paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
bobtnt3 Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, pimp, shocker, minion
Marker Setup: Ion, Virtue, Empire twister, Firebolt, QEV, Low-rise feedneck.......
Recommended
Upgrades:
None as of yet....
Strengths: Size/Weight....
accuracy and consistency...
Weaknesses: None as of yet
Review: I purchased this gun as a Christmas present, but it couldn't wait to get tested. My son was dead set on getting a Shocker NXT, but once the rail got in his hands the decision was made. The gun has great balance and the weight was unreal.....very light. As a front player the size and weight will be a great advantage. The consistency out of the box was incredible. I have a maxed out ION that I have been very happy with, but the stock rail made me understand just how good something else can be. The packaging and instructions were very complete. Gun can be maxed out at 30bp with stock board, but the consistency and accuracy using the PSP mode are more than enough for anyone.
Conclusion: Tremendous gun for the price. The size gives the gun a different feel in your hands, but can be gotten used to very quickly. A little noisier than expected, but no kick at all. I could very easily recommend this to all my friends and not feel bad about it. Get this gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fuzzlefizz Thursday, March 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Matrixes, Autocockers, Angels, Planet Eclipse Ego, Intimidators, Tippmanns, Spyders, various other guns
Marker Setup: 07 Proto Matrix Rail
Dye UL Frame w/ board + trigger
Evil 14" Ultra Barrel Kit System
New DesignZ black aluminum backcap
68/3000 PMI HPA fiberglass tank w/ NXe cover
Halo hopper w/ victory board & rip drive & 9volt conversion
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
New backcap (threading of the plastic backcap can get worn out)
A nice electronic hopper
A good HPA tank with preferably a tank cover
On/Off ASA (not absolutely necessary)
Strengths: - Very accurate for it's price
- DEFINITELY the price
- Weight
- Upgradeability
Weaknesses: - No LPR, not needed
- Backcap gets loose
- Too many O-rings
- Fair air efficiency
Review: PROS:
This gun is absolutely amazing. It's got all the speed (up to 30bps) and firing modes of normal high-end guns. Only other high-end light gun would be the Invert Mini, which I think, is way too proprietary and stuck on one position (the foregrip and main grip is too close and the gas through ASA and grip doesn't allow for any drops to get a tighter posture). AMAZING gun for the front player to run (entirely enclosed, perfect for diving and not getting any dust or particles into the gun). The accuracy is dead on amazing... just as accurate as all other matrixes (nearly on par with egos, though I think egos are still more accurate due to their special noid and stability of their valves). However, amazing gun for it's price... with all upgrades, it's a tournament-ready pro gun.
Easy to clean, just unscrew the backcap and pull out the bolt/valve system... taking the bolt out too many times can wear out the o-rings as well as the threads on the stock backcap. It's also a fairly quiet gun, air vents out in 2 places, backcap and firing chamber. Quieter than most common guns (timmys, autocockers, etc). With eyes on, can fire any paint... Fired bonus balls as old as 5 months (stored in good temp though) and none chopped. Again, chopping would only occur if 1. Hopper batteries dead, 2. Eyes are off, 3. On ramping with 30bps or similar, 4. Using a barrel crappier than stock, or 5. Small air leak in bolt system (solved with new o-rings set).

CONS:
This gun uses a LOT of different sized O-rings, and the backcap tends to get a lil loose, so use lock tight or some teflon tape. In addition, the gun isn't extremely efficient on air, but shouldn't be a problem when playing at fields that supply unlimited air. Trigger is a lil wobbly and plastic, so if you play aggressive, you might want to invest on a new trigger.

Overall... AMAZING gun for the price. Upgrades available is the Dye UL frame (comes with upgraded trigger, board, and aluminum frame), virtue board, triggers, feednecks, ASAs, as well as any minor tidbits.

