paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7

Proto Matrix M7 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M7

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M7
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unequaled quality, meticulous engineering and impeccable design are just a few of the reasons why Proto is the first name in paintball. The new Matrix 7 has a host of new features like a jaw dropping body style, new programming with three firing modes, new settings and more sensitive adjustment levels that will allow you to tune-in your marker to your exact playing style. The M7 also comes standard with all new metal eye plates, a new clamp neck knob, low-pressure bolt kit, a new improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two-piece barrel. The trigger placement is 3/8" shorter, giving you more control by positioning your finger for optimal strength and speed on the trigger. Additionally, the M7 is 1/2" shorter and 3/5 oz. lighter than the M6.

- 1/2" shorter in height and 3/5 oz. lighter in weight
- Matching 2 piece Proto barrel
- New smaller internal modular LPR
- Hyper2 in-line air regulator
- Anti-chop eye system
- All new aluminum eye plates
- Low operating pressure
- Continuous three dimensional contoured body design
- Compact ergonomically designed milling
- Lightweight compact body
- Proto Matrix grips
- LED program control
- Ergonomic 45 grip frame
- Proven 1 piece bolt system
- Improved trigger placement
- Stamped metal insert logo
- Proto on/off bottemline
- Adjustable locking feed neck
- Multiple firing modes
- More sensitive trigger adjustments
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M7 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Miggo Saturday, November 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker Vision 04
Marker Setup: Stock PM7
Dye ultralite barrel
Halo B hopper
Crossfire 68/4500 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite Frame.
Strengths: Weight and Size
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been using this marker for almost 6 months now, and I'm still very happy. I was suprised by the incredible weight of the marker when I first got it. Not to mension how accurate it was with the stock barrel. The reason why i changed to Dye Ultralite barrel is because I doesn't like short barrels (Yeah, i know its wierd). The board also got 4 different modes; Millennium ramping, PSP 3 burst, true Semi and NXL.

It doesn't use to much air either. I can easily shoot 1200+ balls before I have to fill up my tank. You can probably shoot 1800+ balls if you upgrade your bolt.
Conclusion: This is absolutely a alternative option for young people that cant afford more expensive markers. This is absolutely one of the best high-end markers I've ever used. I can highly recommend this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballr28 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
Alien
PM6
Etek
Ego 07
Fusion
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 07
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Eyes
-L7 Bolt
-CP trigger
Halo B with V35 and rip drive
68/4500 pure energy
A sweet Dye tank cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
board
bolt
nothing is needed, jsut makes it better
Strengths: -Fast
-Light
-Accurate
-Compact
-Quite!!!
Weaknesses: -Small Kick
-Tigger frame needs to be removed to ajust trigger.
Review: So i opened it out of the box and it was beautiful. I immedietly put on a tank, a hopper, and started shooting. First thing i noticed is how accurate and quick it was. Also i liked the size. I fit perfectly in my hand and was very light. Unfortunently I did have to replace a ribbon cable pretty quickly. They tend to be very fragile. But other then that the gun worked great.
Then I decided I would use it at a local field. It was a 400 Vs. 400 game that happens three times a year. The gub could just unload paint like crazy and was pretty effiecient. I got about 1200 shots out of my 68/4500 tank.

UPDATE: Well its been about 6 months of use now and it has been great. With a new virtue board and trigger the gun is faster then ever. I barely chop with this gun and it shoots great even in the cold new england weather. Unfortuently i had to sell it due to sponsorship issues and ill miss it greatly. The PM7 is one amazing gun.
Conclusion: Guns very good for its price. Its fast,light,accurate, and decently efficient. I would definetly reccomend this gun to anyone. I give it a nine though because the ribbon cable and how you have to ajust the trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 18th, 2008 at 4:29 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

scpb Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6,5,4 and shocker
Marker Setup: PM7 WITH VIRTUE BOARD,DM6 AND 06 MANIAC EGO.45/4500 and halo with v35 board and shocktech speed wheel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None,maybe a 14" tip or barrel



14" BARREL




Strengths: Fast very fast .
Profile
board
size
accuracy
weight
Weaknesses: None
Review: Its a great front player gun because of the size, weight and balance of marker.I set it up with a 45/4500 tank,halo and 14" Dye UL.It is more compact than my dm6 with the same set up.It was very well balanced,easy to switch hands and run and gun.You can play very tight with it.Very fast out of the box and with trigger adjustments it will rip just as fast as a DM6,so you don't really need to upgrade the board.The only reason I put a virtue board in is because I bought it at the same time as the marker.With fine tuning I am sure it will be just as efficient as my DM6,I average 5 pods and hopper with a 45/45 and a hot 4000 fill on my dm6.I bought it off ebay and after playing once I notice the lpr was set a bit higher than normal.So I will edit this review after I fine tune it and let you know about efficiency and kick.



















