paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
episp07 Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini, and Proto Rail are similar
Marker Setup: Red/Black Epiphany, Red Vlocity with XSV chip, PMI 68ci/4500 psi, freak back with insert kit and 18" All American tip, q-lock, Virtue QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV, Q-Lock, insert kit, maybee a drop foward
Strengths: Speed, Regulator, trigger, bolt, barrel
Weaknesses: Scratches easily
Review: When I got the Epiphany I expected an Ion, But there are many differences. the most noticeable is probably the no side to side triger, it is amazing and youl never need to change it.
Barrel: There is really not much to say here, I mean it comes with the freak, its very accurate.
Bolt: Stock fire bolt, very little kick and improves accuracy.
Gas: with the QEV I can get 1500 + from a 68/4500
Regulator: I broke it in and now im geting 5 +/-
the plus stuff it comes with is the grip and the on/off asa.

Iv read many reviews about this gun leaking but I have had no leaks.

Speed: I only have the stock board but the 17 bps on rebound is great, shoots fast but not to fast that you are just wasting paint.
Conclusion: If you like the Ion you'll love this. The invert mini and the Proto rail and the epiphany are equal and the epiphany is the cheapest. You wont be disapointed with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mad Man Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Tippmann A-5, Smart Parts Ion, 2 Smart Parts Shockers. Tippmanns don't compare to the speed of an Epiphany. Stock Ions are not as fast or as accurate as Epiphanys. No ion trigger is smoother than the Epiphanys. Epiphanys don't chop balls like the Shockers and are just as fast as the Shocker. Epiphanys are less as expensive and just as good as Shockers.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany, Q-Lock Feed Neck, 360 QEV, DXS 48ci 4500psi nitro tank, VL Evlution.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a Q-Lock Feed Neck, 360 QEV, Freak Inserts, CP or Dye Regulator, Vertue Board. That's all that is needed.
Strengths: Fast, Light Weight, Awesome Looking, Smooth Trigger, Accurate, quiet, Grip frame fits your hand.
Weaknesses: Regulator isn't very consistant untill you use it for a while.
Review: The Epiphany is similar to the Ion. The Epiphany is all what the Ion should be and should have been. The Epiphany has almost everything that you would want in a high end stock gun, with out the high price tag. Everyone that gets an ion wants to buy a different barrel, get an ASA and drop, smooth trigger, body kit, feed neck, bolt, and put as much electronic crap into the grip frame as they can. Smart Parts saw this and came out with the Epiphany.

Its Got:
-Light Weight Magnesium Alloy Grip frame & Body kit with a durable rubber overlay.
-Smooth ball bearing trigger with a 3 point adjustment, made with the same metal.
-A lower metal Feed neck with 3 O-Rings
-New Epiphany board with single tap on
-New easy on & off button
-Freak Jr. Barrel front & back and one insert
-Metal regulator sleeve
-Smart Parts dove tail ASA
-The grip frame has dove tail ASA mounts for direct ASA mounts to the frame.
-Light Weight Smart Parts Fire Bolt for less recoil
-Firing chamber inserts for adjustable firing pressure

What more can you ask for.
I have found this gun to be very reliable and have had only minor problems with o-rings that were easily replaced.
Conclusion: I think that the Epiphany is great! While I used to be popping balls and squeegeeing with my Shockers, while using my Epiphany I never have to even take a squeegee out on the field with me because I have yet to break a ball. I have never been any more happier with a paintball gun than I have with my Epiphany. Because the Epiphany is so light, small, fast, & accurate, I have found my opponents in the dead box in a short amount of time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bizzy377 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
ION W/Freak Barrel, 45/45 pure energy tank. Halo b Hopper w/Rip Drive.
Marker Setup: Epiphany w/qlock Feed neck, "SAME AS ABOVE"
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed neck!!!! NEW FEED NECK!!! and a virtue board if possible.
Strengths: Very nice looking and steardy. Pretty light not as light as the shocker but good
Weaknesses: Wish it had more modes rather than having the same as an ion.
Review: Once i got the SP Epiphany i was wondering to myself was it a wise choice being that everyone is saying is justa juiced up ion. However once i saw it my eyes got watery...