Update:
You would need extra PMR O-ring kits as a couple of my o-rings got worn after shooting 4 cases of paint, and were leaking air out of the backcap venting hole. O-rings get worn out fairly fast in this gun, o-rings for the bolt stem can be found cheap at local Home Depot. Very reliable gun so far, works amazing even with eyes off (as long as your hopper is force-fed and fast). No paint break (cept for 1 paintball when my hopper batteries died).

Update 2:
Got the Dye UL frame... the aluminum trigger is solid tight, board works very well (not a whole lot different from stock PMR board), and the buttons don't fall out like the stock ones when disassembling. Overall, the frame is amazing as well as looks, only adds a couple more ounces to the overall weight though. Getting too many scratches on my gun due to constant running/diving with this gun... very very fun gun to play with.
Conclusion: DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED for the average user and as a backup gun for pro players. For me, I use it over my DM6 when I play front. Not a whole lot of kick (though DM6 and Egos have lesser kick), but the DM6 and Egos are also heavier (the arm would get pretty tired after an entire day from dawn till dusk). The Honda Civics of markers... reliable, cheap, and highly upgradeable.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 29th, 2007 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

toyo805 Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Up'd ions, epiphanys, invert mini
Marker Setup: DXS Pulse Loader
NDZ Pro-Lite Frame
NDZ Roller Blade Trigger
Proto on/off asa
Proto Aluminum Back Cap
Crossfire 70/4500
Dye UL 16" Barrel
Trinity Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board,
clamp feed neck

Strengths: Speed
weight
accuracy
price
Weaknesses: Trigger moves side to side (wobles)
Review: This is a great gun for anyone especially anyone just getting into paintball this gun is ready to go right out of the box accurate, fast, light, overall good gun. Ive benn playing with this gun for a while and it has never chopped paint chronod it at 290 292 287
so pretty consistant, shoot my hopper through it at a wall (cinder block) about 30 feet away got most of the paint in 1 cinder block about 12 shoots where off.


Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to anyone who is either looking to get into paintball or anyone just looking for a new gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 20th, 2007 at 12:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mzakflip40 Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine,
Marker Setup: Proto Rail
68/4500 Crossfire LP Tank
Empire Reloader B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck
Strengths: Light weight, fast, affordable, easy to use.
Weaknesses: Absolutely none
Review: My first impression of this gun was, "wow this is light". This gun is super fast and can easily keep up with any $1000 gun. The eyed work flawlessly, and its so easy to program. It has a sweet body, and i love the Dye Hyper2 in-line. The rail is an unbelievalby good deal. The trigger may be made of a polymer, but its extremely light and easy to walk. Definately get this if your looking for a new gun.
Conclusion: I think Proto/Dye did a great job on this one. An affordable marker with great quality. Perfected.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

G 2 Monday, June 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all kinds
Marker Setup: pmr
reloader b
ul
ndz trigger
ndz neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck and trigger a must, as well as a barrel
Strengths: Price
Weight
Performance value
Quality
Very quick disassembly
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
Battery wires and connector
Review: I love this marker because at the time i baught it, it was at such a great price and performed almost as well as its counterpart, the pm7.. or 8.
You really get all the performance you need out of it but you do need to put a little extra money into it.. like..:

-A feedneck.
its made from plastic and also never really held my reloader B in place well enough. The feed neck actually snapped on me when i dove into a snake within the first week of using it, something that has never happened to me before with any other marker.

-Trigger.
The trigger is made of plastic and a rubber coating.. it just didnt do it for me.
I have very fast fingers and it just wouldnt let me shoot at my potential no matter how precisely i adjusted it to my taste. its also on the heavier side to pull.

-Barrel.
You will definitely want a new barrel. The stock barrel on this thing was actually one of the worst stock barrels ive ever shot on a higher end marker.. i was really surprised. Unless mine was defective then I would recommend a new barrel as well.

-Battery wires well.. they are so short and the connector is so hard to remove from the battery that it is actually a challenge to remove the battery without pulling out the wires along with it. Mine finally gave in and came out of the board which is really not something easy to replace since everything in a paintball gun is like micro tiny.

