paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
paintball87lml Friday, November 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm6
Timmy
Ego
Angel (but tested)
I recommend this gun its betta then a timmy
Marker Setup: Empire B hopper
72/3000 tank crossfire
Dye On/Off
Basically thts it
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
feedneck
and new barrel if needed
Also Dye On/Off
Strengths: Fast doode!!!!
Cheap
Nice Design
Basically like Pm6 or Pm7
Weaknesses: Trigger wobbly
And feedneck get an aluminum 1
Review: So i got this gun maybe 3 weeks ago so when i opened the box the first thing i noticed was the design it was Awesome looked like DYe Pm6 and Pm7 guns So i got some paintballs and tried it out i noticed the trigger was wobbly but tht doesnt matter it was fine so anyway i put on my hopper and started rippen the paint on semi and doode it goes so freakin fast and i couldnt believe how cheap the gun was it was awesome i reccommend this gun to anyone who needs a good gun but under $400 and this is the One buy it now and u be shootin all ur targets like *wack* like tht
Conclusion: Reccommed this to anyone who wants a good gun for a good price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

eos356 Saturday, December 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego's, timmys, Shockers, Imps, the list goes on.
Marker Setup: Blue Python Impulse with Lpr kit, freak Barrel , Vision, Strange bolt, ccm feed neck, custom products asa, stock grips, cp reg

Olive PMR Freak Barrel ,ultralite, metal back-cap, new designz feedneck ring, lucky 15 kit, cp asa, Pmi tank Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely buy an Ultralite, it's a 110% improvement over stock. Worth every penny.
New barrel, I use a Freak, but it's personal preference.
Custom products end cap (metal)
Strengths: Small
Light
Cheap
accurate
Reliable
Great value
Weaknesses: Plastic grip frame stock, Requires some upkeep.
Review: So I was actually out Ego shopping as it were, and came across a beautiful Olive PMR at my local paintball shop. I fell in love and traded my Upped X-7 for it straight up. I immediately slapped the freak barrel from my Python on it as soon as I got home. I took it out of the box and realized that the led was on. I tried to turn it off, but it wouldn't. So I figured that it just messed up and needed to be reset, so opened the grip and disconnected the battery, to find my problem was actually due to the plastic switches in the grip had fallen inside the frame, no longer sitting on the dip switches. After VERY CAREFULLY moving the board, I fixed them, and that was that. The board and switches worked fine from there on out. So I decide to gas it up and fire it. Now I am no stranger to spool valves, having owned a few shockers, but I admit, this the first trixie that has graced my gearbag. I gassed it up only to be greeted my a huge leak. Like I said, I've owned spools before, so I figured that like all spools, an o-ring was probably loose, or the bolt wasn't put in properly or something of that nature. So I took apart the bolt assembly, lubed and cleaned it entirely, then reinserted it all. I tried to air it up again, only to be greeted once again, by a leak. So I went to spool valve problem area #2: The Reg. Now the PMR's reg works much like a cp one (the reg itself is actually a dye hyper 2, a very nice reg. ) in the sense that to decrease input, you screw it in, and the opposite to increase. I discovered (not to my surprise) that the input was all the way down. I gassed the gun up, and slowly increased the pressure until the leak stopped. I fired a few dry shots; no leak. A problem that is easily fixed. With all that done, I loaded up my Vlocity and attached it to the gun, via the simple ccm style Allen wrench tightening feedneck. I went out back and selected a tree as my target. I took a couple quick shots, then decided to switch the freak insert to a looser .693 bore. This produced better accuracy. The gun was also noticeably quiet, something I really loved about my shockers. The hyper 2 did it's job admirably, keeping the velocities consistent, and I was very pleased. I decided to do a quick speed test. I lit off a quick string, to see how fast it would go. The stock speed was impressive, but the stock trigger leaves something to be desired, like say......metal? Regardless, I was very impressed with the performance, and will update it once I get to use it in a game.
***** UPDATE*******
Alright, so I finally got to use my new trixie in a game. I was playing some walk-on 7 man at my local field. The temp was around the mid 40's, but I lubed the gun well, and Had no problems with consistency. On to performance. I have absolutely fallen in love with the gun's light weight and profile. It is easy to snapshoot with, and thanks to my Freak, as well as the hyper 2, it is dead accurate. (for speedball purposes.) Still, the only thing I dislike about the gun is the plastic components. I got to hold an ultralited pmr at the field, and have definately decided to buy one. Even so, the stock frame preformed well, I just hate the feel of it. I was impressed with the in game performance, and for a tournament player like myself, the last thing you want to worry about in a tourny is your gun quitting during a game. The Rail adheres to the Golden rule of spool valves : "Take good care of it, and it will take good care of you." All in all, still impressed. Good job Proto.
* I will update once I get my Ultralite frame.
*****UPDATE*****
So I was cleaning/lubing my gun after a day of flawless play. Removed the bolt, cleaned it, lubed it. Cleaned out the inside of the gun. Put it all back in (bolt) and attempted to screw in the end cap. Virtually instantly, the plastic threads began to strip like a mofo. So I took it off, and literally pulled plastic shavings out of the threads. This really pissed me off, mostly because upon inspecting the end cap, I saw it to be of a very low quality, something I don't usually associate with Proto. But it's really not a problem, as I said before, I'm replacing all of the plastic components of the gun with metal ones. Here's a list of the replacement parts I'm buying, to hep anyone else who's interested.
Frame: Dye Ultralite
Eye covers: New designz aluminum Eye covers
End cap: Custom products end cap
Feed neck: New designz lever top feed neck ring.
I will update my review again when These upgrades are installed.
******UPDATE*********
Ok, so I finally got my ultralite frame, and All I can say is wow. The frame is such an improvement over the stock in every way. I would highly recommend you pick one up if you own a pmr. The board that comes with it is awesome, and just as easy to tune as the pmr's. IN short, it completely changes the feel of the gun, making it feel more like a high end proto, or dm7,8,9. Also, I ordered a metal back cap, (because mine stripped) and also a new designs feedneck ring, the review will be updated when they arrive.
******UPDATE*******
Alright, so I finally have all the upgrades that I wanted for my Rail, (metal back cap, ultralite, Metal eye plates, New designz metal feedneck ring)
An I can say that I love my gun even more now. It feels so much better with all metal components. I also have a lucky 15 kit for it now, making it very accurate and very, very quiet. I have hand no further problems with the new back-cap , it works smooth and easy like it should. I would definitely buy a metal backcap first thing for new owners.
Was a great gun, now an awesome gun. I may get a tech bolt for it, but idk. My gun now feels and preforms like a high end dm. All for less than 450$ Great buy
Conclusion: I would buy this gun again. The only things I don't like are the plastic components. (trigger, frame, eye covers) Luckily, all these can be replaced, which I intend to do. Overall, this gun is an excellent value. The features you get are wonderful, and make this gun a definite tournament gun out of the box. Being a spool valve, you do have to occasionally take care of it (shocker guys and other trixie owners know what I mean) but it's well worth it. I give it a 9 because of the trigger and grip, otherwise amazing, great job Proto.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 31st, 2008 at 7:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skateordie1219 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Epiphany:
This marker destroys it, 17bps and no accuracy even WITH a freak Vs. 30bps stock and decent accuracy with a stock barrel. You choose.