This gun looks like the future... The trigger is bananas so smooth and the body it self is very very nice. All you need to do is just get a new board (VIRTUE) QEV and you have yourself a marker that can compete with the best. (IN MY OPINION) i will eventually move on to the shocker family but for now ill stick to the epiphany for a few years.

AGAIN sick gun sick looking gun and it shoots like a sick gun!! lol...
Conclusion: This gun is a mid level gun and its a gun that wil hold you down. I recomend it!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

m@stermynd Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD
Angel IR3
Angel Speed
Shocker
ION
Marker Setup: Freak Barrell
Q-Lock Feedneck
Smart Parts Angle Drop Forward
Halo B Smoke Hopper
Air America 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Locking Feedneck
Strengths: 1. Price.
2. Accuracy.
3. Stability.
4. Eyes.
5. Barrel.
6. Trigger.
Weaknesses: 1. None Noted.
Review: This gun looks great. I found the gun to be light compared to my Angel's and very solid feeling. I have the blue version. I hope they come out with an all black version. That's my only complaint. Some of us don't really want a silver metallic gun.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great gun to bridge the gap between entry leverl and tournament grade, this is it. You will hold you own against any gun out there with the EPI. I've played paintball for 20 years and have played with the best. I reiterate, for the price, this is the best paintball gun you can buy today. It's not just an up'd ION. It's a redesign with components from the ION and Shocker and that's right where this gun plays. Between an ION a Shocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

KMcTague Saturday, February 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini; alot lighter, direct air feed
spyder xtra; lower quality
ion; same as epiphany, heavier
Marker Setup: 68 cu 4500 psi tank
stock epiphany
14" barrel
spyder fasta hopper 20-25 pbs
Strengths: Comes with a good board
Light
Air pressure gauge
Weaknesses: Doesnt really have any weaknesses. It's reliable, durable, never chops paintballs, light, fast.
Review: Overall this is a great gun at a great price. i would defiantly recommend this to beginners and pros. it has everything your gonna need in a paintball gun. I used to be on a tournament team in x ball and this gun was perfect. I also play alot of woods ball and depending on how big the course is i sometimes use the epiphany and with a 16" barrel it does just fine in the woods as well.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone, great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

flyguy327 Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm3
a1 fly
Marker Setup: epiphany
70/4500 crossfire
egg evo3
Recommended
Upgrades:
saber trigger
virtue board
drop forward

Strengths: Accuracy, price
Weaknesses: Loud, not super efficient
Review: Accuracy
the gun is super accurate up to about 200 ft. it does not sway side to side unless you have a ball break (uncommon with 40$ paint). it does use a little bit of air, but it is worth the accuracy.
price
you cant beat the 250$ price tag for such an accurate gun. perfect for a person looking to make the step up from a spyder or tippman
loud
the gun is pretty loud, not that i care, its just annoying to listen to something that loud that close to your face.
efficiency
the gun is accurate as hell but i go through a ton of air. around 900 shots off of my 70/4500, maybe 500 off of my 72/3000
barrel
a new barrel wont make too much of a difference, i dont think. the freak it comes with is a pretty good barrel, doesn't need to be upgraded.
trigger
the trigger sticks a lot, i didnt like it until i got the saber trigger. the thing is super easy to walk, and the frame is perfect for it, my fingers aren't squished like they would be with an autococker or something.
board
the stock board only has three or four settings and they are a pain to play with. ramping is only set at 17 bps.
the virtue board is kind of expensive but i think its worth the money. all of the settings you will ever need will be on there and the virtue will fit most guns.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for intense woods ball. if you are looking to go to small tournaments or anything like that this is the gun i would recommend. its light, cheap, fast, accurate and looks sweet. if you are looking to upgrade from a spyder or tippman and you want another reliable gun, this is the one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kamikaze_Pball Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto SLG ( a little faster fort he same price)
Marker Setup: Stock epiphany, Halo Hopper, DXS 68 ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do something to fix the damn front grip.
Stock board could be better.
Strengths: programming, accuracy, speed, barrel is pretty sweet, LOOKS, not too heavy, trigger
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Front grip, Place where nitrogen screws in comes loose like crazy!
Review: So Right off the back the gun is great looking. Right out of te box it is a beautifull marker. I installed the 9 volt battery and went outside to shoot......plain old stock shot great on semi! I adjusted the trigger a bit and I was shooting ropes. The stock board works pretty great but it sucks 9 volts dry very quickly so carry plenty of batteries.

