paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mmkxbox Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months298 of 316 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everthing under the sun.
Marker Setup: 07 Proto Rail Blk
Hatred board w/ symbio
UL Frame
UL barrel
Dm7 feedneck
Proto silver eye covers
Proto Silver backcap
Dye silver on/off
NewDesignz silver on/off
14" freak junior kit
Halo B w/ rip & silver shell
70/4500 Crossfire stubby

SOLD-to get ul frame and junk
(Back up)smart parts ion
Viewloader Vlocity
Proto 1 piece barrel
Lapco clamping feed neck
viewloader evolution(egg)
V-force Grill
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
UL Frame(then u have a thing of beauty)
Virtue eyes and board
backcap
ASA on/off(cp,dye on/off)
Maybe new trigger(personal prefrence)
Strengths: Amazingly light
Super Fast
Invertingly Tiny(little bigger than mini)
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got the gun off of ebay and it was shipped priority mail(2 days).I air'd it up and might i say dam* this thing can ripp. Its faster with eyes off i think. The feed neck is perfect no need to replace, unless it brakes because i've heard those storys but it has never happened to me. The grips are sticky pro touch grips so ur good there, or if you get cooler design grips. your choice. The barrel is an 11 inch and its alright but i suggest upgrading to a kit. The frame is lighter than the ul i think but if u got the coin go for the ul frame. Get a on/off like a custom products, or dye, proto to match. Get a back bolt because stock one can strip easily.Unsrew back cap as far as it will go then pull with force to get out.I REALLY recommened getting virtue laser eyes so you can tell if both are working and most problems are from eyes, no u don't need virtue board to get the eyes, u can use stock board.The board is tourny ready out of the box but a new board is nice so u don't have to open grips. Do NOT turn velocity to hard u can break tons of rings, i know this first hand.One other thing please do not pull to hard on the battery wire cause thats how i tore my wire yes i'm a idiot for that but be careful. GO TO YOUTUBE.COM TYPE IN PROTO RAIL AND THERES ONE CALLED HAWK THE MATRIX OWNER, CLICK ON IT HE WILL TELL U EVERYTHING U NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE GUN AND HOW IT WORKS, CHECK IT OUT TRUST ME.
Conclusion: Proto Rail is a fantastic gun hands down. Proto has out done themselfs on this gun. Hope this helps.
PLEASE RATE THIS REVIEW.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 19th, 2007 at 6:54 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

sthpark Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month142 of 154 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion with Blackheart board, Freak barrel, CP regulator, NDZ trigger, CP on/off.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail with proto 2 piece barrel, Vlocity hopper, and Dye 70/4500 stubby tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel
Strengths: Very light
Very fast
Compact
Accurate
Reasonable Price
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok, I've been playing paintball for about a year now, and like about a million other people I started with an Ion. My new gun senses where kicking in and I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg, so I thought I would at least give this gun a try, after all it is made by Dye.

The gun feels very good in the hands, its extremely light ( I was surprised at how light it was) its very compact, and the polymer parts don't seem to bother me. The stock board is pretty much like the response board by proto and it may be, haven't seen that in the features, mine is setup for 3 trigger pulls then ramping kicks in. The manual is very easy to follow and the settings seem to be fairly straightforward on how to adjust them. The marker has an anti bolt stick mode that is on by default, and the other modes are trigger sensitivity, dwell, ROF, and firing mode (semi, PSP, and Millenium)

Upon shooting the gun, I couldn't help but notice how fast it was, the factory setting is 20 bps according to the manual. The Rail was pretty accurate with some lower end paint (white box) and seemed pretty consistent, I don't have the chrono numbers, but I expect it to be more consistent when the Hyper 2 reg gets broken in good which takes about 2000 shots. The Rail had very little kick, not quite as smooth as DM's and PM's that I have shot but at a fraction of the price so its more than ok. To me it looks better than the PM 6, it has a lower body profile I believe and looks a lot like the PM 7. It definitely looks better in person and with a 2 piece barrel.

The gun is easy to disassemble, clean, lube and reassemble, very low maintenance, which is a plus.

