paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel

Dye Ultralite Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite Barrel
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 163
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A much lighter version of the boomstick. Still the same 2 piece design, but all aluminum.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
azndragon2222 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Progressive
SP Freak
Evil Driver
SITE St!ffi
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
14" SITE St!ffi Barrel (.689)
Vaporworks S-4 Bearing Trigger
CP Grip Regulator (Long)
Hybrid Shizzle Panelz
CCM Heli-Clamp Feedneck
Shocktech On/Off Bottomline w/ Rail #2
Empire Reloader B w/ East Coast Killers Backplate
ACI Bulldog III 68 ci/3000 psi (Carbon Fiber) w/ Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium to Small bore (.689 recommended) but different sized backs can be bought to fit whatever paint you use
Strengths: Light
Very Accurate
Good Porting
Looks
Weaknesses: Gloss finish are hard to find
Scrathes easily
Price
Not self-cleaning
Review: I tested the Ultralite from my friends DM6 (he was using his St!ffi). i myself had a Stiffi barrel, too, but i wanted to see how the Ultralite was. usually the Ultralites have the bores printed on them but not this one...possibly because it came off the DM6. anyway, from its name "Ultralite", it is indeed...light. though not as light as the Stiffi but thats because its carbon fiber...duh! the accuracy of the Ultralite great, if not better than the Stiffi. it has a good amount of porting (though some people might think its too much) so its relatively quiet. being from Dye, it looks good on almost any gun. i, personally, like gloss finishes, but not many Ultralite barrels come in gloss (except the Boomstick and gloss fronts hard to come by). i tested this barrel for half a day and it was pretty much clean when i first used it. after all the abuse i put it through, it already had a few scrathes on the tip (but did not effect performance). after everything is done and over with....i did not break a single ball in the barrel until i decided to waste some paint...and it didnt really clean itself out very well. i was gonna buy it myself before i got my stiffi...but in my opinion, its overpriced....as with almost any Dye product.
Conclusion: Great barrel, especially with it coming from Dye. if you have the money, its a great barrel if you want accuracy and good looks. just have that swab/squegee ready for when you break paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer27 Thursday, July 22nd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline-Shoots farther but ultralite is about as accurate
Boomy-I see no difference other then boomstick is more expensive and heavier
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Ultralite
Sticky Grips
CO2
Revvy hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus works good with anything i've used
Strengths: Light!
Quieter then others
accurate
looks good
Weaknesses: Scratches fairly easy
Not THE most quiet barrel
About $100- expensive
Review: I bought this barrel for about 100 bucks hoping i would get my money's worth. Its worth 150 bucks. After i put it on i went out to test it. I loved it. It was extremely accurate and shot graet. Ive had no breaks in this barrel yet and ive shot about 2000 balls through it. Although this doesnt shoot as far as the flatline barrel from tippmann it is just as accurate. The only things bad about the barrel id that it is quite a bit pricy at $100. Also, i noticed that the end of the barrel chips often. This is just a cosmetic problem and doesnt affect the great perfromence .
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone thats serious with paintball. The reason for this is the $100 price tag. Other than that....great barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

superrocker Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, 32 degrees
Marker Setup: 2000 autcocker w/ 3000 psi nitro and the dye ultralight
Recommended
Paintballs:
who cares..
Strengths: Extremely accurate!
Light
sexy
quiet
Weaknesses: none what so ever
Review: I bought my autocokcer in perfect condition on ebay for $250. It came with the barrel and a revy. I love this setup. Soon im going to pimp it out. Any way the barrel is so nice. I like it better than the boomy. It shoots in the same spot every time. Im a front man and this barrel rocks for it. I can hit anything with it.
Conclusion: If you can get a deal on it go for it. Thhis barrel deserves a 12 but it only goes to 10...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004 at 12:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STRIKER_7_ Saturday, June 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Dragun Barrel (loud, less accurate)
Boomstick (Same accuracy, Heavier)
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun Basic
Silver CiP Sweet Spot Trigger Flat
Dye Ultralight
12v revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs, Diablo Blaze
Strengths: It is accurate, silent, and looks sweet! The Black Dragun is a loud gun, but this barrel makes it noticeably quieter. I was also getting a pretty tight grouping with this barrel, and it blends in really nicely with my Black Dragun. I was impressed. It's a Dye product. VERY LIGHT TOO
Weaknesses: Havn't found anything bad with it yet, and i hope i dont =)
Conclusion: It is a great barrel, it works like it's supposed to. A great upgrade to any marker, i reccommend it if you are after a barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

riverrat Sunday, December 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested the flatline spyder flash stock barrel dye boomstick and armson stealth
Marker Setup: Spyder e-99 remote coil 20 oz tank w/4+1 pack with dye ultralite
Recommended
Paintballs:

i have only used field paint with the ultralite and it was extrememly accurate
Strengths: Everything is good about the ultralite

