paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Chrisfire69 Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark timmy
Ion's
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Halob with V35
3a 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy a ndz aluminum back cap the stock one unscrews
A barrel for better accurracy
And maybe a trigger
Strengths: Price
Performance
Light
Responsive and quick
Weaknesses: Back cap
Review: I just got my pmr about 5 days ago. I was excited because i use to own a dark timmy for about a year. The first impressions were "Wow this is light and small and not plastic".
The gun feels amazing and i shot a pod of paint through it on 15 bps ramp not a problem. The accurracy is good but i want a new barrel for it.

So feild testing: Today i took it to my local indoor and it chopped during a test run by a guy i know but his paint was old and cheap. Cleaned it, and got geared up. All day i shot faces not all because of the gun it does take some skill to play paintball. But it was spot on and good.

Now first issue. Once getting to snake1 off break the gun sounded like a little sshht..ssht noise and the balls rolled out. Needless to say after being dissapointed i went off. Turns out the back cap unscrews after a hopper or so of shooting from the vibrations. The next games were fine. We even palyed a 4 on 16 and i could still hold my own. The gun got alot of attention and most of the guys i know shoot egos,dm5's,dm6's even. So they were all impressed and ones thinking of ditching his dm5 for one cause of the weight, and size difference.
Conclusion: So after a good day of paintball i totally suggest this gun it's just amazing. Buy a new back cap and just take care of it READ THE MANUAL before doing any matienence. Buy it. I give it a 9 cause of the back back cap but thats it, nothing else.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Meicken84 Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Epiphany, SP Ion
Marker Setup: Proto Rail 07, Empire B Loader, 71-3000 PMI HPA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everyone like a new Barrel, I will update this with more idea's i've only tested but I bought it.
Strengths: Light weight.
nice spray of shots.. ball on ball
very consistant.
Weaknesses: battery wires are cheap. must replace
No On/Off ASA.k
Review: Great gun so far. After shooting the the rail i loved the feel, light weight and overal performance. I shot in a distance of 30-45 feet. Hit what i aimed at the first time. "A small set of bricks" on the floor. w/out difficulty. shots were consistant. Balls didn't swerve or spray wildly. this marker comes with a few nice pieces that normally do not come standard.