The only complaint I have and its not a big one, is that there are a lot of allen wrenches and I couldn't find a way to differentiate between the sizes, not a big deal since I have a set of standard and metrics in a sized carrying sleeve, and also some of the screws are very tedious to get to, so patience is a virtue.

I was hesitant about purchasing this marker at first, but Im glad I did. It truly is a lot of performance for the price, Im not sure of another marker that is close to the performance of this stock. So, if your thinking about it, just get it. You don't need to spend an arm and a leg on a high end marker, this is high end performance for the price, and the biggest thing is the person behind the marker, not the marker itself.

Hope this review was helpful


12.8.06
OK, just to update, I have decided to go with one of the new metal triggers that have just come out, and upon installing it I decided to remove the spring behind the trigger, which lightened the pull on the trigger greatly (not that it had a hard pull to begin with). I like the feel of the metal trigger better and it seems to provide more area for two fingers and without the spring is much easier to walk. I havent read anywhere that this will effect the warranty, just that it may wear on the microswitch more, so you will have to be your own judge.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to beginners and intermediate players and to serious players not wanting to drop a house payment on a marker. Nothing is perfect, so 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 8th, 2006 at 4:37 pm PST
I found this review  
42 Comments - Add Comment

ISnowboardNaked Saturday, November 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month93 of 130 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: DM6, evil 45/ 5000 psi tank, empire reloader b2
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame, UL barrel, Aluminum feedneck, dye on/off
Strengths: Fantastic shooting gun, inexpensive, perfect for someone starting tournement play.
Weaknesses: A lot of polymere parts, needs more aluminum or metal, whatever they use.
Review: This gun is awesome, we picked it up for my brother NOV. 9 and were supposed to be either the first or second one in the untied states with the gun. We took it home and shot it right away and it never chopped, very accurate even with the stock barrel, a little louder than the DM6 but shoot almost the same. Feels really good in your hand and the accuracy blowed me away. Definetly recomend to newer or just anyone that doesnt want to spend a lot of money on a gun.
Conclusion: A+ gun...i recomend to anyone that doesnt want to spend a lot on a gun or anyone newer player
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
76 Comments - Add Comment

Jenou Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month86 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
DMc
spyder Pilot ACS
various timmys
Marker Setup: proto rail with hybrid ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame
UL barrel
New ASA
Strengths: Fast as hell
secksay
light as hell
great value
Weaknesses: It varies with individual preference. Some dont like the plastic on the feedneck.
Review: When I first got this gun, I was at my field playing. I had ordered and paid for it in full like three and a half weeks before. The owner comes to me after a game and says, "Hey! You want your gun or what?" I stood there for a second before dashing into the proshop and tearing open that box. It was very well packaged. When I took it out and screwed the barrel on I was surprised at how light it was. I mean, I had expected it to be light, but this was ridiculous.

looks---very nice. very very nice. I'd say this ties with the PM6 in terms of looks. I'd also say that it looks better than the new PM7.

performance----When i first took it on to the field, i took some test shots, and this thing fires great. This is one dirty marker, I'll tellyou right now. I was rippin faces like a psycho with this machine. Just as accurate as any DM, my baby shot lasers all day until it started getting cold. That day it got to about 34 degrees fahrenheit and everyone was getting mad bolt stick. I took it in and applied some new lube, let it warm back up, and it was tearin for the rest of the day.

electronics----Just to let all you know, the rail has the EXACT SAME BOARD USED IN THE 1000$ PM7.

user friendliness-----I kid you not when I say that a dyslexic monkey could set the board. It was unbelievably easy for me to set the board to either semi, Millenium, or PSP. Also, you can set the Rail's rate of fire anywhere from 10 top 30 balls per second. Thats right. 30 BPS baby.

maintenance----incredibly easy to clean and lube. Just like any matrix, just unscrew the back cap, and the guts come out.

