paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DraXxuS Pulse Loader / DraXxuS Pulse Loader / DraXxuS Pulse Loader

DraXxuS Pulse Loader Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DraXxuS

Buy DraXxuS Pulse Loader

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DraXxuS Pulse Loader
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 100
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PULSE LOADER
Magnetic Lid
For easy quick loading
Removable Drivetrain
Fast & Easy Cleaning Access
Recessed Feed Cone
Gentle drive fingers for brittle paint
Interchangeable Battery Kit
6 aa's or light weight 2X9V Option
Low Profile Feed Neck
Faster Block-Free Performance
Wireless One-Sync Pulse Technology
Marker & Loader Communicate & Function as One for Max R.O.F.
Product Availability 
The DraXxuS Pulse Loader is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Gran Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vlocity
Halo B
Marker Setup: Black ion
360 qev
ndz roller saw
Pulse
Qlock feedneck
Firebolt
Freak jr
Strengths: Fast
Easy to clean
Reverse button
Weaknesses: Battery door wont fit properly, screw holes dont line up but can still getit on
Review: It holds upto 180 paintballs, no eyes that can get messed up so you cant use the hopper, battery life is longer than my Vlocity and it feeds faster and more consistant. It is also easy to use and clean especially with the design of it that you can pull the system out of the shell without taking screws out.
Conclusion: If you have the money i would recommend one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 15th, 2007 at 9:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4skins23 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy 2, B2, Halo,
Marker Setup: WDP Angel A4-Fly graphite/ black fade, Angel Air, and Pulse loader.
WDP Angel IR-3 Gloss Black as back-up.
Strengths: Very consumer friendly. Easy cleaning. Added features compared to others with same body design.
Weaknesses: Batteries seem to go fast! Shells are too brittle. Does not last.
Review: This is my biased review of the pulse loader. It is a review, yet, my opinion of this loader.

I own the smoke colored version of the Pulse. It is similar in design to a Halo or Reloader-B. Turning it on puts it in RF-mode,hitting the button a 2nd time puts it in pulse mode. I have had a couple times with reballs that jam, but I just hit the reverse button and it is fixed every time. In playing about 2-3 months with this I have not had any paint jamming issues with this. Once I had an old ball break inside the hopper so I dumped it out and pulled the drive mechanism out and cleaned it out between games took about 3-5 mins. No tools needed.
Batteries do seem to not last long. Mine have been averaging about 1 day between changing them. I have asked a few people about that and I guess I need to switch the brand I use to Duracell. I usually use Energizer. The battery problem does not bother me so I don't mark off for it.
As far as speed and drop tests etc... I have not done any drop tests and have not been able to outshoot it so it hasn't been an issue.
In short, I put in fresh batteries in everything evertime I play and go play.

After about 1-2 years of light use, say 5-6 times a year, the shells are way too brittle and does not last. That is why these are not out on the market anymore. You cannot find parts for these so imo they should be avoided.
Conclusion: On the market currently, nothing IMO comes close to this with performance and features at the time it was new. It is now not produced, cannot get parts for and should be avoided. Shells crack way too easy because they are too brittle. Good hopper, easy to clean, just know IF you can find one without cracks, it won't be long before it does.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 19th, 2013 at 7:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Z07 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
an egg 3 not as fast just as lite
halo b just as lite not as fast
Marker Setup: maniac ego 06
blue dust color kit
cp rake trigger
eclipse cure bolt
Contract Killer grip
2 piece shaft barrel
pulse loader
cp 48ci tank
Strengths: Lite
Fast
Removable drive train for easy cleaning
Weaknesses: Battery hatch is hard to open other than that there isn't anything
Review: This is agood hopper because its pretty lite and is very fast.If youget the rof chip it makes the hopper end the gun one wirelessly and makes it a lot faster I heard.This hopperlooks good on my MANIAC EGO 06. I got a speed feed which makes my hoppper easier to load and makes a much faster game . This hopper is the best.
Conclusion: I give it a 10! Beacuse it is faster and just as lite as anything out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aboogabooga Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo
Strengths: FAST
Low Profile
Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: Price
Battery Muncher!!
Review: Well I followed the hype and got the Pulse Loader. At first I was pretty scared the neck will break of but mine never did. I was able to shoot 25 BPS with it on my DM6 with the eyes OFF but synced (SP?). I really like how easy it is to clean the inside and how it take halos speedfeeds.
Conclusion: Nice, Get It!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rabbit26 Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have an egg a velocity jr and a revy
Marker Setup: SmartParts Ion
Pulse/ Egg hopper
68/4500 PMI tank (carbon fiber wrapped)
Strengths: Its really really fast
Weaknesses: Its bulky
Review: Ya I like like the pulse but yesterday I went to load it with paint and when I took it out of my qlock feedneck the pulse feedneck snapped off and then snapped in half.