Once again like i said i'll keep ya updated with how i feel once i get more game time with it.
Conclusion: hard to say for now. Love the feel and love the performance that i've witnessed
I give it an 8 because this is an intro to tourny marker. Their are much better parts that can be placed on any marker to improve performance. I feel that an 8 is an excellent grade to be received. I'll keep ya updated on how i feel real soon. I believe this is worth buying. My friends both have ions.. and this has less kick... more consistant. and they say the Epiph is an upgraded ion?... their right. Freak helps but.. not very noticeable. Enjoy the great out of box performance of the Proto minus my battery cable mishap.. I'm sure its an "oops" by the Manufacturer.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twiggyman123 Friday, January 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmanns, dm6, shocker, etek, and an ion.....
Marker Setup: Pmr, Slik Stik NDZ Trigger, NDZ guage hole ASA, dye ASA, CP on/off, Pulse.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new feed, new trigger, on/off, but the stock one is still ok.
Strengths: Speed, Size, Price.
Weaknesses: Frame, buttons, wiring.
Review: Just bought this a few day's ago. I've only owned a spyder, but played with ALOT of guns. I have some rich friends who let me touch their toys. but anyway, just picked this up and loved it out of the box. It has a great feel to it even though it has some plastic. It's not like the ion which is pretty much ONLY plastic. Stock, It shoots fast, claiming a 30bps ROF, but have tried it yet. However it does have some bad, it IS plastic, so consider a UL frame. I'm sure other frames will be made too though. The trigger looks pretty good, but with a bad side to side, new trigger helps. The asa isn't on/off, so consider one of those. Another problem is that there aren't alot of ups for it. NDZ is pretty much the only one with ups right now. I've already had trouble with the battery wiring, but I got that fixed at the local proshop, no probs after that.
Conclusion: Great marker, great price, definitely a good buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zascofie Friday, January 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm3, dm5, dmc, pm5, pm6, shocker
Marker Setup: Proto PMR w/ lucky un1tec barrel, NDZ reg adapter, NDZ feedneck, NDZ bolt cap, NDZ slik trigger, NDZ spring detents, NDZ ul on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
Strengths: Very Light
30 bps capped stock board
Parts interchangability
Weaknesses: Trigger
Barrel
Review: I received my PMR and immediately opened the box. WOW. It is light. I screwed the barrel on and read through the manual. It has an excellent manual. I aired the gun and turned the eyes off. It shot well. I noticed that when re-airing the gun it will leak until it comes up to operating pressure but then seals itself. The gun will do the same as your tank pressure gets low. The overall finish on the gun is very well done and is consistent.
I have never been a fan of the proto barrels and the stock 1 follows in the same manner. Its about 11" and has a huge bore. I recommend an immediate upgrade for improved accuracy and efficiency.
The stock asa is made of composite and has an adjustable pin to fit multiple tanks. That's a nice touch. The macro fitting is a plastic unit and I wonder how it will hold up to repeated abuse and ground pounding. I would have rather seen an on/off w/ purge but this stock asa is a nice unit.
The feedneck is a typical DYE locking neck. Its aluminum construction w/ composite clamping band holds the hopper very well. It is as light or lighter than any aftermarket part and really does not need to be changed.
The Trigger....oh the trigger... It sucks! I could not hold a steady rip over 7-8 bps because of the plastic that was used. The overall shape did not fit my fingers at all either. I play in leagues that use semi only and unless you play in ramping leagues Upgrade immediately!
After breaking in the reg and gun about (2000 shots) I took it to the field. After upgrading the trigger I have to say that the feel of the gun is excellent. It rips right along with the best of them and didn't show any shoot down or bolt stick problems. I like this marker a lot!
Conclusion: In conclusion this is a great marker. I would definitely recommend a new trigger unless you play in a ramping league and you are going to want a better barrel. My rating reflects the poor trigger and barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pballer6191 Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Slayer
Marker Setup: 14" dye UL
Halo B
pure energy 68 ci 4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off asa, VERY IMPORTANT
Strengths: Speed
Accurate
Wieght
Size
Weaknesses: 1 Problem out of the box, but it was fixed.
Review: I LOVE THIS GUN!
but,
i had 1 problem, i had a leak which took 3 hours to figure out what was wrong, and it was ym fault, so this gun rules! When i finally got it to work, it mowed. People cant believe you got one and it is awsome to have it. the only weight you feel is from your tank and hopper, so GET IT!
Conclusion: This gun is great for $400 dollars.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blayzen paint Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really just the ion would be the closest
Marker Setup: Proto rail with halo b virtue board,cross fire 68/45 some custon stuff back up gun is a stock icd bko with worr gas and revvey.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger bc the rubber doenst feel right
Strengths: Light tight fast looks incredible.
Weaknesses: Polymer but that makes it so light
Review: Well i finaly got the PMR what a king i must say.i opend the tinny box and everything i needed was right there.alen keys and all.so i had to wait to get my fuel filled (empire tank)when i got air hooked up i had trouble.the vilocity was off its all my falt.i was to exited to see the problem.so i took it out at about 75 feet.this thing was the fastest thing iv every shot.fast fast fast.like wow.and not a air hog at all.i put about 1000 threw it and started to play with the settings.i never ownd a gun with full auto so that was the first one i tryed.wow it was fast.not as fast as fingers but more consistant like constant paint.my halo was doing really good.then i tryed the ramping.hole s*Q#$ so fast.like it was intense.like it was pushing me back.oh ya it does have a bit of kick but meh for this price somthing has to be wrong.so i thought it was skipping shot so i turned the eyes off the gun and let the halo do its thing.no chops.so then i thought this thing is a tank show so lets push it to its limits.3 round every shot.i was like omg no way.so i fiddled the settings(really really easy)a cave man can do it.ohhh snap.anyway.i filled the hopper and has my cuz on the phone to count how long it took to emty the hopper.(he bought and got the same set up like 3 hours b4 me)so i start ripping.first 5 sec were all good.but then choping was huge.but it was cold and crap paint.but meh i had it going at like 40 bps or somthing crazy.the the halo didnt keep up.no biggy.it was to much for the halo to handel.but still get this beast its amazazazazing. ok i used it on the feild just the other day.OMG this thing was amazing it was laying out the other team.30 on 30 so it was intense.i was killing 2 times as many players with the rail. i could play the hole feild.it didnt have great accuracy for about 175 feet but still it was in the same general direction.it was just as straight as my 2 peice proto barrel.the gun is light and tight behing the bunkers it is swicked.it was 7 on one i was the one.it was difficult but the pmr could do it.it is so fast 2 people tryed to rush but the pmr was fast enough to shoot them 2 times and them not to get me!woot woot.it is amazing guys if u got the cash by this thing it is good for all tornament and everyday ballers.get-r-done!!.
Conclusion: TANK SHOW buy it if u got the cash.ya u can use this thing for every type of game play.so 10 is in order
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tyler012 Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all the dm nd pm markers out there. ego's, etek's, angles. almost everything made
Marker Setup: pmr with 14 inch stiffi hybrid rail and dye airport on/off.
with egg2 and 68/3000 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel probly stiffi or dye ul.
dye dm roller trigger
new bolt
new board
Strengths: Light
Fast
Cheap
Weaknesses: Trigger
Gas hog
Review: The first time i got to go out and play with my rail at the crono i shot 258,258,259. That supried me because the thing was only 400. But i can only get about 1 hopper and 4 pods before i have to go fill up. I play front so that usually isnt a problem but it can be. With the stock barrel it shoots like crap, i couldnt hit anything at all. But when i put on my stiffi i could easily drop balls on the back players even if i were across the field, so one must is that you have to get a new barrel. The gun didn't chop the whole day barrel or breach. The eyes work great. the only problem is that when i got it the eyes wernt connected? That was frustrating to say the least. But so far that is the only problem i have had with it. Ok i lied i remembered that when i tried to pull the bolt to clean it the back bolt cap cracked. But both of those things are cheap and nothing big to worry about
Conclusion: It is a very light and consistant gun that can rail if you have the right adjustments made to it. I would suggest the gun to anyone, it is easy to use and fun to play with.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

