paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
tom spencer Monday, December 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion PMR is in a whole different legue)
Marker Setup: PMR
Blue proto backcap
NDZ blade trigger
14" Freak barrel with st!ffi tip
88ci 5000psi pure energy
Empire B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new trigger if you are picky about those things.
A new back cap sraight away
Strengths: Fast.
Good eyes.
Quiet.
Accurate.
Free sock and loads of other stuff.
Weaknesses: A little side to side movement in the trigger.
Back cap
Review: I got this marker just before christmas last year and i love it as much today as the day i got it. When i first took it out of the small foam filled bow was the weight. I thought it would be light just not that light. Other than a basic tube of a barrel and a very good manual you also get a whole set of allen keys with it a small tube of lube and a bag full of O-rings. After a quike scim through the manual i slapped in a battery screwed in a tank and filled it full of paint. Down to the field i headed with my shiny new toy. Over the chrono there was only 2+- fps wich i was impressed with even before the reg was broken in. I just stood there at the range puping out paint until there was nothing left to fire. i refilled and got playing. on the feild the gun turned in to a rageing killing machine mowing down men left, right and center. The stock barrel was reasonabley accurate but what me change was the fact that i had quite afew barrel breaks. i quite like the trigger espesially because you can make it so snappy but i know that a lot of people hate it but id try it before you buy a replacement trigger. The board is the same as the board in the PM7 it has four modes of fire NXL, PSP, Millenium and semi you can also cap the rate of fire, ajust the trigger sensitivity and dwell. One of the funniest things ive heard people say about my gun is when one of my team mates held it and said its a bit heavy. And i was like its a hell of a lot lighter than your you silly bugger.
Conclusion: A perfect gun if you only have $400 to spend.
Very very good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 23rd, 2007 at 9:22 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy21 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smarts Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 2007 PMR, CCM Feedneck, XSV Drop Forward, Hybrid on/off and Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck and Barrel
Strengths: Light, Fast, Looks, Board, Grips
Weaknesses: Feedneck is weak
Review: This gun is awsome. I love it, its so light compared to my WGP autococker. Its got a training mode on it (when the eyes are turned off). I don't like the airport so I got a Hybrid on/off put on it and I also put an XSV Drop Forward on it so, that its more compact. I'll post a picture of it, please rate it. I will go play with it and write more on this review.
Conclusion: Any way you look at it this gun is worth the money. Definetly get it if you have the chance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxmonster Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my old spyder nothing compared to it but still reliable
Marker Setup: spyder compact 2000, esp trigger frame, blade trigger, shocktech bolt, cp reg, cp drop, teardrop barrell

proto rail , still stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger for sure
Feed neck
Strengths: Speed
Light
HYPER 222222
New bolt
Weaknesses: Trigger feels wierd
Review: Well i finally got this mother yesterday. at the shop i asked if i could see it and man was it light! literally go get one of those propel water bottles fill it about half -3/4 full and thats how light it is. so then i decided to get it. they let me shoot it in the shop and there were like 5 other people in there. once i started to rip everyones attention turned towards me. it was a bit louder than i had expected but once you start going sound is a bit lower. while paying my mom asked since we were paying in cash do we get anykind of discount, we were already getting it for 380. but i also bought a new board for my egg. it turned out that i only had to pay 400 for everything. so when i got home i had to do a biology lab, after finishing that in record time i messed around with the gun it was akward at first since i stopped playing for 2 years everything was really easy to learn, from setting up ur trigger sensitivity, shooting mode, dwell, and rof. only bad part is that u gotta open up the grip to go into config mode kinda a pain in the butt other than that and the trigger its nice. the trigger has some side slope to it but i rather like it because i love the feel of my trigger right up to the trigger switch so tapping it on the side rather works well for me. as for shooting it i have yet to really see how accurate it is... no money for paint... but dry firing... man i almost peed my pants... i do recommend relubing the gun first before testing it out because my gun did leak from the bolt, so relube it and relube it GOOD like put a glob on every 2 orings like | | that much
its kinda a gas hog right now but i havent gotten the chance to really adjust my dwell. id say i got about 800-1000 shots right now... not too great but just need to set my dwell so no problem really. and make sure to put some more of that white tape stuff they use in like plumbing on the hose connectors... the stock ones looked crappy.