Smart Parts Ion:
Proto wins, end of discussion.

Invert Mini:
first marker here to give any competition for the price range they are in. The mini is a little lighter, but the PMR is faster and more accurate.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix rail w/ Tadao M7 programming board
Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby
Halo B v35
Dye Invision i3 Goggle
Mantis Pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger:
Some people love it, some hate it. It is plastic but is very fast and easy on the fingers.
However i am getting and would recommend a CP or New Designz roller trigger to really use the full potential of this marker.


Barrel:
The stock barrel is decent but is not the most accurate thing on the planet. Im getting either a Pepper Stick, Ultralight, Or j&j ceramic in 12 or 14.


REAR BOLT CAP:
MOST IMPORTANT UPGRADE LISTED.
the rear bolt cap is plastic and the threading gets destroyed vrey easily. trust me, bite the bullet and but a metal one. youll thank me later. my gun didnt function at first because of this.

buy some buttons too if you want
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Price ($400)
weight
3-D milling
PWNS IONS

Weaknesses: Rear bolt cap.
thats it
Review: The PMR is pretty much a pm7 without a 2 piece barrel or a metal frame.

up to 30 balls per second in all firing modes (can you say RAPEAGE?)

it is pretty accurate stock, but i tried my friends ultralight on it and it was a whole other world . no comparison, i would definitely buy a two piece barrel

It comes with the pm7 board and has 3 firing modes plus one hidden one.

