paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
gumby13 Wednesday, August 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'98 . A-5 .pro / carbine . Tpx
Marker Setup: tippmann pro-carbine
after-market barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Looks cool
good accuracy
light - ish .
Weaknesses: Expensive
breaks
air hog.
Review: Ah , the X-7 , the gun is the untimate barbie doll gun . you can dress it up a thousand different ways but ultimately I still view it with distain .
my fathe bought one , and for six months he fought the gun . every game he played something would break .
Now , I'm no 'cocker jock but i really don't like this gun . I switched out with my dad to try it and half way through the game it blew a seal . I was lucky to have my Tpx on me .
when the game was up i replaced the seals and went bac out , damn thing started leaking . after that I force my father to give me my carbine back .
Feel free to dispute this , but i was still unimpressed
Conclusion: If you want a dress- up gun get it , but I'll stick with my carbine and twin tpx's
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DELTA*26* Monday, July 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMANN 98
Tippmann A-5
TIPPMANN Alpha Black
T-9

Marker Setup: 98
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock
barrel
e trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Looks good

Weaknesses: Not very reliable
CHEAP PLASTIC
Review: After using this Tippmann for a year and probably playing with it at least every 3 weeks I have to say I can give a pretty biased review.
"Tippmann" that is a word in the world of paintball that often accompanies reliable.
Unfortunately the X7 doesn't deserve that title. The 98 does, you can throw it in mud or neglect it for a year and will still function the way it was when you first played with it. The X7 on the other hand isn't of the same caliber. The cyclone feed system is too powerful or something because the PLASTIC pieces have stripped out on themselves on me and have caused it too jam. if any dirt gets into the internals the X7 won't cock correctly and you'll have too do it again manually. And too keep it in good working order i have to take it home at the end of the day and strip it down and clean it every time I play with it.
I don't know what Tippmann was thinking putting so much plastic in this gun, maybe it was special ops paintball getting into their heads. But heck if you want a gun that simulates weapon malfunctions the X7 is the marker for you.

The marker is cool looking and is accurate but that is probably all I can say for this marker.
Conclusion: All in all the gun is looks but no heart, and in my opinion needs a re-evaluation by Tippmann.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Calculon Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts SP-1
Smart Parts SP-8
Tippmann Pro-Am
Tippmann Pro-Lite
Marker Setup: X-7 w/ E-Grip
Opsgear 12" G36 barrel
Freak kit w/ 16" tactical barrel
Tech T Squishy paddle
Tech T Vortex ratchet
X36 handle
X36 folding stick
Orange bolt (tried for a short time)
ND aluminium power tube (tried for a short time)
Polished internals
Cut power tube
Cut ball detent
PE 72/3K steel tank with PE remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
APE Rampage board (big time - see review)
Tech T Squishy paddles
Tech T Vortex ratchet
any good, short and smooth barrel
hard-shell paint (see review)
Strengths: Reliable
Super easy to maintain
Comes with own loader
Weaknesses: Kick
Hard on brittle paint
Not as accurate as true electro
Review: I bought two X-7s this year and sold them both. Not because they are bad guns but because I did not understand how to use them. I was too focused into making my X-7 perform like a true electro-pneumatic gun.

The main strengths of the X-7 are :

-built tough, very low maintenance. They are the 'Kalashnikovs' of paintball. For maintenance you can easily split the two halves in 30 seconds time. Just a few drops of oil here and there and maintenance is done.

-comes with the Cyclone, so no need to get an expansive loader or to fiddle around with batteries. Also the Cyclone is low profile.

-Very customizable: can be turned into a M4, UMP, MP-5, etc very easily.

-Since it runs at 850psi at least there's no drop-off

-Tippmann has awesome customer service so you buy piece of mind when you get a Tippmann. Also due to the popularity of the gun you can find parts for cheap everywhere.

What's not so good:

-quality control is iffy at best. Lots of paint overspray gets inside the gun and sometimes balls may rub against that causing breaks. Lots of rough edges as well, which causes break. So polishing and sanding down those edges is not an option.

