paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Foundation Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmanns-NOT EVEN CLOSE Eclipse Etek Ego-Bout the same PM7-Same
Marker Setup: Proto matrix rail, ultralite, maxflo, virtue eyes, virtue board, dye throtle, Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virute is a must the stock board isnt to responsive. Max flo to get maximum ROF and shots per tank.
Strengths: Light, Accurate, FAST, FAST, FAST, easy maintenence
Weaknesses: Needs some upgrades to work at full potential, stock board is not very responsive.
Review: I got this gun 2 weeks befor Christmas and have to say its the greatest gun ive ever used, its light and incredibly accurate not to mention ready to go outda da box, worth every penny. There arnt alot of upgrades out for it but once they start coming i beleive this gun will be able to be upgraded to the status of a PM7.
Conclusion: Everything the aspiring paintball player needs at an afordable price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

atucker911 Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i used a ego and one of the things the pmr can keep up with is speed.
Marker Setup: i have a pmr with a 14 inch cp barrel and a empire b loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,trigger and a dye trigger frame
Strengths: The speed in this gun just stock is good it could go up to 30bps
Weaknesses: Leaks at first and the bolt unscreews its self in game sometimes.
Review: so the pmr is a pretty good gun. Its fast and pretty accurate with the stock barrel. It has 3 modes on the stock board it has psp ramping, semi auto and melenium mode.but when u r messing with the board the buttens fall out sometimes and its hard 2 get back in.
Conclusion: This is an all around good gun if you have 400 dollars get it it is very light 2. so this is one of my favorite guns i owened and its worth it. and its up there with the thousend dollar guns and its only 400 so i give it a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 3:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Street_Balla_21 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: PMR
Halo
68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lighter microswitch
ON/OFF
Barrel
Strengths: Small and light
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Heavy microswitch
No on/off
Have to open grips to program
Review: This is actually the first Matrix ive owned and i jsut got it today and i shot a few hundred rounds through it and it shot really nice but i didn't like how heavy the microswitch felt. I am used to optical sensors like on my Ebladed cocker but i am familiar to switchs like on ions and borgs and i foudn them to be a bit easier especially a NOX'd borg.

I intend on totally upgrading it soon i already put a 14in UL on it as soon as i got it so now i sporting a gloss black barrel on a dust black marker.

Going to be putting a UL Frame on soon and most likely a hybrid push button on/off.

Conclusion: In conclusion i will give this marker an 8 even though i love it because it didn't come with an on/off and the microswitch was heavy feeling.

Other than that i would suggest anyone whos starting off should ge tthis marker because its great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

LHUDSON05 Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm5 pm6
Marker Setup: i have a pm6 and a pmr w/ redz barrel kit ,cp on/off , vlocity loader,bulldogs 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa
Strengths: Very light and very low price.
Weaknesses: The pmr needs some ups.
Review: I had the extra cash and decided I needed a backup so i baught the pmr. Whe i took it ouut of the box i liked how small it is and how light it is. It shot amazing, much better than i had expected. Very easy to take apart and work on. It comes with several different firing modes wich is a plus. What I didn't like is the trigger, barrel, and the asa. Other than that this gun is great. It is very easy to change the velocity you just adjust the reg you dont have to mess around with a lpr. This gun works so i good i was playing with it over my pm6. It comes with some replacement o-rings and detents and lube.
Conclusion: If you dont have a lot of money but want a good gun buy this.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

staceyis mygun Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
uped ions
pm6
Marker Setup: proto matrix rail 07
68/4500 PMI
EVO 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, feedneck, bolt cap!!
UL frame (its only gona be $200)
Strengths: Price!!
Fast!!
Crazy light!!
Hyper2 reg.
Looks!!
Accuracy
Bolt i guess
Weaknesses: Alot of polymere parts!! (see review)
Review: First of this thing is light! it weighs less than my heavy ass sweatshirt with the tank on!
30 bps ramping!! (if u like to ramp)
Trigger is a little sloppy which isnt a prob but the fact that it has rubber makes it hard to walk.
The bolt cap is just terrible, it comes out after a while and is made of that polymere crap! Buy an alluminum one right away!
The feednecks fine but the where and tear will get to it eventually.
Conclusion: Poly parts: eye plates, whole trigger frame, bolt cap, trigger, grip, feed clamp
The accuracy is great outa the box and i was shootin pretty good with crap old rainbow paint.
I had no chops just barrel breaks (crappy paint and cold weather)
and this thing is drop dead gorgeaous and small and sooo light!!

If u plan on puttin another $300 into it....buy it
If not the dont get ur hopes up cuase after a while this is gona mess with poly parts.
THIS STANDS STRONG IN THE RACE OF EPIPHANY, MINI, AND RAIL
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

[EpIc] Monkey Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, autococker
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Pulse Loader
soon to come... rf chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, havent fired this gun yet, but i will update this review when i do shoot it.

upgrades, to me, nothin really needs to be replaced, but a UL frame, new feedneck and barrel would be a nice addition.
Strengths: VERY LIGHT!
small
low profile
nice feel
Weaknesses: The buttons on the board are annoying.
Review: Well, just got this gun on christmas, and i took it out, and it feels great.

It is very light, nice low profile and looks great.

However, when i went to change the settings on the board to highest speed and ramping, whenever i lifted the board a little, the buttons would fall out, and were annoying to get back in. Other than that, thing sounds fast, from what i've done so far.