PSP
MILLENIUM
Semi-Auto
NXL (hidden mode)


the only weakness is really the rear bolt cap and it only costs 25 bucks to replace.
and it makes the marker look cooler.

Edit: Ive added a Tadao M7 board, A New Designz blade trigger, New Designz ASA with gauge port, New Designz Buttons, an Ultralight barrel with 12" and 14" tips, a new bolt cap, and a New Designz On/Off. Needless to say my marker RIPS now.

Conclusion: For 400 bucks?

BUY IT because it owns.
plain and simple

Please let me know if this review was helpful and leave me comments on it.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 18th, 2007 at 8:03 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

JGault Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 104 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, Shocker, Ion, Ego, Nerve
Marker Setup: I currently use a RL Shocker and have a Ion as a backup
Strengths: Small
Weaknesses: Complex wiring harness, bad soleniod mounting, plastic trigger with play, looks like made in China
Review: The gun more kick than I expected, and the stopped firing after a short period of time. I think the electronics failed. Took it apart and reassembled it and it began to work again. I shot a case of paint and noticed a problem, took it apart again and found that some of the o-ring had come off the bolt. Generally not impressed with the feel of the gun, I don't think it compares to my modified Ion. You can do alot better for $400
Conclusion: Get and Ion- better faster and less money
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
104 Comments - Add Comment

zerokid1 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys,Egos,Pm6,Dm6 many more.
Marker Setup: Proto Rail-stock-
Halo B With rip
72 3000 pure energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Good Looks
Weaknesses: Trigger for some ppl but not for me anymore.
Review: So i got the gun Open it up was nicely Packaged. So i take out the gun felt very light

so i adjust the pressure and turn it down about 1-3 turns even though its already at 150psi its good to still turn it down before use.

so i air it up to see if everything is ok before i go to the field. had a leak...was coming out

from the back so i take out the bolt and change the back o-ring and problem fixed!.

so i go on to dryfire it to make sure it will shoot ok and was perfectly fine.

so i go to the field get paint and what not and go to the chrono and bam velocity-281-282-281-283-282 - was amazing!. so i got back get all my stuff ready and wait till the game. refs call us i start walkin first thing comes into mind wow this thing is very light could walk all day like this.

so anyways i pass the chrono without any adjustments and make my way to the field

had a blast everygame the gun shot amazing no chops no nuttin and was rippin with a stock barrel...didnt have any problems shot as fast as i could and every shot would be the same shot as before (owns). Had an amazing day at the field velocity stayed the same shot great got about 2 ppl out each game witch is pretty good first time.

Trigger= To tell you truth it wasent that great at first but as days past it got lighter n lighter somehow cause of practicing alot walking the trigger but soon we will have upgrades for trigger and it will be fine.

FeedNeck= its fine doesent bother me at all fits hoppers easy. just use it till u think its time to get a new one.

is this gun like an ion?= Not even close like some ppl say i had an ion and it dont even shoot like this gun my velocity on ion was like 290 270 280 kept jumping up and down
this gun is way better then the ion, Way Lighter, Faster, Better Performance, velocity is way more consistent. Will Update Once i try the new ion . but way better then the first ion. better reg better parts.


this gun is defintly awsome for the price if you're looking to get one i say GET ONE!
Conclusion: Great gun for the price ,
Shoots good,
Buy one you will be happy.
Gave it a 9 since u need some upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 12th, 2006 at 11:35 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Tuesday, February 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: proto rail black dust
newdesigns slik trigger
proto alloy back cap
16" sp freak
halo b w/ rip drive
rush speed feed
68/45 cf tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well the back cap see review
A longer barrel but thats up to you
Strengths: Light fast reliable
Price
Weaknesses: The plastic hype around it
Review: When i got this at the beggining of this year on 1/02 i took it straight out to the back yard and shot ropes till my tank ran out

I replaced the back cap just to make sure i wouldnt strip out the threads because i tinker and like to get every once of performance out of my gun and i knew i would end up

The barrel is .690 and is accurate up to a point maily because its on a 10 inch but i replaced mine with a freak because i like to have a good bore to paint size match

The board is the same as the pm7
With no lpr this gun can still shoot fragile paint with the best of them because of the boost foward technolgy
The styling and size of the rail is small and sexy

