paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
HC-paintballer Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
ion, dm9, dark angel
Marker Setup: esprit
7* forwarsd lpr
bob long expansion chamber
feed neck
14" 2 piece barrel
boo-yah drop forward
on/off
68ci 3000psi N2 tank
evil venturi bolt
halo tsa led hopper

tippmann A-5
16" J&J ceramic
68/3000 crossfire tank

Shocker NXT
Halo B w/ Rip
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck and on/ off asa
Strengths: Fast, accurate, does not chop paint, looks good.
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: Very good gun but as i said before needs a clamp feed neck and on/off asa eats threads. also don't order it from hustle paintball because a few parts came broken or damaged and they refused to send me a back order until i sent them the broken part back.
Conclusion: Very good gun and i highly recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gary12445 Saturday, August 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder 1994 (obviously not as good)
JT Protium (not as good, but decent)
Marker Setup: Epiphany Platinum Black
Velocity Jr.
DXS 68 4500 Tank
Full Freak insert Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy the freak inserts .691, and .689 (I use this one most)
Strengths: Rarely chops
Speed
Super Accurate
Looks
Good on gas
Price got mine $215
Weaknesses: No bolt out back makes for lengthy cleaning
A bit heavy but not unreasonable
Review: I love this gun. I am a former rec player of the 90's just getting back in the game and I have to say that this gun destroys people in rec walk on play. It can hold its own with all the higher end guns. I anticipate that once I start playing tourney it will be my lead gun for beginner tourneys, but it will make a great backup marker if I ever advance to higher levels.
I was disappointed that it had a leak right out of the box, but Smart Parts was realy good and had it back to me within 6 days of my ship date, and the repair was free. I have had no problems since. I am tempted to give it a 9 because of the leak, but all guns spring leaks here and there and for $215 this is an awsome value!!!

FYI, the config is:
Blue Volume Insert
12 click ROFDelay
30 Click Dwell
Conclusion: I say go for it if you can grab one for $250 or under. The EOS is overpriced right now (Bolt out back is not worth $180, especially since you usually need to clean your eyes after a chop anyway) The PMR seems like it needs a few upgrades to really make waves and mini owners don't seem to like their guns from what I've seem. I like mine!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

