paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7 / Proto Matrix M7

Proto Matrix M7 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M7

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M7
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unequaled quality, meticulous engineering and impeccable design are just a few of the reasons why Proto is the first name in paintball. The new Matrix 7 has a host of new features like a jaw dropping body style, new programming with three firing modes, new settings and more sensitive adjustment levels that will allow you to tune-in your marker to your exact playing style. The M7 also comes standard with all new metal eye plates, a new clamp neck knob, low-pressure bolt kit, a new improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two-piece barrel. The trigger placement is 3/8" shorter, giving you more control by positioning your finger for optimal strength and speed on the trigger. Additionally, the M7 is 1/2" shorter and 3/5 oz. lighter than the M6.

- 1/2" shorter in height and 3/5 oz. lighter in weight
- Matching 2 piece Proto barrel
- New smaller internal modular LPR
- Hyper2 in-line air regulator
- Anti-chop eye system
- All new aluminum eye plates
- Low operating pressure
- Continuous three dimensional contoured body design
- Compact ergonomically designed milling
- Lightweight compact body
- Proto Matrix grips
- LED program control
- Ergonomic 45 grip frame
- Proven 1 piece bolt system
- Improved trigger placement
- Stamped metal insert logo
- Proto on/off bottemline
- Adjustable locking feed neck
- Multiple firing modes
- More sensitive trigger adjustments
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M7 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
jctermite Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil omen, this is way better
Marker Setup: stock pm7
68ci pure energy tank
egg 3 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame
Strengths: Accurate, light, quiet, fast
Weaknesses: Not many programing modes, ribbon wire
Review: This gun is amazing! i got it new for $300 on ebay and right out of the box it shot great. this thing shoots ropes and is really fast, up to 30 bps. the only bad thing about this gun, which really doesn't matter at all, is that there are only 3 firing modes (psp, semi-auto, and millenium. i haven't tried any of the newer models, but they can only be better, especially with the UL frame.
Conclusion: This gun is perfect, couldn't ask for anything better for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 19th, 2008 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

heavyweigt281 Friday, March 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Ego- like it, but is old, and is now a back up
Marker Setup: Le Wine PM7 with ultra light frame
Empire Magna
SS freak kit
Crossfire 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
ULTRALIGHT FRAME
Strengths: Light Quiet and reliable(besides the stock frame)
Weaknesses: Stockframe
Review: ok i went down to my local pro shop to "browse thier wares" and stumbled onto my soon to be PM7. I waited to buy it expecting a price drop cause of the new 08s just came out. about 2 weeks later i called the shop up and they said they dropped the price and i immediatley went down there to pick it up. when i got it home i took it out of the box and aired it up and it shot fine besides the trigger was horrible so to my dismay i found that i had to split the gun to get to the trigger adjustment. once i got the trigger adjusted and put the gun back together i aired it up and shot a few times only to find the trigger was sticking!! i put it down for a while and cooled down and came back took the frame apart and found that the trigger adjustment screw was getting stuck on the noid. i tried everything and finnally got fed up and overnighted a Ultralight frame to my house i installed the frame no problem and now the trigger is contained in the frame. other thatn this the gun shoots great and i would buy another one as long as it had an ultralight frame!!!
Conclusion: if you buy it get the UL frame and not be lame

i give it a nine because of my mishap with the trigger
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kickinkillaz17 Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix Rail, Ion
Marker Setup: Pm7
3000 psi Crossfire
Triumph Autoloader
UL trigger Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a 14" UL barrel
Strengths: Very Fast, Compact , Light
Weaknesses: Not really any
Review: I recommend it if you have enough money definatly its a great gun. Runs amazingly, Fast, just awesome. Definatley better than all guns such as Ion.. Pmr... Invert...pretty much to sum it all up is that its one of the best guns by Proto, nice bolt good lpr not any chop unless if your mr. 5000 bps.The Pm7 is a great gun so go test it out buy one or sumtin.
Conclusion: Get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RebelTex Saturday, August 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmys, ion, karnivor
Marker Setup: PM7 - Silver with Claret Red parts. Stock for right now.