*Cheap 80$
*accurate I 1st shot it in the cold with a low tank of co2 and bad paint and the balls were still accurate
*porting makes the balls quiet
*good tournament barrel
*many sizes of barrel
*good frontline weopon and defense weopon
Weaknesses: nothing the only one bad thing about it is that it only comes in black. But who wants a big purple and chrome stick coming out of the trees and brush
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for everyone noobs and experienced players. It is a cheap reliable barrel it dents a little easy but come on some of your stuff is going to get battle worn.It is just as good as the boomstick just lighter,accuracy is great if you want a great barrel get the ultralite

DYE RULES
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rebel Dris Sunday, November 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, performs circles around this
Marker Setup: A-5 w/
Response Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Flatline
Car Stock
Strengths: Not sure
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: Okay, this barrel works horrably on an a-5, i would never recommend it to anyone who owns an a-5. I have played for a while and I could not stand this barrel, it was so horrable. The accuracy is not that good, just a little better than my stock barrel, the VERY SAD thing is that if I take off the front of it, the short piece (estimating about 6 inches) is more accurate than the whole barrel (14 inches). I just used my flatline for one day and omg it performs about 100 times better, accuracy, range, noise, all of it, plus the flatline looks better. Im not sure how it works on other guns but it has to be the worst barrel ever for my A-5........ 1/10.....
Conclusion: Never get this for an A-5.....
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

Quatreux Sunday, May 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini Stock
16inch all american with freak tip
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Dye Ultralite 14in
Dye Rotor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything half decent
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Very light
Looks mint
VERY quiet
Weight similar to carbon fibre
Weaknesses: Price if you're poor but its worth every cent
Review: Ok i wanted to try out this barrel even tho alot of people say a freak kit is better but i wanted to try this out for myself anyway. I wasnt using expensive paint but it was ok (jumbo pink)

TESTING RANGE AND ACCURACY ONLY

The target was a tree 80-85 feet away which is a very hard distance to keep accurate
I was shooting in a straight line from the top of a bank to the top of the tree

1st i tried my invert mini stock, it shot ok but the paint seemed to drop short hitting the tree at the very base which was about a 12foot drop from where i was aiming.

2nd i tried the 16inch all american with freak tip, i thought this would be the best of the 3 barrels on range but it was hitting the tree about 5-6feet lower then the target and also seemed to get the odd curve ball but not alot.

3rd- 14inch Dye ultralite, i wasnt expecting it to be as good as the freak but dam it was a hell of alot better, at 80feet the paintball range was droping by 1 or 2 feet at the most which i think is extremely good on range.. only thing that would be better on range would be a flatline or apex

OVERALL
Dye UL - Range 10/10
Accuracy 9/10

Smart Parts AA - Range 7/10
Accuracy 6/10

Mini Stock - Range 5/10
Accuracy 7/10

it will be hard for me to give a 10 on accuracy just because its paintball and will never be pinpoint accurate
Conclusion: It costs a bit more but its worth every cent, i wont be buying another barrel ive finally found a keeper. If u cant decide between 2 barrels and this is one of the choices, definately pick the Dye Ultralite!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 25th, 2009 at 4:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock pmr barrel
sp freak

Marker Setup: proto rail black dust
virtue board and eyes
critical trigger
ul frame
14" ul barrel
halo b w/ rip drive
68/45 cf tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any thing that fits nicly in the barrel back
Strengths: Quiet
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I use a 14" on my rail
its good to get 2 barrel back if you get this barrel just incase there is a differnce in the paint you use

recommended barrel backs-
.688 and the .692

the barrel looks greet and has awsome performce too

it does a take a few shots to clear the barrel if u do get a break so either be ready to shoot a few or bring a squeege
Conclusion: I give it a 9/10 because the only draw back is the price other wise its a great barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sds780 Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 2 piece
J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: PMR ul frame, proto backcap, proto 2 piece 14 inch barrel, cp asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are round
Strengths: Accurate
Light weight
Weaknesses: Price maybe?
Does not come in a kit
Review: Let me first start off by saying David Youngblood was making barrels for paintball before it was even considered a sport. So he has some experience and it pays off. This is just about as perfect as a barrel as you can get. No wonder the pros use it. I have used everything from stock barrels to J&J's to Dyes to CP's. Let me tell you theres some great barrels out there but this one is better. So use what the pros use and get an ultralite. You wont regret it.
Conclusion: One of the best barrels on the market today. Defenatley the best way to upgrade your gun. You will not regret purchasing this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BO55HOGG Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto, Stiffi, J&J
Marker Setup: EDIT(new gun): Ion Max'd, Critical Parts Trigger, VLocity Jr, JT USA HPA Tank(not too great)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze.. or just not cheap(brass eagle) paint
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses: See body
Review: OH MAN IS THIS BARREL WORTH EVERY DOLLAR

***STRENGTHS***
uhhh.. is it accurate?!?! YES
NO CURVE, BARELY ANY ARC
its ultra lite(light)
look sick

***WEAKNESSES***
a little loud(in my opion)
stratches
___________

see before i got this barrel, i had to crank down my vel. to reduce the curve on my shot.. but not i can go full vel with no curves in my shot. a couple daze after i got it went to srg splatter.. oh i did i kill everyone there of what!!! i was gunning down people from 3/4's of the place, this barrel took my skill to the next level hommie
Conclusion: Perfect!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 6:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media