paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7

Proto Matrix M7 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M7

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M7
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unequaled quality, meticulous engineering and impeccable design are just a few of the reasons why Proto is the first name in paintball. The new Matrix 7 has a host of new features like a jaw dropping body style, new programming with three firing modes, new settings and more sensitive adjustment levels that will allow you to tune-in your marker to your exact playing style. The M7 also comes standard with all new metal eye plates, a new clamp neck knob, low-pressure bolt kit, a new improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two-piece barrel. The trigger placement is 3/8" shorter, giving you more control by positioning your finger for optimal strength and speed on the trigger. Additionally, the M7 is 1/2" shorter and 3/5 oz. lighter than the M6.

- 1/2" shorter in height and 3/5 oz. lighter in weight
- Matching 2 piece Proto barrel
- New smaller internal modular LPR
- Hyper2 in-line air regulator
- Anti-chop eye system
- All new aluminum eye plates
- Low operating pressure
- Continuous three dimensional contoured body design
- Compact ergonomically designed milling
- Lightweight compact body
- Proto Matrix grips
- LED program control
- Ergonomic 45 grip frame
- Proven 1 piece bolt system
- Improved trigger placement
- Stamped metal insert logo
- Proto on/off bottemline
- Adjustable locking feed neck
- Multiple firing modes
- More sensitive trigger adjustments
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M7 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Jeff_Meister Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month52 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Shocker
Dark Intimidator
PM6 w/ UL frame
Marker Setup: PM7 w/ UL frame
-Tadao M7 Board
-Virtue Laser Eyes(Blue)
-DM6 spring detents
Powerlyte Scepter kit
Reloader B Diamond smoke shell w/ speedfeed
Vlocity Smoke
Macdev Legionair HP 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite frame
Barrel
Strengths: Weight
Size
Weaknesses: Nothing to mention
Review: PM7:
Autococker threads
HP or LP tanks

First Impressions
I had ordered a limited edition Champagne colored PM7. When I recieved it the packaging was very nice, as to be expected by Dye. The anno was stunning, its very close to clear, but in the right light you can really notice the difference. You can just tell its high quality as is everything Dye makes. What was included was:
-Dye Slick Lube
-Allen key set
-Proto 2 piece
-Barrel condom
-Repair Kit
-Warrenty Card
-Manual

First actions
The first thing anyone should do when recieving a new marker is READ THE MANUAL. I have a lot of experience with PM markers so I quickly skimmed through it, but kept it as a guide line close to my side. This is the list of what I did before even firing the marker:

1. Take the bolt out and replace the inner top hat and inner Beer can O-ring. They are the only O-rings one the bolt that are Urethane ones compared to buna. The reason for this is because Dye does not want to deal with bolts that have debris in them because buna is a weaker O-ring. If you clean your marker regularily you will have no problem. Buna O-rings are a lot smoother. Lube the entire bolt with your lube of choice. Good options are Slick Honey, Hater Sauce, Lurker and acceptable ones are Dye Slick, Dow33. I personally use Lurker because it works great and is cheap.

2.Replace the factory battery. It will be low and can result in poor performace. You should do this with any marker you recieve.

3. I took a strap wrench and took the top and bottom off my Hyper 2 then screwed them back on by hand so they are loose and I can clean them whenever I like. Some people say to clean your regs right when you get your marker, theres really no harm in it...but the Dye factory goo is really good for the breakin period. Put a couple cases through then lube. I lube the regs with Dye Slick lube as it is more of a resin then a lube and works well on regs, also wont void your warrenty.

4. I took my frame off, disconnected the eye wires and solenoid wire. I took my trigger spring and cut 3 coils off of it, then put it back in the trigger. I did very little adjusting as I dont mind it how it was set originally. Check your eyes to make sure they are working after you reassemble.

5. This is an upgrade and optional portion. I got DM6 spring detents for $5 and replaced the stock ones with them. They require no mod like on the PM6 and work very well, you will never have to replace your detents again.