============================================================
=====
SEVERE COLD WEATHER INFO *new update* Dec. 14th 2006
============================================================
=====
Okay, well I went to a tournament a couple sundays ago. IT WAS FRICKIN !12 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT!!!! So i was using the rail all day, and for the first game, it worked okay. Anyway, here's details:

PROS::::::::::::::
*Even though it was making milkshakes every so often, It wasnt completely out of comission like my captain's DM6. While the rest of my team resorted to their crappy back-up guns, I could still play games fairly well with my PMR.
*Through all the chop damage, the PMR;'s new bolt system was incredibly easy to clean. As for My captain's DM6 and PM5 (his back up **OOC too), and my co-captains DM4, Their carnage was much more severe.

CONS::::::::::::::::::
*WHen the DM's actually shot without milkshaking(hardly ever), they still retained their accuracy. My gun was shooting in the cold, however the paintballs were flying everywhere except where I wanted them to. I put on my co-captain's UL barrel, and it pretty much did nothing to improve the catastrophe.

SO BASICALLY::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

-The PMR will out perform a DM in severely cold weather.
*however you'll still lose some hair before the day's through
-The PMR will lose accuracy in severely cold weather.
*but at least its working. The DMs were in a coma for 99% of the day.
***NOTE***in warmer weather, and inside, the rail has comparable if not
better accuracy than previous matrixes (05 down)***
-The PMR's bolt was very easy to clear of carnage
*My captain gave up cleaning his DM6's bolt after the fifteenth minute.

============================================================
=======
Conclusion: In conclusion, this baby's a gat no doubt. And for only 400 bucks, its great to know that I can get a great gun for a price I can afford. I mean, not everyone's parents'll run theirselves to the proshop and blow a two months' salary on a marker.
============================================================
====
UPDATE *DEC 12th 2006
============================================================
====
Now that I've seen it in the cold, and wasnt necessarily impressed, I can say that it at least worked. But a matrix is still a matrix in my case, and sub 35 degree weather is baaaaad juju for matrixes. Dont get me wrong. The rail is a great gun, better that most previous matrixes, and the best gun period for the price tag, but you're better off with a spyder or even a freakin tippmann when old man winter rolls around.

******for this I lower the overall score to 9.
============================================================
=======
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 at 5:25 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

surfsup362 Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month73 of 86 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything under the sun. Angels, DM's, Proto's, Timmy's, EGO, Blazers, Mags, MACDev Cyborg 2006, Quest...EVERYTHING
Marker Setup: 2007 Proto Matrix Rail
-CP Reg
-Dye ULbarrel
-Dye DMC SL detents

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel...it's not too bad but almost every marker needs a barrel. Trigger, I think a UL frame will be pointless unless you are dying for one. Nothing is really out yet so idk :(
Strengths: -Pretty freakin fast for the price
-CHEAP!!!
-Basically a PM7(seriously)
-NO LPR
Weaknesses: Trigger has some side-to-side movement.
Nothing too crazy though
Review: Ok seriously this marker is pretty freakin wicked. I got about a hopper and 8 pods off of a 45/45 stubby with no chops and on old ass paint. It shoots the exact same as my DM6 with the ul and better detents. PSP mode works just fine and rips. I am glad i picked one up cuz now I can sell my DM6. I know it sounds sketchy but I have been doing this for a long time and can tell you that I have NEVER seen a mid-level marker be able to keep up with alomst every High-end maker out-of-the-box. The new bolt is very similar to the dm and proto bolts and will be farmiliar to anyone that has had one. The miling and anno is ok... its not the best but hey I care about performance so...
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to ANYONE. Why spend two to three times the amount for something that willdo the same thing? I am sticking with this marker as long as I dont have any problems with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
42 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderPaintz Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months51 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego Family - Around same kick and noise, Better Quality.
Matrix Family - Quiter, Less Kick, LPR Available, Not Plastic.
Mini's - Smaller, To Small.
DP Fusion - More Like Egos, Wish I got one.
Marker Setup: Gold/Black ETek
PMR - Red NDZ Feedneck, DM6 Trigger
Crossfire 68/4500
"14 Stiffi Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basically All the Plastic Parts (Preference)
Barrel
ASA for On/Off
Strengths: Most Stuff For The Price.
Read The Review.
Weaknesses: Read The Review.
Review: Speed
Well, for the price, this markers speed is unbelievable. Equipped with a PM7's board making it extremely fast and capable of suiting a normal players needs. It has Semi, PSP, and Millenium modes (Also NXL, which is not said in the manual - Thanks bigwood212) on it which is enough for me, as I only use Semi. While on the speed topic let me say the Eyes work very well. I would Not recommend using this gun with horrible paint (Most Diablo Paints work well in mine) or the eyes will become useless. Overall this gun is very fast stock.

