paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask

JT Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 171
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in goggle systems, the Spectra Proteus is the newest and hottest system available. The engineered polymer mask features a lower profile, creating a smaller target than any previous system. Uni-body construction, advanced audio capability and fog-resistant performance make this the most advanced system ever.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Echelon Mid Wednesday, December 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7, Brass Eagle Newbie googles (way back when)
Marker Setup: Pshyco Ballistics Lightning Autococker
Eclipse Eblade 2 Trigger Frame
Eclipse Nexus Upgrade Kit
Halo B Loader
Pure Energy 45/3000 Carbon Fiber Nitro Tank
Dye Regulater
Strengths: Great Protection, good deflection, Looks Great!
Weaknesses: Tends to fog on the lower part of the MASK (not lenses) No biggie
Review: I first ordered this mask about 3 years ago....give or take a couple months, and I have not been disappinted. I get have gotten Great deflection with it in the past, and have been incredibly happy with it. Only now has the lense started fogging (it still has the original lense) and that is easily fixed by using some Magic Spray before every GAME. Since it's gone down in price, it's still a great deal, and the looks are great
Conclusion: Buy this mask. It's combination of comfort, durability, price, and deflection make it worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pullethmyfinger Friday, September 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
Raven Nexion
Other non thermals
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
All American back with freak front
Phycoballistics adapter and bullet drop forward with on/off
Strengths: Doesnt fog much
Weaknesses: Its good but u should probaly use a backup if u play for awhile
Review: A good buy its not much $$ anymore
The only thing is if u play for a long time or breath heavily or somthin u would want a backup so it can defog its very small and VERY comforable it wont slide at all
I would recamend it unless u have money for a profiler or invision those mask are unbeatable
Conclusion: A good buy get one its a great back up or starting mask comfy and wont fall or slide
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Superdude169698 Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proteous
Invision
Flex-7
Proflex
Marker Setup: Dust Blue Angel Speed with volumizers, freak barrel, 72/4500 armageddon system, halo B hopper, a-4 bolt.

Dust Grey Ebladed Evolution X cocker with matching freak barrel, silver 68/4500 Maxflo, all top of the line Belsales parts, evolution II with Z-board

Dust Red Shocktech Intimidator with freak barrel. Halo B with Rip drive and Bulldog 68/3000
Strengths: Comfortable
Wide View
Directional listening ear parts
Weaknesses: Fogs because of poor design
Price
Review: This is a nice mask in every aspect besides the construction and design. It fogged everytime I played with it. It fogged on the outside of the lens because the nose piece and lens were not tightly connected, so when I breathed inside the mask the nosepiece would act like a funnel and put all of my breath on the outside of the lens, cause in fogging. I bought two of these masks and both were made like this. Even if I had bought a vortex it still would have fogged because of the poor design.
Conclusion: Don't waste the money, get a proflex or a invision.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aPEXi Thursday, February 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Chipley Series 5 AutoCocker..Eblade, Boomstick barrel <- Dye if you don't know,
Strengths: Good Design, form fitting
Weaknesses: Lens = hard to clean
Review: THe mask is good really nice design to it your also able to put a fan in it.. It really feels good to wear really form fitting. Your able to put a fan on the mask which adds bearly no weight change. the thing about it is if you have the thermal lens on this mask and you mannage to get water between the thermal lens and the other lans its a killer to clean. otherwise the mask is ok fits good looks good and also performs good.
Conclusion: The lens is a killer to clean if you get water between the thermal lens and the regular lens
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

