paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
fittzzy Friday, October 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Pmr
-virtue board
-virtue eyes
-14 inch proto 1 piece barrel
-14 inch freak junior barrel
-Blue magna drive
-Crossfire 68/45
-New stock bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and possibly a new bolt...
Strengths: Price,Speed
Weaknesses: RELIABILITY, build, bolt cracks if your unlucky
Review: The Proto Matrix Rail is a great gun for the money your spending, but it became a nightmare for me at least.

I had the gun for a while and suddenly it started chopping paint like a-
well you know... Upon inspection of the bolt, my bolt literally cracked in half. No joke jagged metal and all. So I called up Dye and turns out they had outsourced to have the bolts made, and no surprise here the bolts wheren't made to par. Luckily Dye replaced the bolt free of charge. Which was great and all cept for the fact that it took 2 weeks (send the bolt out, and to get the bolt back) which kind of ruined paintballing for 2 weeks. And due to my luck the broken bolt had scratched up my eyes. Thusly I had to get new eyes for it. Which my local shop didn't carry in stock sooo, Another week for that. Luckily my hopper is awesome enough to feed balls quick enough for me to play without eyes. Even from the beginning the gun was a problem (we haven't bought from the store we bought it from since) the board came missing pieces like the actual button parts. Not the little plastic buttons you actually push but the BUTTON part the plastic part you touch is supposed to click... So I needed to purchase a virtue board considering the store didn't carry stock boards. So in all the gun ended costing more then I had hoped to spend. As for the gun itself. It's a wonderful gun on field. Shoots really fast. Bad on air but then again I was using a steely then. The stock Barrel was TERRIBLE so I bought a new barrel and it worked fine. The guns REALLY light, probably one of the lightest I've used since the Mini. It's okay for maintenance it's a spool valve so you have to use hex keys to send a swab through. But the bolt is simple enough, unscrew the bolt cap and the whole thing comes out.
Conclusion: All in all I got a good couple months out of it where it was working unbelievably well before it started falling apart. I would suggest this gun to beginners, but be aware you'll be spending more on it then you expected. It's fast, its bad on air, it's cheap and most of the parts crap out on you. So be prepared.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderpilotuser Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SPYDER PILOT-WORSE
SPYDER VICTOR2-WORSE
TIPPMANN (RENTAL)-DEAD
Marker Setup: '07 PMR
UL Frame
70/4500 CF Stub
CP Razor Drop
CP ASA On/Off
Virtue Lazer Eyes
REDZ PEPPERSTIKZ
Recommended
Upgrades:
BACK CAP
BARREL KIT
UL FRAME
BOLT
Strengths: Price
Related 2 DYE
Hyper2

Weaknesses: CHEAP BACK CAP
TOO MUCH PLASTIC
BARREL IS 11-12 inches
Review: I got my pmr off of actionvillage.com for like $350 and they had a special going on. Buy any selected pmr and get the ul frame for $75. Im like hey that sounds like a good deal. i order it and it comes in the mail in about 6 days. im so anxious to open it up and play.i first open it up and just notice how solid everything is. i installed the ul frame frame which took a little bit of time.i programmed it all the way i wanted and messed around with it. It was a new experience and more confusing than my pilot. going from a semi, 3shot, 6 shot burst and 13bps full auto gun to a fully programmable board with psp ramping and millenium mode. i waited for a week to go paintballing out at fort paintball. well my friend and i have identical guns. we got there turned in the waivers and paid. we aired up the tanks. we then screwed in the tanks and then we notice a HUGE AIR LEAK. air coming out the rear bolt cap through the small mysterious hole and out the front of the bolt. we immediately degassed and call the owners and refs of the place over. they took apart our guns and we found the probs. shredded orings and missing orings. we replaced them and tried again. still a huge air leak and it was still coming out of the opening of the bolt. we turned the pressure down then up to try and find the problem. it had air in it to shoot. but when the air was still coming out and trying to force shots, it was louder than a spyder pilot with high presse air going through it. we then degassed and brought over a guy with a minion and pmr. we told him our story and then he didnt have a clue what was going on. he said he has worked on over 60 pmrs and fixed them but he couldnt find any problems in the bolts, bodies and frames. we then decided to give it another try. we set our dwells up and aired up. still a huge leak. we could tape a trumpet to the barrel and play a full length song. we couldnt fix it and ended up renting the tipmann 98s there. we could have won so many rounds with our guns but it didnt work out. i went hime that night afterwards and took everything apart and tried to do anything i could to fix it. i replaced every single oring i could find and wiped the bolt down and relubed it. i have yet to air it up and finally find out whats wrong.



12/22/07 EDIT:I looked at the manual and bolt and found a missing o-ring problem. The o-ring in the back half of bolt was missing. I could not find it cuz it was in center of bolt. Fixed it and bought lazer eyes from virtue and bought a cf 70/4500 stubby. works like a charm. I have yet to chop a ball on 30 bps psp ramping.


