paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintballa9913 Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion and Smart Parts Impulse
Marker Setup: 07 Proto Matrix Rail, crossfire 68ci/4500psi carbon wrapped tank, viewloader VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far...
Strengths: - Extremely Lightweight
- Extra Small
- Conisistently accurate
- Fasttt
Weaknesses: The trigger sticks a little, but that could be adjusted... not much other than that
Review: At first I was debating between this and Invert MINI, never tried the Invert so i dont know about it, but i bought this and being its new of course i was a bit hesitant...but its proto and dye, they have an amazing reputation so i thought nothing but the best. I shot this thing and dayum it blew my mind. For 400$ i basically received a pm7...kudos to proto!! thing is excellent and truly well designed gun.
Conclusion: Excellent for incoming tournament players. An amazing gun for a front man. An excellent gun to add to my collection. I love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

a-5unhappyowner Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 05 speed, shocker n.x.t , Smart parts ion/sp8, and yes Tippmann a-5(ew)
Marker Setup: dye ul barrel, cp on off, vlocity JUNIOR ,soon to come ndz lite frame and trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
dye ultralite barrel, on off , maybe dye ul trigger frame but not needed(as i've heard)
Strengths: accuracy, SPEED!!!, weight,
Weaknesses: Stock trigger?
Review: Here's the story of a woods ball er who sees this on pb review and thinks it looks cool. I tried to buy Ariakon's and ect but they were too expensive. I just sold my a5 and my friend has a shocker, so i thought why not look into a high rate of fire gun, it looks cool so i looked on you tube for proto rail and some sweet videos popped up, if your looking into this gun try it look at the one that says proto matrix rail owners review (it helps) also look up 30 CPS ,the guy spelled it wrong ,this is the rail's going stock board 30 bps!!
I was like no way this is possible stock so i went to my bedroom and tried it IT WORKED. just set the gun to full bps rate, and put it on p.s.p ramp or the secret n.x.l full auto which is the 4th non listed setting.Try it if u don't believe me.

now to the rest coming from an a5 this is a feather. now my friends and I are fortunate to have good guns including an angel and a shocker n.x.t. This kept up no problem i usually keep it on nppl i think it is where it rebounds after 10 shots i think. I don't know how the stock barrel is but i heard its good, mine came with the ul, i recommend a dye ul though its dye what more do I have to say. the boost forward technology works too i can get a few more shots off with a tank. The accuracy is good but this was the first time i've used it
so after i get used to not looking down the gun with a sight it'll be a lot better. I used blaze field witch was good but i'm getting Marballizer paintballs soon and i will edit it as soon as i do. Durability this is a step from going from a a5 to this ,this needs regular maintenance, but when you get this you'll want to clean it and service it, its not much either just i overdo it because i take good care of my things. the bolt pops out with a twist of a hex wrench which makes it super easy to lube. I can get my bolt out faster than my friends a-5. but some guy is probably going to dispute this for that. remember i play woods ball in a woods by my house which is not a field with cut brush and such its still mostly forested and this stands up.
Conclusion: No more will i be scared to go to my local speed ball field. no longer will i be scared of my friends shocker, no longer will i be the runt of my friends with a base a-5. i might even start a speed ball team!. whether a beginner or expert, whether you play in the woods or in a speed ball field, whether you are big or small i highly recommend
this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 26th, 2007 at 2:19 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Zakushark Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-gripped Tippmann 98: totally different marker in every way
Ion [tested]: similar, but worse quality and performance
Kingman Fenix [tested]: Not even close
Marker Setup: Black Dust Proto Matrix Rail
-Draxxus Pulse loader
-J&J Edge kit
-NDZ aluminum bolt cap
-Dye on/off

Tippmann 98
-E grip
-APE rampage trigger
-2 piece J&J ceramic barrel
-Low pressure kit
-Empire inline regulator
-Cyclone feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Trigger [preference]
-ASA [preference]
-Aluminum bolt cap
Strengths: -Good to go out of the box
-Extremely lightweight
-Cost friendly (for a high-end)
Weaknesses: -Funky trigger
-Rubber grip frame parts
-Polymer bolt cap
Review: I was very excided when I first heard about this marker. Proto was making an affordable mid range high-end marker. Finally I could pick up a high-end with out totally breaking the bank! I was not disappointed when I opened it up, examined it, and then tested it in action the same weekend. However, there are a few key strengths and weaknesses that must be addressed:

Pros:

Good to go:This marker is good to go out of the box. It comes with a great board that is 30 pbs ready with semi-auto, PSP, and Millennium modes. It comes with a good, stylish Proto barrel; I just wish it was two piece so I could get different backs with out buying a new barrel or kit. The marker also comes with an adjustable ASA that you can set according to the pin valve on your N2 tank.

