paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel

Dye Ultralite Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite Barrel
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 163
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A much lighter version of the boomstick. Still the same 2 piece design, but all aluminum.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
redline94 Saturday, November 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: proto pmr/halo b/shock tech feed neck/dye ul/pure energy carbon fiber tank
Strengths: Really really actuate its crazy
Weaknesses: Nothing but its a bit to much money
Review: I have had this barrel for a while now i have to say its the best barrel ive ever used but i dropped off of the table and it bent it still shoots ok its a little bit off but its ok if you get this barrel never drop it
Conclusion: Just buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Wednesday, July 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick - heavy, .688
Dye Stainless - heavy, .689
ANS Stainless - heavy, .688
JJ Ceramic - light, ~ .692
Marker Setup: AGD Automag
X-Valve
ULT
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ultralite is a .692 bore size, so use medium to large sized paint like Premium.
Strengths: Very light weight aluminum body
Weaknesses: Larger bore not well suited to high-quality paint, which is often small.
Review: Ultralite's best quality is the weight it takes off the front of your gun, especially if you're used to playing with stainless steel. It's also quite cosmetically appealing. But it's not going to give you a decisive advantage in performance.

In spite of the reviews you read on this site, this barrel will not magically make your gun more accurate. No barrel can simply increase the accuracy of your gun on its own. Nor is the gun, itself, really a significant factor in accuracy. You want accuracy? Two things... 1.) Become familiar with your gun and learn to shoot it well. PRACTICE!! This can't be stressed enough. And 2.) use high quality paint and a barrel with a matcing bore size. Accurate paintballs are, heavier, rounder, and have a thicker, more consistent fill with smaller air pockets inside them. Heavier paintballs will also fly a bit farther because they have more kinetic energy. Maintaining more velocity over distance due to more mass in an equal or lesser volume = longer effective range.

This is not hype or BS ranting that every other kid on this site adheres to. This is simple physics, and my claims here can be backed up by actual results of credible scientific experiments performed by competent, unbiased individuals. Below is a link to a particularly well done experiment which will answer a broad range of questions regarding performances of paintball products. Separate your fact from myth and check it out. You might learn something.

http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=2218018
Conclusion: Wish it came in .688, but it is quite nice... especially for the $35 used I paid online for it. My Boomstick will remain my work horse, however, as it's more often a closer fit to superior paint than the Ultralite.

As for you, find good paint that is commonly available in your area, and then buy a barrel that fits it well. Here's another link to where you can gather more information regarding sizes of barrel and paint brands;

http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=916326
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2008 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dylan123 Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick
Marker Setup: spyder fenix acs
evolution II
dye ultralite barrel (black)
20oz Co2
&
on my DM5
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: It is super light!! It looks freakin awesome!! Accurate as hell!!
2 peice
Weaknesses: Dents & scratches easy
(if you abuse it)
Review: Ya i put this on my spyder fenix it rocks!! Never breaks paint, super accurat, looks awesome, super light, but it will dent if your not careful with it. It works with any level gun or user. Same on my DM5. And compared to my stock barrel (on my spyder) it is sooooo much better.
Conclusion: I love this barrel it is sick!! Serious just get it online its a lot cheaper ($80). You will not regret it if you get this barrel i promise.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suntzu_baller Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak (close)
All American (good)
Whisper (sucks)
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Imp w/ 16in ultralite, extreme rage feedneck, empire rail & on/off
Recommended
Paintballs:
I usually use field Blaze and it works fine.
Strengths: Accuracy (heck yes!!!)
Almost self-cleaning
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this barrel cause a guy owed me some money. Put it on my imp and I was blown away. My A.I. came stock with a full freak and even with diff. inserts, most paint shoots better out the ultralite. MY friend who bought the whole freak kit was ticked when he saw me stacking one after another at 35yds and he couldn't.

Also, it almost cleans itself. I've only had paint bust in it a handful of times and after a few shots it starts shooting straight again, sweet!

MIne is kinda long, that's the only reason I play with my freak sometimes. Overall it's a great barrel.
Conclusion: If I had the money go ahead and get it. I guess it's more expensive than some but it's worth it. I'll give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

N0wayBAK Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel...lol....
14" teardrop
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP vertical autococker...all shocktech upgrades
14" dye ultra lite
68/3000 All america nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
I dunno...depends what barrel size you have...i have a .688 and i use dusk....
Strengths: Pretty quiet, its sooo accurate, very sexy...Matches my gun perfectly....LIGHT
Weaknesses: Umm, its sooo unbelieveably sexy that you wish it was a woman...But its not
Review: Very good...I bought a spyder threaded one for my icon...But then i bought an blue autococker...So i just bought a blue back off of ebay for only $35.....Cause its sooooo good...Lol...Its hard to explain how good it is...its very light!!! You wont need a squeegie for this because it only breaks balls once in a blue moon....But if it does break one, then it shoots right through it like nothing happend...
Conclusion: BUY BUY BUY *with asian accent* BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Terminate Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, CP one piece, Lucky, St!ff!... I've shot a few diff barrels.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail with Dye UL barrel, shocktech rail with shocktech on/off asa. Halo b with rip drive and v35 chip.

