market today and you have to pay a premium for that!
Conclusion: Having tried most of the best brands and top models, I decided to purchase these goggles. Why? Quite simply, they're the best on the market today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lear-pilot Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
20/20, Other Dye
Marker Setup: Currently, 3xAutocockers, SP8, Invert Mini, Tib 8, Stainless Complete Freek Kit, Eggy Z, Halo V35rip, 70-4500 Stubby, 45-4500, 42-3000 72-3000, and the list goes on and on
Strengths: Very light
very clear vision
Weaknesses: Could be better quality foam
Cost
Review: I love this mask, it one of the best out there, the high-def is crystal clear you can really see where you are puting your balls, I have used it indoors and outdoors, the only bad part is the cheep foam they use, could be thicker and more dence foam. with this lense you dont need any fan (atleast I have not found a need) and it works great in dark indoor places, my friends have tried my mask and they all want one now, do go to a store and try it on, it not like any yellow/orange tint mast.

I have noticed some nobs are getting the Die i3, and the Die i3 PRO mixed up, the Die i3 Pro only comes with a HD lens that is yellow/orange, and is a very special HD lens, not a normal yellow lens and does not come in clear or anything different. I have noticed even some of the pics on here are the i3 not the i3 PRO, please note the difference and dont get them mixed up
Conclusion: 9.5/10
Would be 10/10 if better foam was used
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 12:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nass Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex - little worse
Vforce profiler - alright
Proto switch - not comparable
Marker Setup: 2004 Shocker
nerve board
Freak barrel
NDz trigger
NDz feedneck
AKA sidewinder

2004 Lasoya timmy
Frenzy 113
CP barrel kit
Check-it ram
CP swoop trigger
Hybrid grips

2005 Proto matrix

CP sling trigger
LUCKY UN1 BOARD
CHEATER CHIP
14" ul barrel
cp on/off
Black Hyper 2 Reg
Black LP Bolt End
proto 6 feedneck
black CP rail

Crossfire 45/45
Reloader B with speedfeed and ripdrive
VL revvy with ghetto speedfeed
Strengths: LIGHT,LIGHT, LIGHT!
Breathability
Hi-def lense
comfertable
Weaknesses: Lense removal.
Review: I picked up a pair of blue i3 pros from Providence indoor Paintball for $80. I haven't used them yet but they are VERY light. Also the Hi-def lense it comes stock with makes everything brighter, even in the darkest indoor fields, Not to mention that it looks AWESOME. I am not disappointed in the mask, and just like any other DYE product, they are some of the best goggles outthere
Conclusion: If you have the money, pick up a pair.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thisisnotadance Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black/White Empire E-Vents
Marker Setup: Dm6
Vlocity Hopper
Crossfire 45/45
Strengths: Comfertable
Light
You can breath!
bad @$$
Comfertable
no echo
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
mask fogs sometimes
Review: I got gold I3 pros a couple of months ago from a person i met at gatsplat. First time i put them on, they were the most comfertable mask ive used, compared to my vents. just an opinion. I went and played with them for the first time and they were amazing. The field of vision is just incredible. They came with an HD thermal lense and its amazing. After playing with them a few times, i had been shot in the mask. This is the only problem with the mask ( if you consider this a problem) cleaning it is a pain. You have to have something very small to get inside all the vents.
Conclusion: In my opinion, these are the best masks out right now. there amazing. go out and get some right now. alittle pricy but its well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matt_Lind Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT
Events
Marker Setup: Ego 7

Angel +he ga+
Ultralight
Tadao




Pulse

v35 Halo

Strengths: Style
Feel
Lense
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
fog up
Review: When I first got my mask I loved it, took it out of the box, sleak and sexy, tried it on and the passion continued, they felt great, very comfterable, very close and tight fitting like events. The one thing I noticed is the lense the HD lense is amazing absolutly stunning.
After my first day of play the mask was great, never fogged up.
But during our hot weather +30 to 35 degrees celcius, they started to fog up all the time, where other masks at my field suck as events and flexs woudnt. But there are many factors contributing to this.
The other thing is these masks are a pain in the ass to clean, not just lense, but a shot in the mouth is a pain in the ass to clean and requires a lot of que tips.
Conclusion: Yes and no. I thought it was a great mask but I sold it and got events.
Im giving it a 7, lossing 2 points for fogging up and 1 point for being so hard to clean, i'd like to take off 2 for being hard to clean but this mask does not deserve a 6.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media