Durability
Despite what most people say about the plastic parts, they really aren't that bad. I would fully recommend switching out the Trigger and Bolt Cap, as those 2 are the worst of the plastic parts. Besides that the gun seems pretty sturdy. If you are a person who cant stand the plastic you could get parts to change them out on everything which I am currently doing slowly but surely.

Noise and Kick
After having quiet some experience with other DM's and Mostly a PM6, I am sad to say this is the oddball in the matrix family. Loosing the PMR seems to have increased the kick and noise greatly in my perspective. Not to worry, im just pointing out the increase. If you come from blow back guns, other mid ends, or even high end ram driven guns (Egos, Timmy's) this gun would feel like that.

Weight and Feel
One thing that draws the crowds into this gun is the weight.....im pretty sure you have heard someone say WOW THIS IS LIGHT!, Believe them.....due to a lack of aluminum this has lost quite a bit of weight from its older brothers and sisters. The Feel of course is all personal preference, I myself....hate the frame. Another upgrade im looking to purchase the NDZ Pro-lite Frame, as the plastic frame and rubber lining doesn't really appeal to me. Your choice your choice!

Accuracy and Consistency
Im a believer in that every paintball gun has the same accuracy as the next with the exception of brass eagle walmart guns...just because I feel like saying they suck. So of course...this marker shoots pretty accurate which is good. Now im not going to lie and say I had 1 +/- consistency because I don't, but closely enough which surprised me I did have some pretty nice groupings, Most Shots were within about 6+/- of each other which at different times can be better than my ETek (Thannnk you Diablo Nightmare). So all this is good, as most properly used markers should be.

Looks
Well the PMR looks like the PM6 and extremely similar to the PM7, which is very small and sleek looking. A few tiny minor things I would change is put the serial number on the side of the frame in a different place, such as the grips or inside the frame. Another is when I got my PMR their was a peice chipped off of the back cap. Both these are no real biggy.

Efficiency
Bad! Bad! Bad! For me I am NOT used to having to refill my tank after each game coming from using my ETek. I only get like Hopper and 2 or 3 pods which to me isn't very good. If you have a all-day air station then that will be good for you but if not then you might have to put in a little extra $$ for more fills.

Reliability & Maintenance
As a backup this gun should be very reliable so I can count on it when my ETek breaks down (Very Rarely). So far it hasn't had many problems so that's good, but im sure Ill be bound to run into some eventually. The maintenance is not a cheerful event but it isn't unbearable. Lots of O-rings and the PMR uses lots of lube, doesn't take to long to clean.

Extra
With all my Planet Eclipse products the packaging is beyond extremely perfect but with the PMR its not bad. Comes in cardboard and has protection on the inside. Comes with the manual (Which is pretty good), Barrel Sock (Whatever), Lube (Not alot but it works for a while), and of course the barrel and gun.
Conclusion: Overall its a satisfactory gun with a nice price tag on it, Id recommend it to most people.
If you feel I should add something put a comment and I will do so.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 27th, 2007 at 10:28 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

djbarsk Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Evloution III Loader
PMI 68/4500 tank
Freak back/AA Front
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Grips
New Trigger
New Back Cap
Lever locking feedneck
Strengths: Speed
Ease of Use
Reliability
Size and Weight
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Grips don't fit properly
Trigger
Review: I purchased the Rail as an upgrade from my Spyder. The Rail was the perfect choice for an upgrade.

When my Rail arrived I couldn't believe how small the box was. The Rail is a small gun, maybe not as small as the Mini, but it is still quite small. Which brings me to my first potential problem with the Rail: if you have large hands you may find it hard to hold the rail as the space between the foregrip and the front of the trigger guard is rather small. I have pretty small hands and with gloves on the fit is almost too snug. So if you have big hands I'd recommend you hold a Rail before you buy it to determine if it fits your hands properly.