field test:
well today i took it to play with. no problems at all. i used my friends freak and the stock one both just to test accuracy. freak was a little more accurate. enough to tell a difference. but for the stock barrel it was quite accurate i must admit i did better with the stock barrel surprising i know. if theres some gunk in the barrel itll clean itself its pretty cool but accuracy is hindered just a bit you will notice some balls veer to the left and right a little. its pretty good for stock. with everything tank and hopper its quite heavy prolly like 3-5 lbs? but i could manuever around quite well. well i thought i did good since this is my first time back from a 2 year break. the paint i was using was supposedly quite brittle. but NO CHOPS whatsoever. i am glad i got this gun 400 bucks for a reliable, fast, accurate, and pretty light... yeah gun. reeeaaall nice i love it. just be careful of the battery harness... mines about to break. i can see it. just drop like a couple of bucks on a new one. lucky seems to do nicely. cleaning my gun would have been better if i wasnt shot in the gun so many times. but its easy just take your time on it dont rush things o ya battery lasts forever too... still using the proto battery
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a great gun for those who want awesome performance for really cheap. light and very manueverable. prolly with tank and hopper only about 3 pounds lighter than my spyder ha yeah its a great for those who want to step up their game and get a new gun.
GREATTT GUNNN!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 6th, 2007 at 9:44 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerking7 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, PM6.
Marker Setup: Dye Iron Men DM6 with a Empire B2 reloader and Crossfire 80/4500 Peanut
Recommended
Upgrades:
Metal parts kit, barrel if needed and trigger, bolt
Strengths: -lighter and tighter than previous Proto markers
-More bang for your buck
-Fast
-small
Weaknesses: NOT MANY
-Composite parts
Review: I first tested this gun at a field when when my back up gun (05 Alias Intimidator) broke. I didn't have my regular Dm6 with me and still had paint and daylight left so I wanted to keep playing. I happened to notice the PMR on the wall and asked if There was any way I could try it without buying it. The guy brought me out to another player and he told me I could use it for the rest of the day. Here's how it went:
What is has:
-the gun itself has a beautiful 3D body design and a really good ano
-Its size is perfect, it was a very nice and low profile
-The stock board is very fast and comes with more modes than you would think
-It can keep up with almost any other high-end marker
What it needs:
-a new bolt. The stock proto bolts are kind of cheap
-metal parts. The composite has a tendency to get stripped
-AND if you really want it a board and a UL frame
Conclusion: I give this gun a 9 out of 10 for its price performance. The only reason that it isn't a 10 is because it doesn't have metal parts Proto sort of cheaped out there
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DevilDucky Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION
Marker Setup: PMR, Empire Reloader B, Nitro Duck Tuff Skin 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame, Possibly a 2 piece barrel, on/off asa
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Price
Weaknesses: Trigger wobble and some of the polymer parts possibly having durability issues.
Review: Alright first thing I noticed when I picked up this maker was that it weighs next to nothing it's scary to think what thing will weigh with a UL Frame. I then opened up the manual and found it very easy to fallow. The board has pretty much all the settings you could ever want.

Now for the fun part I locked in my tank and loader and fired this bad boy up and everything was nice and tight no leaks. I took it out and fired off a hopper full and 6 pods and wow did this thing perform not a single chop. In my opinion this thing shot every bit as well as you would expect out of Proto. Definitely a top flight maker!!!

Now for what I didn't really care for, the trigger it has a little wobble which I can see getting worse given the nature of wear and tear of polymer parts definitely going to upgrade to and aluminum trigger

Conclusion: This marker is great a lot of high priced features in an inexpensive package. This maker is great for anyone starting out or that doesn't want to break the back on a new maker. I think Proto has really got something here. I have no doubt that when the after market support picks up for the maker you are going to have an awesome base to completely trick out.

I would give this maker a 10 but I want to see the long term reliability with the polymer parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 7th, 2006 at 7:42 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

PMR_freak Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
egos, pm6, pm5, shocker, etek, timmy.
Marker Setup: PMR black
all stock
45/45
vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
cannot say, i have the trigger where i want it and it rips.
Strengths: CHEAP
fast
light
super small

Weaknesses: A contrast kit.
Review: First thing when you get the gun, its a small box really small. Open it up everything is packaged really nice and neat, comes with marker, barrel allen keys, dye lube, and barrel sock, owners manual.

When you hold this thing its really solid does not feel cheap to me at all, anno is great.
putting paint through it, this shots like a dream, fast,consistent, light, and tight.

This thing is really small, and way light.