Other then that it is a good hopper.

I was wondering if anyone knew where I could get shells for it cuz i need them by next weekend.

Thanks for all the help.

I give the hopper an 8 out of 10 for it breaking on me.
Conclusion: Buy it but take becareful its fragile
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 6:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowSamurai19 Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: E*Tek Ego
DXS Pulse
70/45 Crossfire Stub
Strengths: Very Fast, Reliable, Sturdy when handled carefully, Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: Not many, removable tray somewhat hard to remove at first. Pricy
Review: I like this hopper a lot. It keeps us with my Etek extremely well. The only problem I had with the loader, is that when it's new it is sometimes hard to remove the removable tray. It is somewhat stiff. However, once it becomes loose, cleaning the hooper is a breeze.
People have been complaining how easily the hopper breaks, but I've had it for a couple months, and I have no problems so far. I think as long as you do not bash it around too much the shell should stay in one piece, like any other hopper. Also, people complain that the feedneck warps to easily. I have a clamping feedneck on the Etek and the Pulse's neck has not warped at all for me. I think people are just clamping the feedneck to hard.
In the end, it's a nice hopper, but a little expensive when bought new. I suggest buying one used from a trustworthy person, for a little less. As long as they took care of it well you should have no problems. If you can afford it new, I suggest buying it New IN Box.
Conclusion: Get it if money is not an option. If you're deciding between this hopper and a couple other electronic ones, get this one. If you don't have the money you may go for one of the other cheaper ones, but you don't get some of the features on this gun. Such as the removable tray, and RF Chip compatibility. This hopper, is also the fastest on the market. If not, it is tied with some other hopper as the fastest one on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucifer_sam Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader B & B2 - good, but definitely not in comparison
Halo B w/ RIP Drive V35 - can't read dark shells
Viewloader Vlocity - hahahaha
Spyder FASTA - HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail (blue dust)
Proto alloy back cap (blue dust)
NDZ On/Off ASA
NDZ Pro Lite frame
ANS locking feedneck (blue dust)
Smart Parts conventional drop forward (blue polish)
68 ci/4500 psi fiber-wrapped DXS tank
DraXxuS Pulse (w/ RF chip)
Powerlyte Scepter barrel (blue tip, 14", .688 insert)
Strengths: Speed
Strength
Versatility
Weaknesses: Weight
Price
ILLEGAL (see below)
Review: Everyone has seen the videos. The DraXxuS Pulse is the single greatest loader to come out of any manufacturer in the past decade. Halos can't match it. Reloader B is weak compared to it. And anything else, well, you get the picture. A rundown of the loader's capabilities makes me highlight the following items:

- MAX Speed 28 BPS in marker
- Anti-ball jam (reverse spin)
- Radio frequency mode completely eliminates any lag between marker fire and loader feed; i.e. your board setting alone determines ROF
- Polycarbonate shell resists fractures and cracks

There are two feed modes for the Pulse: green mode and red mode. Green mode is the aforementioned "radio frequency," or RF mode. It functions dependent of whether or not you have a RF module installed on your board (which is relatively simple, but involves soldering, so you might want to get a techie to help you out). If you're concerned about the amount of current that the module requires, don't fear, because it needs less than your LED light for your control. I guarantee your ROF will never suffer. As soon as the trigger is pulled, the RF module emits a pulse (no pun intended, seriously, that is the correct term) of a very low radio frequency, which is then intercepted by a sensor on the loader's board, delivering the signal and feeding a ball.