Out of the box the Rail was in great condition. There were no defects in the manufacturing that I could find, the packaging was excellent, and the manual is large, detailed, and colorful. The body of the Rail is a "composite." While some have knocked the Rail because of this composite, I don't really care, it looks good and is very strong. After a full day of hard play there was not a single scratch or mark on the composite. I personally think there is nothing wrong with the use of composite materials, and I personally like the look and feel.

Using the manual, dissasembly of the gun takes only a few minutes. I took the gun apart, cleaned off the stock lube, and re-lubed all parts. While the Rail comes with a set of allen keys, it does not contain the one key that you need to take apart the Hyper 2 regulator, so if you want to lube the reg you have to go out to the local hardware store and buy a set of allen keys. I think it is a little odd that Proto failed to include this allen key in the box. The manual has clear and detailed instructions on how to disassemble the regulator, but Proto fails to include the tool needed to accomplish this? I think that's a bad mistake/oversight on Proto's part.

I took my Rail out to the field, gassed it up, loaded some balls in the hopper, and pulled the trigger. The gun fired perfectly with no problems. In fact, throughout four hours of playing on the first day, the Rail had exactly zero malfunctions, zero chopped balls, and zero broken balls. I took the gun out to the chrono to make sure that I was legal. FIrst shot was at 290 and the subsequent shots were all +/- 4FPS from that number. Once I turned the velocity down to 278 I decided to try out the speed of the marker. I took aim and ripped off a stream of paint at my target. The Rail snapped off a string of paint without a single problem. There was another kid at the chrono with me, and after I had stopped firing he looked at me and said "woah, what is that?" That comment pretty much summed up my first day at the field with the marker.

I decided to set the marker on PSP mode in order to better compete with the other guys in my group, many of whom had more experience than I or had equal or better markers (our group had an Ion, a Smart Parts shocker, and a WGP autococker, along with various Spyders). This brings me to another problem with the Rail: programming. In order to switch modes on the marker you have to take the grips off, pull the battery out, flip a dip switch on the board, and then go through a series of trigger pulls to get the settings you want. I think this is a little more difficult than it needs to be and suspect that if Proto really wanted to they could come up with a better system. Other than for programming the controls on the marker are very easy and intuitive to use and the LED light is bright enough to see even in the bright South Florida sun.

When I put the grip back together it reminded me of another problem with the Rail: the battery sticks up too much in the grip and forces a small gap between the grip and the frame. This can probably be fixed by shaving down the inside of the grip with a knife, but still, for a marker this nice you would expect that Proto would have designed the grip better. This can also be a serious problem for someone who plays on a field that has a lot of dirt or dust on it as the gaps are large enough to allow junk to get into the grip and come in contact with the board. I'm going to try to fix this problem by getting new grips, something I would have done anyway for personal preference reasons.

I took the marker out on the field and played for four straight hours without a single problem. The gun rips paint and really makes playing a lot more fun when compared to my Spyder. I'm not going to tell you that I went out like Rambo and had 100 kills to 0 deaths on the field, but the difference was enough that the ref on the field told me that I had gotten a lot better, much of which I attribute to the Rail. Shot accuracy was fantastic with the Rail allowing me to hit with only one or two shots targets on the other side of the field. The Rail also allowed me to squeeze shots into tighter spaces than I could ever have hoped. With about 1200 balls run through the marker I had 0 chops, 0 breaks, and 0 malfunctions. Only the Tipmann and Shocker in my group were has problem free as the Rail (the cocker had all kinds of problems while the Ion wouldn't start up, the board had to be replaced and this was only the second time the marker had ever been used). Simply put, the marker performed flawlessly. The Rail was also deadly accurate and was fine in terms of gas efficiency (the 1200 balls only required 2 refills, and I only got the second refill down to 3000PSI from 4500, I probably could have made it with only one refill). The Rail showed no marks or scratches to the often maligned composite pieces. The only problems I had on the field were the trigger and the feedneck. I didn't like the way trigger felt. But this is a personal preference issue, there is nothing wrong with the stock trigger, the pulls were fast and light with no side to side wobble. I just personally prefer something different and will not mark down for this because it is impossible to please every player all the time. The feedneck does not have a lever lock mechanism and can only be tightened using an allen key. This can be a problem if somehow your hopper falls off during a match. I will be upgrading the feedneck too, but again, this is personal preference and not a necessity.