6. Aired up the marker and Dry fired, no leaks, cycling properly...good. Dont fine tune at this point just leave settings as stock until the regs are broken in and then fine tune, only after you clean both regs.

7. Loaded up my hopper, ran paint through it. Shooting ropes even with the stock trigger, no problems, no chops, eyes work, everything great. Kick is a little high, efficiency a little poor...its the break in period.

Review

The PM7 is almost exactly like the PM6 with a few minor changes and some nice user helpful features put in. You will notice by just looking at it is is shorter, 1/2 shorter to be exact. Its also 3.5 ounces lighter. There is also a knob on the feedneck, no more tools required to tighten, thankyou Dye. The one pc composite eye covers are gone and replaced by 2 metal eyes plates, very nice. Picking it up you will see the trigger has been moved back and is more comfortable. When you open the grips to change your battery you will see the board is now perpendiuclar to the frame as opposed to parralell. The Eye wire also has a nice tab on it to grab to remove the eye wire. The LPR has been shortened, but the HPR is the same, apart from the allen key hole on the top looking different, its still the same size. The LPR cap is round, and the bolt cap has no grooves as the M6 had. The bolt itself gives slighter better effiency do to less air being in the chamber, you can see the difference between the M6 and M7 bolt. The gun shoots as all high ends should, fast, low kick, accurate. That is why I dont list them as strengths. Every High-End has these, and the PM7 is no different. The Operation is the same as the M6, as is the speed and the kick. The board however is different sporting 3 modes of fire plus 1 hidden mode. Simply click the trigger 4 times in mode select and it will fire in NXL full auto, once again very nice.

Upgrades
The only upgrade I see as madatory is the UL frame. That being said its not for everyone, some really do not like the feel. The reason I choose the UL is quite simple.
Here's the advantages.

-Thinner Frame(better for one handed shooting you back players)
-Lighter Frame(you will notice a difference)
-Roller Bearing trigger(One of the best on the market)
-Outside trigger adjustments(no more taking the frame off)
-Outside Rail adjustment(no more removing grips and battery)
-Ego style prong battery connectors(goodbye broken wire harness)
-HUD LED(no more looking down to see whats wrong with you marker)
-Bright grip LED(Looks nice)
-All the modes as the stock board(minus the hidden NXL, yes it is a sad loss)
-Raises resale rate(should you care)
-New Gell Dye Sticky grips(far better than the stock Proto ones)
-Membrane pad buttons(easier to press with gloves on)
-Looks better(opinion I know...)

****There are no triggers for the PM7 UL frame(there is a mod to DM6 triggers however)****
****PM7 UL frame takes DM6/7 boards, the Virtue board requires an eye adapter for the PM7 eyes, the Tadao M7 Universal board does not****

Barrel
The stock barrel is ok but not great, its only 12'' and .691. I personally use a Powerlyte Scepter kit and like it quite a bit. Other great options are the Dye Ultralite barrel, and the Lucky Un1tec(although they are now UK based).

This marker has a few nice changes to the M6, I got it because I think its worth it and I can have this marker for quite some time to come. I hope this review helped some of you out there, should you have any questions just ask.

Conclusion: Its worth it, buy it. 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 7th, 2007 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

antt Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pms and Dms , timmys, freestyles, other stuff
Marker Setup: Sling Shot
my hands hold my paintballs
My back up is a potato cannon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Light
Sexyness
New board
Trigger is located further back
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: They had it at my local shop and i got to mess around with it. I think it feels much different then the pm6, or pm5. Both the 5, and 6 seem to be more compact length wise, but the pm7 seems longer, but is shorter and weighs less. It feels more like the dm6 just with the lpr in the front, and smaller. The trigger is also very nice, and is located further back. It also comes with a new board with cool modes.