'
Conclusion: Very good buy for the almost same performance of a DM6,Speed ,ball on ball accurracy.You can always upgrade to a UL Frame and it may become lighter than a DM7.Also They have dropped in price to about 750 or you could find one ebay used for a bit cheaper.I plan to sell one of my spool valve guns to buy a 07 ego and it may be the dm6 because the M7 is very compact with about the same performance.So for price ,performance ,size, weight,and ball on ball accuracy I give it a 10+
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

crazypaintballe Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 07, other pm's, dm's, shocker's
Marker Setup: Black Pm7 with ul frame. Dxs Pulse, 68/45 lowpressure Dxs tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe ul frame, or board, even though i think it is perfect stock
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Quiet
Trigger
Light
Small
Weaknesses: None
Review: So I bought a black dust one off, THE MATRIX CENTER, and when i opened the box i was impressed. It is way smaller than the older pm's, and it weighed pretty much nothing. I think if you put a ul frame on it, it will be lighter than a dm7. So i air it up, go outside and start railing. It wasnt that fast but it was because i was using an egg that wasnt feeding that good. (My pulse is not working right now). So i borrow a freinds vlcity and wow, this thing is fast. Also every ball right in the same spot it was accutate. This thing is amazing.
Conclusion: Buy it, if your getting a dm7 don't. Get a pm7 with the ul frame. This is fast, light and amazzing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