BUT. Along with these fairly inexpensive upgrades.. it was a marker that never let me down, great break beam eyes, a little tiny bit of kick, but it is to be expected as it is not made as smooth shooting as the pm8. the pmr has a very slightly kicky bolt, and unfortunately does not come with a an extra regulator.
Conclusion: It definitely worked for me and found that i really did not need to spend the extra money for the pm8 BUT.. if you are planning on performing the suggested upgrades and further reduce kick with installing a new bolt and UL frame, then you might as well get that pm8 because you are now spending close to its price range
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

merritb Saturday, February 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine - LOL this makes me laugh
98c - well different gun for different uses i guess
Tiger Shark Pump - sweet pump, but obvi not a proto
Marker Setup: PMR '07 Blk Dust
Stock board
Red/Blk 14" 2 piece ulralite .688 barrel
New Designz red backcap
New Designz red feedneck
Halo B reloader
Pure energy 48/3000 Hpa tank

98C Pro
Expansion Chamber
Rocket Cocket
SP AA 14 in 2 piece
C02 tank(s)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New back cap
-better barrel, though stock one isnt bad
-fast loader
Strengths: -Fast
-Durable
-Sexy
-Many mods
-Range, accuracy, quiet
Weaknesses: -Picky on balls
-Not so air efficient
Review: The PMR is an excellent gun, especially for the money. Ive seen anything from the tiger shark pump, to the dm10s. with the correct modifications, this gun can basically be a dm10, sure it has a different regulator, and prolli more kick. but for me, ill take this gun any day.

i originally wanted a trilogy competition select fire. but my field directed me to this gun. and its a beauty thats for sure. came in a nice box surrounded in foam.

barrel is short, but reallly not bad. i go to the field maybe 2 times a month, and stock, this gun will perform well enough for me with no complaints.

However, get a new back cap, they do strip easily, thats for sure. plus you can add color to your gun. the board is very simple to use, the directions in the manual are easy to follow. eyes work great on it. whether your new or not, this gun has something for everyone. im a woodsball player, and for me, when i go to the speedball field, i guess i look like a hybrid. i have camo pants on, with and underarmour top, and a sleevless shirt, thats it. everyone else has jerseys on, hoodies etc. but what im holding is a bit different. i got my proto with a halo b, 14in ultralite, hpa tank. i bet i look funny. but when i come off the field people look at me like im one of the best at the field.

we played a game where it was me and a bunch of noobs, against a bunch of noobs and 2 people (one guy, one girl), both had dm9s decked out. jerseys too, the whole nine yards. on semi, which is the only mode i use lol im crazy, anyway, i ended up taking out 4 of them, including the 2 with the dms. the end of the game, the 2 came up to me and were like where did you come from?
Conclusion: Im a firm believe that its the person behind the gun that makes him a good player, not the gun itself. i started out with a pump, and learned some key values with that pump. i worked my way up to this gun. i wouldnt say its a beginners gun, just for that reason-youll miss out on important lessons. however, its an excellent speedball gun, and would say the best gun for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tangible Bullet Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Proto Rail. Upgraded CP feedneck and CP backcap.
Empire Reloader B with Rip Drive.
72/3000psi Aluminum tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A clamping feedneck, and a new backcap.
Strengths: Lightweight.
Accurate.
Small profile.
26 BPS.
Walkable.
Simple board.
Hyper 2 Regulator.
Price.
Weaknesses: A bit loud.
Plastic back cap.
Feedneck.
Review: I love this gun. I bought it used from ebay for only $160, so price definitley wasn't a bit of a problem for me. The first thing I noticed about it was just how lightweight it was. This gun has a very small profile. So I put the battery in and started playing with the board. Man it's one easy board to use. Very simple. Dye made a great manual for it, so there wasn't very much confusion about anything.