Wight: The first thing I noticed when I picked up this marker was its weight. I was astounded by how light and compact it was! I am used to my heavy and bulky Tippmann; so this markerís weight was a bit of a shock to me. It was definitely designed with the front-mid player in mind.
The biggest thing that makes the Rail so compact is that the regulator goes through the grip frame instead of the body. By having the regulator screw directly into the grip frame, Proto was able to significantly shave down the matrix body and make it thinner and lower profile. The fact that there is also no low-pressure secondary regulator cuts down the height of the marker.

Cost friendly: This marker is the cheapest Dye/Proto marker ever made. At a good $400, you are getting the same Matrix performance as say an M7 at half the cost.

Cons:

Weird trigger design: I donít know what Proto was thinking when they designed the Rail trigger. I mean, it is not horid, but it is ugly and hard to get used to at first. It is very rubbery and ďfatĒ, and feels awkward on the fingers. The trigger is not that big of a deal though, because it can easily be replaced:

Rubber grip frame parts: I was very disappointed that there was a big un-removable gray rubber part attached to the back of the grip frame. I planned on changing the look of my Rail by getting some red grips, red trigger, and red feedneck, and painting the eye covers, but found that there was a big gray blob that threw off the red and black look. Im hopin proto makes other grip frames.

Polymer bolt cap: HUGE design flaw. Not smart at all. You never make plastic part that will be getting a lot of wear and use. The threads on the bolt cap are easily strippable, in fact my bolt capís threads were factory defected and I had to call for a replacement. Im really hoping that Proto comes out with a metal part kit for the Rail.
Conclusion: Overall, the Rail performs extraordinarily well for its price. I am very impressed over all. Yes, there are a few bugs to be worked out, but that is to be expected for a first generation marker. Im giving the Proto Matrix Rail a solid 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

sk8forlife228 Thursday, December 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 Spyder Imagine (definetly doesnt compare)
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: PMR 07
Everything stock except I have a cp on/off ASA
Need to get new barrel and METAL BOLT CAP!
Recommended
Upgrades:
MUST GET METAL BOLT CAP!!!!!!!
Barrel (Personal Preference)
Trigger (Personal Preference)
UL (Good upgrade but Personal Preference)
ON/OFF ASA
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Light
Durable
Weaknesses: Back cap strips very easy!!
Battery wires to small and break easy.
Air Hog
Review: Ok were to begin, I did a boat load of research on this gun and noticed all the simple problems with this gun and said ok a gun that needs a little TLC to become a "perfect" budget marker. So I went on ebay and found one that said "Great Condition on used a couple of times." So i thought to myself perfect and it was only selling for 180 including a HPA tank and cover. (Which come to find out was in need of Hydrotesting, but im not mad about that its only 18 bucks) and i wanted an hpa tank any ways cause i only have a LPA tank right now. So i finally got to go test it out at NHINDOORPAINTBALL and i screwed in my tank and turn my asa on and PSHHHHHHHHHH!!!! Right out of the back cap. I was like WHAT THE HELLL!!!!! and so like an hour of taking this thing apart and going thru different tests to see what was wrong we found that the back cap was very stripped and just pissing out air. And i did read that is a very very very common fault. So im now emailing the kid that i bout it from and reeming him out. Cause if i knew from the beginning that it had that problem i would of already ordered the part and would of been playing. Instead now im pissed. But all in all the gun looks and feels awesome. Didnt like the trigger so I took out the trigger spring and adjusted the screws on the trigger and now it feels so much better. The gun is very light and Im still a little questioned on the plastic frame and eye covers, but I've read a lot reviews and they say that the Plastic is as strong as the UL Frame. So I can't wait to get the back cap and try this BEAST out!
Conclusion: Get it! Its a great budget baller marker! I gave it a 8 because of the Back cap and battery wire harness issues.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Proto20 Friday, November 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Etek-Ego
Shocker SFT
DM6
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Specail Edition (blue/black)
Virtue Board
14'' Eclipse barrel
Proto UL trigger
CP on/off asa (chrome)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Plastic parts need to go!!!
Feedneck
Strengths: FAST!!!
Accurate
Reliable
Consistent
Low Price!
Light!!!
Weaknesses: Upgrade barrel and your set to go!
Review: I've owned the PMR for close to a year now, and i have played close to 30 times!!! Out of all of those times only had one problem, and that was the reg wasn't screwed in right,and air leaked but got it fixed! I put in a Virtue board and got the UL trigger from Proto and this thing is very close to as accurate as my friends $1000 Angel! I swear this thing is so FAST on psp, auto response and i love it!!! The only problem now is that i go through paint like a crazy-man! But it's sort of worth it when your lighting up dude's with
Shocker NXT's, Mr. Ion is the best!!!, and Dye DM6's.
Conclusion: I think that this shouldn't be a starter gun... But when you get into the sport more, then this is the gun! Its the second step gun people should go to! If they are really into the sport, than go ahead and buy a $600-$1500 gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tilldain Monday, August 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine,
Marker Setup: stock PMR with a throttle 71/4500, blade trigger, evo 3 with x board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, trigger
Strengths: Weight, cost, bps
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: i got this gun after my spyder took a dump.