Post-play clean-up is a breeze. The detailed directions in the manual make taking apart and caring for the Rail easy, even for someone like me who has never owned an electronic marker before. The back cap on the Rail may need to be replaced as it is plastic and if you are overzealous while cleaning your marker you can strip the threading which could cause air to leak out the back of the marker.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this product. If you are a newer player looking to upgrade and advance your game, or if you are an experienced player just looking for a new marker or a backup, the Rail is an excellent piece of equipment. Even though there are a couple mistakes in this piece of equipment, it is practically impossible to have a "perfect" marker. Because of this, I give the Rail a 10 as it is a great marker for a wide range of players with very few problems -- most of my upgrades are things I want to change to make the marker better for me, they are not required upgrades to make the marker perform. When you consider what you get for the price, along with how few mistakes and problems there are with the marker, it is certainly deserving of a ten. The Rail is small, light, fast, efficient, reliable, well built, accurate, and, most importantly, fun. It rips paint in the field with no problems and no down time. I strongly recommend this product for all levels of players. I'm really looking forward to the next time I get to take my Rail out to the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

paintlad88 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have at least shot almost every high-end marker out and owned most at some point as well
Marker Setup: PMR w/ hybrid clamping feed-ring and 14" dye ul barrel
vlocity w/ boost and speedfeed
hp crossfire 45/45

Also currently own and alias w/ tadao infamous board, ultralite, and much more
Recommended
Upgrades:
Another barrel
Trigger if playing any series not allowing ramping
Strengths: Size/Weight
Ease of use/maintenance
Weaknesses: Can't think of any
Review: I got this at World Cup even before they came out for sale, its one of the first 64 that were at cup for the dye tech class. Out of the box without any adjustment or anything it shot 298, 298, 299 over the chrono; that is what i call consistent and out of the box no less. The marker is also a little more efficient than i expected getting around 5 pods and a vlocity from a 45/45 fill. I am also very pleased that this gun came w/ all tournament modes needed out of the box, the only reason i would upgrade boards is so you dont have to open the grips to make adjustments. All in all i am very pleased with my purchase of this gun and if you make that decision than i am sure you will be pleased too (unless you are as much of a moron as some of the others who posted reviews on this marker).
Conclusion: If you are considering any other members of the matrix family take a look at this first and you may save some money without losing performance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

PBfire1 Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy's
Marker Setup: Primary- PMR, NDZ ASA, NDZ Back Cap, NDZ spring detents, NDZ Clamp, Bob Long Players Autococker Barrel Kit , Halo B, HPA

Back up- A5, Response, Flatline, Tipp Expansion Chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off
Look Below
Strengths: Quite accurate stock
Fast
Light
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Battery wires (For most)
Back cap (For some)
O-rings
Eats air
Review: The owning of this marker started with the first game I used with my a5. I couldn't get it to work and I needed a marker fast. I went up to the pro shop and I had been looking at the PMR online for a couple of weeks. I asked if I could try it out and he let me. The first thing I noticed when holding it, which like many other people, was how light it was. I couldn't believe it. It felt very light but at the same time very sturdy. I aired it up, slapped on a halo and let her rip. I thought it shot just as fast as my friend's timmy. I purchased it and went out for the last couple hours of speedball. I ran into a couple of problems with breaks. Not to many though. I will blame it on bad field paint. Since then I have not had problems with breaks.

I have not had problems with the backcap. I honestly think this is a users fault if they strip it. Just hand tighten the cap as far as you can and put in the appropriete allen wrench and just do a 1/8th of a turn. I have taken appart and put together my marker probably 20 times and I have not had one problem with the backcap.

