paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
spguy4458 Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini

Marker Setup:
Sp epiphany, evo 3 egg, same tank,virtue board, virtue russian legion grip, virtue laser
eyes, cp rake trigger, virtue ez on, cp micro drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Technically you don't really need to put any upgrades on the gun except for a board. I'll admit though that i went a little over the top with upgrades. Definately a virtue board.
Strengths: Fast, good looking, some what decent out of the box
Weaknesses: Upgradability, reliability, maintenance
Review: The epiphany comes out of the box wit a pretty good board and trigger. It is basically a ion with a body kit and a few other goodies. I again went really overboard in upgrading it but it paid off and rips like crazy now. Also it is not very reliable at least not in my case whether it be the reg or something else i find i almost always have a issue with it
Conclusion: Either buy this gun and upgrade it alot, buy a ion and up it alot, or buy a invert mini which is what i just got.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

98customplayer1 Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion-
VERY similar, slightly lighter... same basic design
Dye Matrix 4-
Older, faster, clunkier feeling
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts Epiphany
(3) Tippmann 98 Customs
Recommended
Upgrades:
The upgrades i recommend based on the markers performance are:
A clamping feedneck (any kind)
An uncapped board (not neccassary, but desirable)
A fast electronic hopper that feeds 17BPS +
Possibly a new trigger depending on how you like the stock one.
Strengths: Fast, good looks, somewhat reliable, fun to use, RAMPING
Weaknesses: Somewhat on the heavy side, needs a new feedneck, Capped board
Review: The Smart Parts Epiphany is a very good marker for the price that most stores are asking today. Although VERY similar to the Ion, the Epiphany is in fact its own marker. The stock board is capped at 17BPS just like its brother, the ion, and it utilizes the same 4 firing modes. I've found that the Epiphany is slightly better on the air than the Ion. Although the Ion's body is made of rubbery plastic, the Epiphany does not skimp here with its metal/rubber webbed body. One of my personall favorite features of the Epiphany is the on/off button. Unlike the Ion, the on/off button on the Epiphany turns on and off very easily with one touch. The final thing that I would like to touch base on is the Epiphany's on/off ASA that comes on it from the factory. This ASA is very nice and allows for easy tank removal after de-gassing.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for anyone looking to upgrade from a begginner/mid-range marker because it has all of the qualities of a high-end marker with a low-end price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

victoralphac. Monday, January 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: I have a black/red epiphany with virtue board, virtue eyes, smart parts q-lock feedneck, smart parts s-rail, smart parts freak back/all american tip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well i recommend whenever you buy your own to first get a new feedneck, like a clamping one or something like that. To go with the barrel buy a couple of inserts for the freak jr. you get with it. I've heard and seen many others with the cp shorty regulator. For my asa i bought the s.p. s-rail to remove it easier and faster that opening the grips to take it off. If you want amazing speed and quality in a board save up the extra cash for a virtue board, in my opinion it was worth every penny.
Strengths: Unbeatable price, awsome stock features, reliable.
Weaknesses: Weight, feedneck, and having to take it apart to clean.
Review: I've had mine for a few months now and only had minor problems with leaks which where easily fixed. Got all the upgrades above and it is completely worth everything and has shredded many people in these few months. Its very reliable in a sticky situation. And for those of you with ions, it is very compatable. Take your ions feedneck, barrel, body, bolt, well pretty much everything unless the board's noid isn't able to handle the higher pressure.
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone with the cash who is planning on stepping up their game. If you have to choose between an ion and an epiphany its clear that the epiphany is the best choice. All the problems people have encountered with their ions have been fixed up quite well, with the exception of cleaning the bolt assembly.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sjpaintballa18 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP ion
Spyder vs2
Dye DM5
Spyder Pilot
Spyder Vs1
Marker Setup: SP epiphany
SP Q-lock
SP freak insert kit
Crossfire 70/4500
Halo V35 w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Freak insert kit
Strengths: Quiet, fast, little kick
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: I got my epiphany a week ago and when i pulled it out of the box i must say that it was beautiful. I gassed it up and put my hopper on and went to my backyard to shoot it. I was amazed at how quiet and how little kick there was. I went through about 500 balls and then put it away to get it ready for the weekend. That saturday, i took it to my local field and played a few games. I went through a case and a half of paintballs and chopped probably around 20 balls, which isnt horrible, but it could be better. Simply put, it shot like a dream and I love it.


