paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Slammed0 Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Spyder Pilot ACS (upgraded)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
Halo B Hopper
DXS 48/4500 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck!!
High Speed Loader
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Speed
Solid Build
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Gas Efficiency
Review: I love this gun. I know alot of people throw this marker under the bus right away as a upgraded Ion but this is a sweet marker. I love it. I am far from a professional paintball player, however, I have shot my fair share of markers as a fan of the sport. I can tell you that this gun shoots great and is accurate. It also shoots fast. When in rebound mode I can lay down ropes of paint. I honestly haven't tried it much in other firing modes. The eyes work great and the barrel is awesome for coming with it. The only weakness that I saw right away (most people did and I agree) is the feedneck. Not that great. My Halo B hopper didn't fit at all. So, you should really think about getting a aftermarket feedneck with this gun. Overall, I love this gun.

Don't let the negative reviews scare you! For the price, you can't beat it. Try it for yourself and see.
Conclusion: Awesome gun! Don't let the negative reviews scare you! For the price, you can't beat it. Try it for yourself and see. Make you happy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

IcA Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
first high-end marker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Epiphany
Freak Jr. Barrel
Black Heart T-Board
Evvo 3 Hopper
And Lepord Spotted Barrel Condom
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
\
Strengths: Accuracy is great
speed is great
lightweight
nott much plastic
Weaknesses: the feed neck isnt Top Quality
a little pricey for an upped ion
Review: The Epiphany isnt wut i expected wen i walked into the PB store they let me test fire it in the back and i fell in love wit it. It is a little expensive but its worth it if ur sticking 2 the sport. the maintenance is simple and i overall love this marker
Conclusion: Because nothings perfect and this marker could come wit a better feedneck i give it a 9 outta 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nonamejones Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion almost the same
wgp trilogy pro s/f
Marker Setup: ion with qev and firebolt 14"proto one peice
stock trilogy pro s/f
stock 07 pmr
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Dead sexy looks
Proven platform
Freak barrel
Most popular ion upgrades included
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Weight
Review: Ive been salivating over this marker for months now and my local store finally got some in so i run like a mad man through town to pick one up i walked through the door and there it was in all its polished aluminum and white glory outshining every marker in the joint .So i wait in line for 15 agonizing minutes to get my hands on it then finally its my turn.Suddenly the world comes crashing down around me.This thing is freaking heavy oh well its the best looking thing in paintball. Upon further examination i see 2 horrible flaws that i cant believe have been left out.The front bottom of the reg hangs down a bit(look at the picture you'll see it)and is sharp enough to shave with also right underneath the barrel same thing.I dont know about yall but i get pretty rough during a game and could only imagine what was going to happen there as my finger naturally rests around the bottom of the reg.I proceed out back to fire it a few times let me tell you it was sweet.Everything i expected and more except for the fact that Smartparts in their infinite wisdom kept the same crap feedneck after upgrading everything else on the ion. Maybe they were busy sharpening the reg and overlooked it.I was also slightly disappointed in the rate of fire.It has basically a blackheart board.So given the bang for the book factor and the you'll cut your fingers off thoughts i laid her down and took out the shiny red pmr in the corner we'll save that story for another time.
Conclusion: Although i didn't purchase it i strongly feel that this is a great gun.I would like to see sp address the very few issues i had with it. Overall i give it a solid 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DaltonChaotic Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix, Autococker Trilogy, Smart Parts Ion, and lots of low-end markers
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany (Blue)
Dye mini drop
Freak barrel system
NDZ feed neck
4500 crossfire HP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
As soon as possible buy a feed neck
Strengths: trigger
Looks
ASA on/off
barrel
most ion parts will fit
the manual very informative
Weaknesses: advertised color of barrel back
Body had small imperfections
Manual just stapled together
Review: This marker`s trigger is nice. I experienced no problem shooting ropes. I found using a small drop made the marker well balanced. It also seems to be as efficient as advertised. This truly is a nice marker and the simple truth is that if it was released last year as the first Ion everyone would be drooling all over it.