I aired it up and took it outside for some test firing. Wow this gun is accururate! From about 60ft. away, the spread was only about 5in. wide. It's also extremely easy to walk the trigger. The gun was a little bit louder than what I'm used to, but that's not much of a problem.

I would recomend getting a clamping feedneck so that you don't always have to use an allen wrench just to put your hopper in. I would also recomend a new backcap for the gun.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to anyone from beginner to intermediate.If you can find a great deal on this gun like I did, don't pass it up. This is a great gun. It's a tournament level gun for a third of the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matrix67 Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
haven't really, but i have a spyder
Marker Setup: proto pmr (getting ul frame)
dxs pulse
crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul frame
barrel
BACKCAP!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Very accurate.
Light.
Good board.
Weaknesses: Plastic!!!!!
Review: I have only used this marker once but i love it even if it took 400 out of my pocket. of course they're now 250 so i got sc***d. love the gun very light and shoots great just dont care for the plastic. they day i played i came back to clean it and lube the bolt and i stripped the backcap! i suggest getting a new backcap for about $30.

my friend got the fusion and he wanted to shoot my gun so we switched for a game and i hated the fusion, nothing against the fusion it's awesome, just soooo heavy.

i would highly recommend getting a new frame (ul frame would be the best) the frame could easily break if you slide alot into small bunkers like me

i heard that there's nxl mode of the marker thats not mentioned in the manual, its probably #4 but i haven't tried it (i'll try to edit if it is true or not, please rate or add comment)
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker but i wouldn't without having enough money to get a new feed neck, frame, and back cap. a great marker at an awesome price couldn't wish for a better gun for the price (please rate or add comment)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 12th, 2008 at 2:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spikeman Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ions, dark shocker, alien interceptor(nice and fast but has alot of kick compared to the rail), impy, octane shocker, nxt shocker, black magic cocker, 2k3 vert cocker/
Marker Setup: Primary:
PMR
14' Ul barrel
Halo B
SP on/off
68/3000psi

Back up:
SP impusle
full function bolt
full function hammer
full function valve
full function trigger
20 oz with antisiphon
Halo B

Woodsball:
Spyder MR1
VL 200
16oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board if you really want the bragging power
UL frame( or frame of your choice)
Barrel
trigger
On/off asa rail
back cap
Strengths: Fast(30bps stock)
Light
Easy to set-up
Accurate
Weaknesses: Alot of o-rings
stock bolt cap

Review: Hey guys, this is my first review on pbreview.com and i have used this as a resource for a long time for marker buying and parts. Now i bought the PMR because i had been away from paintball for 2/3 years and i needed to upgrade my setup. Now i picked the marker up at the proshop and immediately you think this thing is a toy no way it can keep up with other markers( i used a impy before and this thing felt like a joke because it was so light) and i decided that i'd rather get this over the ion i was originally thinking of getting. Now i have no experience with the stock back cap because i bought a alloy one when i purchased the marker but i can comment on that it would be easy to strip and not as durable as the metal cap. Also on a side note i was also amazed on the size of the box( the impulse box is 2,3 times bigger then the rail box) and i asked the guy at the shop "wheres the barrel????" because the box looked so small that the barrel must have been a two piece or seperate but to my suprise it was tucked nicely away in some good padding.The marker was impeccable in looks with the sweeping lines and overall it had a certain style to it. Now onto the performance/gameplay:


Performance:
The board it comes with is capped at 30bps with 4 settings.
The barrel is a proto one piece approx: 12,11 in.(.690 bore)
The receiver is metal along with the internals(except for the back cap)
The feedneck is metal but the clamp is plastic(not cheap plastic like, more like the comp. material on the trigger frame)

The board it comes with it extremely fast and you really don't need any more faster then that with many fields limiting the bps to 15. The stock trigger has come under alot of scrutiny because of being rubber, and i must say that it is not what you would typically think of as rubber. Its a composite rubber and remarkably strong. Also with the scrutiny is the trigger frame. Now im not a engineer student(im a bio-chem/genetics engineer) but the frame is extremely light and strong. Now im a body builder and if i really wanted to i could bend it but why would you it would take alot of force to bend it and under normal play conditions that force couldn't bend it. Its not what you would think of as plastic( i.e. spyders(the cheap ones), piranhas) it is high grade impact grade composite plastic and as stated earlier in another review it is a composite which means that it combined with other materials to enhance the durability of the plastic. But if you worried that if you dive with it that it'll bend then your wrong. The regulator is consistent and one of the best on the market. Accuracy is good with the stock barrel.

