paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
swissblade16 Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 w/red dot sight
Strengths: Accuracy
Profile
Weight
Range
Looks
Cyclone Feeder
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: The Safety
Paint
The Sight
Review: The Tippmann X7 is an extraordinary marker. It has really nice accuracy with just the stock gun at reasonable ranges. Its profile is thin and the hopper is low, making it just that much harder to spot. The weight, when I first saw the gun i thought it was going to be a tank, but the gun is made from Magnesium and is really light. The gun packs a punch and can send balls for a fairly long distance, and still allow them to break on the target. The cyclone feeder works great and i have not have any problems with the mechanics of the gun. The gun can easily be taken apart. Looks, what can i say, its an out of the box scenario style marker. The price is a little high for new players but for anyone who has played before the price is not daunting. Similar guns can be sold for hundreds of dollars more, so $300 is not that much.

The placement of the safety can be a slight problem for those of us with big hands. It is right on the side and rather than being a push button it is more of a switch and if it is not all of the way on "Fire" then the gun tends not to fire.

The paint, now this one could just be me, but moving from my 98 which could fire any type of paint without a problem to this one just took some getting used to. This is not a big problem it is just that thin shelled paint seems to break in the gun a little more often then I would like, so thick shelled paint is needed.

The sight is another problem with the gun... the sight is very difficult to see through and doesn't help too much

The gun is an amazing gun in both looks and performance and I highly recomend it to any scenario players or those of those who have some experience paintballing. New players should not buy the gun unless they are positive that this is a sport that they can and will play often.
Conclusion: Buy the gun, it has quite a few pros, and very few cons.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 at 4:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jitters93 Thursday, September 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c- any tipperguy would compare to this for the most part
impulse- in wieght and boxyness
Marker Setup: -Black Magic SF
shocktech clamping neck
14" kaner
Eggy3
pmi 68/45
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
16" dye ultralite
68/45
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
wgp grip feedneck
bm c-rod
Halo led frontman
14" dye ultralite
---------------------------
-X-7
flatline
m16 vert. foregrip
trinity stock
remote
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
Halo led frontman
68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline
remote(for less wieght)
egrip if you prefer it
Stock if you want more balance
Strengths: Performance
Quality
reliable
accurate
cyclone
lightwieght(with a remote)
Weaknesses: Sorta heavy with full hopper and no remote
Hopper
Kick
Review: I bought this marker a while ago but i never used it bonestock, its actualy my first scenario type gun. I upgraded it from the start with a foregrip, flatline barrel, buttstock and a remote. I highly recomend all of those upgrades except the foregrip and stock because not everyone likes to use those.
The x-7 performs great, the basic model has a nice fealing while shooting, however there is alot of kick. The X7 is extremely accurate with the flatline wich flatens your trajectory giving you more distance and such.. The cyclone feed works great and has a consistant feed rate that works well on the x7.
The marker itself is big/boxy so it can be heavy with a full hopper, and if u dont use a romote i suggust a light or small sized tank.
Conclusion: Overal this is an awsomely great marker from tippmann/spec-ops, and is also uber fun to use :d
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 29th, 2007 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supersookers Sunday, July 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion, Piranha EXT
Marker Setup: X7, M16 vertical grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel, air-tank, remote coil harness, stock???
Strengths: Looks, performince, duriblelity, extreamly light weight and of corse low off set hopper.
Weaknesses: I have no complates accept that its a little thick but dont worry about that.
Review: when i first got the X7 it wouldnt even fire but i sent it to tippmann and they sent me a brand new one. the new one worked flawlessly right out of the box. The lightness of the gun is a big advantage on the field same with the offset hopper. when i went to the local field everyone was commenting on how cool my gun was and how well it shot i am very impressed with my x7 I reccomend it to anyone who plays woodsball!!!
Conclusion: if ur looking for a light milsim marker with great prefomence get the X7

thanks again to tippmann for the execelent customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 2nd, 2007 at 6:20 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbAlex Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
20 ounce pure energy tank
30mm red dot scope
Stinger Balls
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if you want
Strengths: Accuracy, Feel, Look, Operation
Weaknesses: the stock sights aren't the best
Otherwise NONE!!!
Review: Oh my goodness, i got this X7a few weeks ago. At first you have to put about 2 hoppers through it to make the springs soften up, its smooth sailing after that. I have used many guns throuought the time i played the sport of paintball, i must say that very few guns (when they are stock) match up to the stock X7, The accuracy of the X7 out of the box is very very good compared to other guns. It barely breaks balls, i only broke balls when the springs were still hard because they were new but thats about it, never broke a ball since. It has a very nice feel to it, also has an offset hopper so you can put a scope on it. The trigger pull is perfect for me, very realistic, i can get about 6-8 shots per second out of it, but that might just be me. The gun is very realistic, it is very appealing, you just want to keep looking at it. The new redisigned cyclone feed is flawless. The removable clip is also very handy, you can put tools like allen keys in, and no they dont shake around inside because they have specially made grooves to sit in. This gun is actually very balanced, i have a 20oz tank and when i fill the hopper it is very balanced. The only thing i dont like about this gun are the sights, the stock sights suck but thats why i bought a red dot scope, this isint a problem i barely use the sights, this gun feels so good in your hands that i just aim where my head is looking and hit every time.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to ANYONE (who plays woodsball), weather you just started to paintball or are a pro or you play scenario its a great all around gun. i can't wait to see what it does if i do upgrade it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NathanStruthers Thursday, August 27th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5, 98 Custom,
Marker Setup: X7:

-Flatline Barrel
-Also Use 16 "
-R-Trigger
-Car Stock
-Front Handle
-Stove Pipe Offset Hopper Peice
-Remote Line
-Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber is the first upgrade for any person using the R-Trigger or E-Trigger. My gun froze up before I got a Remote Line but the Expansion Chamber would work better. I do not recommend the Red Dot. It does not help you in the least bit. A long barrel is needed. The barrel it comes with, is terrible. A stock is nice for that extra accuracy, but then again is not needed for a very experienced player.
Strengths: Obvs. The body of this gun is a strength. There are so many. I recommend.
Weaknesses: The barrel it comes with.
Review: I love this gun. It works well and it is very good for intimidation purposes. The gun is on the heavier side, but if you get good upgrades that can work to your advantage. If you get light upgrades, the gun is very good for running up and killing everyone. Heavy gear means that you should hang back and shoot from a distance. I suggest this gun to a very good player that likes to be a sniper. Or a heavy gunner. The gun is very customizable and it works well and is SOO strong. I actually recommend this gun to anyone and everyone. It takes adaption time but you deffinatley will adapt fast.
Conclusion: Final Word:

I totally recommend this gun to everyone who wants an agile gun that is intimidating and strong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Buhju Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98
A-5
Ion
Tippmann Triumph XL
3 pistols
A bunch of cheap guns (less than $50)
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
-Various Milsim Upgrades

-Tippmann 98
-18" Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Strengths: Relatively Accurate
Highly upgradable
LP Hopper
Weaknesses: Price
Chops
Review: I got this gun and I thought it was pretty cool, until things started breaking. First, it was the cyclone ratchet in just over a month, then it was a push pin in about 3 months, after that a rail broke off of the front shroud, next the hopper fell right off the gun when i was shooting, then the ball latch went bad, and now the internals are going bad.
I realize that I probably got a bad gun or something but even still, the performance on the A-5 is as good if not better for a lot less money. There is also a very small upside to the x-7 over the A-5 as well. In my opinion, the X-7 is Tippmanns worst gun other than the Triumph line because it has the same internals as the A-5 at a lot more price and you can make the A-5 look like the X-7 if you want to anyway. If you are like me and you want to upgrade it anyway, why not start from scratch because if you like a mod that would require you to change out the stock x-7 mods then you took an x7, made it into an A5 then upgraded that. The X-7 is more convinent than the 98 but you can't beat the 98 when it comes to reliability. The slight difference in weight, cyclone speed and upgradability for me does not outweigh the price jump and I saw no difference in shooting performance between the stock A-5 and the stock x-7.
The one thing I do like, however, is the hopper on the x-7. It may not be the easiest to load but it is out of the way when using a sight of some sort. I also like how easy you can take it apart in comparison to previous models.

The main difference that I saw with this gun performance-wise was the fact that this gun chops paint far more frequently. The x-7 REQUIRES high quality balls and a chronograph. With older models you could shoot as hard as you wanted and they would be fine but the x-7 chops at high velocity. Also, some people like the cyclone, some don't but I really don't think it matters what kind of loader you have unless you shoot very fast or have trouble with your hopper jamming or something.

Please don't compare this to an Ion or any other "speedball" gun because they are different guns, used by different players, in different environments, with different objectives, and so on. . .
Conclusion: In my opinion you should get an A-5 because they are cheaper. The x-7 is essentially the same gun that just came partially upgraded for you. Also, don't be fooled by Tippmann saying it is the most customizable gun ever. This only pertains to parts that Tippmann made. There are thousands of A5 parts from other companies.

I am rating this based on it's comparison to other TIPPMANN guns, not Ions or my personal struggles with this gun. I give this gun a

10 - cleaning
5 - overall performance in comparison to other Tippmanns
2 - overall price of gun and upgrades
3 - overall simplicity of use

Simply put, after using of many different types of guns, I wouldn't say the X-7 was my favorite.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 26th, 2009 at 2:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomreis48 Monday, December 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: E-grip, straightline barrel,flatline, mp5 stock, remote line, front foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip,
straightline barrel/ anything other than tippman,
squishy paddles,
lightning rod cyclone piston rod,
alu upgrade ratchet in cyclone feed.
Polish inners
Strengths: Durable
Easy to maintain
Simplicity
Appearance
Upgradability
Weaknesses: Upgrades stupidly expensive
Cyclone feed is a joke - upgrades are a must
Accuracy
Price
Review: On first impressions the X7 is a good looking marker and dont get me wrong the cyclone feed system is an excellent idea. However my very first outing with this gun was riddled with problems... all pointing towards the cyclone feed system. Now, balling chopping in any marker is a pain in the neck at the best of times but when it happens every 10 balls you start to wonder if actually throwing the paint is a better way of getting people!