Got my trigger set to where i like it and let me tell you, perfection.
still rubber and feels good.
Although the frame is composite, feels great in hands wont even notice it, the only thing is i got black, the body and frame are a little different in color.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price, would reccommend to any player looking to step up there game.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InfernoFrontman Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Ion would be the closest, and the Pimp.
Marker Setup: Black PMR, Black Pulse Loader, 68/4500 PMI Tank (w/ Black NXe Tank Cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Strengths: Fast as hell, made by a great company, good eye logic, many upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Trigger seems a bit loose, lots of polymer.
Review: Well I picked this up from PBL a couple weeks ago and when i opened the box the first things I noticed were the beautiful styling, and the small profile. This marker is very efficient, insanely accurate, awesome price, doesn't chop, and it's an all around great marker. This marker is the better alternative to an Ion in my opinion, and is a great entry / mid level marker out of the box. Performance wise it is super fast, I'm guessing because it has the same board as the PM7, and is light and tight. It is extremely easy to adjust the settings, very user friendly. Another thing is that it is very, very easy to maintain. It does require alot of lube until it is fully broken in. An aluminum feedneck and trigger would come in handy with this marker, but nothing too huge. This marker shoots with the best of 'em, A.
Conclusion: For the conclusion, heres a summary of all of the things needed to make a great marker.

Speed = 10.0
Profile = 10.0
Accuracy = 9.5
Efficiency = 8.5
Price = 10.0

Total = 9.6 > 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Carson the Fett Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Matrix any series and a couple of timmys, but the only to compare the rail is the Dyes. They fire the same, but don't have the same modes (the Dyes have more if you got the right board)
Marker Setup: I have an Ion with a blackboard, superfly bolt, saw trigger, 360 QEV, a stock reg (sadly), a freak barrel, and a drop forward with an On/off ASA. My Dye Matrix has a TDA board and a drop forward with an On/off ASA . I also have the Proto Matrix Rail with everything stock. I use a Halo B hopper and a 45/45 carbon fiber tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not too sure yet maybe a new barrel if its your choice. I also took out the trigger spring which makes it fire slightly faster, I can notice a better performance without it.
Strengths: Very consistant, and very accurate. Fires like a beast. Light weight
Weaknesses: I don't see any weaknesses yet.
Review: I love this gun. It felt great the first time it was placed in my arms. Its sleek and sexy and it can be just as naughty too. It has a great firing rate and out of playing for 6 hours straight I think I chopped one ball (which was my hoppers fault because it couldn't keep up with my gun). Its accuracy is excellent and it can definitely keep up with the high riced guns. I'd say for the style, performance, value, and build $400 dollars is the best price you could get for a gun like this.
Conclusion: Buy this gun it is a great investment and a good gun to have in your collection
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

frumpyman333 Tuesday, August 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers
Bob Long Guns
Etek Ego
Marker Setup: PMR stock.
CP .693 classic one piece.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and the UL FRame.
Strengths: Speed, looks
Weaknesses: No LPR, trigger frame.
Review: You can't get a better gun for the money. Under 300, fast, looks sexy, and is lighter than a mouse terd. Very consistent due to the hyper3 reg. good eye logic and the board is not bad for being stock. Very adjustable. the grips are comfy but the frame itself is lacking. What do you expect for under 300. Easy to maintain....i think thats it.

The gun is fast and shoots fairly straight with the stock barrel. i use my CP Classic .693 and its just fine. So no real need for any other upgrades. Maybe a better board later on.
Conclusion: Awesome gun. No complaints, great components, good eye logic and the programability of a high end board.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 25th, 2008 at 10:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

*~matt~* Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing's as good
Marker Setup: stock pmr
egg 3
pure energy 68 4500psi..converted to low pressure
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
maybe a on/off
Strengths: Consistent
Fast
Cheap
Weaknesses: The barrel isn't that good
Review: So i got this marker at badlands paintball. i was waiting so long to save up enough money to get it,and when i did i went to the store to get it and they didn't have any more in the back room, so i had to buy the one off the show room shelf.I didn't like that every one els hade messed with the marker before i got it .. but i went with it and bought it any way.

When i got it home, I read threw the manual and the quick start up guide, and then gassed up the marker. when I went outside to shoot it , it was a little cold out so that was probably why the accuracy was a little off. But when i was shooting the marker it shot great, fast ,and consistent...

The overall marker looks great, and is easy to maintain(just read threw the manual and you'll be fine)
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to any one who is looking to upgrade, or someone who is just starting in tourney play..... I rate this a solid 9 because nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 9th, 2007 at 11:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media