paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
corndog007 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months151 of 156 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Spyder Piot, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany(Red), Freak Barrel(not the standard one that comes with it), Trinity Clamping Feed Neck, Dye Mini Drop, Dye ASA, Halo B, Pure Energy 48ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly New Feed Neck
Strengths: Low Operating Pressure, 17+bps, Compatible with Ion, Great ASA, Looks, Great Stock Barrel
Weaknesses: Not really any unless you feel you need a clamping feed neck
Review: Flys like a Butterfly but Stings like a Bee

Hello, once again. Today I will be reviewing the Smart Parts Epiphany Electro Pneumatic Paintball Marker. What does Electro Pneumatic mean? Well pneumatic literally means powered by air and electro means, well electric. Let's piece it together in "plain" English. The Smart Parts Epiphany, which is powered by electricity and uses air to fire the paintball, Paintball Gun. My review will be broken down into 5 sections hitting all of the main points about the product and I will also include some hints about how to keep your gun performing and will answer any questions you may have if you leave a comment on my review asking me a question about the marker.
The Main Sections
1. A Short Story
2. Construction
3. Performance
4. Pros and Cons
5. Overall

A Short Story

A long time ago in a state far far away a paintball player who goes by the alias of corndog007 went paintballing. That was a couple of months ago somewhere in California, oh lets say SC Village. I had recently purchased my Epiphany to replace my broken Ion the day before. When me and my fried Troy(his name is protected for legal purposes) locked and loaded our markers at the field and I walked to the shooting range exclaiming wait till you see my new gun in action but for now I am going to test it at the shooting range because I had yet to fire it. I stood there in awe ready to fire thinking this is going to be the greatest moment of my life. I pulled the trigger and I heard the familiar click of the trigger being pulled without any air in the gun. I almost cried thinking I had just bought a $400 gun and it didn't work and the week before my beloved ion broke. I thought to myself stay calm its all right many of the greatest weapons in modern history had faulty tests. The first Stinger missile fired was a dud and the M-16 jammed very easily during its test firing. I examined my marker and turned it in no-vision mode and pulled the trigger. It worked. A huge weight had just fallen off my back. That narrowed the problem to the eyes. I went back to the pits and disassembled the marker which I was very familiar with(the same as an Ion disassembly) and found that the eyes were not aligned. I corrected the problem and walked back to the firing range and turned the vision mode on. I pulled the very comfortable trigger and it fired. I fired a few more balls to make sure I wasn't dreaming. The day was a blast and my Epiphany had no more problems.

Construction

The Epiphany is basically an Ion on steroids, a lot of steroids. The marker features an improved solenoid capable of handling a slightly higher amount of psi(250psi is normal and 280psi is the max your marker should have), a better stock barrel(Freak Jr. with the worst insert(.693) so you might need an insert kit). Don't let the name fool you a Freak Jr. is the same barrel as a Freak with not as much customization. All Freak parts are compatible with the Freak Jr. Also the Epiphany is running an aluminum frame, which is much more durable and rugged than the Ion's pot metal frame. This feature is why the epiphany gained my interest since I recently stripped the gauge out of my Ion. The Epiphany also looks awesome. I purchased the Red Epiphany. Although in many of the pictures the Red Epiphany looks pink, in person the Red Epiphany is pure Red. It looks much like a bright red Corvette. The feed neck is also improved on the Epiphany. It can now hold a Halo. I still bought a clamping feed neck though because it just didn't look safe with only two o-rings. Another great feature of the Epiphany is the trigger. It has no sway like the Ion trigger and is literally perfect. The trigger fits everyone. It is flat like an Angel trigger and at the same time has a sense of the trigger grooves like the one on the Ion. The Epiphany also looks great and is compatible with all of the Ion parts. The virtue board, the body kits(but who would do that), the regulators, the feed necks etc.