<EDIT>Okay, its been about 3 weeks since i reviewed the gun and i have a few more things to say. I've gone out and used it twice since the review and am not happy with it. In the past 3 weeks: the hose leading into the solenoid blew, so i had to replace it, 3 seperate o-rings have burst: the one on the banjo fitting on the regulator, and both of the bold o-rings. it is very annoying, and am starting to regret buyinig it, but all guns mess up at certain times
Conclusion: Go buy. Especially since they're only 200 dollars now. I reccomend this to anyone who is looking for a mid-level gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 9th, 2008 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadowalker1191 Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many Many diffrent paintball markers in my 10+ years playing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blackheart board, QEV, Feed neck.
Strengths: Solid, Quick, love the snap in the trigger. Very quick.
Weaknesses: Did not include a full set of freak inserts! (No weakness in my book)
Review: The Epiphany may be a little on the heavy side in the standards of other electro's but concidering I have been shooting cockers all my life this thing is feather weight.

The 90* swivel fitting on the bottom of the reg on my is a little tight which I expected but that will break in over time, once I hit the field with this marker i'll fully update this review but as it sits now, putting a few hundred reball's through it I have had no problems.
Conclusion: Great marker at the price point. No "REAL" weakness's to speak of.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tgirouard Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
spyder sonix
Marker Setup: Smart parts epiphany with triumph hopper and a dye psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some people might not like the trigger.
Strengths: Accuracy
speed (17bps)
light
easy to switch between modes
Weaknesses: none that I know
Review: When I first started playing paintball I had a 98c a nice flatline barrel and a response trigger. All my friends and I thought that we would be playing a lot of woodsball. As it turned out we didn't have enough people to play a "good" game. We didn't have enough space either. I decided to go on youtube and find some videos, thats when I started to notice speedball. I needed a smaller gun, more accuracy, and a lot more speed.
I looked for guns in my price range online. I found the smart parts epiphany. Soon enough I had it. With a low price of 200$ I could be in anyones price range.
It's lightness helps you run fast on breaks. And it's accuracy helps pick off those far away "targets". The trigger is very easy to walk, and freak jr. barrels are some of the most reliable barrels ever. It's only flaw is that it's automatic mode isn't very fast. (I can go faster walking it).
Conclusion: In conclusion the smart parts epiphany is an amazing gun for front and middle players. If you play back I would recommend a faster gun, perhaps a shocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulse player Wednesday, December 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts impulse, smartparts ion, smartparts shocker, PMR,
Marker Setup: Smartparts epiphany
freak barrel
3000psi/68ci pure energy tank
Eggy with zboard
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamp lock feed neck
New board
Strengths: This gun comes with everythign u basically need.
Weaknesses: Gun tarneshes if u get black.
Review: WHen i purchused the smartparts epiphany the gun was light but still a lil heavy. The great thing about this gun it can be used in almost any positon on the feild and it already comes with a bunch of ups. It comes with a freak jr. barrel and one insert. The trigger is decent and u wont need to get another one unless u really hate the trigger. You might want to get a clamp lock for it, thats just my opinon. THe board is stock and it comes with rebound. Some say this gun looks like an upped ion. I agree but the only reason why i did not buy the ion was because to me it was to much plastic. One bad thing i have experinced with this gun is that it tarneshes if u get black.

(EDIT) today i have found out that the epiphany has been discontinued according to smartparts. They are still selling the gun and the acessories but once they are gone they are gone. Also the plastic parts on the epiphany fell off my gun. Lil glue will fix but i decided to keep it off.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun to get. Any position can play with it and it is not plastic like the stock ion. So if i was you and i was looking for a new gun this one would be a good choice. Im giving it a 9 because it tarnesed on me but it does not hurt anything else.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 14th, 2008 at 11:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

depth Tuesday, October 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
uped ions
Marker Setup: PMR special w/ freak jr and full kit, cp drop, empire B2 reloader 4k5 pmi 1.1L tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV - many more shots per tank
new feed neck - cant stress how bad the other one really is... just get anything that clamps
drop farward - makes the gu so much more balanced... when SP said "this gun is made of a light metal" they ment "its lighter... but we use a tonne of it..."
Strengths: As below.
Weaknesses: As below.
Review: THE GOOD

good barrel - shoots straight for stock and only £40 ($80) to get full insert kit
trigger - BEST TRIGGER I HAVE FIRED, thou in all fairness its everyones oppinion, i just love it, no movement side to side at all, if i could put it on a rail i would be singing 17bps in semi all the time!
already upgraded - fire bolt compaired to stock is stupidly quiet and much more efficent!
with a 360QEV, an L6 bolt and no chamber insert i think i got thru 7 crammed 140 pots and 140 balls in my hopper on a 3.5K fill off a 1.1L (68cu) tank .... 1120 balls... and i still had about 500psi left... cant knock it and in fairness, if ur in torny who the hell goes thru more than that in one game.... (that includes a freak paint match on proto paint)

