paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel

Dye Ultralite Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite Barrel
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 163
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A much lighter version of the boomstick. Still the same 2 piece design, but all aluminum.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
leons Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pepper stickz, kanner, stiffi.
Marker Setup: Red ego- star trigger- 4500psi/71cu dye tank- pepper sticks barrel kit- halo b
Strengths: Accurate, self cleanning
Weaknesses: Anything... maybe price.
Review: It is a very good barrel, it's accurate, lightweight, if u have a barrel brake, it cleans it self.
The material is also resistant, and it's quiet.
The price is around the 100dll, so it's not the cheapest, but it is worth it!
There are also many colors, so you can find the best for your marker.
Conclusion: This is the best or 1 of the best barrels out there... get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tedrzz Saturday, January 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1 piece, freak, J&J, Stiffi
Marker Setup: DM5, .691 Stiffi, Reloader B, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind
Strengths: Quiet, light, accurate, well honed, looks good.
Weaknesses: Pricey.
Review: I've been using Ultralites for a over a year now and they are just amazing barrels. They are the Mustang of the barrel world and are the barrel which every other barrel is compared to. The finish inside the barrel is so glossy, it's really nice. There is lots of porting on the barrel which makes it very quiet but also cuts down on efficiency a little. There isn't much to say about the barrel that hasn't already been said. The Ultralite has withstood the test of time and will always be shooting straight.
Conclusion: Very accurate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stealthskull 33 Sunday, January 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive used the armson stealth barrel, although it is very quiet it isnt nearly as accurate as the ultralight. Also the ultralight looks much better.
Marker Setup: i have a jt excelerator 6.0, a 12v rev hopper, a 20 oz tank, and a 14 in ultralight
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbalizers, jt maxim 2,and any other good paintball
Strengths: pretty quiet, good looks, very accurate
Weaknesses: just one color
Review: this barrel is very good for tournie players, wood ball just about anything, doesnt chop balls to often, but if it does the barrel doesnt work as good until u clean it out. This barrel is just like the boomstick but it is alluminum. This barrel is the baest barrel under 100 $
Conclusion: If u are just startin out dont get it, because u need to learn how to play with a crappy barrel first.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wastedwalrus Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Whisper, All American and a bunch of stocks.
Marker Setup: Markers.....

2002 Autococker
Belsales Hollow Point 3way
Belsales .44 Magnum Ram
WGP Hinge Trigger
All-Delrin Bolt
Dye Ultralite Barrel 12"
Emipre Reloader B
(Everything else is stock)

Tippman A-5
Response Trigger Kit
Double Trigger
Flatline barrel
Adjustable Car Stock
Front Grip Extension
(Everything else is stock)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything is cool. I prefer evil though.
Strengths: Accurate, extremely light.
Weaknesses: None. Except maybe a bit expensive.
Review: Accuracy-
This barrel is very accurate, in fact it is the most accurate barrel I have ever used.

Weight-
This is the lightest barrel i have ever used or even felt! It is the lightest metal barrel out there (I say this because i am sure a Stiffi would be lighter).

Price-
It is, unfortunately a little pricey.

Another awesome thing is that Dye is now selling both front and back pieces seperately. So if you become unhappy with your lenght, just buy a new front.
Conclusion: This barrel is excellent. I think it is one of the best out there. Do not settle for a bad barrel, upgrade to the Ultralite and you will not be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ryan034 Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick, JJ ceramic, few others...
Marker Setup: Piranha E-force 2k3 w/ 14" Dye ultralite (work in progress...slow progress)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would have to say whatever paint fits in this barrel it can't go wrong. With the exception of icky BE paint.
Strengths: Wicked light
looks quite sexy
way quiet
ultra accurate
Weaknesses: There are no weaknesses with this barrel.
Review: The second I put this barrel on my gun i fell in love. It's quiet, wicked accurate, looks sweet, and light as a feather. I will keep this barrel connected to my gun forever. I could too, because ball breaks are non existent. First thing I did when I put this barrel on was turn it on full auto and shoot half a hopper into an old microwave. Didn't miss once or break a single ball.
Conclusion: Go! Get off the internet and buy this barrel you fools!! You will not regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2004 at 10:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psycho98custom Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
Dye Ultralite 14 inch barrel
gta inline ex. chamber
psycho ball. drop forward
32 deg. psi guage
2 20oz. co2 tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
superswirls
any 32deg. paintballs
no cheapies!!
Strengths: very accurate, can lay balls on top of each other at far distances
Weaknesses: none found yet (and i doubt there will ever be any)
Review: this barrel is awesome i got it for 80$ at 888paintball
new 2 piece so i can buy extra front tips for different lengths (2 piece design dosent chop for anything so dont say it does!!)
it isnt the quietist barrell i have herd but if you shot anyway someone will hear you under almost any circumstances
( with my setup on my gun it is perfect for almost any sort of gameplay )
great range / accuracy / looks weighs almost nothing all around awesome barrel!!
Conclusion: this barrell is great (cant say that enough)
i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JD81 Friday, February 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
Titanium Boomstick
Marker Setup: 2k1 LCD Dark Angel
Dye sight rail
Dye low rise
Dye volumizer
14" Dye ultralite
Benchmark drop
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers, Slam balls, almost any medium size bore RPS paint has worked well for me.
Strengths: Very economical
Very accurate, and much lighter b/c of the ALL aluminum
Looks good
Matches almost any marker
Weaknesses: It's not as durable because it is made of all aluminum but that's ok. It's much easier to scratch than stainless backed boomsticks.
other than that nothin
Conclusion: It's a good barrel. Buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