Red mode is merely based upon ball presence. This does have lag. The loader "pulses" every half-second to make sure balls are in the stack; if it doesn't sense that any balls are there, it will spin the drive cone. If you've any intention of returning your marker (if stock board), use this mode; the RF module installation violates nearly every warranty. (Obviously the red mode can only be used with mechanical markers.)

Now, the hopper is a composite material which nearly prevents any and all fractures, but as a result, it is slightly heavier and thicker than most shells. If you have a thinner feedneck like an Ion, Shocker, Impulse, or other inferior Smart Parts marker, you may want to consider buying a different feedneck like the Q-lock, because you can't sand the Pulse down, and its shell is about half an inch thick. It has a medium-sized capacity (180 balls), not as much as a FASTA, but that's crap for a feed system anyway.

The loader is exceptionally versatile. Not only does it have multiple operating modes, but with a lack of a rip drive, some people may wonder what to do about ball jams. Ha, DXS beat out Empire and Odyssey on this one. A small blue button on the underside of the loader, when depressed, will reverse the paddle for the duration of its depression, immediately unclogging any ball jams. WARNING: Do not attempt to fire while having this button depressed. In a moment of curiosity, I found out that gravity v. reverse paddle = messy explosion. That may have just been my particular jam, but I'm not gonna try it again.

Not only this, but the drive cone for the loader slides right out! No more tiny bore screws to fart with in the shell just to get to a small splotch of paint! No more expletives at the sight of paint on a paddle, either. The loader is configured so that the power supply (6 AA or 2x 9V) will never interfere with the drive cone or get paint on it or whatever else messy you may have imagined. A small two-pronged DC connector allows the entire drive cone, with components and board, to be removed without even removing your gloves (that means no fingernails necessary, either). And it just slides back in whenever you feel you've purged the interior of the shell to your delight. I wear sixe XL gloves, and I fit my entire hand in there. Unless you're afflicted with elephantiasis, I think anyone else can as well.

The Pulse is, above all else, a sexy loader. The Halo always appealed aesthetically to me, but DXS blew me away. The company logo isn't there, but a stylized "PULSE" complete with electrocardiorhythm, leaves a sweet touch to an already impeccably crisp loader. The price isn't too bad, equivalent to a Halo B V35 or Reloader B, but the RF module will set you back about $35 extra. That's not too shabby for the best loader on the planet.

NOTE: This is extremely important. The NPPL recently decided to screw everyone who made use of this hopper (including Chris Lasoya), all because of a technicality that means the hopper must operate independently of the marker (which I'm sure Empire/Odyssey brought to their attention...). I'm not sure whether this means the Pulse is completely forbidden, or if the RF module is forbidden. Either case presents a great financial setback for DXS. I'm sure future Pulse models will have an optional lock for NPPL approval. [The Millennium Series has yet to disqualify this loader.]