The plastic hype around the marker is well i think is wrong
The handle and trigger are realy strong and durable and some people say the trigger bends under pressure it does but it takes alot and if your are putting that much pressure on the trigger your not playing paintball
Conclusion: For the price you get theis gun for which is about 400 This marker will play speedball or woodsball not matter what your game it will fall in line with it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 at 6:09 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

akadethklok Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm's
protos
Marker Setup: (UM) 03 viking with WAS 2.0 board .693 14" stiffi, stock halo, cp on/off 45/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul frame maybe, better barrel
Strengths: Like a proto
Fast
Cheap
Under 500$
Weaknesses: Trigger, barrel
Review: One of my teammates let me shoot his rail for a few games and man is rocks. It is much better than any upped ion (and I should know i have owned 3). It very light almost perfect stock but the trigger is hard to stroll with but easy to walk. For the price it is perfect for the beginner players and a great backup gun.
Conclusion: Get this over an ion you won't be disapointed with it at all
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

justin_kenney68 Sunday, November 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Shocker-I think the pmr is better
Marker Setup: Black Proto PMR
68/4500 Smart Parts Max flo tank with a Crossfire Low pressure reg
Evlution 3 (egg 3)-smoke

Trilogy Comp Autococker
20 ounce pure energy
vl200 loader

spyder xtra
c.a.m.d electro frame
vl200
Co2

Spyder victor 4
Brass eagle co2 tank (only good thing brass eagle makes)
vl200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electro Hopper that can feed 20-30 BPS
New trigger or UL frame
Strengths: Light and compact
Weaknesses: Monkey club trigger-good for PSP , sucks for walking in semi
Review: The proto pmr is a great beginner tourney marker. Plastic back cap will strip over time, save yourself the trouble and get a new back cap. IMO its better than all of the guns in its price range including the mini and its better than anything smartparts could ever make including the shocker. The gun costs 200 on ebay why would you get a million doller gun when you could save money and just get a good board for this gun.

Conclusion: If you need a great gun but you are on a budget get the Proto SLG if you can afford it get the PMR and if you really want to get down and bunker some people get the PM8 or DM9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 14th, 2008 at 9:09 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Pnkskater656 Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm6
Marker Setup: 2007 Proto rail, halo b, 68/4500 dye throttle, dye stickys.
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, eventually barrel
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Different modes, great anno, clamping feedneck, its a matrix
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ok. yesterday I aired it up and shot it for the first time, the first thing i noticed is that it was very accurate, event at high rates of fire, It is very easy to get ripping even with the crappy looking trigger (the trigger actually feels very nice). the clamping feedneck worked with my halo b perfectly. Low operating pressure of 150, pretty consistent ( hasnt been broken in yet)(2000 shots). And even though the trigger frame is made out of composite, the gun does not have a plasticy feel whatsoever.


EDIT: I have put around 1500 shots through it, the things I am noticing are that it uses ALOT of lube but I am sure that will change once it is fully broken in (2000 shots). The accuracy is amazing. I was playing around with the settings today and the wiring harness broke, cheap wiring harness (same as dm4, dm5), anyways I took it to the store I brought it from and the fixed it for free, also people are complaining about stripping out the composite back cap, they are tighting it TOO MUCH, I can tighten it enough with my fingers, all it needs to be is snug. Still a great gun.

EDIT: ok, my wiring harness broke already, and I got that fixed, then yesterday my eye broke off of the harness, I wasnt pulling on it hard or anything, Once I get it fixed, I'm probably gonna sell or trade, Im tired of things breaking.

EDIT: ok I am editing this review after owning this gat for about 3 months, this thing still rips and my eyes and harness have been fine so far, by the way, this thing also has nxl on it stock, its not listed on the manual or anywhere else for that matter. But I would still recommend this gun to anyone who wants a high end gat, for a good price.
Conclusion: Performance of the gun is good, but the wiring harness sucks, I would get the mini
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

haggggard Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini, ion pro,bob long intimidator
Marker Setup: halo v35 with rip drive, pure energy tank, redz pepperstickz barrels,dead on paintball drop forward,tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and feedneck
Strengths: Small,light.
Weaknesses: O rings break easily
Review: I got this gun for christmas this year and i loved it best gun i ever got my last gun was a ion razor and i didn't like it so i got the pmr. Ive only had trouble with the o rings and the air regulator. This gun shoot really acurate but its a little loud this gun like never chops paint only like 3 balls out a 2000 well i got the bore sized and a new 16 inch barrel so it never chops needs a lot of lube
Conclusion: This gun matches my hotness
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media