Performance

The Epiphany comes ready to rock out of the box with 17+bps, which can actually be achieved with the trigger that comes stock, unlike the Spyder Pilot, which is stock with 20+bps "RIGHT", like you can actually achieve that with the Pilot. You would be lucky to hit 5 bps with the Pilot on semi. The trigger pull on the Epiphany is actually lighter than a feather. No Really. Once this thing gets going its impossible to stop. It's like touching nothing and anyone can walk the marker right out of the box. The barrel is actually the best barrel I have seen come on a $400 marker. It rivals that of the Dye Ultralite that comes stock with the DM7. This marker is accurate, fast, tough, reliable, lightweight, and can be upgraded like no tomorrow. (This has nothing to do with the performance and I didn't know were to put it but it deserves to be mentioned). The Epiphany comes with a killer box. At least mine did. I got the White Box Dealer Pre Release. It came complete with thorough directions on how to maintain your marker, egg carton padding, 2 inserts to get the perfect air velocity in your gun for indoor or outdoor play, and a parts package(contains extra o-rings, Allen wrenches, a wrench to adjust your markers velocity, and a spare hose for your banjo fittings).

Pros and Cons

Pros
o Looks Awesome
o Ready to Fire at 17+bps out of the box
o Great Price($400) for something that performs so good
o Compatible with the Ion
o Best Trigger on a stock marker
o Very Customizable
o Comes with better Box than Ion(SEE: In Performance section)
o Feedneck actually fits hoppers(still may want to replace)
o Easy to maintain and clean(please clean your gun ever time after you go, If you take care of it off the field it will take care of you on the field)
o Lightweight, Compact
o Two Break Beam Eyes often referred to as Vision that prevents chopping paint
o Great Stock Barrel(Freak Jr.)
o Fires a lot of paint real fast, real accurate
o Low Pressure Marker
o Did I mention it looks Awesome

Cons

o May want to purchase new feedneck
o WARNING: May cause extreme shock and awe
o Fires a lot of paint real fast
o Need High Performance Hopper

Overall

Overall, this marker, The Smart Parts Epiphany, performs the duty of a high end electronic paintball marker for a reasonable price. It delivers extreme firepower with pinpoint accuracy(for a paintball gun) and uses very little air. The reason most people say this is an air eater is because it fires so fast and you don't even realize how fast you are shooting. The marker looks great and fires great with the lightest, shortest trigger pull in the world.

If you have any more questions about this marker that I have not answered then please send me a comment on this review and I will gladly answer it to help you make your decision on buying the Epiphany.

corndog007

P.S. Its as real as it gets.
Conclusion: Looks great, Fires Great, Is Great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

burnballl Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested43 of 57 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Upped ions
Shocker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany and q lock

Secondary Marker: Spyder Fenix Acs with dye grips, scenario dreams t board, and14 inch Stiffi


Other Gear: Egg, Dye i3s, jt pants, jersey, empire gloves, 68 ci dxs
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck other than that its fine or mb a new reg but its pretty much ok
Strengths: Looks
very good stock parts
button actually depresses
similar to ion
Weaknesses: Similar to ion
feedneck is horrible but looks good
body is a little heavy
Review: I got this thing yesterday and aired up put about a case through it and let me tell you this thing is very nice its not the lightest gun out there but it still is very very nice its pretty easy to take apart and the trigger is just beautiful very adjustable and moves back and forth only not side to side it comes with three fire chamber inserts and they all work well ( i reccomend green or blue ) this thing also looks like the baby of a shocker and an ion lol but... its all metal well... some rubber but not a big deal unfortunately people dont like ions mio ions arent bad guns theyre just no shocker or ego but the epiphany fixes all the problems of the field proven base of the ion
Conclusion: Got this thing and it works wonderfully definitely a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 23rd, 2006 at 10:40 am PST
I found this review  
60 Comments - Add Comment

