paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask

JT Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 171
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in goggle systems, the Spectra Proteus is the newest and hottest system available. The engineered polymer mask features a lower profile, creating a smaller target than any previous system. Uni-body construction, advanced audio capability and fog-resistant performance make this the most advanced system ever.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Mr. Girlfriend Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott, inforcer and other hard, painful masks.
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, double trigger, red eye sight and a 20 oz tank.
Strengths: Durability, JT name and service, stylish look and colors, tight, comfy soft fit, low profile
Weaknesses: The visor can be frustrating to reinstall, but thats it
Review: This mask is the only mask I'll ever wear. Like the other guy said, it's fits like a glove. I could literally sleep with this thing on. When Play 24 hour senario games, you can take a nap on the field, still wearing it! It has a low profile, small fit that doesnt add much of a target to your face. Another major plus to this mask is that it comes in stylish colors, let alone from its sleek design. The Smoke color looks the best, but I had to get a clear color, which also looks cool. The other major plus to this mask is that it doesnt fog up that much, so you'll see clearly all night.

As I mentioned earlier, the only donwfall to this mask is that the visor doesnt reinstall very well. I took me about 15 minutes over the coarse of two days just to do it. But then agian, I could have been doing it the hard way.
Conclusion: Over all this is the mask of masks! I couldn't picture myself getting anything else. If you don't like JT, or there something about the mask that you dont like, than look into the Dye Invision, which I havent tried, but it looks pretty cool!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hr34 Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVader, JT nForcer, VForce
Marker Setup: 2k2 intimidator
empire 10-piece barrel kit
evlution ii
crossfire hpa tank
Strengths: light-weight, comfortable, doesn't get hot, can easily hear and be heard, looks good
Weaknesses: maybe not enough protection for new players
Review: This is one of JT's best masks. This is great for either woodsball or speedball. Much more comfortable then the nVaders and nForcers that I've used. Also, it just simply looks cool. Even though this is a great mask, it might not be something for new players considering it doesn't have full face protection as the other masks I've mentioned. However, if you're new and don't mind the risk of getting cuts on the lower part of your face you should be fine with this.
Conclusion: These masks go for dirt cheap now ($50 for various websites) because of their new mask coming out. Get this mask if you play back and forth from woodsball to speedball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blaksunshine159 Monday, December 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI nVader Thermal
JT nForcer Thermal
JT Spectra Pro Shield
V-Force Shield
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98

Double Trigger
Benchmark 6 Stage Expansion Chamber
16 Inch Custom Products Barrel
JT Spectra Proteus II
Strengths: Everything, i played for 4 hours straight without one fogup! the masks almost molds to your face and the soft feel bounces paintballs off it, i was hita few times in the mask but they all bounced, plus the 260º of vision really helps to spot people trying to flank you
Weaknesses: a bit pricey, but you can find it for about $60 if you look enough, i bought the Proteus II smoke for $78.88. there is the issue of chin protection but if you wear it right, you wont get hit,
Conclusion: buy this right now!, dont waste your money on the DYE Invision or the V-Force Morph, buy the Proteus NOW! you wont be disapointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHLeeR Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rental goggles
nvader
flex7
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
SP Teardrop 14"
CO2
bleh.. (a few others....)
Strengths: -low profile
-don't fog
-nice look
-nice feel
-i could go on and on
Weaknesses: - chin sticks out when u open ur mouth (even if you have a small head)
Review: -low profile
-don't fog
-nice look
-nice feel
-visors a bit big i guess
-earpiece doesn't give you any advantage for hearing
-chin sticks out when you open your mouth
-very low profile.. which can be good and bad
-low profile
-don't fog
-nice look
-nice feel
-visors a bit big i guess
-earpiece doesn't give you any advantage for hearing
-chin sticks out when you open your mouth
-very low profile.. which can be good and bad
(^^100 words^^)

and im too lazy to type anymore :D
Conclusion: i would go with this or go with flex7 based on looks and feel and maybe profile?.. anyways this is a great mask :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfan4life Friday, April 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used Scott paintball masks and they prove to be durable, comfortable, and stay on your face.
Marker Setup: Custom 98, Dye Izon Sight, Lapco Bigshot
Strengths: This product is :
Comfortable (maybe too comfortable, but thats just me)
Looks Cool
Weaknesses: Slips down on my face
Mine didnt come w/ the cool visor
eat paint
Review: This is a solid product overall. It worries me that it slips down from my face a lot though. This mask has it pros and cons it up to you to decided what is important.
I also heard if you get hit in the mouth that you will eat paint.
This mask has a low profile which could be a good and bad thing.
Conclusion: I like this product, even though JT USA could have done a better job. As far as looks this thing is great. I am unsure if is fogs or not because I usually play indoors and out of humid weather, but so far it hasnt fogged. If I could do this over again, I would have done more research before deciding on this mask. Overall its a solid mask, which is why I am rating it a solid 7. If I were you I would not get this mask, because it's not all worth the 60 bucks I spent on it . I like my old Scott mask better even though it fogs more, the goggle stap is attached to the goggles themselve ensuring that they wont fall off my face. (just a safety issue with me).
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Ch1pm0nk Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Invision
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Carbine (Stock)
Drop forward
Pure Energy 20 oz
JT Proteus Cameleon
Strengths: 1.This is the most comftorble mask I have ever worn.