Tippmann a-5, e-grip, dye titanium boomstick, JCS double trigger, Ricochet r-5 hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've been doing fine with xball bronze will try silver next time the field has them
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Two piece is always better.
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot through breaks that great.
Review: I bought the UL barrel for my PMR while trying to go for the lightest set up I could and I'm entirely glad I did.

I bought a .692 back because as a mid level player I'm still not super concerned about paint match. It will help accuracy to have paint match but most of the time I'd rather have the barrel a little big seems to make shooting through a break easier.

I bought this barrel and immediatly had to rip some paint so I went behind my house with a full hopper and drained it at maybe 30 feet into a very tight 6 inch spread. This was in optimal conditions no wind just chrono'd at 282 +/- 3... i set the gun in a sort of holder and just started tappin the trigger. I thought my boom stick was impressive but this is the same if not better accuracy for less than half the weight.

Now since I have two different fronts i love having the UL being two piece since I can switch between my 10inch and 14inch (10 inch is nicer in the rain less porting to tape up etc...) I love this barrel and completely aprove of it as one of the best barrel I've ever shot. (I also really like the stiffi i shot)
Conclusion: I'm very pleased with this barrel it fullfils every aspect I feel a barrel should and it does it while looking great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid235 Friday, February 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Smart Parts Teardrop
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact S.E., 12 volt revy, Dead on Paintball bullet drop forward, Dye Ultralite barrel, 68/4500 N2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium, Marbalizers, amd Evil
Strengths: -Extremely accurate
-Extremely Light
-Looks Awsome
-Not too pricy (usually around $70-$90)
-Made by Dye :-) So you know its gotta be awsome
Weaknesses: not much at all. This is a great barrel for anybody.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel. A must have for any intermediate-experienced player. A really good improvement for any gun. BUY IT!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

harobiker123 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
j&j ceramic (nothing compared to the ultra lite)
Terminator ( ^ same)
Marker Setup: '04 Bko
ultralite
smart parts on/off
eggy2 with z board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Polar Ice
Strengths: Accurate
Good looking
fits perfectly to most paint
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this barrel for christmas, i've used it only once, i shot a hopper through my gun and it chopped 3 times, but there was no paint in the barrel, i only have a 12" but it is more accurate than my friends 16" terminator. The two peice makes it alot easier to clean.
Conclusion: A little pricey but it is a price you have to pay for greatness. I love this barrel, dont even think about getting it just go and get it. I give it a ten because its the best barrel ive ever used
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jamin Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth barrel.
Marker Setup: T98c (black), Dye Ultralite 14", Tipp. x-chamber, RT trigger, Revy. 12v, Lapco DF with stock, 20oz CO2 with on/off.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost anything works with this barrel!
Strengths: Very accurate,
quiet,
looks great,
2 part barrel,
very lite!
Weaknesses: NOTHING!
Review: This is a great product! its just as good as good as the Boomstick but its sooo much liter. I have tried out my friends Boomstick and it was no better than my ultralite and now HE has an ultralite :) I have heard that it is more likely to dent but so far so good!
Conclusion: In conclusion, I feel this is one of the best barrels out on the market. BUY THIS BECAUSE IT ROCKS!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 7th, 2003 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mikethehuter Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98c barrel, other stock products.
Marker Setup: 98c with 14" Dye Ultralight, phsyco balistics double trigger, Ricochet 2k hopper.
( Nitro soon)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer
Strengths: SUPER LIGHT! but not cheap either. You can tell you are holding quality in your hands when you pick this barrel up. 2 piece design is great, you can buy different front lengths if you really need them. Accurate, quiet, and looks intimidating. Never breaks. Good porting and finish. Only $80 ( or cheaper)
Weaknesses: Very hard to think of any, another quality product from Dye. I guess you could say it will make you more critical of any other barrel.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel, worth every dollar you spend. Perfect for front players or anyone who doesn't like to carry a lot of weight around needlessly. I've heard it is pretty much the same thing as a boomstick. Why pay $30 more and get a heavier, shiny version of the Ultralight? Giving it a ten because you can't go any higher.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media