customs21 Monday, November 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested30 of 69 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
shocker (better)
Marker Setup: esprit
7* forwarsd lpr
bob long expansion chamber
feed neck
14" 2 piece barrel
boo-yah drop forward
on/off
68ci 3000psi N2 tank
evil venturi bolt
halo tsa led hopper

tippmann A-5
16" J&J ceramic
68/3000 crossfire tank

Shocker NXT
Halo B w/ Rip
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
dont know, just got to dry fire it
Strengths: Pretty light
Looks
Smooth trigger
Weaknesses: Pretty much an upped ion
Review: Okay, i went to world cup and had to stop by the smart parts tent to get my shocker looked at. while they were working on my marker, i looked at the ones they had up. while i was looking at them, a guy from smart parts came over and asked if i wanted to test their newest marker. i said sure, and he gave me a stock epiphany with a tank on it. he said i could go crazy and just rip it. so i did. i have to say, i was imressed. of first look, you think its gonna be pretty much like an ion, but its not. its lighter, smoother trigger pull, and a lot better looking. it pretty much looks like a nerve, ion and DM put together.
Conclusion: For the $425 price tag on it, id would buy one for a backup just in case. i suggest it to anyone. whether youre new, or upgrading, or buying a backup. i give this marker an eight out of ten cause i didnt get to see how accurate it was, and nothing deserves a ten.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 4:15 pm PST
I found this review  
47 Comments - Add Comment

Trigger Quick Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Promaster, Fusion, Rex, New Spyders
Marker Setup: 05 WDP Angel Speed w/ check it bottom line
Empire B w/ rip drive
WDP LP Aingel A.I.R. 68/4500

2007 Smart Parts Russian Legion
New Max Flo w/ Fiber Tank 70/4500
Halo B Virtued

New Dangerous Power Fusion
Custom Anno
Halo B
P.M.I. 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck, anything you desire
Strengths: All metal Ion basically. Fast. You get lots from this marker for only $400
Weaknesses: Hopper feels like its just gonna fall off so new feedneck is a good idea.
Review: This is your new Ion. There about the same just the Epiphany is all metal. I stripped both guns down and found they are very similar. I Hope Smart Parts makes up grade parts for this gun just as they did the Ion. This gun is consistent and fast with a nice smooth trigger. Its feedneck is the only problem i found and it kinda makes your hopper feel wobbly.
Its all good though and a great marker for only $400.
Conclusion: Great for the intermediate player or back up. I wouldnt take into a hard core turney but its all good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

PestyPoet Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel '05 Speed (tested) -- of course an Angel's amazing
Ion (tested) -- close, but not close

Tippmann A-5 E-grip -- Epiphany > A-5 (electrical or mechanical)
Marker Setup: White Epiphany (and wow, it's white!)
Egg III
68/4500

Tippmann A-5 E-grip
Expansion Chamber
Flatline
14" J&J Ceramic
Double Trigger
Ricochet R-5 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a new feedneck
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Compact
Lightweight
Sturdy
Freak Jr.
Very easy operation
Easy to walk the trigger
Weaknesses: Possibly the feedneck (see review)
Eyes, kinda (see review)
Review: I may be judging my Epiphany a little harshly because I'm used to my indestructible Tippmann A-5. However, when I play with my Epiphany, I am sad that I spent so much money on my A-5.

I took my Epiphany out for its premier trial at my local paintball field and was amazed at the performance. It wasn't perfect out of the box, but after 10 minutes of fiddling/tweaking, it was perfect for the day.

Two things concerned me at first:
(1) When I aired up my marker, there was a slight hiss/leak from the regulator. After 10 seconds, the hissing stopped and never came back. Even after re-pressurizing the marker at later dates for more playing.
(2) At the local field the workers chrono, and because my marker shot too high out of the box, it chopped the first or second ball while they chrono'd--which sprayed on the eyes. Of course, this could happen to any marker with eyes. I turned the eyes off and played one game, and the eyes worked fine for the rest of the day. Later, I disassembled the marker to thoroughly clean the eyes just in case there was paint left, and the entire process took me only 10 minutes.