englypb4 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
etek2
Marker Setup: Etek2 cobalt/white w/star frame and cure2 bolt
vlocity Jr. w/virtue
DXS 68/4500
SP Epiphany Silver/Blue, virtue board,kila detents,techt L7 bolt,sp 360 qev, freak barrel
vlocity jr. w/ virtue
DXS 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
tech-t L7 bolt
virtue board
kila detents
Strengths: Quiet
Some what light
Fast
Weaknesses: On/off is a bit hard to unscrew sometimes.
Review: I have been using my epiphany for just over year now and i have had no problems at all. The epiphany is a little heavy but if you are gonna just complain about that you shouldn't have bought it, and it will keep up with many guns out there for way less money. its not just another ion either so people can give up. i have had so many positive experiences with this gun and people always say it is nice lookin. usually when im playing at outdoor feilds people can't even hear this thing shooting which is a plus. my gun gets a ton of shots of my 68/4500 and allows me to play a lot more without refilling.
Conclusion: i would definetely buy the epiphany again, and since they are only $250 now you get even a beter deal. So if you want a great gun and not spend over $800 get yourself an epiphany and mow faces.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 23rd, 2008 at 5:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darktrocity Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dynasty ion with black heart board...
ion with redz body kit and virtue board...
spyder electronic mr 1...
Marker Setup: SP Epiphany
360 QEV
Vlocity Select force
68/4500 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Accurate
Great barrel
Incredably fast
Easy to walk trigger
Looks sexy
Weaknesses: Heavy...
New feedneck
Review: When i first recieved this gun i was astonished by the look of it. i got the epiphany as a christmas gift. the color that i got was silver/blue and might i say it does look sexy.
i installed a new feedneck because at the time i had a Halo TSA hopper which had a small neck. it is a heavy gun but if you cant handle that, then you are a weakling...hahahahaha...i also installed a 360 QEV and now my marker shoots faster. i was very surprised to see that the freak jr barrel caused me to have deadly accuracy. in one case of paint i only chopped a few balls. after cleaning my gun i noticed that the balls did not chop in the chamber but in the barrel. i knew right away what the problem was...it was because i was buying cheapy kmart balls because the nearest paintball shop was about 50 miles away and gas prices are unbelivable. So when i got the chance i bought some stingers and found out that there was nothing wrong with my gun. i also noticed after firing the case of stingers that the gun is a very fast gun. the gun guarantees 17+bps my fingers could only walk 15bps. i know because of the chrono meter thingy that my brother purchased. now i have the vlocity select force hopper and it helps in my ripping when playing at local fields. i love this gun and you should go buy one now. its cheap. I am now currently waiting on my deadly wind hollow point bolt and i am really excited. check out my review on the hollow point in a few weeks. one more thing...STICK TO SEMI AUTO...your hands can walk faster than full auto...ye...thank you for your time
Conclusion: Fast gun...easy to walk...accurate...looks sexy...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 8th, 2008 at 9:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HeadRemover Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Bushmaster 2000
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany White
Odyssey Halo B
Empire E Vents
Pure Energy 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
blackheart board
q-lock
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Solid
Smooth Trigger
Air Efficient
Price
Innerchangeable Fire Chamber
High Pressure
Looks
Quiet
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with q-lock
Review: This gun is superb. It is soooo much more than an Ion (no offense Ion owners). The Price is awesome for how well it performs. Competes with thousand dollar markers. With the Blackheart board, you can ramp this beast at 30 bps. The trigger is nothing like I've ever tried, and i love it. The 2 bearings keep it from rocking side to side. It is very smooth. Also, there is hardley any blowback.
Conclusion: Get it if you can offord it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MadAsian Dude Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS (not as good as Epiphany but then again it is a low end electronic marker)
Ion (its rly similar to epiphany but i only use the ion one game)
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS:
-All American Barrel 16'
-VL Revolution Tripod
-CenterFlag 47/3000psi Tank

Smart Parts Epiphany:
-Smart Parts Teardrp Barrel
-Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
-Halo B Loader w Ripdrive
-CenterFlag 47/3000psi Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck (ASAP)
Strengths: Looks great
Accurate
Can take a beating
Weaknesses: feedneck
electronics (I just dont like how u have to adjust it)
Review: After having my Spyder for about a year or so i decide to get a better marker than that one. My friend had got his ion a while ago and it looks/works great. So when the new epiphany came out i was very interested in getting it since its from Smart Parts and the Ion had such a good reputation. So after alot of research i finally decide to get it.

It was everything i thought it would be when i first got it. I only had a little bit of air left but when i fired it it was fairly accurate and i could pull the trigger alot faster than i can on my spyder.

About a month after i get it i finally had the oppotunity to use it at a indoor pb place near my house. It worked great for the entire day and i think i broke like 2 or 3 pb in the barrel. It was very accurate and i can just let it rip.

Then i joined an outdoor scenario to test out my gun further. I bought a Teardrop Barrel to increase the fire power of my gun and i was ready to go. The one concern i had with my gun was that i was afride water might get into the electronics and the gun could be ruined. I dropped it in the snow at least 20 times and nothing happened to it at all. It still fired great and fully functional. The gun itself is also really tough consider i dropped it so many times. The one thing that really upset me was the feedneck. The first time i dropped it i slipped really hard on the ice and the hopper just came flying off the feedneck so i lost half of my pb rit there. No matter how hard i pushed it in the hopper just comes off as soon as i get into some rough play. So i finally found someone who was kind enough to give me some tape so i could tape the thing on the feedneck. After that i had no problem with it at all. I was impressed with the addition of the Teardrop to my gun. Even under windy condition the gun still shoot the pbs fairly accurately. There was a lil bit of curve but that was expected. The one thing i didn't really get to test out was new functions of the Epiphany like the expansion chamber. I didn't have time to change or adjust it and i havn't taken my gun completely apart yet.

