paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK

Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tacamo

Buy Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The TACAMO Type-68 paintball marker was designed as a training tool for an elite military force in China. Reliable mechanical semi-auto with no fragile electronics! It was also manufactured at a registered weapons factory in the People's Republic of China using actual production parts where possible. It is the same weight of the current issue Type-56 assualt rifle used by militaries throughout the world. Actual Type-56 rear sights - adjustable for elevation. Selector switch acts as second safety. Quick strip stock and back block for fast field stripping and cleaning. Forearm and stock are actual wood pieces from military issue Type-56. Actual Type-56 ammo magazine. Includes real military issue sling.
Product Availability 
The Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tacamo Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: tacamo 68D plain hoper soon to be electric 20 oz co2 tank soon with remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
none keep it original it looks great to realistic to change any thing
Strengths: Powerfull, acurate, very realistic, durable built to last like a real ak .
Weaknesses: Chops cheap balls sometimes.
Review: the tacamo is the most realictic paint ball gun i have ever seen lots of real ak parts on this babey built to last with heavey dutey metal, real wood no plastic acurate and powerfull and garanted to turn heads . 16 inch barel so no need to replace it with a aftermarket barel . I wouldent change any thing on this gun i would leave it as it is, far to real looking to do any modifications it doesnt need any . some people call this gun heavey how ever i havent found nothing wrong with the weight its the same weight & length as a real ak so its a benefit to the realisim . the onley thing i recomend is that u use a good qualitey ball becase it will chop a few of the cheap ones.
Conclusion: If u want a real looking ak that works good get the tacamo .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintmonster Thursday, July 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle (my starting gun horrible)
Alpha black bravo 1 very similar
Marker Setup: I have the stock Tacamo 68 D with spyder internals (stock) and I am getting remote line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
They only upgrade im getting and i would suggest would be the remoter line for your Co2 because you wouldnt want anymore weight on the gun.
Strengths: They guns fast
The gun doesnt break paintballs
It looks AMAZING
Its loud
Weaknesses: The gun is kinda heavy 8lbs.
Review: This gun is awesome if your looking for a great woodsball gun this is the gun its fast, powerfull looks great it comes with a long barrel (14inch) its is almost all metal and real wood a real army sling and ist priced around $250 to $350 but i bought mine for $200 canadien from AMEROPAINTBALL
Conclusion: I would suggest this gun to anyone it is awesome and works great!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Victory2b Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 and Custom pro
Marker Setup: I have the wood stuck version with no mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
Donít use a generic hopper get something like the qloader, it will look good and will help keep you firing more consistent.
Strengths: Looks Good, Heavier then most guns so it has a good sturdy feel and balance.
Weaknesses: Chops paint, cheap o-rings, Philips screws, difficult to dissemble and clean.
Review: I sincerely hope I just got a lemon and that no one else will because I absolutely love this gun but the list of issues I have had with it in such as short amount of time is ridiculous.

I have used several type of paint ranging from relatively cheap to tournament class (Signature, Cryptic, and even some White box stuff) and well it chops paint, lots of it. I guess I have to keep looking for more type of paint to try to bad I got 12,000 rounds still.

When it chops paint and you want to clean it properly thatís when the real night mare began for me. The manual has some simplistic instructions on how to disassemble the marker to clean it out but I had way too much in the thing for this to work so I took the entire thing apart.

The first thing I noticed when I took it apart is that whoever assembled it did two things wrong, not enough oil (No big deal) and they over tightened well everything excessively. I think I had to go to my shop and put it in the clamp to take off something about 7 or 8 times. This was very irritating to say the least especially when I got to the Philips screws that the used to put on the loading system on with that strips really easily.

After I finally got it all reassembled it leaked CO2, I thought no big deal I will just take it apart again and find out where I went wrong. The manual said that the issue might be related to a broken o-ring or the cup seal is damaged. I replaced the cup seal (Ironically this was the only replacement part that came with the marker and it was slightly different then the one that was already in it), a busted o-ring, then carefully oiled everything and put it back together. Needless to say it leaks even more air. I even double checked the manual and talked to a friend who also has a working one to make sure I assembled it correctly.

