paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
kariya93 Monday, May 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 04, Proto Rail. The Spyder imagine...well it's a re-manufactured gun, so no contest. The Proto Rail, i didn't use much, so don't ask me anything about it.
Marker Setup: I use the factory accessories for the Epiphany. But i do use a DXS 68ci 4500psi HPA gas tank. And a Halo B hopper, which really does a good job of keeping up with the epiphany. These two combos make a great setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is pretty good in all aspects. What it could very much use is a new feedneck. It has a horrible feedneck. For the Halo B i had to remove a ring in the feedneck. Just a pain in the neck. It could have used a clamping feedneck.
Another upgrade that it could have used in the factory is a new way to turn on the Epiphany and a new way to change mode. It's horrible the way you do. And very cheaply done. All it is, is a button to turn on the Epiphany. To change mode, you need to unscrew some screws to where the battery goes and there is a little switch for changing it. So if you are a person that likes to change modes during gameplay, not a very good gun for the job.
Strengths: Freak Jr Barrel, trigger, ASA gas port, the feel of the gun itself.
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Mode switching, power button.
Review: This gun is pretty good in all aspects. What it could very much use is a new feedneck. It has a horrible feedneck. For the Halo B i had to remove a ring in the feedneck. Just a pain in the neck. It could have used a clamping feedneck.
Another upgrade that it could have used in the factory is a new way to turn on the Epiphany and a new way to change mode. It's horrible the way you do. And very cheaply done. All it is, is a button to turn on the Epiphany. To change mode, you need to unscrew some screws to where the battery goes and there is a little switch for changing it. So if you are a person that likes to change modes during gameplay, not a very good gun for the job.
Even though it is hard to change modes. It's modes are pretty good. Rebound and Semi go to 15-20. i got up to 22 surprisingly. 3 round burst and full-auto go to 10-15 bps.

The Freak Jr. Barrel is a very good barrel, one of the best i've seen. Two piece, 14-inch, slick and easy to clean.
The ASA gas port is also very good. You just need to twist and you let gas in the tank. Twist again in the other direction you let gas out.
The gun is pretty light, but with everything it still is fairly light. i recommend this marker as a snake marker.
Good firing modes.
Overall a good marker.
Conclusion: This marker is really good for its price. Mind you, it has room for improvement. The barrel is awesome. BPS is great. Everything apart from feedneck and power button/mode changing is good.
Good for its price. good snake or back player marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sft kid Wednesday, March 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS-Sweet gun for the money.
Spyder MR1-Good beginner gun thats it.
Smart Parts Shocker SFT- Lighter than epiphany and more accurate but not as reliable
Marker Setup: Empire Reloader B
Ignition 3000psi 47ci
Dye Ultralite 14in
Shocktech Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck
Barrel- NOT neccessary but i found the Ultralite better than the Jr. Freak
New trigger
Strengths: Reliability
Speed
Simplicity to change modes
Looks
Weaknesses: Weight
Disassembly
Review: The epiphany I believe is a good/average gun for the price. It is a little more heavier than I would like, but i never really notice the weight in a game. The bottomline asa is a hard sometimes to put the tank on and seems to strip the tank's screws sometimes. I keep the epiphany for the backup for my shocker sft because it is more reliable than the shocker. The Ultralite makes the epiphany WAY more accurate on my gun so i believe the upgrade was worth it. The epiphany is definitely hard to disassemble because you have to take the grip frame off and take out the board but after your used to it it only takes a few minutes.
Conclusion: In the end, I would reccomend this gun for anybody upgrading from a stock Ion or a spyder. Other than that, I would rather have bought a proto rail or and invert mini instead.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JTM418 Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (Not as Good)
Proto SLG (Even Match)
Proto Rail (Better Than Epiphany)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 68 ci/4500 psi HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck, go with a Custom Products clamping feedneck, DON'T GET A Q-LOCK, they are terrible feednecks.
Maybe a new board if you want a faster gun (Blackheart, Virtue, or Tadao are great)
Maybe more inserts for the barrel
Strengths: Freak Jr. Barrel, very accurate
On/Off ASA, very helpful
Nice Trigger
Looks
Weaknesses: Not very light
A little overpriced for what you get
It's Smart Parts
Review: My Review
I bought this gun at the beginning of the season and took it out to a local field to play some pick-up games. I loved it all my gear was new and it all worked great. I played a full season with this gun and it was great for rec-ball and pick-up games. towards the end of the season I took it to a few tournaments, as much as I respect this gun it is not a gun to be used in tournaments (unless it is a beginners tournament, it is fine in those.) But in actual tournaments it does not keep up with the competition. It is not fast enough for tornament paintball. You will be working your trigger so hard to try to keep up and it's just not worth it.