Next I will talk about the battery wires. These seem to be a problem with some PMR's. When I first put in the battery I noticed they they look almost like they were coming out of the board, probably because they were almost coming out of the board. They did break on me and I just sodered them back in place. I called up dye and they are sending me a new replacement piece. Sucks but I had the gun back up and operational in about half an hour.

This marker seems to be a bit tough on o-rings but not much worse than anything else I have seen or owned.

Eating air is probably my main problem with the marker. I can get MAYBE 175 balls per 1000 psi. I am not sure if this problem is accross the board or I need to look at something with the marker. I just hate filling up the marker every other game.


::UPDATES::
Since owning this maker I have had a couple problems with it not wanting to hold air. This was due to a worn O-rings. This might not be a problem for some of you because you might not be using your marker as much as me. I put AT LEAST 2000 balls though it a week, sometimes A LOT more. If you're like me then go buy a O-ring kit right away... actually everyone should buy this kit cause if you can't play because you don't have a stupid little o-ring then that would feel like a kick in the nuts.

~Bob Long Players barrel kit~ It just makes this maker that much better to play with. If you have the money to play with then do it!

~NDZ spring detents~ It just makes me feel better about the marker lol :) No need to do this mod.

~NDZ metal back cap~ I will still say no need to do this either.

~NDZ feedneck~ I love it.

~Hater Sauce lube~ I recommend this lube to anyone using this marker. Clean and lube your marker after everytime you play and your marker will take care of you.
Conclusion: All in all, I think this marker is an amazing marker for the money. A couple of small problems occured but the enjoyment of it makes me look over any of these small things. It shoots ropes and with my Halo B it has no problems hitting 22 BPS. I would love to give it a 10 but with the small problems and the fact that I can't say that my baby is perfect I will have to give it a......
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 1:51 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Blindside81091 Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Dye, adn Proto markers
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail - Halo B - 68Ci, 4500 Psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite Barrel if u dont like the stock one
Dye ASA on/off
Ultralite Frame.. if you don't like the stock one
Strengths: Read in Full Review Below
Weaknesses: Trigger Moves a Little left and right... but it that doesnt affect anything
Review: - Gun is Very Light
- Stock Trigger isn't bad, you jsut haev to get a feel for it
- Does not kick at all
- Very consistent Velocity
- Feedneck works great ( i havent lost my halo yet )
- Easy to Clean and Lube Bolt
- Board is REALLY easy to program
- Board is amazing.. Better the the PM 06'
- Barrel is A One-Piece, accuracy is not bad ( shot 20 balls all within 6 inches from eachother at 100 ft away )
- Haven't chopped a ball yet
- Comes with everything you will need to fix / maintain gun
- Comes wiht 2 of every O-Ring you will need
- Comes with Dye Sticky Lube
- Hyper 2 Regulator comes stock ..
- Eye Logic is Amazing
- Perfect for any player
- Even comes wiht replacement Ball detents




I got this gun not to long ago...

I was so ready to get this gun and shoot it... A few days later i went to the local field and filled up my tank and went to the chrono.. it shot 280 - 281 - 280.. i was so amazed by this the PMR came stock on 20 BPS .. The Trigger took a little getting used to, but once i played few games the trigger became easier to pull. The lightness of the gun with a full hopper and a full tank made playing alot easier... The gun was shooting so nice no kick or anything. Being a front player it made a big difference in manueverability.. We played a few games of x-ball on ramping... My PMR was on 15 ramping, and the marker was still cycling so smoothly no kick or anythin...

Many say that this gun is like the Ion.. but it's nothing like it.. the ion has kick the PMR doesn't...

There arent many differences between the PM7 and the PMR

The main differences are
Pm7 has a LPR ( low pressure regulator) ASA On/off and ultralite frame.
PMR: Body is smaller then PM7 but doesnt have LPR - ASA On/off or ultralite frame
Conclusion: I reccomend the PMR for anyone.. This is the best gun that i haev ever seen that wont leave a hole in your wallet...

If you are lookign for a gun that is reliable and is worth the price... the PMR is for you
Amazing Gun + Amazing Price = Worth Every Penny
^ Simple Math
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media