Black Defiant 2 w/ cp reg adapter, cp reg, cp drop, cp on/off asa, new designz low rise feed neck, inverted bolt, hybrid grenade grips

Recommended
Upgrades:
None, I am waiting on the 14" tip to arrive, but stock barrel is dead accurate.
Strengths: Small
Light
Shoots Ropes
ACCURATE!!!
Sexy
Easy to maintain
Dye customer service
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Review: Ok, I was on my way home from the local field and stopped at a pro shop that I frequent to get a friend of mines gun fixed when I saw the PM7 on the wall for 640 bucks. I knew that they were going for 750 plus most places, so I returned a few days later to put it in layaway, and after selling a couple of my other guns, I went and picked it up. First things I noticed were how well balanced and light it felt with my DXS 68/45, and Halo B. Got it home gassed it up and relised there was a small leak from between the grip frame and gun, it still shot, but a brand new gun shouldn't leak after dropping that much money on it. So I went through all the troubleshooting suggestions in the manual to get it fixed, and to no avail. Then I went down to the local shop I had just bought it from to get some help. After a quick call to Dye they suggested changing all the o-rings on the ouside of the LPR. Upon pulling the LPR I noticed the o-rings were shredding and coming apart easy. A quick swap of o-rings and leak was gone and it was time to go test it out. First impressions of just shooting in the back yard were that even with the stock barrel it was incredibly accurate, and the trigger was very easy to walk allowing me to get bps rates that I have never been able to get with other guns, but maybe its just me.

First day of Play:
Holy crap this thing was amazing, I was getting shots on hoppers and feednecks from distances where I felt I would only be good to put people in thier bunker, not to mention . I was also getting people off the break regularly, and I found it to be rather efficient for a new gun.
Conclusion: Get it! I would give it a 9.5 but I cant, and since nothing is perfect, and I did have that miniscule leak problem it will have to be a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoman912 Saturday, August 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm6 dm7 proto m6 m5
Marker Setup: proto pm7 stock red

dye dm5 with hater board

2004bko with hybrid grips and everything else stock
phantom pump!
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul frame
bolt
Strengths: Size weight
accuracy
Weaknesses: Trigger adjustment
Review: I own a pm7 and wanted 2 adjust the trigger when i first got it i thought all u had to do id use an allen key on the side of the grip like the dm5. i was wrong in order to adjust the trigger the entire frame has to be taken of it was a pain it took me a half hour to do it prob becuase i jus got the marker thought. another thing i noticeed was that proto had scratched some of my frame by where the screws are. it doesnt bother me that much becuse its small but still id rather have 1 without it. other wise it shoots great it has very lttle kick and is very accurate especially when i added my ul to it it was shooting ball on ball drom about 30-40 ft so im happy with that . ill post edits for efficiancy and other stuff later.
Conclusion: Its a great marker i just wish it was easyer to adjust the trigger
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mxmtl Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
06 Shocker SFT - Bolt is more difficult to remove than the PM7 bolt, PM7 also requires much less maintenance on the inline regulator and no maintenance on the solenoid
Marker Setup: PM7
+ Myth Regulator on CP 68/4500 Tank
+ Viewloader VLocity
+ 14" .690 Proto One Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite Frame
Strengths: Dye Customer Service
Weaknesses: Stock Frame
Review: The Proto Matrix 7 was my first venture into Matrix markers after using an EGO for about 9 months every weekend.

I bought the marker brand new, and after the first day of play I found the solenoid was leaking. I followed the manual to resolve the leak, but I could not fix it. I took it to Dye, and they replaced the solenoid which stopped the leaking.

After the recommended break in period, I tuned the LPR. It was amazing how much it reduced the kick, sound signature, and increased the efficiency. However, I found that I needed to tune the LPR each time I went out, or otherwise I would find myself with a marker that would not cycle properly. Eventually I left it close to the factory recommended settings to ensure 100% operation.

Another issue that came up with my PM7 were scratches inside the firing chamber. I had no idea how that happened, and noticed it after my second time out. I took it to Dye again. The tech said that although it was scratched, performance was not affected, but they replaced it for me anyway at no extra charge.