-The gun kicks a lot. Some people love that, whatever. The gun is very rough on tournament-style brittle paint (like RPS Evil or Draxxus Gold) and will turn into a blender if you use any. Must use harder-shelled paint like Draxxus Blaze. Then no problem.

-All things being equal (using same fresh batch of consistently round paintballs, same barrel, same air source) any gun with speedball internals will be more accurate. I know, I tested. Using the same components I mentioned above I would get +/- 5 fps at the chrono with my SP-8, then +/- 15 on my X-7.

-The stock ratchet often breaks. Get a Tech T Vortex ratchet just to prevent that.

The stock E-Grip is total crap. First of all to turn it on or off you need a small object like an Allen key or a pen. And you must turn it on and off before and after every game otherwise it will drain your battery in no time. Also after a few games the stock E-grip just died on me. Tippmann repaired it for free, but I still had to pay for shipping (so not so 'free' after all!). I HIGHLY recommend the APE board.

Squishy paddles from Tech T is a good idea (and cheap) to prevent Cyclone chops. Although some now boil the stock paddles to make them softer on paint. Never tried it. I also recommend a rather short and smooth barrel (maybe 8"-12" max). Forget those 16-18" monsters they will actually hinder the performance of the gun. A smooth barrel will be easier to clean and if shorter will be less likely to cause barrel breaks. Opsgear and Lapco are good choices. Also make sure you overbore, that is that you pick a barrel that is much larger than the paint you are using. With Tippmanns it is often a good idea to pick the largest bore you can find (usually around 0.690-0.695)

Also forget aftermarket parts like bolts and power tubes. They're absolutely useless. Get a Tech T Lightning rod or QEPH if you want to be able to shoot 15-20bps, which I really don't recommend on any Tippmann anyway. So they're kind of useless.

One last thing: I HIGHLY recommend setting velocity in the 250-270fps range. Tippmanns perform much better within that range. You may lose a few feet of distance but your shots will be much more accurate, and you will prevent a lot of chops/breaks.
Conclusion: The main reason I see to get a Tippmann is if you play a lot of milsim-scenario games where you have a limited amount of round per player. If you want a "paint thrower" with milsim looks get a true electro-pneumatic (SP-1 or TM-7)
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 at 5:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cavscout19d Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 or Tippmann 98 with cyclone feed
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 with a 14" barrel front m4 sight post, car stock , red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock , E-Grip
Strengths: Light
great cyclone feed
and lots of mods
Weaknesses: None that i seen
Review: Ok first off this is a great gun, and tippmann and spec ops did a very good job making it.
My team Hellions shoot this great weapon, if your into mil-sim like we are this is a must have since it fits the role of mil-sim to a T. After first using this great marker for the first time at CPX sports in Joliet, IL for the first game of the year on the 24th of march, i found this marker to be great with how well it fired how being dropped in the mud and being rained on it never once let me down. With it being the first ones off the line there is a few things that needs to be fixed, but u get that with any new gun off the line in the first batch and its nothing major .

Pros
- light weight
- lots of sweet mods
- Tippmann and spec ops made it
- cyclone feeds up too 20bps
- off set hopper
- any barrel for a A5 or pro-lite will work with it
- tool kit in the mag
- stock hand guard comes with weaver rails
- fire/ safety switch is sweet

Cons
- E-Grip isn't out yet
- Need to fire a hopper threw it to get the spring weaker
- some had a little peice in the cyclone break ( but mine is alright couldn't be happier)
- mods are for the most part all back ordered
Conclusion: But all in all this is a great marker, sure the cyclone breaks a small easy part that only takes like 5-10minutes to fix so did the A5 when it first came out . But it your looking for a good gun and love Mil-sim this is the gun for you cant go wrong with it and i give it a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 at 11:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyslexiapaintba Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tacticalified A-5s
Marker Setup: E-mag, 2K5 Intimidator, SC Phantom.
Strengths: I would definatly reccomend a new barrel I personally like the flatline for woods/scenario
Weaknesses: Price
Plastic mag
Review: OK, well having seen some fairly bias reviews I figured I'd try and write one. I have the X-7 at my shop and shortly after getting them in I decided to test one. I didn't personally like the feel but thats very much a person to person thing. So here are my impresions of the marker.