The marker is the most accurate marker I have ever shot, and I have a hard time believing that anyone could be picky enough to not find it accurate enough. Concerning the "gas-hog" rumor, I shot a case of 2000 with _less than_ two tank-fulls (68/4500). Also, the Epiphany comes with inserts for the firing chamber to allow the marker to reach the optimum efficiency in any situation. As for the feedneck, my Egg III fit perfectly and never moved/fell out. I had absolutely _no_ problems; however, the feedneck only uses two O-rings to grip the hopper and eventually, an O-ring will break. I don't know if getting a different feedneck is better, but if you have the money, it might be worth it.

There were two things that greatly impressed me about this marker:
(1) I have never shot any marker as fast as I shot my Epiphany. Ever. For what it's worth, my local pb field is reffed by tournament players, and all of them either complimented how easy walking the trigger is (especially after setting the trigger exactly the way you want it using the trigger's three-point setup), how fast the marker ripped, how light it was, or how sweet it looked.
(2) The first time I played with it was after a huge rainstorm, and so it was mud/flood paintball. I was extremely nervous about playing with my new marker, but thought that after owning an A-5, the Epiphany better hold its own. Even though I and the Epiphany were soaked and covered in mud, the marker never had a problem.

As for my performance through the day, either I played the best paintball I've ever played or the Epiphany helped my game quite a bit.
Conclusion: I recommend the Epiphany to anyone that wants a high-end electronic marker for less than $500. I especially love it because it comes stock with everything you need, and upgrading is more about personal style than marker performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

luisfonsib Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned them all they where not just tested.
1.PM5
2.Fusion
3.Infamous
4.05Ego Red an Blue
5.Ion
6.Impulse
7.Shocker Red
8.Karnivor
9.Angel G7
10.PMR
11.05 Ego Blue and Red
12.Angel 1
13.Shocker Blue
14.mini
15.Spyder Xtra
16.Spyder Sport
Marker Setup: White Epiphany
45/45 or 68/45
Halo B or Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
1.QEV
2.Virtue Board
3.Virtue lazer Eyes if you want to see the eyes working
Strengths: 1.Accuracy
2.Trigger
3.looks
4.On/Off
5.Body
6.Freak
Weaknesses: 1.Feedneck
2.little heavy
3.maintenance
Review: The GOOD
I bought this gun yesterday and i went today to play and i tested this thing and its really nice. The first thing that i noticed is that the trigger is great it is very adjustable and it doesn't have side to side movement, then the feel of the gun is very comfortable, since the new grip frame has been redesigned.The new body is just amazing its beautiful i love how they made it. Then the reg body is made out of metal and it doesnt move to the sides(unlike the old ion reg ) when you hold it. The new ion power button is much better than the one before, now you can actually feel when the button is pressed. One of the best things is that it comes with a firebolt which reduces kick by a lot, and it also comes with an on/off, and a Freak.I got a freak with a white barrel back which looks very darn sexy: Also one of the new improvements to the gun is that now you can change inserts in the chamber of the gun very usefull with some upgrades like QEV's and some other bolts.NOw the board has instant on (Push the button and you got instant on)

The BAD
The maintenance is still the same nightmare that it was before . Having to unscrew the whole frame+ taking out the board+ dissasemble the banjo fittings + QEV's + opening the breach to have acces to the bolt really sux. I wish that they had made something to acces the bolt more easier.
Stock Board is decent but reaching the desired BPS requieres the manual so that you can adjust the Dwell and ROF.
Conclusion: People often say that its very heavy, but they also said that the original ion was made of plastic. Don't hear what everyone else says buy the gun that you like Ive owned about every gun out there and i love my epiphany.Having a smart parts gun i know that i will never have a problem getting parts for it if it breaks down because their parts are very common and easy to get.overall i think this is a great gun it has all the speed and board features that you need to start playing tournaments.Its also very darn sexy and good looking buy this or a PMR they are very good too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8NTBAWLER Friday, December 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion - extremely worse