WARNING: Proto has chosen to be cheap with the eyes on the PMR and have opted to put crappy RIBBON EYES on them or i think thats what they are called. Be EXTREMELY CAREFUL not to pinch the wires and solenoid wires. They will break and snap. I Found this to be a big pain when installing the UL FRAME BY DYE. Not sure if you can put DM Virtue Eyes or not.


HELP ME!!!!!!!
whenever i air up my gun i first turn the hyper 2 off completely then put air in then gradually adjust to where it stops leaking. my bolt slams forward whenever i do this!!!!HELPP. also i niticed when i turned it up a little too hihgh, i hear a popping noise and it doesnt shoot correcty anymore.
Conclusion: This is another great gun from Dye but it does not deserve a ten because in my eyes nothing on this world is perfect. And knock it down to an 8 because it comes with ribbon eyes!!!!!! They can and do malfunction/break/whatever very easily. But overall great gun if your trying to upgrade from a spyder you got a Dick's Sporting Goods/Academy/Bass Pro/Ganders/ watev/
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 20th, 2008 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

UnrealBackBallr Saturday, October 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM7s, PM6's, DM5's, DM6's, and Invert Minis.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail '07 (Black)
Critical Trigger (Blue)
"6 Dye Barrel Back .689 (Blue)
"10 Stiffi Tip (Black)
Orange HCore PMR Bolt
Empire Vegas Grips (Blue)
CP On/Off AsA w/ Rail
NDZ Eye Covers (Blue)
NDZ On/Off And Eyes On/ Off Buttons (Blue)
NDZ Back Cap (Black)
Dye Ironmen DM6 Feedneck (Black) (Yes It Fits, And Looks Damb Sexy)
PMR Virtue Board
Proto Rail Breakbeam Eyes (Blue)

Blue Diamond Empire Reloader B
V35 Chip
Speedfeed (Black)
Rib Drive Kit (Black)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Back Cap, Trigger, and AsA if you dont want to waste air
Strengths: Fast, Small, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Awsome Marker For Its Price.
Weaknesses: Air Hog, Plastic Stock Trigger, Maintenece.
Review: 10-13-07

Hello everyone. Ok so I just got this from my teammate this morning for $500 with all the upgrades listed above. Damb good price huh? Ok so I gased her up and took Ol' Sheela as my team mate Kyle called her. Handled great. No kick. Smooth. I was playing hyperball most of the day at PBUSA:Simi Valley. So despite the cans, and the mud, and the rain... It was a good day. What I noticed about the PMR is how small it is. A very nice change from my RL Shocker which was a bit on the heavy side. I had no problems with it as all. Shot great, Didnt break a single ball. However I do have 2 HUGE problems with it. 1st is the stock AsA. Its a gas hog. I have a 70/45 Stubby (Holds about half a case per fill.) I got maybe 3 pods and a full hopper...Done...But the new CP Reg got put on at 2pm and it was all good. I dont know what else to type so ya. Check out my team at www.myspace.com/teamkhaoskrew!
Conclusion: If your a tournament level player looking for a cheap gun to keep up with the all the guns your homies get with daddys credit card...Pull out your $400, walk to your nearest pro shop, and get your PMR today! I give this gun a 9 becuase it really is one of the best markers I have ever shot. But stock its nothing to special.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xxnepalmdeathxx Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail, Halo B Hopper, Draxxus Nitro tank, Dye ultralite barrel, the rest stock parts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just good as it is
Strengths: Very durable, Great trigger , Fast Great Price Body Setup Many accersories
Weaknesses: Eye covers (plastic),only used nitro
Review: This gun is great and light. When I first got the gun I was so anxious to shoot it. The gun wieghs less then almost any gun on the market today. The gun shot so fast shooting almost 25 BPS. All of the stock parts work great on the gun, so its suited for battle once you get it. The only minor problem with the gun is that it is really picky with the air it needs. The gun needs 400-800PSI and a compressed air or nitro tank.
Conclusion: There is nothing I could recommend because it is all up to you to what you want to customize this with. (Ex. Triggers, The nitro tanks, Grips, Barrels,etc.)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mbshmfic Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lasoya Promaster , upped ION
Marker Setup: Proto matrix Rail 68/45 tank and freak barrel Halo B hopper, lucky on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell and an on/off
Strengths: Weight , speed , accuracy , easy of programming
Weaknesses: The plastic backplug and the plastic feedneck clamp
Review: This is a truely awesome marker. It weighs almost nothing and is extremely fast straight out of the box. The only things I have done to it was to change the speed setting ( to slow it down a little ) and added a on/off. The factory barrell is ok but I have a freak kit so I use it. I have YET to chop any balls after say 6000 rounds and had very few barrel breaks. Its very easy to tear down for cleaning . I can also say this has got to be the easiest marker I have ever owned when it comes to changeing any of the guns settings.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for anyone beginner to experianced players. its light and very user friendly
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