Edit:

Just got one. Its much better looking in person, the pics that are on ads really dont show how sexy this looks. I completely stripped it down and relubed it, i havent been able to shoot it yet because i dont have air but i will be getting some tomarrow and will edit it then. It is easy to change senttings on the board. Some of the screws are actually inside the marker with small holes for the allen wrench to toghten or losen, the eye covers are so much easier to take off then the old ones. Really its like the gun is a stick and a frame. The body is almost to small for the frame kinda out of proportion but not quite, with a UL it would probably look better, but thats if u really want it.
Conclusion: Its pretty sick. I gave it a 10 just becuase its nice, and i think that proto did a very nice job with the pm7, its similar to the pm6 but i think that it is more like a dm now, especialy with the new eye covers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 25th, 2006 at 8:23 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Guan Ero Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6,DM6, DMC, DM5, Angel G7, Karnivor, Ion, other fast low end such as spyder Electra.
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Fade Proto M7, Blue Halo B Victory 35.
Tippmann A-5 Flatline, E-grip, CAR Stock, Coiled remote.
Ion, Halo B Victory 35.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, maybe an Ultralite 14' barrel.
A fast Loader.
Strengths: -Light
-Fast
-Accurate
-Consistent
-Ergonomic trigger
-Programmable psp/millenium
-Quiet
-Nice eyes
Weaknesses: Barrel for some people.
Review: Now lets get a list of what has changed between this marker and the PM6
- It is 1/2'' shorter in height and 3.5 oz. lighter (as the box says).
-the LPR is smaller.
-Air regulator is better.
-Milling is a bit different.
-trigger ergonomics are better (it is easier to shoot with this trigger, some may disagree, but for me its quite easier.)
-It is programmable with the PSP and Millenium modes now.
-New and much better eyes.

When I first saw the box coming to the door of my home I was very excited, shame I couldn't test it until the next day, well I spent a bit of my time reading the manuals, which were very well done and explained everything as it should be to understand this marker .

When I had the opportunity, I went to the closest air-ball field to test my new baby.
I filled my HPA tank up and was ready to shoot. I had no problems on putting my halo B V35 onto this thing, the neck is flawless, I was very excited by now, started to drop a load of WPN paintballs into my loader and went into the field to test it, I started to shoot at a ROF of 20 bps (standard) with trigger sensibility of 3 (standard is 5) yes, I like sensible triggers. my first impression was: wow this gun is accurate , and after taking the first ten shots I decided to try its speed, so cracked up my fingers and got ready to roll, I started shooting with both fingers as I saw the rope of paint coming out of this marker, I was amazed of the speed it can take without loosing any accuracy, thank God I had a Halo.

but after half of the loader was emptied problems started: paintballs started to break into the barrel, I was kinda mad because I hate to tear Apart a marker to clean its eyes, but after I took the barrel off, just figured the second part of the barrel wasn't properly screwed, thank to God (again BTW) the eye was as clean as It could be, so I took apart the barrel and cleaned it,and kept having fun all day long with no breaks In the barrel or any other kind of problems, I shot about 2000 paintballs that day.



Conclusion: If you are into pro tourney paintball and don't got the money to buy a DM7 (which Im not sure if you can buy it yet, but don't worry It'll come out). Get this marker, it won't let you down, As above I recommend it over a PM6, every single penny you spend on this one is worth in my opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

508ftw Tuesday, October 24th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 60 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6
DM6
Nexus Ego
SL66
Etek
Marker Setup: Ice SL66
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame
New Trigger
Strengths: Super Light
Shot Darts
Dead Accurate
Quiet
Air Efficient
Weaknesses: Basically the Same as the PM6, Only More Milling
Review: This is a very good gun. It is SUPER accurate, and was as quiet as hell. I got to test it before they came on the market, and I am going to pick up 2 of these. Although it is basically the same as the PM6, the extra milling makes it even lighter. I would definetly suggest you pick one of these up when they come out.