Piranha EVO - worse
Marker Setup: *Smart Parts Epiphany - stock
*HaloB
*Pure Energy 68ci. 3000p.s.i
*Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, if anything, it would be a new feedneck
Strengths: *Speed
*Weight (light)
*Appearance
*Trigger
*Sound (quiet)
*Accuracy
*Overall Feel
Weaknesses: *Feedneck
*Regulater seems a little big, but not extremely bad
Review: I just got it today, and I did a few tests with it. It was extremely quiet when it was dry firing, sounded like any high-end marker. Another thing I noticed, was that the trigger was extremely smooth and felt comfortable. I did a couple of test shots and it was pretty accurate. The stock barrel was pretty nice for being stock. I hit a 7 inch round target from about 25 feet away 9 times out of 10 and it was rainy outside. It is also a little louder when you shoot a paintball, then when you are dry firing. Over all it was a really nice marker and I would highly recommend it.
Conclusion: Like I said earlier, I would highly recommend this marker. It isn't the best, but it is certainly worth it for $400.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 22nd, 2006 at 3:21 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bigluch1 Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Impulse, Shocker, etc.
Marker Setup: Empire B reloader
Pure energy 88/45
Kapp drop forward
Epiphany (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Freak inserts
New feedneck (depending on hopper, egg)
Fast hopper
Strengths: Price
Accurate
Light
Quiet
Fast
Weaknesses: Feedneck (depending on hopper)
Comes with .693 insert
Review: First looks at the gun were great. It is a very nice looking gun, light, balanced, and has a good feel.

I tried the epiphany for the first time stock, without adjusting any settings to see how it would operate from the factory. It shot about 300 FPS at 260PSI with stock firebolt and green volume insert. The trigger pull was a bit long from the factory and the .693 freak insert was a bit large for the DXXS triumph i was using that day. But with everything in consideration. The gun fired true and I had no shootdown issues (because the factory dwell setting is incredibly conservative).

After the day was over I realized there was some work to be done to get the gun firing to its potential. I will share my research with you because it took me a bit of time to learn about how the epiphany works. Rather then you having to do the same I will provide the next 4 bullet points about operational information on how to get the epiphany to actualize its potential. There are 4 key parts that need to be adjusted to get the best out of the gun, 1.) ROF delay, 2.) Dwell, 3.) Volume inserts, 4.) Trigger pull.

1.) ROF delay set from the factory is set at about 50 clicks, if you follow the chart from the manual, it shows that your rate of fire is restricted to about 12 bps or less(5 less then maximum capability of 17bps). So if you plan on relying on your vision eye to determine the next shot, then you should set your ROF delay to 0 immediately. (manual will explain how in detail or you can find on youtube).

2.) The dwell is also crucial, you should follow the manual to tune the epi properly to have the best efficiency while maintaining the same rate of fire without shootdown. Basically you will lower the dwell until the gun won't fire. Continually increase the dwell one click until the gun fires one full shot. Then increase the dwell by 15-20 clicks (aim towards 20 if you want to avoid any shootdown but at the expense of a bit less air efficiency).

3.) Volume inserts: Basically the air chamber volume determines at what operating pressure your epi will need to be to propell a ball at a given velocity. A larger insert will require a higher psi operating pressure to acheive a specific velocity and vis versa. Lower operating pressure if better on paint but worse on efficiency. It is also said that less volume chamber can maintain more consistent velocity at higher rates of fire.

No insert it will give you the lowest operating pressure, less efficiency.
Green insert (2nd smallest): will give a lower operating pressure, with less efficiency.
Blue insert (2nd largest): will give you a higher operating pressure with greater air efficiency. Both green and blue will sustain high rates of fire well.
Silver insert (largest insert): will give the highest operating pressure with greatest efficiency. This insert is used when you need to fire at 250 fps consistently (example: indoor play).