UPDATE: After having the RF module successfully installed onto my marker, I've concluded that the Pulse performs almost 6-7 BPS faster in RF mode short bursts than it does in Pulse mode. This is due to the lag associated with the red mode. There can be nearly half a second's lag between the first ball being expelled and the motor starting to spin. This does not necessarily mean that there is a half second lag between balls, but that the first eight balls are completely gravity fed. In RF mode, however, as soon as the trigger is pulled, the drivetrain senses that a ball can be moved down the stack and begins purring. I do not have the calculations, but it's also my impression that the green mode is much better controlled, with less ball jams and breaks as a result of false feeds. In short, the RF chip makes this loader tournament worthy. Without the chip the loader deserves an 8.5/10.
Conclusion: Although it's heavy, the DXS Pulse is the single best loader on the planet. It is stronger, more versatile, faster, and my yes, sexier than every other loader. With the RF module installed on the Pulse, it is easily the best controlled feed system on the planet.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 26th, 2007 at 5:23 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Msabercr Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
haloB/reloaderB
Reloader/revvy
vlocity
egg
vl200(shaker)
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 04, Evolve Kit, Sly 14" barrel kit with .689 barrel back, CCM Clamping lowrise feedneck, sidewinder regulator, tadao musashi 7 board, 05 tpr grip cheaks, system x push button on off, system x centerflag tank with nxe cover, redz neoprene barrel condom, anti chop bolt, halo with victory board
Strengths: It's a halo
simple operation
easy to clean
fast
lid is easy to open
Weaknesses: Can be a battery hog
heavier than a halo
no rip drive
Review: It's just like a halo push the botton to turn on (if you don't have the chip push twice)
batteries are in the same palce as the halowhich is good because you'll need to replace them often. its even heavier than the halo and has no ripdrive so when your batteries die your screwed
Conclusion: Its nice but its more expensive than a halo and the fact is nothing will ever be as good as the halo if it doesn't get some sort of mechanical rip drive. i give it an 8 because batery life and ripdrive are important weight not so much but it definately factors in.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GRAFFIX Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader 2 - Good hopper for the price
Evolution 2 (Egg) with Z Board - Went through 2 body's because they kept breaking
Velocity - Excellent hopper light and fast
Marker Setup: Blue Ion
Virtue Board
Shocktech Superfly Bolt (Blue)
Shocktech Mini Drop Forward #1
Shocktech Self Bleeding On/Off Bottom Line
Dye Hyper 2 Reg
Dye Sticky Grips
Freak Barrel with .689 insert and Blue All American Tip
ANS Roller Trigger
ANS QEV
ANS Neck Feed
DXS Pulse Hopper (Soon to be synked)
Pure Energy 45/4500 Carbon fiber wrapped HPA Tank
Strengths: Super fast
Easy to clean
When synked will work with you marker
Weaknesses: Some pieces broke
Price, even worse with RF chip
It's a bit heavy
Review: When I set my board to uncaped ROF this thing is sick. It is a bit heavy but not to bad. I don't have the RF chip yet so I can't give my thoughts on that but when I do get it I will update this post. I did have a big problem that needs to be mentioned though. One day just a few weeks after I bought it I took it out of it's box to show a friend and noticed the battery door was cracked. I eventually took a hit to the hopper and it snaped off the piece of the battery door that was cracked. It's a small piece that really needs to be pointed out to be noticed. Also it was probably my fault because I have been known to over tighten the screws. I broke a few things because of over tightening (some hopper bodies, banjo fittings, ext.). The other thing was not my fault. I took a direct hit on one of the buttons that releases the feed tray and it snaped off. The Pulse still worked great for the rest of the day so these problems didn't hold the hopper back from doing it's job. I've contacted DXS Pulse support and they gave me an address to send it in to get replaced. I have not gotten it back yet but I will update this post if I run into any problems. I have also gotten a few jams but there is a button on the bottom of the hopper to unjam it and it works really good.
Conclusion: The hopper is a best that will not starve your marker when you want to let the paint fly but it does have some parts that can't take a direct hit. I'm going to give it an 8 because I am very happy with the performance of the hopper and the parts that did break didn't slow down or even worse stop the hopper dead in it's tracks but the fragile parts on the body are kind of a turn off. I just hope that I wont have to send it in every time I take a hopper hit.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arachnis Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Halo Frontman TSA , Halo B/w rip
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Gray2Black
New Designz Slik trigger-Silver
Proto Metal Backcap
DXS 68/4500 w/Gray Dye '06 Rhino
DXS Pulse-Smoke
Strengths: Speed.
Weaknesses: Takes 6 AA batteries. Battery pack cost $50 bucks.
Review: This hopper is great. I played an entire day, never chopped nor did it skip a beat. It feed my gun all it needed. I am very impressed. I will be adding the RF chip soon as well, so it will only get better. I also got it for a great deal. They need to get the lawsuit over with so they can go back to producing them. Great Hopper!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it. You willl not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media