paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
empireb69 Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Pmr Halo V35+rip drive Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Neck
Strengths: Quick ,Light ,Price,Looks,
Weaknesses: None really Just the Plastic feeneck
Review: This is a great gun. For 400$ You almost cant go wrong. Basicly This gun is great for someone who doesnt want to spend A crazy amount of money. The gun Is amazing quick . The gun is pretty light . I have had this gun for about 1 month now and and I have shot about 6000 balls and not one problem yet. Not evan the slighest of problems. Not evan a choped ball. The gun is pretty easy to change from modes. The modes are Semi-auto,Psp(ramping)and mellium mode.(thier is a hidden mode FULL AUTO). But overall its a great gun and definitley a bang for your buck.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to people who dont want to spend much money on a gun. This gun isnt to expensive but shoots like a beauty.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mocho Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion(dosn't compare at all)
Marker Setup: PMR
With: All American, Hybrid Head Lok, and Back Cap
Volcity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not many only the feed clamp(after it breaks), back cap(after it gets worn out), maybe a barrel to get some more distance out of your shots.
Strengths: Speed!
Light!
Price!
Nice Looking!
Quality!
Weaknesses: Not much only the back comes unscrewed if not tightend all the way!
Review: Well when i first got this gun i could not believe how light it was and how nice it looks. This gun is perfect for all people no matter what level, with a little ups. This thing is my favorite gun. Then after i shot it, man was i surprised at how easy it was to unload a hopper and the stream of paint you can put down (it actually shoots ropes) was amazing. And the amount of noise it made was crazy, it was so quiet. I try my friends 06 ego and heard before how amazing these guns are, they are a great gun but i would prefer my PMR any day over it. If you like a light weight gun that shoots fast and won't break the bank this is perfect! For an all around gun this thing is wonder ful.
Conclusion: Great gun and is dose not compare to any gun in this price range for quality, speed, and weight. Buy this gun it will be the best thing you've ever done for your paintball careen or life!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbkidion Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really maybe an ion if you can count that
Marker Setup: proto rail olive
empire reloader b w/ hybrid shell
72/CI 3000/PSI AIR TANK
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really a new barrel idk any marker out there that couldnt use a better barrel/.
Probably a back cap,
and a trigger thats personal preference.
Strengths: See review...................
Weaknesses: See review..............
Review: This is a great performer and ill tell you why this thing is fast really fast and it can keep up with that because of the great reg it come with stock. The barrel is really not that bad for what you pay for it which is very accurate. The grip frame is very very comfortable the composite does not really bother me aswell as the trigger which takes some getting used to but after your used to it its really quite nice. Now the back cap people complain about it stripping and backing out ect. It really dosn`t ive shot about 2k round through it with reballs and paintballs works just fine never backs out though i plan on buying an aluminum one but that wil be another day. now on the performance with some walmart paint(dont get on me about this it was left over from testing my ion) i was shooting in about a two inch spread which blew me away at first which was about two pods and i went down two 2k psi from 3k psi which im like wow that really not that bad. when i got it stock it was shooting very consistantly out of the box with a change of +3 -3 which is great. After the break in period i can get about a hopper and 4 pods out of a fill of about 3k psi. The feedneck does a great job doing what its made for.

Edit:ive had a very annoying problem i had like 6 orings go bad on me at once it was quite annoying and it was impossible to trouble shoot it i followed the directions and changed every oring it said could go bad changed all of them, still i had this ginormous leak coming from the bolt it was so bad i had to call a proshop and see if they could help me with it called them and they said it was a huge leak and i changed the sail oring like i was supposed to and it stopped im not sure about the back leak i had it seams to have stop. Other than this it is shooting great!
Conclusion: Well if you are in the market for a high end marker that will perform well and compete with the best then i would definetly look into it for the money. Words of advice get a really fast hopper like an empire b or b2 loader,and be ready for oring madness but once you have a leak you should have any again. Good luck on your marker choice and i will update as i play more.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 17th, 2007 at 8:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionhotshot Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, PM6, DM4, DM5, I guess you could say Ion...similar but not exactly the same
Marker Setup: PM6, UL barrel, Eggy3, 48/4500 DXS tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
BACK CAP!!!
Trigger, barrel...not much else.
Strengths: Light weight, comfortable in the hands, good looks, Hyperline 2 reg.
Weaknesses: Plastic back cap strips and unscrews
Mine had solenoid problems.
Review: Ok, so I got my PMR brand new, and I was totally excited to get it, as it looked so cool.

Took it out, lubed it (although it wasn't really needed, only did it to become familiar with the gun,) gassed it up and put paintballs in it, shot it, and everything worked perfectly. I put it back in the box when I was done, and stored it lovingly in my closet.