My optimal preference. I have the stock firebolt with green insert (one is comes with from factory). After I greased the gun and tuned it with dwell and rof. I can achieve about 280bps +-5 at about 220-225 psi operating pressure. The gun shot the best at that setting for me and the most accurate. I did not experience any shootdown even after I walked the trigger. Nor did I break one ball out of a case of Fluid Hydro paintballs (awesome deal for the money!)

4.) Trigger is fully adjustable to your liking, whether you want a full swing or a mouse click. Follow the manual to acheive your desired pull. It is a must.

- After I had the gun tuned how I wanted, it shot fantastic. For the money it is unbeatable (I paid 199.95 new for mine). No problems what-so-ever (knock on wood). It comes with everything you need right out of the box (minus some better freak inserts).
Conclusion: Overall the gun is a unbeatable bargain for what you pay for them now. It can compete with any high end marker and do plenty of damage in the right hands. The gun shoots fast, shoots accurate, is light, is highly adjustable, looks great, is quiet. I recommend getting this gun if you are looking a great gun at a great price, it will handle well in any scenario.

I rate it a 10 because I can't give it a 9.5. It is a 10 because of its relative performance compared to its price. Not saying it is better then a shocker, ego, angel, dm8, etc. For what it costs, its worth a 10.

I hope this was helpful, please comment with any questions.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gpruner Monday, January 22nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
upped ion
poorly tuned Matrix
Marker Setup: 68/4500 nitro duck
DRXS pulse
692 bore Dye UL Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: Fast
Easy to work on and clean
Some what light
Weaknesses: Bad silionoid
not very accurate

Review: Ok all this is a really upgraded Ion nothing else. the marker itsis based on the silonoid it is VERY hard and expensive to fix when broken its a the company made there own silionoid . Other then that it is not a bad marker . And to top that off the rubber rips off
Conclusion: Way over priced
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
30 Comments - Add Comment

Meicken84 Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, Proto Rail,
Marker Setup: Proto Rail 07, Empire B Loader, 71-3000 PMI HPA. Dye 2 piece UL Barrel. and lots of paint.
Recommended
Upgrades:
More inserts, use HPA, Locking Feed neck.
Strengths: Cool Looks, Closed Bolt, Low Maintenance. Semi-consisant
Weaknesses: Heavy, Lobbs the balls @ 285 fps. On/Off ASA is pointless.
Review: I Tested the SP Epiphany and the Proto Matrix Rail 07 before i decided to buy.

I began with th Proto rail.. same price, very light. great stock.. no need for on/off asa. closed bolt shoots straight and is a consistent shot. I like the grip on it. Its easier to clear out balls and remove your tank with the proto handle. The Epiphany handle only has a difficult to use on/off button.

Next the SP Epiphany.

Heavy, Very noticeable. the balls seemed to drop and lob a bit more. More so like my tippman. Although the ROF is very similar to that of the proto.

The SP had a sweet looking body but i felt that you should sacrifice the looks and grab an ion and make a few upgrades. plus.. whats to say.. Its black today..tomorrow you can make it white.. its that easy. customizable
Conclusion: 425$ from the manufacturer isn't bad. I just feel that the buyers money would be better off spent with the SP Ion and make a few small upgrades. if you wanna spend the money for a 400$ gun.. the only guns in that range that i can think of are the proto rail, epiphany and omen... i say Proto.. Sorry SP Fans.

Ultimately - Find a Shop to shoot the markers for yourself. Putting the gun in your hand can change your mind. and being able to shoot it furthermore will change your mind. Personal feel and performance are the mainstay of any purchase. I was told by my new shop.. "Do you buy a car before Test-Driving it?" this is an investment that should take a lot of consideration unless your starting out with woods ball which you should just but a tippman ...lol... but. good luck all...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 25th, 2007 at 11:17 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media