paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
varqss Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: x-7
j&j 12" barrel
n2
Strengths: The look and feel of this gun is perfect for milsim.
Weaknesses: A little pricey
Review: The gun looks great! Had a gas leak right out of the box... had to tighten the nut inside to stop the leak.. The gone now works well... the gas leak was annoying but the gun now works fine. Can wait to add the e-grip! It has a mean kickback which gives it the real feel. I would recommend tis gun over the A5 as it performs similar but is a little lighter and has alot of upgrades
Conclusion: Great looking gun that performs like the A5
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 8:24 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

ZzZTIPPMANNX7Zz Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom and tippmann a5 They dont even come close
Marker Setup: Just a Basic x7
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline or other barrel stock
Strengths: Very accurate right out of the box
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very good gun everyone should buy it he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he ehe he ehe heeh hehe heheh eheheh he he he he he he he he he he hye he ehehe heheh hehe he he eh
Conclusion: Awesome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

banjo1017 Sunday, December 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman a5 and Alpha Black
Marker Setup: Tippmann x7, Flatline barrel, CAR stock, M16 carry handle, and Front grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a egip if you like to shoot alot, and Flatline
Strengths: Solid body, custimizeable
Weaknesses: Not that many third party upgrades
Review: I got my X7 from some kid is school with the flatline and stock for only 200. So before I gave him the money I tested it out. He said he only used it once in his back yard and never played a game with it. I bought and and now love it. The gun looks great and is surpiseingly lighter then it looks. Its very easy to put upgrades on the gun and take them off.
Conclusion: 1.If you dont shoot to much then the basic x7 is great. 2Ever thought some people hate the removeable mag I find it very helpful due to the fact that you've got your tool right there with you should you have a problem on the feild.
3. Gun looks cool and very reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frontplaya75 Tuesday, October 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I borrowed my dad's x7 to try it out
Marker Setup: X7 with vertical grip,flatline barrel and red dot sight on side rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel and new spring or commando stock if you wanna play remote.
Strengths: Looks
Versatility
Rugedness like all Tippmanns
Weaknesses: Weight
Price if you are on a budget
Review: Ok, this is an awesome starter marker. it's simplicity is a key factor to it's success. It's very quick and easy to maintain. Personally I would suggest you to buy a spring changing pack
for a smoother trigger pull. To do that remove the backplate or stock and a sping and pin will pop out.Replace the spring and put in your stock or backplate.

Conclusion: This is a very solid gun. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND IT FOR WOODSBALL OR SCENARIO ONLY!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TIDAKING Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
AGD E-Mag Tac One w/ J&J Barrel, Dot Sight, and Q-loader
Tippy A5
Marker Setup: Q-Loaded X7, Apex Barrel, Red Dot Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q loader. It gaurintees that you get a shot for every trigger pull and is much faster and more stable than cyclone.
Strengths: Sturdy Build, Cyclone comes standard, very nice out of the box. Even better with upgrades.
Weaknesses: Cyclone leaves you firing air alone sometimes, chops balls, etc. q-loader is much better.
Review: I absolutely love this marker.

Looks/Handling 10/10
The X7 is simply one of the most bad*** looking guns on the market. With a little creativity, two X7's will never look the same. Some complain about weight but I am 6'5" and 220 lbs so it doesn't bother me at all. Plenty of space for upgrades. Also, hands are not cramped like on A5 if you are a bigger guy.

Durability: 10/10
Very secure from what I can tell only a few parts associated with the cyclone that are unstable.

Simplicity: 9/10
It took about two times for me to fimilarize myself with the internals but I can now dissasemble and reassemble with it ease.