Now I reccomend highly that you read the manual before messing with the programming. I was trying to change firing modes and accidently screwed up the Dwell. When I got to the field that I was playing at it took me an hour before I read the manual and fixed it!

The feedneck is pretty much crap. I have no Idea what they were thinking when they made it, my halo hopper swivels on it. Also when you adjust the velocity of the gun the front grip loosens! It is a horribly anoying flaw but after a while of adjusting it can be fixed.
Conclusion: Good Gun
Good Price
Good board
Stock Barrel is great (may need a new bore depending on what pballs you use)
Grip is pretty annoying to adjust
Bad feedneck

overall very nice!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zacko23 Thursday, March 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (a friend's marker). This is my first Electronic Marker.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
Empire B2 Reloader
Crossfire HPA 68/4500
Freak Jr. Barrel System w/ Bore inserts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
Bore Inserts for Freak Jr.
Strengths: Consistency
Usability
Look
Weaknesses: Stock Feed Neck is inadequate
Cleaning and maintence can be time consuming
Programming requires time
Review: It's a sharp looking gun and the stock grip is nice. the regulartor can be used as a supplemental support (using your left hand if you're a righty like me), The trigger has a nice feel and can be adjusted to your preferences. Adjusting the regulator is easy. The stock feed neck needs to be replace as my Empire B2 Loader would swivel while in the feed neck. The gun shoots rather accurately with the Freak Jr. bore inserts. The gun has little firing drop off with an HPA N2 Tank. In general i would suggest this marker. I feel that for the price it's a great value and i have (so far) felt no need to upgrade anything outside of the feedneck.
Conclusion: Great 'bang for your buck' if you are a recreational player like me. This gun has preformed well for me and i expect it to continue.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FISTFULLOFRODEO Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 ICD BKO-misses on a few marks
2006 Smartparts ION-the same thing, only diffrent (Epiph is better)
2005 Autococker Trilogy pro- (slow) (epiph is better)
2005 Autococker Super Stock select fire-(awesome, but has many problems)
2005 Spyder Pilot ACS- (ok for someone who has never played paintball) (Epiph wins)
2007 PMR - Much better than epiphany once you add upgrades, however it will attack your wallet, and hates pretty much any form of c02
Marker Setup: Platinum Onyx Smartparts Epiphany
Blackheart board
Virtue eyes
Q-loc clamping feedneck
.689 freak insert
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck- (same diffrence as ion's feed neck)
Barrel insert- (comes with .693 bore, most rec balls roll right out)
Drop forward-(if you want)
Strengths: Common ion upgrades come stock.
Extremely solid feel compared to ion.
Price .
Weaknesses: Feedneck hasnt changed much over ion.
Barrel insert is a bit large.
Heavier than ion.
Review: The line up:

So about 5 months ago i sold my paintball gear in order to pay for (cough) college expenses while i was attending school. So finally last month i was shooting my friends BT4 and remembered, hey i have no gear now! oh joy! i get to go shop for new paintball gear.

Reason for buying:

i went right to looking into another ion, because i had owned one about a year ago and loved it. my decision was made rough by the low price tag of proto's new SLG and it came down to me needing about the same amount of cash to set up the cheaper ion as it would to get the SLG set up (barrel, trigger(ion), on/off asa, Feed neck) so i actually ran into the idea of an Epiphany the night i went to order an ion. i mis-clicked on the epiphany and was astounded at the price tag (199.99). ( back in 2006 i had just got my ion when these things were hitting the market), and i wanted one, but it was like ($425 then, and i wasn’t going to pay that much for an upgraded ion!! lol) For that price i could either just get an SLG or have an ion with a new feed neck. No brainer! i bought it that night, and because i also live in BFE i had to order an anti-siphon c02 tank as well (nearest hpa fill is over 50 miles).