But overall i think this is a great gun to get, if u are going to buy it u should definitly get a new feedneck for sure.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who is just starting pb, its a good casual gun as well. I think it works great both indoors and outdoors.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

kamikaze_BEN Thursday, June 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION
SHOCKER NXT
PMR
DM4
Marker Setup: SHOCKER NXT
HALO B W/ RIP DRIVE
14" ALL AMERICAN
68/45 NITRO DUCK TANK
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun
Strengths: Works allmost as well as an ION
Looks
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I baught this gun thinking it was worth the money, I almost had to trick myself into thinking it wasnt just an ION with a body kit. And yes, for all of you Epiphany fans out there, it is (in one way) better than the ION. I set it up right out if the box, put paint and air in it and took it out to my back yard. Turned the air, hopper, gun and eyes on. Pulled the trigger, nothing. I took it to my local paintball field and they said the reg was broken. It was the day of my tournament so I bought a new CP reg hoping it would solve the problem. The good news, it actually shot, the bad news, the balls were traveling about 20ft or rolling out of the barrel. By far one of the most over-hyped, and unreliable guns I have ever used. It looks great, but my friends stock ION with a gravity hopper shoots better. Also, the stainless steel frame makes it feel like a dumbbell in ur hand, and trust me, i dont need the workout.
Conclusion: This is an over-hyped ION with a bodykit, and deserves a place next to the broken IONs. The only thing I liked about this gun, was its looks and the trigger. If you are thinking about buying this gun, I beg you, spend $400 on a PMR and save urself the hassle.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

DethWshBkr Thursday, August 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts ION
Tippmann A-5, loaded.
Marker Setup: SP Epiphany (225 PSI regulator pressure!)
QEV
Drop forward
Crossfire 68/4500 HP tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Better ASA
Freak bore kit
Strengths: Fast - stock.
Easy trigger
Freak Barrel
CHEAP
Weaknesses: HEAVY (body)
ASA (see review)
Maintenance is time consuming
Review: OK. I had an Ion a few years back, and got out of playing, so I sold it.
I've kept my A5, but it isn't a speedball marker at all, so I bought something slightly better than my old Ion, as I was on a budget.
- Enter the Silver/blue epiphany. I'm pleased.

First thing, get the Freak bore kit. She's got the barrel, but the .693 insert is a safe bore to put in from factory. Unless it's the ONLY one you'll need, get the kit!

First time I was out, I had the settings all messed up. I couldn't get it to shoot properly, so I didn't get to use it. Not the markers' fault though! After re-doing all the ROF delay and dwells, it worked like champ. I actually ended up going into a 1 V 1 with my one buddy, with his Dangerous Power F8, after a game! Ref's just suddenly yelled FREE FOR ALL!!
So, we went at it. The Epiphany didn't give up much. Accuracy, excellent. ROF, excellent, everything was very, very nice. ESPECIALLY for a $240 marker!!


I really hate tearing it apart though. It is very involved, just like the regular ION. Thankfully it doesn't need it much.

The trigger is great. Bearing, with a conical allen screw to tighten. I get no wiggle in mine, and it's super smooth - ah yes, magnet too! I like a blade trigger, and this thing has it. I have no trouble walking it at all. I didn not really ever like the stock Ion trigger.

I do NOT like the ASA. While I DO like it's on/off capabilities, it doesn't bleed down. SO, even after shutting the ASA off, and shooting the marker down, I STILL fight to get my tank off. Reason - the ASA still has 800 PSI in it, since the ASA just shuts off the air flow, it does not pull the pin away from the tank pin. You need to unthread the tank to dis-engage the pin. This puts a LOT of pressure on the threads as you're trying to take the tank off, and it's a royal pain! A bleed-off ASA would be perfect.