swbarkley Monday, August 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Barrel Kit, Stock Proto 2-piece Barrel
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 7 (PM7)
Pure Energy Carbon Fiber 68/45 Tank
Halo Loader
Dye UL Barrel
Custom-printed thin hard plastic grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
All-Star, Ramp, Evil, and Marballizer have all worked well for me with this Barrel.
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Light, Sleek-looking,
Weaknesses: Shoots knuckleballs if you chop a ball.
Review: I bought this barrel along with some grips and a nice pair of Evil pants for $100 from a friend. This barrel was brand new at the time. It has proven to be the barrel of choice for me. I have used a variety of paints with it, in varying conditions, and have achieved consistent results. My only point of concern is that this barrel does require a good swabbing if you happen to break/chop a ball (only happened once, with the eyes somehow turned off on my gun, must have held down the wrong button trying to turn it on/off).
Conclusion: Basically this barrel is a must-have for anyone looking for a one-size-fits-all barrel to step your game up to the next level. Although I paid substantially less than full-price for this barrel, I would gladly pay full price for another one in a different color after experiencing this barrel's superb performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbboy657 Thursday, April 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini stock barrel, CP classsic.
Marker Setup: Invert mini, Vlocity, Dye UL barrel, 48/3000 Pure energy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Works great even with rec quality paint.
Strengths: 1. Ball on ball accurate.
2. Quiet.
Weaknesses: 1. Price (even then its not that bad).
Review: I recently picked up one of these from my local shop. before i screwed it in, i admired its quality inside, and out. i then proceeded to screw it in, gas up the gun, and fill up my hopper with some of the fields rec grade paint.

the first thing i noticed was its amazing accuracy, almost ball on ball. i was get a grouping of (no kidding) +/- 2 inches at a target almost 50 feet out.

Second was how quiet it was, wasnt alot quieter then my mini's stock barrel but still noticeabe.
Conclusion: HIGHLY reccomend, you wont ever have to buy a new barrel (unless you get a different threaded gun ;).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matkat Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Dye Products (Orignal Stainless/Boomstick/Ultralite)
Smart Parts (All American/Freak - Sets)
ANS
CP
Many Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Dangerous Products G3
Dye Ultralite 14" .688
APE Upgrade Board
Ruthlesspaintball.com Vampire G3 Trigger (derlin, ball bearing, magentic return(like same as in luxe as far as postioning, can do both micro and optical by changing a set screw) - Best triggers EVER... visit ruthlesspaintaball.com all his stuff is custom and made to order.
CP Drop
Halo B
Pure Energy 68/45 Stubby
Dye Tank Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
I like nightmare on the cheap side and marbalizers on the pricey side.
Strengths: Good Light Wieght/Balance
Very Accurate
Very Quiet
Asthetically Pleasing
Now comes in 2piece
Weaknesses: Pricey
Not as light as carbon fiber
You can't shoot it clean
Review: I have been in the paintball industry over 12+ years and I have used Dye barrel since there introduction in the early 90s when they had straight staineles and aluminum barrels before sizes. I have been in and out of the sport since that time, everytime I come back there is new manufacturers and products for barrels. I have used them on mags, cockers, tipmanns, dp g3s, angels, vikings.. etc...

Specifically the Ultralite I think is there best offering, I see little room for improvment. The Ultralite was a evolution or low-end offering orignally compared to the boomstick which had the stainless back. At this time even though they were not removable and changable bore sizes were only available from Smart Parts at the time. You could buy a specific bore size, which was new. So the ultralite I own looks identical to the modern day, but is not detachable to take other bore backs. Nonetheless it is the most accurate and quiet barrel I have ever used. I would love to see Dye have a carbon fiber offering. but with the same dimensions as the ultralite and look, I think it would look feel and work awesome, of course with a squegee freindly glossy interior. I feel the extra dimensions would give it some real stength and some wieght for balance, but not as much as metal or as lite as other carbon offerings, just stength and the proven desing/look in a charcoal/black/dark grey carbon would be awesome.

My wishes aside the Ultralite is the most accurate and quietest barrel I shot. I shoot a 14" with .688 fixed bore. It is always the quietest marker on the field. I have used most high end barrels, I have yet to try the stiffi or dragon carbon barrels, I really want to try them, but my ultralite works fine, I feel I am taking a chace with a carbon.
Conclusion: If you want a metal barrel go with this, it can't be beat. Its light, strong, visually pleasing, quiet accurate, give the marker balance, what more do you want?

Only think is I think there 2 piece design offers very expensive backs. I wish Dye made a kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media