out of the box it was great, simple small box with manual barrel and rebuild kit right there.

the manual is great lots of color pictures and very easy to read they put a lot of time into to make it very easy to read and work on.

after reading thru the manual and putting it together and getting it set into the mode i want to play with it was time to shoot, i setup in psp ramp 5 pulls and then 3 balls per pull capped at 15.2 bps i believe, i shot a full hopper very fast extremely accurate.

i was playing with with some friends yesterday and one started yelling that we don't play full auto out here as i had him pinned in a bunker. he was shooting a ICD freestyle. also had the opp to shoot my buddy's new Timmy and it rocked but was very heavy compared to my rail. coming from a guy that shoots 1k +guns and has played pro he was very impressed with the PMR for the cost.

the barrel is a great proto one piece i had the opportunity to shot a 2 piece dye UL yesterday and i was not impressed with it most likely due to bad match from the paint
Conclusion: Fantastic gun for the cost would highly recommend to anyone looking to get into the sport for any type of game play. if your thinking about getting in and then upgrading later just get this gun now and save your self the money of buying 2 guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BunkerMonkey31 Sunday, November 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini - Slower Stock, Better Efficiency, Lighter, Too odd shaped IMO.
Ion - Requires more up's to compete not worth the money to upgrade to PMR Status.
Diablo Wrath - Semi Only (stock) with bounce can shoot as fast as Ion.
Etek - Better efficiency, although unlike what Planet is telling you 26 is the highest your getting out of it. A bit higher in price but equal in quality.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
New Designz Back Cap
XSV Drop Forward
CP On/Off
CP Rake Trigger
Empire Reloader B
68/45 CP Tank
Evil Pipe Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Back Cap (Must have one)
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Back Cap
O-rings need to be changed regularly (every 1 or 2 months)
Review: I'll just get straight to the point. IMO the Proto Rail is one of the best guns for the money.
However nothing is perfect and the Rail has some flaws that keep it from being at the top.

Performance:
The Rail performs beautifully i usually get a 4 +/- deviation on the chrono. Also Raising the ROF to 30 is not where the Rail should be at (unless you've got your rail tuned). Accuracy of the Stock Barrel is acceptable but I personally swapped in my Evil Pipe Kit for a ball to bore match. It is not a huge gas hog like most people cry about. usually get 1100-1200 shots of of my 68/45 tank. Kick is almost non-existant but if you really want to have zero perceived kick than grab a lighter aftermarket bolt.

Weaknesses:
Like all Dye/Proto guns proper care is very important to the Rail. O-rings should be changed monthly (1-2 months) because if they are not they will wear and leaks will occur. Another thing Proto missed the mark on was the Back Cap, the stock one should be replaced immediately because the composite one can strip or unscrew (leaky leaky on the field is not cool).