scorpions Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have an ion with a cp blade. PMR blows it away.
Marker Setup: Ion pro
Cp Blade
Egg 3
3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
to a PMR... NEW TRIGGER. Stock is good i just the Metal one better
Strengths: Light, Fast, Durable.
Weaknesses: Stock Trigger
Review: Wow good job for proto. I have an ion and i am on a team and i can not wait untill i get my own PMR. One of my friends has one and he let me play with it for a day and i was amazed. He put a new trigger and a board on it and it felt like heaven. Way better than an ion and if you are going to get a new gun in that price range put another 100-
200 dollars on a PMR.............It is worth it.
Conclusion: Get it change some things after and you are golden. Nothing is perfect though
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

blitzboy461 Friday, February 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm7 same board
ion kinda i dunno
very much like an slg
Marker Setup: PMR olive
virtue crown halo v35
crossfire 68 4500
cp 16 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
pro lite frame
backcap is a MUST
trigger mabye ( i liked it)
barrel

Strengths: -Very light
-Fast
-Durable
-Sexy
Weaknesses: -Alot of plastic parts
-
Review: Out of all my expereince in paintball i think that for the price the PMR is an awsome gun .put a UL frame on that and you have a thing of beauty . the PMR has all you need . SPEED LOOKS AND WEIGHT the down side of the PMR is that it comes with many plastic parts which can break or strip ie;backcap. overall this is an amazing marker and i think you should get one now

PS; ITS WAY BETTER THAN AN ION!!
Conclusion: Very awsome gun go get one right now im serious!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballn2013 Friday, August 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz ion, invert mini, ion, evil pimp, a5.
Marker Setup: PMR-olive
PMI-70 ci 4500 psi
VL force
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck,new bolt cap, and maybe a trigger.
Strengths: Speed, Battery life.
Weaknesses: Air leaks rubber trigger drop loose hard to get the bolt out.
Review: Well its a ok gun i personaly didnt like it but thats me red the weaknesses and thats mainly all i have to say... not the best gun but its ok.:) And the drop on mine kept loosining and air would leak out of the back. Also its an air hog.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Needs more upgrades than it should.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtownjunkies21 Tuesday, June 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used an ion with a virtue board and many other upps its about the same.
Marker Setup: Red PMR, edge trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
EDGE TRIGGER- must
Dye ultralite barrel
Virtue board
UL frame
Metal backcap-must
Strengths: Shoots consistent, accurate, fast and when need will shoot ropes.
Weaknesses: Parts. How its made.
Review: I love this gun when i first took it out of the box and aired it up it would leak constently through the bolt found out it was a loose o-ring. Then when i got it working went chronoed it very easy to adjust velocity. Played two games and 1000 paintballs later when i got bak to my gear all i hear is. PSSSSSSSSSS all my air leaked right through the reg. Regulator is now garbage on my gun I have to go buy a new one. This is a nice gun when you get past all the breaks and leaks. EVERY GUY I MET WITH PMR HAD HIS GUN BREAK MULTIPLE TIMES ON HIM.
Conclusion: DOnt buy unless your willing to spend lots of money on it. It breaks too much.
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Laxgoalie48 Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Eos and Evil Minion (equivalent to), Invert Mini (better than the mini)
Marker Setup: Mac Dev Match Stik, Evo 3 (eggy), Sling trigger, crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel-stock barrel is fine but first thing to buy is a barrel unless u get the limitted edition which everything is fine on. i bought stock and dished out $120 on a really nice barrel kit

Trigger- some people dont mind the stock trigger. i thought it was fine but i had $30 left over after i played speedball and bought my trigger at the pro shop there but other people cant stand it. the trigger on the limitted edition (blade) is nice but i prefer the sling
Strengths: board-has all the modes most people need

Can shoot FAST
Weaknesses: None really. In my opinion barrel, but not needed.
Review: I've played in the woods a few times, and at places 3 times getting in about 45 games. It is real nice. You can find it for $250 and it is about as good as the Smart Parts Eos ($400) and Evil Minion (somewhere between $500 and $750). stock barrel isnt that accurate but it gets the job done. it was the first upgrade i got though. i used a j&j on it ($30) for a game and it shot good. Ive used the stock trigger on it in all my games because i just got my new trigger today, which is noticably better, but i could still pull off around 12 balls a second, and i dont shoot that fast anyways. ive competed with pm7s and other guns up in the thousand dollar price range with the pmr. ive pulled off plenty of headshots and sniped people in the hands and feet hanging out of bunkers. ive also chronoed at 356fps today, and that isnt the fastest it shoots.
Conclusion: For $250, put an upgrade or two on it and you can compete with almost anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media