School, girls, and life kept me out of paintball for a while, and didn't use the PMR for a little over a month.

Finally, got the chance to play again, so I took the PMR out of it's box, lubed it again, and went into my backyard to dry fire it just for fun. It didn't fire. The board would turn on, air would go to the bolt, but no discharge.
I took the PMR apart, and saw that the solenoid wire that connected to the board was a bit...damaged. It had a crappy solder job, and the little white cap that connects the wire to the board was loose and wouldn't connect all the way.

I took some small needle-nose plyers to it, and finally got the noid to start clicking again. I put the grips back on to shoot it, and the gun woudn't fire. I took the grips off again, and noticed that the wire had become disconnected in the brief second it took me to screw the grips back on.

Then I started playing with the wire...wiggling it back and forth and such, in an attempt to find out what was wrong with it. Turns out the plastic connector was just really crappy, and would unplug at the slightest (and when I say "slightest," I mean SLIGHTEST) touch.

I guess it's not a big deal, just needed to be re-soldered and maybe needs a new wire...I don't know for sure.

Another problem I had with the PMR was the stock plastic back cap. On about the 4th time of taking the bolt out to relube it, the plastic cap stripped, forcing me to use a wrench to take it off, in the process putting a big scratch in the back of my PMR.
I'm actually quite disappointed in Proto for this major flaw in the PMR...I would have expected them to supply a metal one as standard. Oh well though...$20 to New Designz (one of the best aftermarket companies, no matter what gun they make parts for) for a metal back cap.

The PMR is a great gun when the solenoid can stay plugged in and the back cap doesn't break...obviously though if the noid doesn't work, how can we be expected to like the gun?
Conclusion: The PMR shot beautifully...when it worked.

I probably just got a dud, but it's enough for me to not really want to buy another PMR...
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 10:03 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

craZeEguy96 Friday, March 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion w/virtue board/eyes qev and freak barrel. stock '06 shocker
Marker Setup: PMR V35 halo b 72/3000 pmi compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel. maybe trigger
Strengths: Fast, light, made by Dye,easy to clean on the field, and, oh yeah fast!
Weaknesses: None really. Just be careful w/ the battery wires and back cap
Review: I picked up the pmr yesterday, and shot like 500 rds through it and dry-fired the rest of my air off. Out of 500 i had like 3 or 4 barrel breaks but it was old paint so i'm pretty sure that was the problem. The gun is awesome. People complain about the back cap stripping... They most likely didnt stick the allen wrench all the way in before turning it. And you only need the allen wrench to get it loose than you can twist it off with your fingers. The buttons fall out when you put the battery in... Unless its flat on a table or the ground or something, The battery wires could screw up if you dont hold the battery connecter thing when you take the battery off. No problems with it really as long as your carefull(duh) when you take it apart and put a new battery in and stuff.
Conclusion: This is deffinately better than the ion (stock)its gunna take more than $400 (including gun price) to get an ion to shoot as good as the pmr. So if you want a good gun without robbing a bank or anything the pmr is a really good choice.So, um, get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pbmylife Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp
Dm6
Ego(and the ultamate cheater death ramp version)
PM6
Ion
Mini
Marker Setup: Black Proto Matrix Rail, Dye UL Frame, NDZ Red Clamping feedneck and back cap, Black CP ASA, St!ff! Sw!tch
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Back cap, UL frame, Barrel Kit
Strengths: Price
Speed
reliabilty
Weaknesses: Back Cap
Review: OK, i went to MCM to get a new gun, wheen i saw this. I am a big fan of Proto/Dye and it was in my price range. So I had this for about two weeks, before i could use it due to weather, but it was awesome. I find it Just as good as a PM7, despite the absence of a LPR. It is just as, if not lighter than a DM6. I have had to do work on a DM6 before, but was surprised by the design of the bolt. it is extremely easy to maintain. I play tourny ball, and I was out-shooting guys with Egos. Allin- all, it is a great gun for any tourny player.
Conclusion: I reccomend this for any one. Get this instead of an ion or ephinany.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatter39 Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alot...DM5, DM6, PM6, Timmy's, Ego's, etc.
Marker Setup: PMR with Ultralight frame, DM7 trigger, Draxxus Pulse hopper, Freak Boremaster barrel kit, Crossfire 88/4500 HP, and the Almighty "Virtue Board"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Def. a new bolt cap in the back, maybe a new trigger, UL frame, and if you can afford it...the Virtue Board...
Strengths: LIGHT, accurate, modes/rates of fire, 30 CPS, Hyper2 Reg. SEXY design
Weaknesses: DIPSWITCH ONLY PROGRAMMING, Plastic parts galore (stock), weak trigger, uncooperative bottom line (see review)
Review: Well, I had a sick Ion before this gun and when my team mate had told me about Proto making a low-cost marker like the Ion I got excited because basically, Dye=Proto...