Field Test:
My rail has stood up so far to 6 months worth of Abuse and has yet to fail me. It shoots ropes and never has gone down. I've put dirt, paint, and even some sawdust in my gun but it is a trooper, If your looking for a mid-range gun (Epiphany-Etek) then I would higly recommend this gun.
Conclusion: It gets a 9 out of 10 because nothing is perfect. Its a great gun for Tournament players not looking to drop a s**load of cash on their guns
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BradleyAllan Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker 05-Was going to trade one for the pmr but decided against it, the pmr is much lighter
Marker Setup: 05 virtued shocker
halob
freak
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel right out of the box
possibley the ul frame because i didnt much enjoy the rubber grip, but my friend(who actually owns it) loved it so it is all a matter of personal opinon on that one
new feed neck, having to get an allen wrench after playing with one that just has a lever for three years got on my nerves
Strengths: Fast, shot lasers on semi
Light
very compact
Easy to understand
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
feed neck
no on off stock
Review: Friend got his gun off of ebay, which i was weary of because it was "bnib" for 90 less than it is supposed to go for. well all ended well when it came a day earlier than it was supposed to in excellent condition. when we aired the gun up our first instinct was to listen for any leaks, which we did happen to find. the fitting that screws into the regulator was just not fully screwed in from the Proto labs. that being said i would almost recomend just making sure that all the screws that should be tight, are.

I suppose i should mention the set up he had, semi capped at 18 eyes on and a egg 2 wth a y board, z board, i dont know, the one that says it does 23. and stock barrel. first few shots are kind of just off in the woods, sweet it works. than we try and actully hit what we are shooting at and our balls go off here and there 3 or four foot and not consitintley to one side either, it was like a spread from a shot gun. when we did end up ripping with the gun, which it does, i saw the stream from the side and it was a straight up laser beam of orange paint. no kick, fast, light and compact, this gun was awesome except for the barrel which isnt that big of a deal because i belive that it is autococker threads, and those are quite popular to find
Conclusion: for 400 dollars, you have a few options. pmr, mini, ephipeny or a used 05 or 06 higher end gun. of the three listed i have shot one and held three, as all of them were not perfect the epipheny felt like an unmilled block of metal with sharp blocky parts. the mini was light but i couldnt get over the bad feeling of the forgrip/battery and the pmr had the sticky frame. but i can personally say that the pmr had the best ergonomics of any marker I held and if i were to trade in my shocker today that is what i would be getting.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Xyle Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact 2 in 1 w/ various ups
Spyder MR2, stock
Ion w/up's
A-5
Custom Cocker's
Marker Setup: Proto PMR
Tadao PMR Board
Tech T PMR Bolt
cp on/off
NDZ asa w/dye mini gauge
NDZ silk trigger
NDZ alloy back cap
NDZ Pro-lite Frame
NDZ Spring detents
Powerlyte Scepter Barrel system
Vlocity hopper w/Virtue chip
crossfire 68/45 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'de recomend upgrading to a alloy back cap to be safe, otherwise, it rips stock and you can upgrade as you see fit.
Strengths: Price
Fast
Consistent
Light
Virtually no kick
Very customizable
Weaknesses: Bit of an air hog (this has gotten better with the Tech T bolt)
Review: Well I have been playing paintball for a number of years now, mostly out on a ranch with some friends. This year however I started to get into speedball more and more, and realized my old spyders weren't going to cut it anymore.
So I did my research and finally decided on the PMR, a medium priced marker that could compete with the big dogs. Well when I finally got my PMR they were right, even stock it rips ropes.
The stock board has 4 different mods (only 3 of which are listed in the manual)
Semi, psp, millennium, and NXL mode which they forgot to tell you about in the manual. The board is pretty customizable, allowing you to set the dwell, trigger sensitivity, BPS cap, and firing modes. The eyes have worked flawlessly for me and I haven't had a single chop and i've probably run about 6000 balls through it, so as far as the electronics go I am very impressed. (Edit) I have since upgraded to a Tadao board, and I am loving it, it gives you ultimate control over every setting, and many more modes than the stock board, it also seems to make the gun run a little smoother. (call me crazy)

Many people who look at this gun see the plastic on it and think that means it's less durable, in reality it's easily just as durable if not more durable than aluminum. The only plastic part i'de replace would be the back cap, and thats not even nesesary if you are careful with it. If the plastic bothers you however you can upgrade to a UL frame and metal parts are available for pretty much all the plastic parts on the gun, I just feel it's not nessesary, personal preference. I play up front and am sliding and bumping into things alot and the gun has yet to show any damage. (Edit) I have upgraded to the NDZ Pro-lite frame which I really do love, not only does it feel great and give you much more room in the trigger gaurd, but it also allows more room on the inside of the grip as well. The grip frame upgrade definatly sets it apart from other pmr's as well and just looks great, while not a nessesary upgrade I am very glad I made it.