:+:OwnAGE:+: Thursday, January 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-- JT USA Spectra nFORCER - fogs up easily - hard to breath if you run a lot (rush)
Marker Setup: --Spyder Shutter
--16" barrel (Some what accurate)
-- P.L. .688 2 piece (Very accurate)
-- Flame Drop Forward
--Venturi Bolt
-- 3000 PSI, 68ci
-- WGP Orracle autococker (SICK!) - all stock
Strengths: -- Hugs the Head --Small target
-- Easy to Breathe -- Could hear very well
-- Never Fogs
Weaknesses: -- When you yell, your chin sticks out
-- To many holes
Review: Overall if you like being a small target this is the mask for you. You could hear people very well, and hear where the enemy is at (when he/she is shooting). Since it never fogs you could see everything very clear. I use a 32 degree lens cleaner when a paintball hits the lens and it does a very good job. You could run, and run and this mask will never come lose because it hugs your head. It has a lot of cushion in side.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good mask that never fogs and that hugs your head this is the one for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdav Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
invision, relex
Marker Setup: 2002 vertical feed autococker with a gen-x reg, orracle front block, evil pipe barrel, hinge trigger, shocktech supperfly bolt, pmi pure energy 45 4500 nitro tank, cp flame drop forward and tsa halo.
Strengths: small, great range of vision, looks cool
well vented
Weaknesses: little neck protection
Got shot in the chin
Review: I have a reflex and an invision and the proteus is the best mask I have used. Th proteus never fogs even down here in Houston were it gets like 100% humidity. After you start playing you almost think that you don't even have a mask on. Also very well vented. The only bad thing is if you are talking while playing you can shot in the chin. I did!
Conclusion: Just buy the proteus you will not regret it. You will regret buying anything but the proteus
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

monster07 Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT and DYE
Marker Setup: speed Custon products barrel,evolution 2, kapp drop ford,kapp on and off switch,bulldog air tank.
Strengths: stickes to you
Weaknesses: nothing yet
Review: THis is my favoret mask. i dont remeber what i had before but it was jt. i like them bc it never moves around it just sites there. the ear piece are great.If you are plaling front you jest move them to the back. if are back then move then to the front. i love these things i cant think of using any other cind of mask. if i could pick one kind of mask this is what it would be.
Conclusion: This mask never moves and stickes so you slide and run as hard as you can.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aeris_W Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
An Old Scott mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, Flatline,CAR stock, 32 Degrees coiled remote
Extreme rage 4+1 with 20oz. tank
JT Spectra Proteus (clear)
Strengths: Small target, fits your face well, good visibility, Doesn't fog, good audio
Weaknesses: see review
Review: This is a great mask. I have used it in the on a cold day with snow on the ground and in the extreme heat here in New Mexico and it never fogged on me, and I ware glasses! It almost feels like its going to fall off your face, but it never goes anywhere even when goggled at close range. Its really comfy and gives you a great "all around" viewing range. The advanced audio thing they talk about works pretty well I think, but that might just be me. The only complaint that I have is the small fear of taking a hit to the chin when shouting to teammates. The edge of the mask follows my jaw line so your neck might be a bit exposed.
Conclusion: A darn good mask that I am very happy with! I would recommend it to anybody!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stunner316DX Sunday, June 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, psycho balistics double trigger, CP chrome 2" drop forward, warped sports dark 2002 on/off switch, ricochet 2k hopper
Strengths: comfort, durability looks
Weaknesses: none
Review: this mask is phenominal. I started out with a Skull mask, that was comfortable, then went to a JT Nvision, and didnt like that one. Traded in the Nvision, and picked up the proteus. It is the most comfortable mask I have worn so far, and the looks are really cool!
Conclusion: I would recommend this product for anyone looking for a comfortable/stylish mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

el chango negro Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: e-99 with a 12v revvy, 14" boomstick, check-it drop forward, rcheck-it regulator, and check-it blade trigger. and lots of skills...
Strengths: -Cleans easy
-very comfortable
-good sight range
-good lookin...
Weaknesses: -my thermal lens fell apart. Details below...
- thats it...
Review: GOOD----
-Relatively easy to clean
-VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, and I do mean VERY comfortable. Feels like a pillow on your head.
-relatively large sight range
-looks really cool...
BAD----
-the only problem I have had with it was the thermal lens. on one of the sides the thermal lens started to peal from the main lens. So when i rinsed it, water would get in-between the lenses and it would fog like crazy. And you cant get it to go away on the field.
-not much throat protection, but who likes that.

The stuff above tells you what I think, and I think that the good outweighs the bad.
Conclusion: I think it is the best mask on the market today. Except for maybe the Invision. Pheonominal mask, the price has come down significantly, so its affordable. And i think that the lens problem was an oddity.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media