I went to the store, and pre-ordered some since they didn't have any black in yet, and after a long wait I got the call to come in and pick the PMRS and friend and I had ordered

I was so excited that I raced home and we ripped open the boxes and went to install the batteries to fire the bad boys up, but as it turns out my LED had broken during shipping or after-production, and did not light up...this is where the story gets good...

I called up Dye Customer service that night at 8 PM...the not only picked up, but NO QUESTIONS ASKED, told me to ship the old board to Cali. somewhere and within days I had gotten a new one free of charge under warranty...amazing

Now, onto the gun itself:

PROS:

MEGA light,
Nice design
Clamping Feed neck (plasticy-rubber =[ )
30 CPS
Hyper2 Reg
No LPR
Eyes

Gun is EXTREMELY easy to take appart and clean, just loosen the bolt cap, slide the bolt out the back, run a squeegee through it...and BAM, it's clean

The clamping feed neck is a little weak, but MAN is the metal feed port inside it a beast....I can literally SHAKE my PMR by the hopper and it won't even budge, no falling hoppers for me :-)

CONS, BUT for $400 nothing to nitpick over, just more like future upgrades you should invest in replacing:

Clamping feed neck
Trigger
Possibly the UL frame
Virtue Board
New barrel (Freak ftw)
Bottom line/drop foward/on-off

Changing the firing modes/ROF is a HUGE pain in the ass compared to the Virute Board, you have to physically undo both allen screws and flip this tiny dip-switch that is really tempermental, then scroll through the options via the LED, THEN switch the dip-switch back, close it up, and reset the gun...woww Proto, coulda done better...

Like I said before, clamping feed neck is weak on the outside, don't over tighten or you'll crack the plastic piece, and then it'll cost you a pretty penny for a new Dye feed neck (around $29)

Other then that, just get yourself some extra O-rings, this gun shreds them alot when you clean your gun regularly...




Conclusion: Solid gun, good for the money...definately way better stock than an Ion or Epiphany, but needs some upgrades and maintance to keep it running smoothly for some time...

P.S. You may need to sand down your hoppers neck before punching it into the PMR's feedneck and getting it stuck in there...just a word of advice...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoCowsEver Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions, Minis, Fusions (all only tested)
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Eggy III
Pure Energy 72/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's great stock, but could use a new barrel. Also, a UL trigger frame would be nice (if you're willing to dish out that much money).
Strengths: Very good, even stock
IMO best gun in the price range
Fast
Light
Weaknesses: Lots of polymere (comfortable, but can rip)
Back Cap unscrews if not in PERFECT alignment
Review: I had been looking for a new marker, an upgrade from the garbage I used to have.

Well, my eyes caught the PMR. I did my homework on it, and test fired it at the local pro shop. Although the trigger is also made of polymere, it has a feather light pull (even at factory settings.)

I immediately fell in love with it, and decided I had to get one. I got one that same day, and brought it home to test fire (with paint). I did, and was very surprised at the accuracy of the stock barrel. Even with about a case shot through it, there was not ONE break. The eyes seem to work very well!

EDIT:
After using it a bit more, I ran into a very minor problem. I seemed to be chopping EVERY ball, and it looked as if i was shooting hot (yet the chrono only read about 280). After checking it out a bit, I discovered the back bolt cap may unscrew itself if it's not aligned PERFECTLY with the bolt. Although this is a simple fix, it can cause major problems if you don't recognize what's causing it.
Conclusion: A great marker for any intermediate-level player! I give it a 9.5, rounded up to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 9th, 2007 at 2:47 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

06cruiser Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS2
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail 07, DXS Pulse, J&J 14" Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a better and longer barrel. comes with a 12"
Strengths: Very fast rate of fire, easy to configure and maintain, and very light.
Weaknesses: No ASA
Review: Okay I bought this gun today and got the velocity set right, etc. I took it out on the field with a gravity feed loader, the eyes worked perfect and everything, but of course with the shake and bake hopper it couldnt fire very fast. So, I hooked it up to a DXS pulse, and oh my god. for 400 bucks this thing will rip through paint in no time and never chop a single one. The gun ran perfect, and this was during the break-in period.