Features
The gun comes stock with a 14 inch 2 piece Freak Jr. Barrel, the barrel is very accurate and the inserts are a nice touch, altough there is only one insert stock. Those can be bought seperate.
The On/Off ASA is a good edition to the gun and comes in handy.
The trigger is very fun to use, nothing special but it works well, I sat around all day playing with that thing (It's Noisy)
The feedneck is not good on this gun and if I was to recommend one upgrade it is the feedneck without question.
This gun is just an externally upgraded Ion, (Barrel, ASA, Trigger, Body kit)
The internals are the same as the Ion, (Board, Bolt. and all that good stuff)
Conclusion: If you are looking for a nice gun to play some pck-up paintball, or Rec-ball, this gun is great. But if you are thinking about playing tournaments and are looking fo a gun in this price range ($200-$300) I would suggest looking in the Proto Matrix Rail or a Dangerous Power gun, those are nice.

I give this gun an 8 out of 10 because there are better guns out there near this price that could be used in tourneys.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wildmoses Thursday, November 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5 (Poor)
Tippman 98 Custom (Fair)
Spyder RS (Decent)
Smart Parts SP-1 (Alright but slow)
Smart Parts Ion (Decent)
Marker Setup: Virtue board, freak barrell, 360 qev, viewloader hopper, 68 ci 4500 psi n2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I reccomend upgrading the board, personally I am not a huge fan of the black heart board, but it will protect you warranty. I personally like Ape boards or the virtue board. I highly reccomend a new feedneck the stock one is strange. While your going to the trouble of upgrading drop 20 bucks and buy yourself the 360 qev, once again I am biased and only reccomend the smart parts qev. Oh and treat your gun like a hot date and don't trash her, only run n2 or compressed air in the gun.
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, operating pressure, feel, and trigger, did I mention the trigger
Weaknesses: Weight distribution, the color schemes, compatability confusion on some parts
Review: Gees, where to start. The epiphany is a beautiful gun. The epiphany is one of those guns that you pick up and shoot and then go home longing to put a case of paint through her again. The first aspect of the epiphany I want to mention is cost. The epiphany is a cheap tournament level gun. I will tell you she isn't an angel and you shouldn't expect an angel, but for a amateur tournament player who wants to have an edge this gun is amazing. Second I must focus on the trigger. I have pulled a ton of triggers in my paintball career, all kinds, and the epiphany is ridiculously nice. The epiphany trigger is stiff yet repsonsive, lose but not wobbly. I really must say you have to shoot one to understand, but it's nice. Next I will say the epiphany design is flawless. If your like me you service your own gun on and off the playing field, and you also know that this is a crucial part of gun ownership. I find that many guns are confusing as heck to work on. They have 90 screws and then the parts never fit back in the case when you are done. The epiphany has really simplified working on the internals by providing a quick to open gun with few hoses to get tangled up. Fourth I must point out the compatability with the ion. This compatability makes the epiphany a revolution all of its own. I don't know how many times I have needed a hose or piece and I go to my local shop and they say they don't have it for that gun, because so many parts are interchangeable between the ion and epiphany your chances of finding that one part is really a little better. Lastly the feel. I have shot lots of guns in my life. I have felt guns with no kick and guns with the feel of an elephant rifle, the epiphany is the perfect balance. I personally like a little kick, it adds to the thrill of the game and lets me know I'm shooting when I can't look at my gun to see the paint come out, the epiphany offers that just a little kick, but not so much that it ruins shots.
Conclusion: Buy it! I can't reccomend this gun enough. If you are teetering on the edge just buy this gun, I give you my guarantee you won't look back. Many people comment on this gun and some knock it some love it, ignore all that, all you need to know is that this is a solid gun that is amazing. I can't describe how good it feels to unload a case with this gun. The customization options, the feel, the trigger (gees), the look, and the price all make this the gun to get. I can't imagine playing a game of paintball without my epiphany ever again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadshot32 Saturday, November 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs
spyder mr1
spyder vs
VL triton 2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany 3000 psi/ 48 ci
Q-Lock
Black Heart Board
Freak Jr.
VL force hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock and black heart board
Strengths: Fast,easy to adjust, blade trigger, looks awesome, great for intermediate player
Weaknesses: If playing a night game the flashing lite gives away your position
Review: over all the epiphany is a great gun for any body who wants to start to play it preforms the same as the EOS except for the bolt out back my friend has the EOS bus likes my epiphany better and now that they quit making them they are an extremely good deal if you can find them there any where from 120 to 180 from what i have seen but if your looking for a new gun and on a tight budget the epiphany is a great gun to get and with extra money you save you can upgrade it and maby even buy your girl friend an nice necklace or ring lol
Conclusion: You want a good gun that is cheap get it it was a $400 gun and now in to the $100
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JFSpaintball Thursday, November 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pmr
other high ends..
Marker Setup: Black and Blue Smart Parts Epiphany
Eggy II
45/4500 cf