According to most x7 owners this is mainly down to either the paint or the shear violence of the cyclone motion against the paint. The only paint I could seem to fire sucessfully is the winter stuff but anything designed for warmer weather blends like a frog. The cyclone motion can be softened by buying squishy paddles which seems to cure the problem but then I faced the reliability issue! You then need to upgrade the piston and ratchet as when you try and fire more than 5bps the plastic standard parts turn into sponge (which typically I found out in the middle of a walkon). This makes things get expensive. My brother had a better day using a 98c

After all the chopping issues finally went away I then addressed the accuracy as the standard barrel couldnt shoot an elephant at 10 paces. After much deliberation I reluctantly upgraded the barrel to the new staighline system, which may i add blows the pants of the flatline. But that was another £130.

Maintainance is very easy and the push pins are a very practical way to swap bits round quickly on the day.

I can confirm this is probably one the most customizable markers around by my god you've got to be loaded in order to get it the way you want. All the tippmann bits I bought are made from this nasty feeling plastic and usually cost way way too much for what you get.

I have now sold my X7 as the cyclone feed finally got the better of me, I would have kept it if tippmann weren't so self righteous and allowed a nomal feed system to be fitted.



Conclusion: In my opinion if your rich and your only concern in paintball is looking cool on the field then this is the marker for you, however if you want a gun that fires balls instead of eating them get a marker without a cyclone feed.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WilhelmSchulz Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C, fair but not as good
Marker Setup: Colapsible stock, 14 inch barrel, M-16 sights (both fron and rear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
a stock of anykind, and a longer barrel
Strengths: Reliabilty, shooting speed
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: When I played my first game of paintball I used a Tippmann 98C, and I was hooked so I went and bought a X-7. The verry first time I played I got lots of oohs and aahs. My gun was repeatedly banged slammed and acdently droped(verry hard I may add) and it still preformed wonderfully.

Acccurcy:
With the stock 8" barrel accurcy is fair, I could hit targets out to about 15 yards. The 14" dubbled that.

Shooting speed:
Although its a woodsball marker I can still crank out paint at nice rate.

Reliablity:
In one game I slammed into a bunker so hard it knocked me silly for a bit. Balls where broken in the hopper and the clip poped out. But the gun still worked flawsly.

Weight:
This is its only weakness. The first day I used it the arm that held the pistol grip the elbow was sore. The gun weighs about 3-5 lbs. But I got used to it after a few more days.

Looks:
I had it said to me that this gun could get you shot in a well lit alley. The gun just looks mean! Gets me lots of oohs and aahs whenever I play.
Conclusion: If you love woodsball and want a mean looking marker the X-7 is the way to go!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mw98 Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Promaster, Tippmann A5, Custom 98, BT-4 combat, Tippmann Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
Response Trigger
Tiberius Rifle Scope
M-16 Apex Barrell
3 Point Tactical sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger
Tiberius Rifle Scope
M-16 Apex Barrell
3 Point Tactical sling
Howitzer Bolt
Strengths: Accurate
Ease of Use
Reasonably Light
Mil-sim
many Mods
Weaknesses: Price... if you're picky
stock barrel
Review: I picked up this gun from Badlands. I have loved it ever since. It fires great and has several good mods which can be used to improve it. My 2 favourites are the Response Trigger and the Apex Barrel.

When I got this, I thought: I want a great gun which is easy to use, can help me in battle, and which I will be able to mod up. I came to the conclusion of buying the X-7. This did not disappoint. It is SO easy to use that a monkey could do it. In addition, it is great on the battlefield stock, but it is so much better with Mods. The only thing u must change is the stock barrell (it's pretty bad). Personally, I like the APEX barrell, but that's me.

Anyways, I played today and killed at least 15 people over 7 rounds with the gun. I'm more of a rusher and frontline person, so it even works for me. It's not nearly as picky as electric guns and with the R-Trigger, it is almost as fast and more accurate with the APEX barrell.
Conclusion: Get this gun, it does not dissapoint. Great for all battle roles. It's my fav. gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moneyindabank Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: soon to come is a Dangerous Power Fusion
Recommended
Upgrades:
nuthing out yet
Strengths: Durable,good cyclone quick disconect macro was pretty cool
Weaknesses: None that i found besides a tad heavy
Review: Okay my freind is a major scenario fan because his dad used to hunt ducks so he is into all the "make your paintball gun into a real gun" type thing. He had and a-5 but i showed him ther x-7 kinda as a joke and he accually got it! so today I shot it and it was okay. I like the cyclone feed a lot because it is lower profile so great for woodsball. DO NOT USE THIS GUN FOR SPEEDBALL, it is not fast enough and you would look like a real idiot going out there with your x-7 modded into an m-16 while your getting shot at with guns going teice the speed.plus you would be the laughing stock of the field. I found it shot good for a single trigger and pretty accurate. I really like the quick strip macro line just incase spomething goes wrong plus the mag also acts as a storage place for allen keys, o rings and lube.
Conclusion: ovarall this is a good marker if you are into the scenario games but if you have an A-5 or a 98 keep it. I'm going to give it a.....
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media