Functionality: 9/10
Fires consistently and suprisingly accurately without upgrades. With my Apex and Q-loader it's virtually flawless.
Conclusion: Great marker. I have a decent job so I set high standards on quality of products. Some may say the marker setup is a bit pricy but with steady income it is very affordable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patejl Friday, July 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
T98 custom Pro
A-5
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5, Hammerhead Dominator barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
red-dot or any other sights
Strengths: Cool look for someone
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Sights
Price too high for what you get
Review: This is more an impression than review because I used X-7 only for 4 games, borrowed it from my friend.
Look - It looks nice, despite I find having fake "magazine" uselless and toylike. But someone might like it. It also helps if you wanna build up real gun like look. However, the plastics look sorta cheap and at close look, the marker does not look hmmm... real, dangerous...?
Weight - despite bigger than A-5 it felt lighter /update - it feels lighter only when up to 50 scenario paintballs are loaded. If the hopper is full it feels heavier and much less operable than A-5 - hopper is placed more front, bad balanced).
Trigger - dunno if because string or gas feeding but trigger after shot nearly kicks finger off it - never witnessed b4 with any marker, I am used to smooth and easy triggers with no feedback.
Sights - was a reason why I moved to tipmanns from Spyders - I need sights to perform well when shooting. While A-5 have HK sights, which work very well, X-7 has some odd small back sights. It is not much comfortable to shoot on target excersising only, always you have to partly concentrate on keeping front sight against rear sights. In a game, I always found myself shooting "front+sight-as-a-reference-then-adjust-after-first-pa
intball". Which is bad bad bad for me. So, if sights are a must for you, avoid X-7 or if you still like it, spare some more money on M-16 or other upgrade rail, sights or buy red-dot.
Bursts - with co2 you can set cyclone so that u r able to fire short bursts if really needed
Reliability - had problems with chops in barrel and gas consumption - it is still significantly higher than even A-5 (!) - despite chops are solved by readjusting cyclone (took lots of time for fine-tuning), gas is still problem for my friend. His 18oz last less than my 16oz (approx 500 rounds for me, 300-400 for X-7). But maybe he has just a lemon.
Accuracy - felt slightly better than A-5 stock
Conclusion: Not bad marker but far too pricy for what it offers atm. Definetely no improvement for you if you have A-5 already.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2008 at 4:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spiderspawn Friday, October 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A5
Spyder Image
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
32 degree carbon fiber barrel
expansion chamber
car stock
RT
-------------
X7
Remote
72 3000psi tank
Apex Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Still have to try the RT and Egrip for it
Stock (air-through)
Barrel
Strengths: BEST mil sim ever!
Low profile
different combinations for your look
Weaknesses: Only thing I am having problems with is the trigger springs
Cost of modifications
Review: I have been using this marker for the last 6 months, and I love it! The feel, the looks, the number of mods you can do to it, the whole package for it, is awsome. You can take it apart and put it back together without any problems.
The only thing I have problems with is the trigger. after using it a few times, by the third month ( I play about once a month and always clean my stuff between games), I started to miss fire. I would pull the trigger and nothing. my bolt was all the way back, air was on, safety was off but still I would pull the trigger and nothing. I found out that I had to push the trigger forward in order for it to catch inside. I replaced the red and blue springs and also the trigger spring and it will be good for a few more game days. Then I need to do it again. This is my only complaint about the marker.
UPDATE BELOW
Conclusion: Replace your stock trigger with the RT or E-grip for it. Even though I have not use either trigger, I am betting that they both will work better than the stock trigger. Either that so stock up on springs.
UPDATE 10/13/07
I was just over at the Tippmann Windy City Classic at CPX. I asked the question of the trigger problem. What needs to be done according to the rep. is to file the top of the metal spring retainer on the trigger itself at a 45 degree ange. You don't have to take much off but some of thier batches came a larger than what is required.
Thnaks Tippmann!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 13th, 2007 at 2:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sharpfhshooter Monday, October 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion
Spyder electra ACS 05
Tippmann a-5
Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder compact
Marker Setup: Flatline barrel
Response trigger
x36 folding stock
3000 psi nitrogen tank
Remote coil (without slide check)
Port n' polish
JCS jet click ratchet and shaft
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel!!
Better trigger
Port and polish
New cyclone internals
Strengths: Weight
Looks
Speed
Durability
Rails
Easy to clean
Durable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Air efficiency
internals are poorly treated.
Review: Right out of the box the gun looks very nice, but much is needed if you want it to work well,
lets go with the pros and cons.