Looks-The marker looks pretty good definatly hase a tactical look to it and that really appeals to alot of people.

Accuracy-the stock barrel is the exact same barrel as the A-5 accuracy is mediocre definatly not the worst I've seen but when buying this marker I would pick up a new barrel right along with it, I personally like the flatline for the woods/scenario stuff its not as accurate as most good aftermarket barrels but the distance is cool.

Feel-100% personal preferance I didn't too much care for it.

Performance-it prefoms just like an A-5 I don't have any E-gripped ones so can't really test the faster feeding but the basic one shoots identical to the A-5.

Relyability-Its a Tippmann, I use Tippmanns as rentals for a reason. I assume, because they havn't been out long enough, that this marker will have the same great relyablity we all expect from Tippmann


Edit 1-05-07

While showing off me E-mag this marker took a hit to the plastic tool kit mag thingy(don't ask, the trigger is alittle touchy) and it busted hard core the rest of the gun is solid but the mag needs alittle work.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this marker to anyone who wants a cool tac style marker bassed on looks, if they just want performance I'd have to say get the A-5 and some upgrades for the same price. For speed get the Ion(I know it isn't a tac gun but I feel this applys for your info I've played in scenario games with the spec ops team who designed this marker and they where using timmys, DM4s(its been afew years ago), and the like in the final battle so firepower is a valid arguement here. But overall I would reccomend the X-7 to anyone who wants a good looking milsim gun and is willing to pay alittle more for the looks.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 5th, 2007 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

heavywep101 Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A5, similar i prefer it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with Opsgear Saw kit
Spyder MR3
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock, flatline
Strengths: Increased cyclone speed,cheep upgrades
Weaknesses: Not that many looks, somewhat limited.
Review: well my buddy has an X7 and he has let me use it off and on for about a month now, it has worked great, all the times i have used it, but i still prefer the A5, what other gun can you turn into A Browning .50, come on!
vewrtually no ball breaks and i was happy about the weight, but it is really limited in looks.
Conclusion: i would recommend this gun to a first time tippmann buyer, but if you have an A5 i would reccommend sticking with that, the slightly increased preformace of the X7 is no match for the A5s upgrades.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boner man Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98custom, pro lite
Marker Setup: some 14in. barrel, trinity side folding stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bipod, dot sight, new internals, remote line
Strengths: Power, Reciever, Customization Capabilities
Weaknesses: Mostly plastic, defective out of the box, expensive parts
Review: I am new to paintball, was gonna buy 98custom. But, at the price i got this for, i couldnt resist. So i buy the gun, open it up, set it up, put the tank on, load it, and bam. First shot was perfect. Then i go for a second shot and plegh... I realize the cyclone feeder isnt cycling and i gotta manual advance it. So i must have angered the gun because it clearly refused my cheap ammo by spitting it out and draining allll the air through the barrel. However, i must say just how cool it is to listen to $4 worth of co2 sound like 30 firecrackers going each after the other while you helplesly watch. The stock barrel is awful. The parts, everything for the gun is so expensive. Its like $60 for three cyclone feeder metal parts. The gun is a bit long for indoor scenario. If you want close quarter, have a folding stock and stock barrel. It is not a great gun for really anything in particular, but its decent. All the internals are plastic. Without a remote line 'tis a bit unbalanced.
Conclusion: Should you not be a millionaire like me, it may be too expensive upgrade.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kythus Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, flatline barrel, offset rail adapter, red dot sight, specops handgrip, car stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any stock for more stable shoting
Strengths: Easy upgrades
Weaknesses: More hype than substance.
Price.
Review: I had the opportunity to hold this gun at my local store. It has a nice military look to it but no appreciable difference in feel over that of my A-5. As to being a lot lighter it didn't feel any different, in fact it felt a little bulky.