Conclusion: Okay gun, but I give it a 7 because it is not that different from the PM6.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 26th, 2006 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

PROTO47 Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman, ion, shocker, karnivor
Marker Setup: proto matrix 07, halo b, dye 07 tank cover, crossfire 68/45 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
it doesn't need any
Strengths: Very fast
Light
Strong( doesn't scratch)
Air Effecient
Accurate
Shoots ropes
Comfortable
Quiet
Weaknesses: I dont really know. I have not found any yet
Review: this gun is a good buy for the price. It is alot smaller than the pm6 and alot of people say that the pm6 is the same when in reality its not. this gun is worth its price. its everything that you need not like the higher priced guns that add on pointless upgrades. It is a very nice gun that is sleak, light , fast and more.
Conclusion: I would buy this product if you have the money because it is very nice shooting and worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ilovemyproto Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive tested a Ion, dosent compare. i have a spyder and An A-5, and an autococker,they dont campare
Marker Setup: Proto M7, richochet apache attack hopper, Dye peanut 68/4500.
Lotus body autococker, on/off ASA, E2 eblade, richochet apache attack hopper, Dye peanut 68/4500 tank.
Spyder Fenix, richochet apache attack hopper, Co2 tank
Tippmann A-5, Egrip, blade trigger, richochet hopper, Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
just shorten the trigger a few hairs, even though the trigger adjustment is so hard.
Strengths: Looks, feedneck, grip, feel. Stuff like that.
Weaknesses: Air Hog, if you shoot enough.
Review: i have to start off by saying i love this gun. i just got it and this was my first time. my autococker was always breaking down on me and i wanted a low maintenence gun. i decided to go with the M7, i went the first day and was shooting ropes. my team toally owned. even though i went through about 2000 rounds of paint, i loved it. i had to shorten the trigger becuase my fingers didnt like it.lol, after that, i was unstoppable with this gun, i felt safe.i never broke one ball, even though every 4 games, i needed to air up. it wasnt that bad, its defiently worth airing up every 4 games. i just kind of stood up and just fired taking out anyone in my path. also, ppl look at you with confidence(it kinda boosts my self-esteem). i love this gun and i suggest you get one if you want a low maintence gun.this gun wont let you down!

**update 4/14/2007**
i went paintballing again today. i tripped and the gun flew from my hand, it hit the ground hard, i picked it up and the grip was a tad bit loose, i asked the ref if i could go and fix it since i got out anyway. i went back to the parking lot, screwed the screw in, filled up my hopper and it worked perfectly, again. i looked at it and THERE WASNT ONE SCRATCH!! i was so amazed. i joined the second game and it was totally fine. even though when it hit the ground, just about every ball in the hopper broke, so i went changed out hoppers, cleaned the feedneck, and that was done. it worked beuatifully for the rest of the day, it only broke a ball once, but that was because the ball was already cracked, i remembered seeing a cracked ball go into my hopper, and i shot it out, it was still as fast and is very durable, there was no scratchs!! after a broken ball goes out, either turn it upside down adn dry fire it a couple of times of just keep shooting. it went thorgh about 4-5 curvy balls before going back to shooting straight. i simply love this gun and am never going to get anything else.
Conclusion: i love this gun and highly recommend you get this ASAP
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 15th, 2007 at 2:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Sunday, December 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, Vintage trixes, dm5, dm6, dm7, dm8, pm5, pm6, pm7. Trixes.
Marker Setup: UL'd Marroon PM7
Virtue laser eyes
Critical trigger
Virtue board
My gun pretty much kills yours...and then some.
Dye Peanut 71/45
Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame (preference), on/off, barrel, maybe a bolt kit.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Sleek
Cheap now
Smooth shooting
Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Inefficient (don't expect efficiency)
Stock barrel isn't bad. Could be better.
Review: Well. I've given dye and proto more or less, my hole paintball career. I love all of their products except for the rail.
I am going on my second Proto M7 in 4 months.
My first one was red and stock and my second one is LE marroon and UL'd with a bit of different things going on.
Lets get to the nitty gritty.

Feel: Well the feel of the stock framed proto m7 isn't great. It isn't bad either. Just not something that really wows me.
With a UL frame, the feel of the gun is infinitely better. Its so nice that a light gun deserves a light frame.

Board modes: Stock board on the stock frame of a proto is excellent. Semi, NXL, PSP, and Millenium are all offered. No reason to upgrade. Along with the UL board its better.