The stock trigger frame is okay if you have big hands. Initially, it felt fine, but as I played I noticed how thick it was compared to other markers I've shot when running and switching hands. If the thickness of the stock frame does not bother you, the stock board has a hidden NXL/Full Auto mode that the Ultralite frame does not have.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product if you live close to Dye. My experience with their customer service was very positive and turnaround time was only a day. I give this marker an 8 because it really should come standard with an Ultralite frame.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Wednesday, June 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
EGO 6, EGO SL66, DM6, PM8, FEP Quest, EGO 07, EGO 08, ETEK, ETEK II, Piranha EVO
Marker Setup: Proto PM7
Vlocity Jr
Dye Throttle 68/4500
Stock barrel with python barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
None Needed but a barrel kit for paint matching would be good.
Strengths: Super Fast
Super Accurate
Super Light
Super Quiet
Weaknesses: Knobs on Feed neck and ASA are a bit small
Review: Just got a PM7 and wow is this a great gun. Shot accuracy is excellent. Shots go where you aim. The gun has virtually no kick and is very quiet. Stock barrel is very good and is accurate and quiet. Stock barrel bore is .690. I also used a J&J edge barrel with a .688 back and the gun is even quieter. Accuarcy is superb. I had no paint breakage at all. The PM7 is easy to program just be careful for the wires and electronics. The gun is fast and walking the trigger is easy. The lack of kick allows you to shoot ropes where you want them. The trigger is adjustable to accomodate playing style. Trigger sensistivity is also adjustable. The gun can be programed for Semi auto, PSP, Millennium and it has a hidden NXL mode. The PM7 is light weight and has an awesome anno and quality milling.

Update 9-15-07: Used this gun at several recent open games, a scenario, tourney and practice sessions. Conditions varying from mild and 80 to heavy rain, humidty and 50 degrees. The gun has been flawless. It shoots soo smooth and quiet. It is incredibly accurate and easy on paint.

Update 7/6/08: Over one year of heavy use and the gun has been nearly flawless. Only had swap an oring once. Efficiency and consistency is a good as its ever been. I would still recommend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: $750 for this gun gets you top level performance for hundreds cheaper. Dye has another winner in its stable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 6th, 2008 at 7:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman model 98, A-5.
Marker Setup: PM7 (stock) with empire "reloader B" hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good first hopper.
Strengths: Accuracy, consistency, lightweight, feel / refinement, high ROF.
Weaknesses: Expense, stock trigger, maintainance.
Review: I used this gun for almost a full day (I had not played for a while) and was impressed. With the accuracy and consistency I found myself hitting people at a range where I was only expecting it to be useful for supressive fire. Up close and personal it is responsive, goes out quickly and is great for snap shooting. I can't say anything bad about this gun when it comes to performance on the field. I'd like it if the stock trigger could be a bit more sensitive and have less travel -- like a mouse button press. Otherwise, the gun has the feeling of refinement, something that's been worked on and perfected over the years. The only other downside I can think of is maintainance, which is more extensive than anything else I have shot.
Conclusion: Get it if you want a quality, tourny-capable setup for about $750. Everything I expected it to be, no major faults.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

crazyshooter789 Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
blade real funny
pmi black max not even close
spyder imagine once again not even close
spyder vs2 a little better but still not close
Marker Setup: pm7
evolution 3 getting a halo
crossfire 68 45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
personally nothing yet mabey a locking feedneck
Strengths: Verry light
Nice trigger
Board
Weaknesses: Personally where macro comes out on regulator.
Review: I love this gun ive only played with it once so far but i cant find anything wrong with it. There are only a couple things that im getting used to which are where the marco comes out of the reg and that my hopper kind of spins but thars because my hopper is crap.
Conclusion: I would recommend this too any one i love it and my friends love it. my one friend might even be buying one now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rockstarfatcity Sunday, April 6th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm6, pm5, pm8, dm6, dm5, dm7, dm8
Marker Setup: red to black fade pm7, pure energy 45/45, custom team fat city halo (silver shell with team fa city backplate,
red to black dm7, same tank and hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
either a stiffi barrel or a ul barrel,
i prefer cp on offs, but thats just me,
if you dont like thick grip frames then a ul frame
Strengths: Very balanced, lightweight, decent on brittle paint,with good barrel its accurate,shoots massive ropes
Weaknesses: Takes gettting used to. you have to do routine matince.
Review: Well, i got this gun and used it at a 1 on 1 tournament at my local field, it was amazing, anyway i took first place, i will admit i took second but the guy who took first was disqualified for turning his gun off before after game checks. it would have gone unnoticed but some had suspected he was cheating because he was shooting noticeably faster than normal, at any rate first prize was a dm7. so now i have that to. but on to the gun

this gun, is amazing. after you get use to the feel and grip frame, its very nice. it shoots straight and clean. its very smooth. you should definatly conciter getting one, shoots identical to the pm8, other than the ul frame
Conclusion: I recomend this most definatily
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media