The marker:

(looks department)

I was actually stunned at how good it looked when i first opened the box. The marker looks like its bloodline is nowhere near an ion, i mean this thing is classy! at the same time its kind of a love hate, because i like the dark, stealth look of an ion..but it was a good change for me.

(Marker Feel)

Next thing you notice is how this thing is pretty hefty compared to an ion. If you are a featherweight, i can see some complaining, but its something i gladly get over for this marker. The on/off switch is also revised, it is much easier to operate than the on/off sticker found on the ion. Next thing you will like is how solid it feels. that extra weight pays off, because it feels like its 2x as stout as an ion. i mean this thing feels solid.

(The marker)
The feedneck is a disappointment, i though it would be much better than the ion (smoke stack) but its pretty much just shorter and wider. Having a stock JR freak is a major reason i went with this marker, if you are looking to pick up an Epiphany though, get a .689, and .691 insert to go with it. my marker shot pretty crappy with the stock insert, in fact my brothers stock Vibe with its 10" stocker barrel shot a better pattern using the same paint i was using...matching bore/to paint size really counts. With its stock firebolt, this thing shoots really smooth, shot on shot, there is very little feedback from recoil. This marker also preformes very well on Anti-siphon co2, which is important to me, as a long drive for HPA becomes more of a chore when i want to play paintball after work, this ability to adapt is another sell point for me. The electornics board is pretty much the same thing as the ion (unless yours had the Blackheart upgrade) the only real diffrence is the internal hoses are thicker and beefy, this is because the Epiphany has a higher Opperating pressure than the ion. The other major diffrence between the ion and the Epiphany is that the firing can has inserts for volume. this is kind of nice when you want to adjust your marker for shooting Re-balls and for playing indoors.


overall if you are in the same situation as i was in, or trying to get a step up from a blowback marker, at this price for a mid-grade electropnumatic, there are only 2 choices in my head. A PMR if you want to spend moolah on upgrades and make an all out ripper, or there is the Epiphany, if you want your marker to need almost nothing out of the box, and be a solid performer. I wanted to get a solid marker, without spending $100s on upgrades, my choice was obviously the Epiphany.
Conclusion: At $200 brand new, with its list of upgrades, you will be hard pressed to buy a better stock setup than an epiphany. for the price of an ion with a q-lock you can the epiphany. The stock Epiphany internals would set you back $370 for an ion with just the same upgrades, let alone the Jr Freak, and the on/off asa. An upgraded PMR would be better than this marker, im not going to lie, they are awesome, and if you want one/get one, but out of the box, i had a hard time justifying its $50 more price tag...especially when you can get your bore inserts and Q lock for that price..but than again, the choice is up to you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 21st, 2008 at 10:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tacticalterrors Friday, March 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, mini
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Gold Epiphany, Freak Barrel system, Halo B, Virtue Board, 68/3000 dye peanut tank, quick lock feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper, the stock board is fine but i need 20bps+ so i got the virtue board, decent size HP or nitro tank, Quick lock feed neck..
Strengths: Fast
Performance
Accurate
Price
Light Weight
Well Built
PERFORMANCE
Weaknesses: Feedneck (get quick lock)
Review: This gun is straight up awesome, it has speed, quality and is amazingly accurate. Mine is gold and looks amazing, it is super sweeet. This gun easily goes head to head against $1,500.00 guns in all angles of paintball... I love this gun,

I own an 05 speed Angel, along with a shocker SFT, Bob long timmy, and a few other top quality guns The epiphany goes head to head with no problems with these guns, same performance if not better, looks better, less weight, well built, I have the virture board and eyes on mine and it puts about 25 bps+

I love this gun
Conclusion: The Epiphany is great, it is a mid to professional level gun, Sorry beginners this is just to much gun for you.... but its your price so you should probably buy it...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media