The battery (standard 9 volt) is supposed to last through 40,000 shots so it lasts quite a long time. The trigger is very sensitive, and can be configured with different levels of sensitivity and rates of fire all the way up to 30bps. The gun itself is very slim and very light, and has awesome styling. The feed neck is low and clamps down on the loader Very nicely. The barrel was surprisingly accurate for a 12" stock barrel. Pretty much.. everything about this gun is awesome and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a gun in the $400 price range.
Conclusion: BUY IT. If you want a GREAT gun for $400 and not $1000, Get This Gun! You will be very satisfied, I know I am.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 12:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tviz Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Its deffidently not a tippmann, its not quite like a super high end such as an ego, better then the ion. Perhaps other mid ends?
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with:(backup)
Teardrop barrel
68ci Crossfire Air
Reactive trigger
Camo kit

Proto Rail (main)
Stock blue
Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
All guns except super high end will need a barrel. It needs a good hopper to reach its full potential. Probably not a UL trigger frame unless your stock one breaks.
Strengths: Cost
Realitivly good stock
looks cool (my blue one is dead sexy)
Weaknesses: Barrel is OK but no mid ends come with a good one.
Trigger frame defect.
Review: *** I literally just got it and it only has a hopper thru it so this WILL be updated***

You get allot for your money here, that is assuming you donít mind the composite parts, which I donít mind, so I didn't put that as a negative. The composite parts are lighter than aluminum so it's really not bad assuming you donít hate composites.

=====THE GOOD=====

Plastic is good when used responsibly, (I would say they used it pretty responsibly)

It has a lot of firepower=30 BPS max on the board stock with a cycle rate that will match it, although putting it that high is likely to result in chops unless you do some fine tuning and upgrading. 26BPS is what most people set it on.

I think its looks really good, very opinionated here thou.

Itís easy to take apart and lube, also the wiring inside the grip isnít as bad as everyone says it is.

Composites are lighter then aluminum, this doesnít mean that you might not want to replace them when you get the money however. Although I would say the performance of them is very similar to aluminum.

The ASA is adjustable 1 Ĺ inches either way. Well, so they say, its adjustable but if you put it too far there not enougf to hold onto for it and you risk breaking it event thou this part is metal.
=====THE AVERAGE=====

The kick and the noise are what you expect, itís not a $1000 gun so there is some kick and some noise but itís not bad at all, I have not tested air efficiency yet.

=====THE BAD=====

There is realy nothing truely bad about this gun unless you hate composites.

=*=*-**=*-* UPDATE #1*=*-*=*-*=*=

FACTORY ADVERTISED STATISTICS

I desided I will add in the factery advertised statistics, I will also comment on them.

Matching single piece Proto barrel ----Its desent for a stock barrel on a mid end

LED program control---Great for gun On/off and eyes on/off, but to change modes and such you have to take the gun apart (not very hard) and flip a swich to put it in configuration mode.

Hyper2 in-line air regulator---Not broken in compleatly yet but it works well giveing me a +-5 so far

Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame and Anti-chop eye system.---The durometer stuff is great, its a sticky grip on top and harder on bottom, The anti chop eyes work well.

Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system---I am no bolt master, but the gun works well in general so its probably prittey good.

Composite eyeplate---Works fine, no comment

Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire 150psi operating pressure with Boost Forwardô technology.----- The trigger is nice despite some wobbel and bend if you push it realy hard (dont worey it wont break). 150Psi operating pressure is standard in high ends without a LPR like the rail, and the Boost Forward is once again technical bolt stuff but i will assure you it works well. I think it saves some gas

Stamped metal insert logo Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design,New Proto bottom line Compact and lightweight body styling
---As stated earlyer the gun looks realy cool

Adjustable locking dual-durometer feed neck Proto dual-durometer sticky grips---The feednecks only weakness is it lacks a lever(its an allen key) which i dont mind, otherwise its good. And once again i love the dual-durometer.

NOW FOR THE FIELD TEST

=======THE GOOD =====

The air efficiency I cannot fully judge yet but it seams pretty good, out of my 68,3000 it seams I am getting a hopper and at LEAST a couple of normal sized pods, which is good, since its not broken in yet.

Itís just as fast as they advertise and was keeping up with all the DM's, Egos, Angles exc.

No problems other then that stated in the mediocre.

=====THE MEDIOCRE===== (and things that went wrong that arent the guns falut)

Upon using it I saw the bolt cap problem of it loosening but I tightened it and it seams to be ok, I plan to get an aluminum one anyways. I wont take points off for it.

I was having problems with paint breaking but I doubt it was the gun as it was muddy has hell and I was constantly getting shot in the barrel making a combination impossible to clean on the field. So I cant really judge this yet either although it was good in test firing with no breaks.


MORE UPDATES YET TO COME!!!
Conclusion: Its the best thing you can get for $400. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 19th, 2007 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media