My biggest complaint is about the barrel back. In every picture on the web, including Smart parts website, the barrel back matched the marker color. Mine did not. It came in black instead of blue. Smart Parts was contacted, and they claimed to not have any idea why the photos are showing matched barrels. They said all Freak barrel backs are black. False advertising, and nicks and chips on marker. Thats why I have to give it a 9.
Conclusion: Dont hate this marker because its cheap and can keep up with Angels and Timmys. It truly is everything you could ask for from a $1000 marker. I mean $400 marker. Dont expect a color matched barrel back though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 6:02 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

pb_guy Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
shocker- better
Marker Setup: esprit
7* forwarsd lpr
bob long expansion chamber
feed neck
14" 2 piece barrel
boo-yah drop forward
on/off
68ci 3000psi N2 tank
evil venturi bolt
halo tsa led hopper
16" J&J ceramic
68/3000 crossfire tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Just get a new feedneck the one it comes with is bad, but will work with bad hoppers.
Strengths: Light.
Looks.
Smooth trigger, doesn't move side to side.
Acurate.
cheap price.
Weaknesses: The feedneck is bad.
Review: When i was asked if i wanted to test it, i said sure and i just loved it. So i used it for a torney, and for fun a few time, it was just so light and smooth and very accurate, i asked how much is it going to be when it comes out and they said 450 dollars and i said whoa that is eally good, this is a good gun.
Conclusion: for the price of 450 dollars i would get this gun and just put a new feedneck and if you have a gun i would get it for the back up, its a pretty good gun and cheap. I WOULD GET IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jroberto0905 Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmr, ion, dm6 ego
Marker Setup: sp epiphany with 4500 cp tank and empire b
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board
Strengths: Its accurate and cheap for high end
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Great gun, overall really accurate but a little heavy, great back gun, realy shiny and its a overall decent gun for its price, there are better guns out there but not for this price, its pretty much equal to a pmr which is same price, its one of the best guns that smartparts has realeased other then the shocker
Conclusion: Overall i say good gun, a little heavy but its decent i give it a 8
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 6:02 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

bill123123123 Saturday, July 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom Pro Basic with flatline (doesn't compare to Epiphany)

Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
Smart Parts 47 3000 tank with max flo mircro reg
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B - Fits perfect!
Strengths: Looks sweet ( It looks like a shocker, not a metal ion)
FAST
Trigger

Weaknesses: None
Review: The Derder movie Obscure Influence really opened my eyes on the tournament world of paintball. It caused me to switch from slow paced woodsball to fast paced speedball. I was playing speedball with my Tippmann, so , it was time for a speedball gun.

I originally intended on buying an ICD Promaster, but multiple sources said that they have air problems, aren't reliable, internals randomly explode etc, and they stopped making them. So I saw the new Epiphany at my local paintball store, and it really was the ideal marker for me (a walk on speedballer.) I ordered it in black and silver

The other guns that compete with it are the Mini and the Rail. I test fired the Mini, and it was alright, as fast as the Epiphany in semi but the Epiphany looks way cooler, and I think that Smart Parts is the better brand. As for the Rail, the trigger is horrible, and apparently the end cap falls out. I just want a gun that I pick up and play with, one that doesn't have a lot of maintance and is easy to use.

My local paintball store's gun technician, said that I just need to bring it in every 50, 000 shots and he will take it apart for me, lube the bolt, and reasemble it for 15$, what a deal! I fit were up to me to take the gun apart, lube the bolt, and reasemble it, I think that I would break something, or it would take me like 3 hours.

It comes with different fire inserts. I had the technician put in the silver firing insert, thinking that I was going to get more shotts per tank, but I only got 500 and at 280 PSI I think the velocity is limied to like 250 FPS. Also appartently if you buy an Epiphany QEV, it will increase your effientcy. I plan to get one and when the bolt needs lubing, I'll swap it with the green or blue insert.

As for performance, I never have shot a rope before, but now with the Epiphany, it is too easy. The trigger was difficult to walk at first but now that I have learned how to walk it, I think it is great. I was playing with it in semi and is was very fast. If I thought semi was fast, I'll be in for a treat when using the other modes. Also the gun is very accurate, even with the "useless" 0.693 Freak Insert. Still, if your not satisfied, you can pick up an insert for like 10$, or a kit of all 8 inserts for 80$.

When playing with it, I had a bit of trouble, the gun was shooting occasionaly when walking the trigger, even with vision off. I changed the battery and it worked perfectly. (Too much gun clicking on my bed before I suspect).