G-Rock33 Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, 07 ego, DM6, Evil Minion, shocker
Marker Setup: Red to Black PM7 with UL frame. Halo-B W/ Rip drive and stiffi Barrel. Smart parts Max-Flo reg with pure enregy 45/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel and UL frame. UL only for its size and weight. the boards are not to much different
Strengths: Very reliable
Weaknesses: Ribbon eyes
Review: The gun Is very reliable and easy to use. it is simple to clean. The gun is very reliable and has very little problems. Make sure you have a fully charged battery or you will have problems with the gun. The only thing I don't like about the gun os the ribbon eyes. they are very fragile so you have to be very careful wwith them. the ribbon eyes is what allows the gun to be smaller so they are kind of necessary, but If the eyes are saying that they are malfunctioning make sure you switch the batteries before anything.
Conclusion: Awesome- put a UL frame on it and you have a lighter version of the DM7.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Azen Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have use to many markers to list all them. I have palyed games with most of the newer highend markers.
Marker Setup: right now I have a stock M7 with a Viewloader VLocity jr. hopper, 68/4500 tank, and the 14" freak kit.(my M7 only has simi suto because I'm bought it in germany)
Recommended
Upgrades:
the marker stock is great but like I did I would get a barrel for it.
you don't realy need anything for this marker because it is a great all around marker
fast hopper that can put out 25+ BBS
Strengths: Very light
Look if that matters
Snapshooting
Accurate
Weaknesses: Friend said it used to much air
Review: I have used this gun for about 2.5 months and have been very happy with it. first off, I have shot over 28 cases with this gun and only had 1 break ( it was a bad ball). I'm a back player in speedball and I love this gun because I can shoot almost any place I want to on the field with is very nice. I can put out 18-20 BBS in simi auto and my wife is not play paintball and she can put out about 10 BBS. when your playing speedball and you need to make a run for the bunker you can feel how light this gun realy is. I think the look of a marker is not realy matter all thet much but people keep telling me how nice it looks. I love cleaning my M7 because it could be very fast and easy to clean. I take my time when cleaning a marker and it takes me about 1 hour because I look at each and every peace. but if I clean it like most people do it taks about 15-20 mins. I have to ay this is a great marker over all because anyone can use it and clean it without getting lost.
Conclusion: I have to say this is a good marker for people that know how to use it and I DON'T think someone just starting to play paintball should get it.because they will know see how good it realy is.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 2:49 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintballBoy256 Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6
05 Cyborg
Marker Setup: Blue/Black PM7
Smoke Empire B2 w/SpeedFeed
CP 68/45 Tank w/Blue 07 Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
New Grips Or UL Frame For Comfort
Strengths: FAST
Comfortable(big hands)
Light
Sleek
Easy To Clean/Maintain
Overall SWEET Gun
Weaknesses: NONE
Maybe Price For SOme People
Review: Best gun I have shot/used so far throughout my paintball career, if you want a great, reliable gun that will impress you andyour friends in both performance and looks buy this gun. So far i have had no problems with it even though I have only had it for about a month. AWESOME GUN...
Conclusion: If you want a reliable gun that you wont have to have alot of problem with, this gun is for you...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madmanballer Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm6, ion completely doesnt compare
Marker Setup: Pm7
Crossfire stubby 70ci 4.5k
Soon to have pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL when it comes out
Strengths: Fast like cycling 28 no preoblem fast.
Light
Weaknesses: Maybe air eff.
Review: Put this gun on layway, took a month an a half to get. When I first held a pm7 I almost crapped my pants. This was by far the best feeling gun ever in my hands. Ive held many guns. This is one of the best looking guns ever. Ive seen many guns. I had somehow an extra $400 on me and decided to put it on layaway. Sold my a5 and finally went and picked it up. Took it home and had to wait to get my air filled. Cleaned the bolt and got air.Dry fired it and fell in love. Havent played with in yet but will finished review after I play with it.
Conclusion: I would buy a blue one if I could. You will fall in love with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mrpeanut49 Sunday, December 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm5
Marker Setup: Proto pm7, cp rake trigger, ul frame, dye ul barrel, vlocity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul frame; very good, helps walking, comfortable.
Strengths: Fast!!!
Very light
No kick
Incredibly accurate
Doesn't chop balls
Lpr!
Fairly efficient
Quiet
Weaknesses: Macro fitting leak (bought used)
Review: This gun is amazing. i bought it with a ul barrel on ebay for only $230 and it kicks my old a5's ass. I gassed it up and let it rip on a tree, and let me say the ul frame was worth it. it was so easy to get it going fast, and it had no problems besides the small leak in the macro fitting, although this was from the previous owner and was easily fixable. the gun also has very, very little kick and is very quiet. it shoots amazingly straight, and although I haven't tested it in front of a chronograph, the hyper two is very good too.
--EDIT--
I used it at a local field the other day and tested it at the chronograph. the first shot was high (due to anti bolt stick) and the rest were within +-5 fps. very very good. I destroyed all of the children and their rental guns :), and of course the serious players with egos and whatnot.
Conclusion: Buy it!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 3rd, 2010 at 10:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilevil Friday, November 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM 5,6,7
Proto 6, Rail, SLG
Smart Parts Ion, Shocker, Old Impulse.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
~J&J Ceramic 14"
~Cross fire 68/45
~QEV
~Empire Reloader B
~TechT L7
~Clamping feed-neck
~NDZ trigger
~NDZ drop w/ screw on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel ( A kit just for better paint match )
L7 bolt from TechT (better efficiency)
Ultralite Frame
Strengths: FAST
Lite
Small
Balanced
Versatile
Great Feel
Manual
Weaknesses: Barrel (will explain in body)
Review: Today i pick up this marker, a empire 7 piece barrel kit, i3 goggles, and an empire harrness ( i will post reviews on those as well) off a craigs listing...i couldn't be happier about the purchase! when i got home i loaded up a hopper, gassed it up and lit up a show-box size piece of ply-wood.

before i go any further, i want to state that the only upgrade is the red laser eyes.

First Impressions - No kick. the stood steady in my hands as i laid ropes down. also
deadly accurate, ball after ball right on top of each other, with the empire barrel kit. the stock barrel (which i had one from a different marker) is accurate, and great for getting use to the gun, but i highly recommend getting a barrel kit. your opponents won't thank me for it, lol. the consistency is spectacular on this marker. the hyper2 is a real gem, and its very easy to adjust. the fuse bolt is rock solid, but i would recommend a L7 bolt from TechT to lighten the marker up even more and to squeeze a few more shots from your tank. In my Ion i gained about 300 more shots just by switching to a L7 bolt. after abut 3 pods of paint, the marker was still clean. no chops in the breach or barrel. definitely a plus.

Cleaning - as i do after every use of a marker, i tore it down to clean, and in this case, learn how stuff is put together in this marker. all i can say is wow on the cleaning factor. easy as pie to a fat kid. and with the manual, there should be no reason for confusion when working on this marker. i've never owned a dye marker before (just played with) and now i can tear everything from the bolt to the regulators down with ease. i wish every single paintball company would take a lesson from dye on the manual quality, and a few on the marker itself.
Conclusion: like i said before i couldn't be happier with this marker. there is no reason to pass up this marker if u have a chance to get it, the only difference from the pm7 and the pm8 is the ul frame, and there going for as low as 50 on ebay. GET THIS MARKER!

i give it a 9.99, only because nothing is perfect. but since pbreview only works on whole numbers, i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media