Smart Parts Vibe w/ 14" Linear Barrel
Ricochet Rhino
68/4500 cf
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe feedneck..i had no problems with mine so far
i heard the asa ruins tanks? no problems with me so far..i love it.
Strengths: Trigger
Barrel
Speed
Accuracy
Looks
Durability
Feel
Firebolt
Weaknesses: Feedneck (maybe?)
Maintence..but it doesn't bother me.
Review: Just got it last week. Took it out the Sunday after for some speedball. Wow. Best feeling gun that ive ever shot. Looks great, i cannot believe that trigger is stock. Fast and very acurate. The feedneck might not be the best, but it got the job done. Comes stock with the firebolt, so no kick. Friend of mine had a virtued ion. Honestly, it didn't even compare to my epiphany. If you haven't shot an ion, they feel so cheap, there trigger, ew. there body is plastic, and the asa SUCKS. Not saying the ion is a bad gun, upped it can be great. But i don't think is compares to an epiphany, though they are almost the same gun. Smart Parts just put alot more time into the epiphany.
The asa on the epiphany is great for stock. The trigger, wow. And his gun was breaking paint every game. EVERY game. He had a freak on it, Halo, eyes on, and it was still chopping. I had NO problems all day. Excpet i ran out of paint pretty fast. ( I only had 1000)
Conclusion: I got this thing for 200, brand new. Amazing. Anybody looking for a new, fast, good speedball gun, and if your thinking about an ion, don't. Put out the extra 35 dollars and get an epiphany. It has the $35 firebolt in it, so theres the $35 extra you spent. But it has the freak jr, on/off, looks better, and feels better w/ a much better trigger. I give it a 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

devilman88 Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo mongoose
ion
ego
Marker Setup: Smart parts epiphany
egg II
72/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe feednack
Strengths: Fast
Light
Pretty good price
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: This gun is better then people say. Mine came with asa on off, freak jr., limited edition color. It is better then an ion. They are going out of epiphanies so buy them. They are more high tech then ions. So go out there and buy them before they are gone they are very nice guns
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GunsLosingEnd Thursday, July 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Syndicate Misfit
Smart Pars ION
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany (Silver & Black)
48ci 3000psi HPA Tank
Halo TSA Frontman LCD (Soon to be Halo B)
Empire tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK (you have to use alot of force to get a halo in, and the egg wouldnt even get close to fitting)

Get a Smart Parts Q-Lock Feedneck
Strengths: 17 BPS Stock, lightweight, trigger, all metal, Very Good looking
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: This gun is incredible. It is just like everyone says, an ion on steroids. It shoots 17 BPS stock, and can be upgraded with a bunch of boards. My last gun didnt have eyes on it and it was such a relief knowing that i'll never chop a ball in this gun. The freak barrel with the stock .693 insert puts the ball no matter where you want it. The trigger is increadibly easy to walk and adjust with no side to side movement like the ion's trigger. Compatable with all the ION parts. And to be honest this gun is just dead sexy. And DO NOT LISTEN TO PEOPLE TELLING YOU ITS HEAVY! Its only the tiniest bit heavier than an ion and if its too heavy for you LIFT WEIGHTS GIRLY MAN!!
Conclusion: This gun is a great buy for the price. I would recommend buying this instead of an ion.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 24th, 2008 at 1:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mark9181 Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Amp Generator (blah)
Spyder VS3
Proto Rail
Autococker Competition
Marker Setup: Everything stock aside from a SP clamping feedneck and the EvoIII hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck if you need it.
Strengths: - Fast
- Accurate
- Durable
- Reliable

Freak Jr. Barrel set included
Firebolt Bolt included
Chamber inserts
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been playing for just a bit over a year now and this gun out performs the Spyder and Proto equivalent models hands down. Out of the box you are ready to go with a fantastic barrel system, bolt and board. If you are considering tournament play then this would be a great gun to get you started. Make sure you get a nice fast electronic loader for this gun as well to take advantage of its max rate of fire.
Conclusion: Awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JamesM3099 Sunday, May 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion .-.
I have used this marker several times but found it use full but not awesome, The ion is not as upgraded as its higher end brother the Epiphany
Marker Setup: I have a 3000 psi compressed air tank, Halo b with rip drive, Virtue board (NOT AT FIRST)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue --- Worth every penny
Thats it really.
Strengths: VERY accurate
Never chops paint
Very "pretty"
Nice color options
Very customizable
Fast

Weaknesses: Heavy
Confusing to set different modes
Review: Overall this gun is a very great gun its fast accurate and everything you can ask for in a high end paint ball marker. I would recommend this marker to any body who is looking to buy it. If i could make the purchase i would again in a heartbeat. Its heavy compared to a regular marker but thats pretty much it with the cons. This gun is a very cheap marker i mean 200$ for such an awesome marker is awesome. This marker is Consistent and Great I'm saying again if your thinking about buying it its worth it Just read the rest of the reviews they will tell you
Conclusion: Best marker i have ever owned and was very cheap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media