Efficiency: This is the only place that trix's lack. There is much to be desired. But I just easily sacrafice the efficiency for the excellence of shooting capability and the smoothness of each and every shot along with 0 kick.

Consistancy: I used stock settings at the chrono. Consistancy w/ stock barrel around plus or minus 6. Not bad. Not great.

Maintenance: I think its easy. Most disagree because they don't like how many 0-rings there are and I don't know, I think its easy.

Eyes: Proto uses ribbon eyes. STOP IT PROTO..NOW..these are delicate but easily changed. Though the eye covers are finally not that single piece of plastic. They are now metal separate covers.

Feedneck: Toolless, low rise clamping feedneck. Awesome.

Reg: Hyper 2 is an excellent reg.

On/off: Proto on/off isn't bad. Could be better. Smoothness is lacking but there are better on/offs (cp).

Field Test:
Used at a 5 man tourny. Shot consistant over the chrono. Lanes and lanes all over the field. W/ a 45/45 it was easy to snap out and get back in the bunker with out getting tagged.

With the stock trigger (stock frame) I don't understand why but I couldn't shoot lefty. I am perfectly fine shooting left with a critical trigger shooting lefty but I just don't know why I coudln't with the stock frame trigger.

We wend on to place 2nd in this tourny. Three other team mates are rocking this gun. That is saying something.

I have never had any problems with the 2 I have had. Just keep the settings stock, don't mess with them, keep the gun lubed and everything with be sweet.
Conclusion: Great guns. Go for 400 or so on Pbnation now. I like the 2 I have / had and will continue to use proto / dye products until I am done with paintball (There wil lbe the dm36 by then.)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nrgkilla9 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Defiant 2
PM6
05 and 06 Ego
Marker Setup: PM7
45/45 Empire Fuel
Velocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame
Barrel (optional)
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light
Quiet
Air Effecient
Weaknesses: Price
Not a lot different from the PM6
Review: I have practiced 3 times with this gun and I love it. A lot of people say it is not a lot different from a PM6, which is true, but it still rips. The eye covers and some of the milling are the only big differences. It is much lighter than the PM6. If you buy this gun stock you get PSP and Millennium modes. In my opinion, its worth paying the extra $250 for the PM7 instead of just settling for the PM6.
Conclusion: Overall I love this gun and I would recommend it over a PM6 and saving a couple hundred bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Morninwood Friday, July 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pmr
Mini
Spyders
Marker Setup: Pm7 w/ UL
Cp drop forward
45/45 crossfire
Empire b2
Recommended
Upgrades:
25 or more bps hopper is a must
Barrel works fine
light tank like a carbon fiber
UL helps alot and a trigger blade depending on how you shoot
Strengths: Quiet, fast, light, easy to adjust trigger
Weaknesses: Needs cleaning, and sometimes the bolt gets stuck.
Review: Pm7 needs the ul for some people. It helps with easy adjusting the trigger. making your gun light helps as well. If you find that the bolt gets stuck you only have to use an allen wrench to push the back forward intill you fell it move. The pm7 is pretty quiet compaired to other guns and has a very low kick.
Conclusion: For its price, its worth it. try one out when you see one. thats if your thinking about buying it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pm6_killa_cain Saturday, August 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
pm6 mini nnothing alike
Marker Setup: pm7 black dust
dye throttle 68/45
viewloader vlocity w/ speedfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, none other needed.
Strengths: Well balanced easy to handle fast accurate trigger placement and hidden nxl mode
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well i got the pm7 about two weeks ago. I took it out today and gave it the ultimite test. I ran slid dove and jammed it into the ground when i did it is DURABLE. i am horrible when it comes to walking the trigger and today i pulled probabaly 13 bps in semi then i put it at a 30 bps in millenium mode. i could make it jus go with the flow of my hopper. this is a great gun and i dont have time to write more about it sorry. Although i would love to write more
Conclusion: 10 out of 10 A
wesome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media