Gameplay:

Now all these attributes are great and all but what matters is how they come into play in a game. One aspect i want to expand upon is the durability of the marker. Now i have dove, dived, and slide all sorts of ways with this marker and i have yet to even put a scratch on it. One game i slipped too soon and my rail ended up sliding into a anthill and covered in dirt and muck all over the place( i swore some of the ants gave me the middle finger) but i picked it back up and it shot just as great. With the marker being as light as it is it is very easy to handle, half the time it doesn't even feel like your holding the marker more like an extension of yourself. Now the accuracy is great with the stock barrel but i replaced my barrel with a dye 14' UL and on the field i was able to place 3 shots on the back left's mask(2 on the lens one on the mouth guard)


Accuracy:

So today i went out and decided to run a accuracy test, i set up random bunkers ranging from 10 to 50/60 ft and i finally got my hyper2 reg working the way i wanted( i got it 180psi from the factory and i have not had access to a chorno till a while back)
So:

Barrel: 14in dye UL red back black front bore 689/688
Paint: RPS Big Ball from Wallie world( cheap and works great)
Now the fun part:

I proceeded to hit a barrel i had placed at one side of the field and i stood at the back of the field, all bunker hits were successful, not exactly ball on ball( wind was 5/10mph) but did hit the desired target. Kick was only noticeable on the PSP, that poor barrel took a beating on the other side of the field.

All in all the accuracy, albeit not with the stock barrel, was great and the kick was minimal.
Now onto the fight between the mini, the epiphany and the PMR. Now much like high end markers, these markers also are due to personal preference. To people who bicker about which one is better grow up, its the player not the marker.
Conclusion: I know that this review isn't in depth as it should be but this is my first review, but the rail is a great marker that can keep up with true high-end markers( i play against players who use the dark shocker, octane and nxt shocker). Its fast and light with a great heritage but remember its the player not the marker that makes the game.Im giving the marker a 9 because it's astounding performance for a relatively cheap price but the bolt cap is necessary to replace to enjoy the performance
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 8:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

masterchaplin Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A5
E-grip
Freak barrel
Marker Setup: PMR
Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Parts are a bit loose
Review: This is a really good marker, I took it out to my field today and saw it rip! Oh man this thing was fast, everyone wanted to test it out. I let one of the refs rip it and he was amazed. One of the guys are even gonna buy it now. I bought this with a halo so it rips even better. People say the trigger was kind of crap but i thought it was perfectly fine. I did chop some balls but it was all at the end of the barrel. I'm not sure if it came like this but my hyper2 handle was kinda loose so it would like spin a bit.
I was deciding on getting a pm6 but they only had one left and it was on the rack which i did not like :P
I wasn't quite sure about the efficiency about the bps because my ref had the small ones and i couldn't quite see it.
Strengths
This thing is so fast, it is easy to turn on. I spent like 200 balls just randomly firing at a bunker with no one around. It rips real good. The back cap was not a problem for me. The whole gun was so light.
Weakness
After a while i shot a couple and it shoot 1 full speed and then like 4 dropping out. Not sure what it was but i got my air filled and cleaned out my barrel and it worked perfectly fine. So i guess it wasn't really a weakness. The first ball i shot it was a chop at the end. I'm not sure if it was a bad ball or what.
Conclusion: This is a really great gun. If u have 459 dollars (Canadian) buy it now! This gun is amazing and it is so light. BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media