In shot it was made in China so I should have known better, oh well I will either replace all the o-rings or take it back to the store and get it replaced with another one and hope it works. Even after that bad experience I do love this gun more then my reliable Tippmanns because I have had so much fun playing with it even when itís busted and for that reason I am giving it a 9 out of 10.
Conclusion: For looks and authentic feel you just can beet it but if you want to actually use it the first thing you should do is replace ALL the o-rings, oil it to death and cross your fingers and hope it works.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jr albright Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman x7
Marker Setup: m4 stock and 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
rail sight and your choice of scope if you like to snipe
Strengths: Very durable, easy to maintain, shoots through jams, very accurate, nice weight,
Weaknesses: Weight can be a problem for weak people
Review: This is the coolest looking paintball gun at any course i use it mainly for rec ball (team slayer or capture the flag) for tose of you who dont play to much but yes this gun is very durable the weight gives the gun a nice feel i suggest a remote coil because the pistol grip on my gun got 2 cracks nothing major but it was from my tank from when i laid it down the grip would bend but yes the gun is fast and accurate and is very intimidating. in the 2 months i have had it its jammed maybe three times but all i had to do was cock the gun and fire and i was good to go a really cool feature on this gun is the removable magazine which you can use as an extra pod or as a tool holder i use it as a tool holder its very convenient. i recomend this gun to any player from anyone who is starting out to a pro its an all around great gun and fun to scare little kids with also its a great change from the classic m4 m16 guns they are cool and all but the ak47 looks cooler
Conclusion: Buy it, its an amzing gun especially for its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tripwire08 Friday, December 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tacamo type 68i with Spyder e-trigger, Viewloader loader, modern tactical sling
Tippmann A-5 w/B-6 bullpup conversion, APE board, red dot sight
All-original Tippmann model 98 (not 98C!) (one of my favorites)
Tiberius Arms Tiberius 8 pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-trigger
electronic hopper a must
Strengths: Accurate with decent paint
Loud, heavy, comfortable feel like a real gun
Weaknesses: Chops paint
Loud, heavy (yes, both strengths and weaknesses)
Review: Very fun, loud, heavy marker. It chops paint like a habachi chef with a sharp knife, so quality paint and a decent squeege are a must. Hard shell paints work the best, and I have found that the smaller diameters work better than the cheap stuff. An electronic loader helped ease the chopping problem tremendously, and the etrigger helped as well. In full-auto, a chopped ball really doesn't affect accuracy because full-auto isn't about accuracy anyway. I rarely play in semi or 3-round burst -- it is suppossed to be an AK for Petes' sake.
The weight is an issue on long, hot scenarios. I replaced the stock sling with a modern 3-point tactical sling and I am very happy with it.
Some people insist that you run a remote on Tacamos. It boils down to preference. It is definitely not required. (Careful that the weight of the HPA or CO2 tank doesn't loosen the screws under the grip, though.)
I have attempted to play with the stock folded out, but found that it is short and uncomfortable. I almost always play with the stock folded under.
Conclusion: For the money (I found a new one for under $200 a couple years ago), I'd say it is the coolest woodsball or scenario marker out there. Not the most accurate, not the lightest, or quietest -- but neither is a real AK. I like the sheer firepower that it pretends to have, which, I have found, DOES have an affect. (A loud full-auto marker does make people behave differently). Cool unique marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IXNOR Saturday, August 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 (with the works)
Marker Setup: 09 Spyder Pilot
14" j&j ceramic
Egg III
Torpedo Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly E-Grip, but not required.
Remote coil
Strengths: Strong
Accurate
Weight
Looks
Weaknesses: Shoots hard out of box
Grip (see review)
Review: I LOVE this gun. My dad owned one a while ago and I used it quite a bit. It looks amazing and shoots pretty straight. A lot of people cant handle the weight of the thing. It is heavy, but If you cant handle it, dont play with it. I still play with it when I can, but only for woods/scenario ball. I really like the wood on it, but the grip has a tendency to split when you put a full 20oz Co2 tank on, so either run a remote or smaller tank. Besides the grip, this gun is indestructable. I have treid to kill it, but I have failed every time.
Conclusion: This is a great scenario gun. Very durable and accurate. If you cant handle the weight, go visit the gym or get a new gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hoov Monday, April 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mr2, custom 98, Alpha Black
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Apex
Recommended
Upgrades:
I heard a regulator might help
Strengths: Looks great
Weaknesses: It chops and isn't very accurate
Review: I bought this Marker off ebay a couple of weeks ago. The Tacamo is a very nice marker and it's not expensive. I tried it around the house and it seamed to chop alot. I lowered the velocity as much as possible but it still chopped and the balls sheared. I tried cutting the spring to reduce the power and it seams to have helped a bit for the accuracy but it still chops. I am still seaking for solutions to make this machine work properly.
Conclusion: Out of the box, it's a very nice looking gun but I wouldn't use it on the field since it chops alot and isn't accurate at all.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kona156 Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a few tippmanns modded up to be scenario/tactice, they dont feel as real when things start to get ........ exciting
Marker Setup: I made a suppressor for it, which extends the barrel another 4 or 5 inches, but it make it quieter and thats all i need
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend actually investing in a company made suppressor, it helps with accuracy and quiets the gun down quite a bit, its still noisy, but its not as loud any more
Strengths: It can be dirty and still keep truckin through. and is also good lookin'
Weaknesses: The weakness is its sound, the barrel being the length and design.
Review: This gun is very reliable, if i could afford it, i would by all the models and use them to see which on i favored most. these guns are so reliable ive fallen into a bunch of sand, squeegeed the barrel added some oil till i could clean it properly then got right back with my guys and fired
Conclusion: I would say, yes invest in it, it'll be the best gun you could get ofr scenario
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cheyenne D S Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RAP 4 Gen 3 Sniper Rifle, BT4 Assault Rifle. The Tacamo AK47 is a solid marker
Marker Setup: RAP4 Gen3 Sniper & Tacamo AK47. Accessories ? More things to break. Simple is better
Recommended
Upgrades:
The firing bolt and the velocity adjuster need to be replaced in all of these. My home base paintball shop built replacements for my marker, our team's markers, from scratch. Karl, Paintball Bunker - Certified Paintball in Ottawa, Illinois
Strengths: Awesome, Awesome looking, weighted like a real AK47 (realism)
Weaknesses: weighted like a real AK47 (can be tiring)
Review: Our team has 5 of these. They are intimidating, realistic, cool markers. You won't feel like a kid carrying a toy when using this marker (grown men carrying those silly looking speedball toys at WWII scenarios.....no thanks) . Many of the parts are actual AK47 parts. Have had no problem with the rings that others posting here have mentioned, but we did find that the firing bolt was chewing itself up and the screw holding the velocity adjuster was too short. My homebase paintball store built us new parts from scratch to replace the firing bolts and velocity adjuster screws and the markers have worked quite well ever since.