THE BAD

high pressure - as much as people say its good, im not so sure... i thought "yeah, get an uber upped ion and deck it out some more... so i changed the reg for a hyper2... one of the best reg's money can buy and it has a really fast recharge rate..." that was my first problem, after installing he hyper2 aftera while i get a leek form the hoses... so i got new ones.... same problem... i have gone thru 3 sets of hoses and that can be the only thing causing it... IF YOU ARE GETTING AN EPIPHANY DONOT CHANGE THE REG FOR A BETTER ONE!!!!! it will pt you thru too many sets of hoses.
and the other bad thing.. cleanign it. really not made o be easy, it takes me 15 mins to take it appart and get the bolt out
Conclusion: if your after a good cheep marker and want something you can mod and mix like an ion, and theres one going cheep, get it, just dont mess with the reg! if u want a new gun for around £300 then go for a PMR special or an e-tek at no point would i say this gunis worth what i paid for it but having it and usng it was deffo fun. but smartparts really shouldnt have gone with hoses!!!!!

i give it a 7 because i feel ts a good gun to play with and if you lok after it and treat it with TLC and up i a lil more then it can make dreams happen, just dont but it expecting a high end torny gun and dont get it if your expecting something light this gun is really only a bumper gun to get you to a torny level gun or your next gun, not to be stayed with for too long
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tetsuyuri Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 2006 Dynasty Shocker,
Blackheat board, Freak Barrel, Dye Ultra lite, Evil pipe kit NewDesign Roller Blade Trigger, Hybrid Grips, Pulse RF Chip, Cp Reg. CP Razor Drop, CP on/off rail, Pulse Loader, 68ci 3000psi Pure energy

Smart Parts Ion
, Virtue Board, Virtue Ion Lazer eyes, Smart Parts Fire bolt, 360 QEV kit, AA Barrel, Q-lock, Hybrid Grips, Kila Detents, Virtue membrain switch, Cp Reg. Cp Roller trigger, Cp Razor drop, XSV on/off rail, Empire Reloader B Hopper, 68/3000 Pure Energy Tank

Limited Edition Gold Epiphany
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feed neck
smaller insert for the barrel
Strengths: Looks
Finish
Barrel
Accurate
Zero recoil
Weaknesses: Feed neck
barrel insert ( .693 what fits that )
Review: I was lucky enough to get a limited edition gold Epiphany, I had a Hybrid Fusion ordered but got tired of waiting so I ordered the Epiphany, and the sales guy said they had one gold one in stock , not knowing it was limited edition I ordered it. When it arrived I was amazed, the finish on this thing is blinding, reading reviews a lot of guys said it was an Ion on steroids, so the reliability and performance that we all loved in the ion is now available in the Epiphany. I used an Ion for a couple of years and this marker feels nothing like an Ion. It is more comfortable than and marker I have ever used and the trigger is super slick, the easiest trigger to walk I have ever used. But why Smart parts put the .693 insert in the barrel I will never know, the .689 would have made this marker perfect.
Shooting the Epiphany is amazing, zero and I mean zero recoil, with the .689 insert you can put ball on ball its that accurate. And for the price you cant go wrong, even thought there are faster markers in the same price range the Epiphany wins on style and comfort. Smart Parts hit a home run with the Epiphany
Conclusion: This is the best of the mid priced markers, it may not be the fastest, but slow and steady wins the race. Buy this marker and you will see just want i am talking about, or drop down to your local pro shop and see it befor you love it. i cant give it a 10 for the simple fact the the insert is to big and the feed neck is not great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

craZeEguy96 Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
Marker Setup: Epiphany V35 halo b 72/3000 pmi compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt,trigger,frame,body,reg,barrel-no wait thats good-, and grips
Strengths: It is a high-end
Weaknesses: $400 Ion
Review: The Epiphany is not a terrible marker. It's an ion-exact but that doesen't make it suck. However if you got an ion($200) freak barrel ($100?) And A virtue board. The ion will blow the Epiphany out of the water.(for only $40 dollars more). Honestly its not bad at all. But not good for the price. Raise to an 8
Conclusion: I would buy the ion and some ups or pmr instead
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 7th, 2007 at 5:25 pm PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media