radiationchild Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vintage matrixes- proto rail is much light and better (my opinion)
PM5- get new trigger and barrel and should be just as good
bob long defiant- proto rail is much more worth the price
Marker Setup: PROTO RAIL paintball gun
halo B
dye ultralight
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel- its alright stock, but should be upgraded eventually
trigger- personal prefrence, can be adjusted
feedneck- I reccomend getting a clamping feedneck
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I love this marker, A BIG BANG FOR THE BUCK


PROS:

light- incredibly light even when using a halo loader
accurate- pretty accurate with stock barrel, but I reccomend upgrading it
fast- this thing rips right out of the box
maitenence- incredibly easy to lube, clean, like most matrixes, unscrew back cap, out comes the bolt
reliable- nothing went wrong, no problems, or anything


CONS:

efficiency: well not really, but it could improve, I still must consider that I'm using a 45/45 tank
polymer parts: personal prefrence, I'm fine with the parts
Conclusion: this gun is great, I think that it is totally worth the money, this gun is really unique, in the good way, its garrentied because its a matrix by proto/dye
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 1st, 2007 at 3:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer7654 Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
look in review
Marker Setup: proto rail freak barrel soon to get an on/off and new trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger and an off
Strengths: Look in review
Weaknesses: Look i nreview
Review: ok ill stat off by saying this gun is amazing and extremly light.

weight- the weight of the gun is sooo light iuse a 45/4500 crossfire and the gun is really light with that on there

look- The rail comes with new 3D milling looks very nice (and for information this gun is NOT another ion.)

the manual is sooo easy to read and change stuff around if you want to its not confusing at all

what you get in the box- u get the proto rail stock barrel dye lube allen wrenches proto sticker and barrel bag.

hyper2- For who every dosnt know what a hype2 is its the brand new reg that helps flow air threw gun.

great gun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Conclusion: Ok my conclusion is that you should defently get this gun because it is at a very low price very fast and light.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PMR+DXS+VL Jr. Tuesday, November 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: -Proto Matrix Rail
-VLocity Jr. Hopper
-Draxxus 45/45 Tank
-Aluminum Bolt End Cap
-Trigger and Trigger Frame
-Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger and End Cap
Strengths: Light, Fast, Design, Power
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Review: I used to own a Invert Mini and I can tell you one thing get this gun. It is at an amazing price because of the new Proto Matrix Rail. It is a great gun overall is perfect for everything you want to do (Woods Ball and Speed Ball). I would recommend getting Red or Blue, I have Blue and it looks sick, you could easily make this gun look and perform above all the rest.
Conclusion: Get this Gun it will not let you down, I Promise!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media