They're loud and look awesome

You must use high quality paint or you'll gunk this marker up. Last scenario = 1,200 shots, 3 chops, fired well throughout with Marballizer. Shoots Vein well also. If you want to shoot $ 40 and under paint don't buy this marker. In fact if you want to shoot $ 40 and under paint don't play paintball. Quality paint brings out the quality of this marker.
Conclusion: We had to get our home base paintball shop to build us new firing bolts and velocity adsjuster screws. They work great now. But I'm giving a 9 instead of a 10 because of the 2 imperfections that must be corrected to get the maximum enjoyment out of this marker. This is a monster marker for looks and sound
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

radar420 Saturday, December 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none that looks or feels similar but for acuracy and power a good competition is either the alpha or bravo one's.... also military training tools for canadian and us armies.
Marker Setup: stock type 68.... i've been looking for parts, i want to buy an under folding stock and a bipod... other then that im working on a few projects and im gonna make my own stocks and foregrip pieces... my side-folder is almost done and looking beautiful
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEEDS TO BE MADE:

scope mounts, bi-pods, barrels (especially a rifled barrel)
Strengths: ACCURACY IS KEYYYY add some orings on the barrel... I LUV THE WEIGHT good workout.
Weaknesses: Co2 tank feels uncomfy with the stock (buy hose)... huge mask + small sights = problem
Review: MY VOTE 9 BECAUSE IT NEEDS MORE PARTS AND WHAT NOT.................AND A MANUAL......... IN ENGLISH. notify me.

if you're looking to upgrade it (ie: new stocks, foregrips, barrels, bi-pods, scopes and what not) then ur better off going with the tippmann a-5 or x-7 (more then enough to choose from)... if u like it for the authentic look and power then its a great choice especially price-wise.
Conclusion: I LUV IT.... its very very durable, i havent run it over n dont plan to but i no it can hack a mack truck none the less... plus i dont even have a squeegee or nutin wen i get i jam i usually turn my gun upside down n shoot a few times but i accidentally got a hole but of sande in the bolt and under the trigger n everything it shot like it was brand new...... if u ever come accross a problem though, good luck.... last time i went to a shop n the guy looked at me like i was about to rob him didnt no it was a replica lol never seen one b4 he didnt even no how to take it apart good thing nothing was really wrong with my gun it was just a snapped o-ring in the bolt (probably from showing off its durability.... ya its great but dont get carried away)

AND 1 MORE THING.... ALL OF U PPL WHO SAY TAKING OFF THE STOCK REDUCES THE WEIGHT...... HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA U TURDSSSS YA IT REDUCES THE WEIGHT BUT NOW WHERES UR STABILITY???? THE WHOLE POINT OF A STOCK IS TO STABLIZE THE GUN TO UR SHOULDER AND RELIEF THE STRESS OF WEIGHT...... THEREFORE..... TAKING OFF THE STOCK WOULD ACTUALLY MAKE IT FEEL HEAVIER........but no.. ppl dont think these days -_-
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 20th, 2008 at 5:21 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media