The owner of the store offered to weigh it and a stock a-5 and told me the X7 was in fact a little heavier. probably due to the extra cosmetics and the magazine. Either way if you are looking for a featherlight marker the X7 is not for you.

I would recommend this marker to folks looking for a tactical looking gun right out of the box. I like the idea of so many upgrades available but in practice with a little research, the Internet and a credit card any 98 or A-5 can look almost the same. This will make it easier however for a parent or wal-mart shopper to get their gear without much hassle.

Conclusion: I find this marker a decent addition to the Tippmann line if only for the look cool factor which will definitely appeal to a lot of players. Unfortunately I like gear that improves the performance of my marker way more than simple cosmetics. If the technology was revolutionary, or the gun significantly different in operation than my trusty A-5 I would give it a higher rating.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nikitad Wednesday, February 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom And 98 custom platinum
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: x7 Marker
16" Barrel ( Super accurate Highly recommend )
Carbine stock
Fore grip
Tactical Flashlight
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Camouflage America Soft Paddles (Never had a cyclone chop)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel 14" or 16"
Soft Paddles (or squishy paddles)
Response Trigger - Its amazing
Strengths: The upgrades
The New Cyclone
Accurate
Easy to dissasemble
Weaknesses: Some may not like how its like 3 pounds cuz theyre babies
Review: Ive been using the x7 for a while now and its great. The gun is a decent weight with all my mods and it shoots SUPER accurate. I havent even tried using my stock barrel cuz the 16" is so good with this gun. I also like it better than the 98 custom because its a bit heavier than the 98 custom and the 98 makes you feel weak using that light of a gun haha. The gun if it ever chops it tends to have barrel chops instead of inside. Alot nicer for the paintballer. This gun also has TONS of upgrades. It may be a bit hard to find but its possible. and the fact that it has so many tac rails is awesome! The gun is a beast. I recomend it over any other woodsball gun.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing if your a woodsball or scenario player. Its got so many mods and you should get it instead of the a5 because of the fact of if you want a shoud for it its tones of money and just worth it to get the better gun, It almost never chops and its better on air than the a5

of couse if your going to buy mods then itll cost quiet a bit but itsbetter to buy it over the a5, Also if your a speed baller dont go buy it. you can buy an expensive speedball gun for the price of the gun with all its mods. Over all its an amazing gun . Im giving it a 10/10 becuase its the best gun ive ever played with. BUT remember there is ALWAYS room for improvement :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Runamuk Saturday, February 9th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, power tube (mine came split from the factory), I would recommend having an airsmith go through the whole thing before you have to use it.
Strengths: Aftermarket support and Marketing
Weaknesses: Cheaply manufactured, Fit of the parts are poor and the barrel is the worst.
Review: I have owned many markers from Tippmann over the years and have been satisfied with all of them until now. I recently purchased the X7 thinking I was upgrading from my A5. The first problem I had was paint breaking. About one in ten would break. I disassembled the marker, cleaned everything Inspected parts ect.. Still breaks. Turns out the barrel had a defect in the material that was snagging the ball. Ok, the store I purchased it from was very helpful and replaced the barrel. Problem two, the velocity would suddenly drop off as if the Co tank wasn't screwed in. This happened four times in the first day of use. I looked everything over and found the ASA had a sharp edge that was shaving brass from my bottle feed neck and sending the small pieces of brass into the air system. I deburred the ASA and cleaned out the valve and cyclone ram and that solved that problem. The third problem was the bottom of the cyclone feeder had such bad casting flash it would randomly break paint in the cyclone. I had herd of others having the same problem and all that was needed was to sand down the flash on the bottom of the cyclone. All of this added up to a very frustrating time with this marker and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: In preforming all the fixes and looking the parts of the marker over I could see the quality I had come to expect from a Tippmann marker was no longer. Maybe it is a sign of the times, or I just happened to get a bad one. At this point though, considering the cost vs. quality I feel this marker is one of the worst I have ever owned.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media