What I hate is people who call it a metal Ion. It is not a metal ion, I admit it is based of the ion but, the body, internals, trigger, trigger frame, operating pressure, and performance is substancially better.

Some people say that you need an locking feedneck. With the orings taking out of the neck, it holds my Halo B tightly and securly. The only down side is that you have to screw it in to save your self 50$ towards a clmaping feedneck. I have a black halo B, and it looks so cool with black and metal body.
Conclusion: Overall the Epiphany is a great gun,and I would choose it over a Rail or Mini
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

crippleboi12 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs
invert mini
ego 06
Marker Setup: sp epiphany
torque hopper
70/45 crossfire tank
vforce grill
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEED NECK!!!!!!!!!!!
QEV
new board
Strengths: Looks good
fast(when it works)
trigger
Weaknesses: Leaks from everywhere
Not air efficient
Heavy
Review: ok ive had this gun for about half a year now and i hate it with a passion.

PROS

Its pretty accurate stock. i went in my back yard and had about a 6in radius of hits from about 20 feet away. the trigger is amazing. i have a friend with a G7 fly and he says he would rather have my trigger.

CONS

the gun leaks from everywhere. i dont konw if its just my gun but when i fire a shot i feel air come out of the trigger, board, and sometimes asa. there is a little hole in the board that for some reason lets air out of it, and it lets out wayyyyy too much air. it feels like someone blowing through a straw as hard as they can.

now some people are going to say this is false, but trust me it isnt. the gun weighs too much to be a paintball gun. it feels like it is made of lead. just the gun itself(no barrel, hopper, or tank) weighs as much as my friends mini with the tank and hopper and barrel.

on top of all those things, the one thing tht puts me over the top is that sometimes it will randomly stop firing when you shoot over 5 bps. at first i thought it was because i was running out of air but i had about 1500 psi left. i took it into the shop and they told me to grease the bolt and out a new battery into it. after i did so it worked for about a roung then stoped working again. i finally just gave up and shot at like 1 bps.
Conclusion: If you want a gun that will last you about a day, this gun is for you. seriously though, if you are willing to pay 200 bucks for a gun id go for an slg or pmr or something else other that a smart parts gun.im giving this gun a 4 becayse its ok when it works, but it dosnt work that often.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

KRM15 Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Smart Parts Ion
Stock Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany Red/Black.
ViewLoader Vlocity Jr. Hopper.
Smart Parts 360 QEV.
3000 PSI Pure Energy Tank.
Lapco Feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
For this marker a QEV is needed for sure, and so is a new feedneck. Other than that you just need a good force feeding hopper (Vlocity or Halo B). Virtue Board is actually optional, only get it if you want to go super fast. But other than that you already shoot 17 bps out of the box.
Strengths: Fast.
Amazing trigger.
Looks good.
Freak Barrel.
Weaknesses: Eats Air.
Needs new Feedneck.
Needs QEV.
Review: I just got started in the sport, so i saved up money to buy the epiphany. I thought it was a sick gun, and i recommend it. The trigger is so easy to walk, i learned how to walk in less that an hour. All in all its a good gun. For those who say its an upgraded ion, it is but you cant make an ion look like an epiphany or perform just as good as an epiphany. You can upgrade an ion and it will be good but epiph will be better.
Conclusion: Just a good gun in my opinion, i like the smart parts brand. Saving up money to buy a Smart Parts Shocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippyman7 Friday, December 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, dm5, pmr
Marker Setup: A ion maxd, w/ evry possible upgrade, including virtue board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
same as ion
Strengths: Metal body, upped trigger, good gun.
Weaknesses: Overpriced.
Review: After firing this marker at the local paintball shop all i can say is i was dissapointed. This is an overpriced ion with metal body, nd some other upgrades. Ya it has inserts for air efficiency, but it is no more efficient than the ion, because they raised the opersating pressure 100psi. So its probaly less efficient even with the inserts. It fires exactly the same as an ion, but has a better trigger. It shoots ropes quite nicely, and i like it more than the pmr. One improvement i noticed is in the trigger frame, it doesnt really have as much side to side play as the ion, but this can also be fixed on the ion.
Conclusion: I do not think that is worth the 200 over the ion, but it is still great is a paintball marker, if overpriced. Good gun, just not for me though, i would recommend the ion, and use the extra money to upgrade that.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 9:53 am PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media