PROS:

The gun looks really cool

Cyclone work efficiently and pretty well out of the box

I never chop paint, ive read and heard of people chopping paint with their X7s.

Easy to maintenance, the push pins make disassembly a lot easier.

Rails allow you to attach sites and other cosmetics to the gun.

Extremely customizable.

Very durable.

CONS:

The cyclone stock parts are plastic, you may want to change those parts for better ones.

It wastes air like crazy, I could probably get 600 shots out of it.

Internals are horribly treated, port n' polish is a must have! Ive noticed a lot rough edges. Also, the inside is very dirty i recommend that you clean,oil,and port n' polish the gun.

Conclusion: Basically, i give this marker an 8 out of ten because of its durability, customization, works, and all the other things you can add to it.
Its a very well made marker that is meant to take a beating, tippmann did a pretty good job, but they could've done a way better job with the X7.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 16th, 2008 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarlockMercer Friday, September 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer, VM68, RAP 4
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7, M4 stock, remote line, aimpoint red dot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. Get a new barrel. The 8" it comes with is crap, period.
Strengths: Durable, intimidating, tough, etc.
Weaknesses: Cost, air pig, crappy stock barrel.
Review: I had a RAP 4. Got rid of it, bought this, and was simply amazed. I'd read reviews, but had no idea it was going to be this good. So good, I bought a second for my spare.
Tough design. The body is synthetic. No rust, nothing. Almost indestructable. I weigh about 240 pounds. Have fallen on it twice so far, no damage. Not a dent...well, dents in me, none in the weapon.
The performance. It's simply awesome. No feed jams, no breaking balls in the chamber, nothing. It fires fast, it's reliable, it doesn't stop. Only problem is the lod mechanism requires air to feed the weapon. You run low on air, you have no feed system. Buy a big tank.
Big negative is the stock barrel. 8", the ports are int he forestock. So, you blow a round int he barrel, spend the next 10 minutes cleaning your forestock. Pain in the butt.
Conclusion: This is, in my opinion, the best mechanical marker out there. Tough, reliable, intimidating and customizable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joethepatriot Sunday, September 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
A-5
Zeus G2
Marker Setup: #1) Tippmann Custom 98 with Flatline, HPA remote system, with a SWATFORCE reddot scope and a collapsible stock.. #2) Tippmann Custom 98 with drop forward, J & J Ceramic 14", Whisper 14", Twister 14", and Teardrop 14" barrels with a collapsable stock, and Psycho Ballistics Star bolt. #3) Zeus G2 plus, bottomline and remote, leg holster, 10 round magazine and hopper adapter w/200 round hopper, stock barrels include the snub and 7 1/2 inch barrels.
Recommended
Upgrades:
APEX Barrel
Strengths: Most of the marker is made strong
Weaknesses: Magazine is made of plastic
Review: I've had my X7 for almost 10 months as of Labor Day 2007. This marker shoots cheap paint surprisingly good (no ball breakage only an occasional skip); better paint delivers more accuracy without skips. Cronos consistantly when using HPA. The APEX Barrel definately provides more distant, accurate and trick shots. After almost 10 months of use and getting a feel for the basic marker, I chose to add a Response Trigger as an additional upgrade (this will aid in providing suppressive fire). My consideration for choosing the RT over the E-grip was cost, and I prefer pneumanic/mechanical over electronic.
Conclusion: I rate this marker a 9 out of a 10; this marker has enormous potential for change. It certainly can compete well with other markers in its class and category.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media