As for the actualy shooting of the gun, the Hyper 2 reg is one of the best out there and it on all the dye/proto high end guns. After it's broken in (about 2000 shots) I went to the chrono to check out the consistency. Every shot was within 4-5 fps of eachother, and the accuracy on the field was great, the stock barrel isn't bad, however I put pepper stick on it and that improved not only my accuract, but also my air efficiency. (Edit) I have now installed the Tech T bolt and wow, it's a completly different feel it makes the gun whisper quite and reduces what little kick the pmr has to non existant. It also allows you to lower the dwell by 8-10 clicks as well as the pressure. My gun now runs with a dwell of 16, a pressure of 115 psi and a velocity of 285 on the dot.

Botton line, for 400$ this thing is hard to beat (I see they have since lowered the price making it an even better deal), all the ion owners will look at it with envy, this gun definatly keeps up with the high ends. (Edit) I have had this gun for almost a year now and it has never failed me in any sort of weather or punishment. It still looks as new as the day I got it out of the box (although I do baby it). It shoots straight arrows and continues to amaze me. I have never even had a minor problem with it, (wish I could say the same for my auto cockers and my friends ions).
Conclusion: I have been playing with this gun for almost a year now and it amazes me to this day. I have never had any problems whatsoever with this gun and everyone who has the pleasure of shooting it agrees that it is a top notch performer. Very reliable gun and I'de recomend it to anyone especially since they have lowered the price further on this remarkable marker. I think it is a very nice marker stock and with all of the upgrades now available to it, it will last you a long time and can perform and even surpass the top notch 1000$ markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 at 3:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucifer_sam Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DP Fusion - slightly more accurate and efficient
Shocker NXT - comparable accuracy and efficiency, but ROF unsatisfactory
ICD ProMaster - crappy regulator, terrible board
Ion - bad regulator, board, valve, feedneck, etc.
Impulse - ditto
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail:
- NDZ Pro Lite Frame
- NDZ Roller Trigger
- NDZ Clamping Feedneck
- NDZ Aluminum End Cap
- NDZ Aluminum Eye Covers
- NDZ Bottomline w/ On/Off
- Smart Parts Angle Drop
- Powerlyte Scepter 2007
- DXS Pulse w/ RF module
- DXS 68 CI / 4500 PSI fiber-wrapped HPA system
- NXE Dynasty Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel - Freak, Redz, or Powerlyte systems good
Aluminum end cap
Roller trigger (maybe)
Strengths: Consistent regulator
Very fast board
Light-weight & ergonomic body
Weaknesses: Slight gas hog
End cap unscrews and strips
No LPR
Review: This marker is by far one of my favorite medium-range markers, for good reason. It is outclassed by only the Dangerous Power Fusion (which doesn't even use a spool valve). The Rail has the same board and regulator as the DM7, and its specs are damn close to it as well. It is certainly an excellent choice for a frontman, even stock system. Objectively, I'll try to explain why...

BODY: The PMR is essentially a frontman's marker, and for good reason. It's size is comparable only to the Invert Mini, with a tiny profile but a huge appetite for destruction. Measuring a little over the DM7, its profile is much smaller than any other marker due to integrated technology such as the ergonomic 45 frame, low-rise feedneck (which is nonetheless big enough for your widest loaders), and a small indentation in the trigger guard which provides a nice place to hold the marker. The marker is significantly lighter than even the newest DM, but with a small downside (comparable to the DMC).

The anodization on the aluminum components is especially good, without much cause for complaint. However, Proto took a different approach to some of the weaker components. They replaced the aluminum frame, eye plates, locking feedneck, trigger, and quite mistakenly, the end cap, with a composite material that reduces the marker's weight. Actually, most parts are not affected by the implastination, but the end cap uses a heavy guage allen key, and eventually (by your second use thereof), it will either strip or become a circular allen key. I suppose my toolbox is slightly outdated, but I don't have a circular allen head wrench.