Will make this review better after i fire the gun.
Conclusion: So far, gun is great, seems like a great deal for 400 bucks, but dont go around thinkin it beats a pm7 because reality is it doesn't
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pmr135 Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm7-pm6-pm5
Marker Setup: pmr-halo w/rip drive-45-4500 tank(pmi)- proto 2 peice barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Speed and weight
Weaknesses: None- this gun is perfect
Review: I love this gun. When i play, i feel like im carrying air. Usually when i played with my ion i got 1 guy out on each game. Now im geting 2-4 each game. The gun is incredibly accurate. even my friend who has tho 07 ego which is beast ,sayc that he likes this almost as much as hs ego.
Conclusion: Just buy the gun its incredible - incredible-incredible-incredible-incredible-incredible-incre
dible-incredible-incredible-incredible-incredible-incredible
-incredible
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer84 Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none only other marker i have used is my tippmann Custom Pro and it doesnt compare at all
Marker Setup: Stock PMR
Halo rip drive
68ci HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none i can think of at this time
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok i just got my PMR the other day. I fiddled around with the setting turning up the trigger sensitivity and making the trigger pull shorter. Today i just put 500 rounds of some old monster balls through it and it preformed great. I first shot it in semi auto and then psp and i got some nice BPS rates from both. it took about 5 minutes to go through 500 balls. this time includes me changing the firing mode which is also very easy. There is also a 4th firing mode not in the manual that is full auto.

I got my at paintball wizard retail store and they were really helpful and showed me how to maintain it and it is really easy just 1 screw to take out the whole bolt.
Conclusion: I have not use the gun enough to give it a full review but i will update at a later date once i used it a bit and gotten a good feel for it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pilot13954 Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Smart Parts Epiphany
Marker Setup: Primary Gun-Proto Rail (Stock, for now)
Eggy 3 Black
68/4500 Carbon Wrap HPA Tank

Secondary Gun-Spyder Pilot ACS 05 Black to Blue fade
Dye Sticky Grip 3
Trinity T Lock Feedneck
Proto One piece barrel Black
Empire Tank Glove (Blue)
JJ Ceramic S2 14" Barrel-backup/let others borrow
Viewloader Tripod-backup/let others borrow
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-Lock clamp (personal peference)
Trigger (again, personal perference)
Metal back cap (must have)
Strengths: Price ($300, hehe)
Lightweight
F A S T
hyperline2
Weaknesses: Grips (sticks out with battery)
Trigger
Back Cap
Review: I got this gun on Friday and couldn't test it till today because of parties and stuff. But when i got it, i dry fired a few times to see how it was. Holy crap this thing is fast. 20 bps on semi. hot damn. after degassing it and all, i started reading the manual. The manual is probably THE best manual from any makers out there. My Spyder pilot's manual was one piece of paper with an exploded view of the gun. The PMR manual had everything from setting the board to troubleshooting the gun. It had exploded views of the gun and the bolt itself as it can get confusing.

Just lifting the gun out of the box you can really feel the difference of your other guns, if you have more than one, espcially if you have a paperweight of a Pilot. Even with a 68/4500 CB tank, an Egg3 hopper, and stock barrel, the weight is still not there. it's just so lightweight. compared to an Invert Mini, its no comparsion, ONLY IN WEIGHT.
Alright lets get to business:

-The Good: ummm..WOW? This gun is fast. Upon looking at the manual, default setting for semi is at 20 bps. There was a substantial kick when firing at a high ROF. and come on, the board is a PM7 board. a board from a $1000 gun on a $400 gun. can't beat that. There are aftermarket boards out there IF you play lots of tourneys and stuff. The board comes with 4 modes; semi, Millelieum(sic), PSP, and NXL, though the manual says 3, the NXL is hidden. mmmm easter egg. The trigger should be swapped out for personal preference if you dont like the rubber. i kinda like it, but im sure i'll change it out to a blade trigger to shoot faster. With the Hyper Inline 2 reg, you know you will get consistant shots. I tested the gun with about 500 balls, not one chop. i know i know 500 balls, but hey i was out of air. The stock barrel is a pretty accurate barrel. I have a 14 inch Proto on my Spyder and it hits the spot all the time. Though a .690 bore is pretty big, most of the balls i use are about .688.

-The Bad: Back cap, back cap, back cap. need i say more? Though i have not stripped it yet, i;m sure ill have to change it out. Get any metal back cap either from Proto or NDZ, just as long its metal, and for looks too. The clamp feedneck is a good clamp, though it uses an allen wrench. The clamp does clamp down hard on the hopper, but having a T-Lock clamp is alot easier to put on/off.
Conclusion: So for $400 bucks, at this price range, its up against the Invert Mini and the Smart Parts Epiphany. I tested those two guns and ended up with the Proto PMR is because of weight, performace and above all else, CUSTOMER SERVICE. Dye/Proto is known for their customer service and warranty. Think about it, if your gun ever has any problems, one call to Dye/Proto they will help you out as much as they can. If you have something broken, send it to them and BAM its back in your hand under a week. Also, Epiphany = Ion...think about it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

inThe face2675 Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, epiphany, and one timmy
Marker Setup: Pmr stock, Halo B hopper
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Eyes
Weaknesses: Some parts are made of plastic
trigger wobbles(not a serious problem).
Review: I tested the rail out a few more times, and I bought it and loved it. I opened it up almost immediatly and looked through it. Even though some parts are plastic(and it not like their going to break), the gun is truely amazing. The eyes are a really cool feature on this gun, it will make you wait that 1/1000 of a second so you dont chop paint. The stock barrel is very nice and light and effective. I have heard that it does good in the cold, but it has to be lubed. Thats all i can think of
Conclusion: If your thinking between the Rail & the Epiphany buy the rail. Its light fast and effective. Good luck paintballing
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 6:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media