2. I own the gold cameleon and out of all the games I have worn it through, the entire time, the lenses have never come close to fogging.

3. The lenses are wider, enabling you to see more around you. And for those of you who think "hey that wont matter," Well, it makes a big difference. Its almost like you didnt have the mask on, you can see everything around you.
Weaknesses: I see nothing wrong with the mask. I love absolutely everything about it.
Review: I love this mask.

The lenses are great and have a nice size.

Many people complain about your chin sticking out when you talk, but that is not a big of a factor in the game. Getting shot in your chin when your saying a few words? NO.

If you are just going to be playing rec ball or woods, I would absolutely NOT recommend this mask to you. It would be better off getting a cheaper mask for that kind of play.

If you are heavy set, I would also not recommend this mask to you. It will probably be too small for your face, and your chin will stick out regardless of whether you talk or not.
Conclusion: I would strongly recommend this mask to anyone thinking about competing in tournaments. The mask provides everything a player could ask for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amazngspyderman Wednesday, July 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nvader, JT Xfire, BE Deluxe, BE Xtreme Vision
Marker Setup: 2002 vert dark green autococker w/ armson stealth, dye stickies, super fly bolt, rat 3:16 valve, and a home-made drop forward. as a backup, a tricked out spyder
Strengths: provides protection as every goggle should. rarely fogs (doesn't at all with the fan, but i broke mine soon after i got it). great field of vision. very low profile, close to the face.
Weaknesses: too close to the face. poor ventilation. after a while of hyperventilating due to this mask, i get a terrible headache. didn't happen with my nvader. that mask isn't nearly as good, but at least it doesn't give me a headache. and the tabs that are inserted into the lens frame snapped. too weak.
Conclusion: what good is a mask if it renders you incapacitated while you wait for the aspirin to kick in? jt still makes the best masks. get a flex ize.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iShootPaintAtU Tuesday, October 9th, 2001
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It is very very comfortable and it never fogged. also the visor deflects alot of paint.
Weaknesses: The strap on the back cant be adjusted very much, and it often popps off during gameplay. The strap isnt attached to the goggles so the mask doesnt fit very tight. It falls around and almost off when you dive or slide into a bunker.
Conclusion: if you have a medium to small head i dont think thid mask is for you. Go for it if you have a big head.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Saturday, October 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X-Fire
NVader
Skul Mask
Marker Setup: Automag
Strengths: Reasonably comfortable
Structually reliable
Weaknesses: Ventilation
Ear dials
Review: This is an ok mask. It kinda looks like Master Chief from Halo, imo. Make up your own mind about how cool or stupid it looks. There's nothing spectacular about this mask, though. It's a mask. Never let me down. Has held up structurally thus far. It keeps me from going blind well enough. Never had any trouble with the lack of chin protection, but I don't see why there couldn't have been more protection down there. I mean, yeah, the mask has a smaller profile and blah blah blah, but doesn't that mean that a well placed shot would miss the mask and just hit your throat, instead? My biggest complaint is that there ain't a whole lot of ventilation in this thing. It's not the worst, by any means, but you can feel every breath, and running will quickly starve you of oxygen.The ear dials are flat out retarded. . . full blown chest slapping, short bus, 36 IQ, electric wheelchair retarded. Yeah, I don't know what I'd do without those ear dials. I now track down opponents using only my sonar detection abilities. Thanks, JT Proteus! *looks into camera w/ perma-smile & thumbs up*
Conclusion: After being my primary mask for the past 3 years, I'm looking into getting a Flex 7 for the breathability.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tysend Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 2005 ACI Blind Rage
Black Revolution
88/4500 Pure Energy air
Strengths: The lense never ever fogs up, even when you dont have a dual lense in.
Weaknesses: There is no weaknesses
Review: I got this mask from my dad who has about 9 years paintball exsperience and he bought this mask when they just came out so he has used it for a long time. This mask never fogs,it has exellent ventilation, it is fairly easy to hear and it won't break if you take care of it
Conclusion: If you can still find one for sale buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media