BOARD: The Rail's board is merely the same as the DM7, albeit without the option of customization with different chips. This is basically a nonissue, because its settings can be adjusted every which way, including ROF, fire mode, dwell, anti-bolt stick, debounce, and anti-FSDO (first shot dropoff). It has the ability to customize to whatever setting you desire, and it offers three firing settings (semi, PSP and Millennium modes) with a "hidden" fourth setting (NXL). Also, of note is the maximum board speed, a ROF of 30 BPS. This is higher than any other stock board on the planet, save for an Ego. So go ahead, buy that Pulse/V35, the board can certainly keep up with it.

VALVE / OPERATION: The marker operates using an integrated spool valve, a very slight modification to Smart Parts' own valve. A three-piece bolt system is operated by a solenoid which delivers air to the manifold. Once the bolt is pushed forward, a small internal outlet allows the high-pressure air still in the manifold to transverse through it and back into the bolt again, pushing the ball further forward and enabling a much lower standard operating pressure. However, as the bolt is repositioned in the manifold, air must be displaced via the end cap, and so, the marker expends some gas releasing it. Note that the end cap also draws in that air as the bolt is sent forward. This is why the marker is capable of such high cycle speeds, but at the same time consumes more gas with each stroke, as the manifold must perform work to allow air to be drawn through the end cap.

As of this moment, there are no viable options for bolt replacement. Orange and Techt offer higher efficiency bolts, but it seems noone has yet reaped the benefits of their $60 cost.

REGULATOR: This is nearly why I bought the marker in the first place. The Hyper2 Inline Regulator is perhaps the best on the planet due to its high consistency. The stock marker does not offer a guage to see this happening, but no matter, for a frontman, it would be in the way anyways. A secondary regulator (like on Intimidators) is completely unnecessary, as the Hyper2 has been proven to have the strongest in the way of regulating standard air pressure, and I believe the stock system on the Rail has a capacity of 50-450 PSI, a great asset to the player. However, the Hyper2 isn't strong enough yet to regulate carbon dioxide, so it's up to HPA to give you the power you need, The Hyper2 also has a swivel gear, so you can put your macro wherever you see fit. The Bob Long Torpedo, Palmer's Stabilizer, and Custom Products Regulator are the only ones in the same class as the Hyper2, and the Hyper2 outclasses them with its versatility and consistency.

Conversely, the Hyper2 HPR on the PMR is the only regulator on the marker. I suppose with its lower cost Dye felt the addition of an LPR might be a little bit of a cash cow. The absence of a LPR does change the mechanics of the marker; more air is required to send the bolt forward and induce the power stroke. There is far less leeway in terms of operating pressure due to the sensitivity of the solenoid. Furthermore, the spool valve operating system eats much of the energy which the expansion produces. Although cycle time is slightly improved, the absence of an LPR completely prevents the use of CO2 and can induce shootdown at high rates of fire.

BARREL: The stock Rail barrel is simply a Proto one-piece, 12", .690 bore barrel. The inside is polished to a mirror finish, which allows the ball to transverse it without fear of barrel break. It is also supremely quiet, with six-inch ports running down four points of trajectory. However, the barrel is slightly too large for most sizes of paint, and consequently, the ball isn't as fast as it could be. In addition, though the ports make the barrel very quiet, they also reduce the time in which the ball is in contact with the marker's air supply, further reducing muzzle velocity. You should definitely upgrade the stock barrel. Dye Ultralite barrels seem to work well.

AESTHETICS: Overall, I think the Rail is an exceptionally sexy marker, with beautiful 3D milling and a nice dusted exterior. There is nothing wholly wrong with the design, and it seems to have the trademark streamlined design that follows with all Dye models. It looks good on the shelf, better in the hand, and flawless on the field.
Conclusion: The Proto Rail is an exceptional product, especially for under $500. Although the intergration of composite parts makes the marker somewhat temperamental, a state-of-the-art board and regulator provide the marker with some of the fastest and most consistent rates of fire in the market. Even if it is a bit of a gas hog, the PMR has capabilities which outclass even some of the "better" markers, like the Shocker NXT.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media