Shot consistancy is fair. I usually do shoot +/- 8 or so FPS, which while it's not that impressive, gets the job done at the level I am at.

I wish this thing had a clamping feedneck. It just uses 2 o-rings in the neck, which is tall. Be careful if you are going to get another neck, make sure it fits, the Epiphany body is thick, and I certainly could not fit the ultra low rise one I was going to get for it.

I've never had a single chop, so the eyes seem to work flawlessly. Excellent!

Programming is relatively simple, just like the Ion. Capped at 17 bps, it's very sufficient, yet just shy of being "impressive". You will want to get a decent loader, so you can fire as fast as the beast allows, but the eyes will save you if the loader can't keep up.

It seems to be pretty air efficient. I use a 68/4500, and I get quite a few games out of a tank. Now, I don't spray a ton, so that's hard to really say. I run at 225 psi, with the smallest volume chamber, and get 280 fps easy.
Conclusion: I think I would recommend it to someone who wanted a "gizmo gun" that is relatively inexpensive, performs very well, and will give them a good platform to improve with.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-_-Colt_45-_- Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
-Dye hyper 2 regulator
-Dye Sticky Grip
-Smart Parts QEV
-Kila Detent
-48/3k HPA
-Kingman Fasta 18v. LED hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Feedneck(if your hopper is loose)
-Hopper that feeds 17 BPS+
-QEV
-Freak inserts
-Eventually a new board if you want to shoot faster
Strengths: -Awesome price
-Trigger
-Ok speed
-Asa
-Freak jr.
-Feels nice
Weaknesses: -a tiny bit heavy
-people think its just a metal bodied ION
Review: I ordered this with Christmas money about 1 1/2 months ago, and was glad i did. It was only $165 on sale!!! I tested it out a few weeks ago at my paintball field, and it worked great. People saw it and thought "Oh, its just a metal bodied ION". untill i showed them what this gun can do, and it only costs about $30-40 more than the ION. The accuracy on it was good, buy the freak inserts and it will get better. The feedneck fits my Fasta Hopper perfectly, so i dont even need the new feedneck untill i buy a new hopper. Ive also heard people complaining that this gun is to heavy, its actually not that heavy unless your using a steel tank.
Conclusion: This gun is great for any begginer-intermediate players... Get it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 13th, 2008 at 3:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5crazy06 Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts NXT Shocker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany Silver/Black
Empire B
Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Upgrade Board
Strengths: LOOKS (its shiny)
feel
speed
its shiny
asa
barrel
trigger
did i mention its shiny?
Weaknesses: Heavy
stock feedneck
Review: Ive been wanting this marker for a very long time, and now it finally arrived. When I first took it out of the box, I noticed how shiny and beautiful it was. The feel of it was great, with its sleek, silver magnesium body. It came with a set of allen keys, 2 extra fire chamber inserts, a barrel bag, a manual, a Freak Jr w/ 693. insert and some extra o-rings.

The trigger just rocks. Plain and simple. It only goes back and forth, so theres no extra side to side "slop". You can easily go up to 13-15 bps semi with the trigger. The new on/off button is much easier to use than the Ion, where you had to hold it down hard, now its just press and go. I believe the Epiphany also operates at a higher pressure than the Ion.

The barrel is great, especially since it comes stock. The SP Firebolt is also included with the Epiphany, allowing you to achieve higher speeds with upgraded boards. The on/off asa adds to the ease of use, allowing you to turn your air off and make the marker safer when not in use.

Aside from the many pros of the Epiphany are the cons. The Epiphany is a little bit heavier than most high end markers. This really isnt a problem unless you have a steel tank. The feedneck is also a little bit of a problem, since it doesnt clamp and has the tendancy to come unscrewed with larger hoppers (ex. Empire, Halo B.) An easy fix with a new clamping feedneck.
Conclusion: Overall, its a great speedball maker, used by pros such as Team Ultimate and Angel Fragoza of Dynasty. It is much more than a "metal ion" as many have called it. Its a very nice looking marker and will never let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media