paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask

JT Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 171
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in goggle systems, the Spectra Proteus is the newest and hottest system available. The engineered polymer mask features a lower profile, creating a smaller target than any previous system. Uni-body construction, advanced audio capability and fog-resistant performance make this the most advanced system ever.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
FaTaL007 Saturday, May 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision
flex 7
Marker Setup: -black..dragun
-68cu-4500psi
-12v. revvy (smoke)
-smart parts--teardrop
-sweet spot trigger
-delrin bolt
-15 degree assault block kit
-shocktech spring kit
Strengths: -doesnt fog
-very small profile
-very good
Weaknesses: -fogs ur first game but after its ok
Review: =this mask is good andf i like it alot. when u are wearin it, u dont feel like u have a mask on bcuz it is very light and has a good vision. the lower flex part of the mask is cool cuz it can bounce balls and is very meneuverable. keeps u cool durin long hot games
Conclusion: get this mask cuz it is good or you can try a DYE invision.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psycho98custom Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
some cheap jt
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
Dye Ultralite 14 inch barrel
gta inline ex. chamber
psycho ball. drop forward
32 deg. psi guage
2 20oz. co2 tanks
Strengths: it contours to your face, low profile, never fogs
Weaknesses: dosent cover neck well but thats what you get for low profile.
Review: i love this mask and i have a fan on it which helps with fogging
this mask is quite small so if you head is (>-<) huge i wouldent advise it
looks badass
the only problem with the fan is you cant hear much going on around you
great wiew of the field with 260 deg view
bottom is made os soft rubber so real goos chance for deflection (and that means no paint to be eatten )

Its main compeditor is the Dye InVision <---- i tested it and got shot in the mouth of all places and if felt like i ate a gallon of paint but it does have its advantages lke the proteus and it pretty mch an even race so its really your brand prefrence and pricing is about the same on both
Conclusion: this mask deserves a 9.9 but tn is closer
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolfedge Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt flex 7 (not thermal)
brass eagle
Marker Setup: 2003 Black Dragun
All American Barrel
Delrin bolt
32 Degrees Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Zero fog
Weaknesses: small chin coverage
Review: ONE WORD AWESOME,MINE HAS THE VORTEX FAN (COMPLETLY NOT NEEDED) MINE HAS FOGGED UP ON ME ONE TIME. IT WAS POURING THE SNOW AND ABOUT 32 DEGREES OUTSIDE.EXTREMELY GOOD FIT NOT UNCOMFORTABLE AT ALL. OVERALL I WOULD BUY IT AGAIN. I WOULD SHOP AROUND BEFORE I WOULD BUY BECAUSE THE PRICE I GAVE FOR MINE WAS OUTRAGEOUS CONSIDERING WHAT YOU CAN BUY THEM FOR KNOW.
Conclusion: GREAT GOGGLE SYSTEM ! IT DOES BAFFLE THE SOUND OF YOUR BREATHING. AGAIN ZERO FOG . THE CHIN IS A LITTLE SMALL I AM 6 2 AND 200 LBS. GREAT VALUE FOR UNDER 60 BUCKS!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Woozer Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nForcer
JT nVader
Scott Hot Shot
BE 280*
Dye Invisions
Raven Nuvius
32* Headcase
Marker Setup: Red Gloss Nasty Impulse
-Full Freak
-Vision
-68/4500 Maxy
-NDZ No-rize feed tube
-12 VOlt Revvie
Strengths: Low profile, looks good, comfertable, has a rubber lower part, and has Spectra Lenses.
Weaknesses: Small, if you have a big ole' melon head, this is not for you.
Review: Sweet mask, it's comfortable , has the little swivel (multi-directional) ear peices, rubber lower half, looks pretty sweet, has Spectra lenses (best lenses on the market IMO), Over all a great mask.

The things I don't like are, it takes some major effort to get the lenses out, small, so if you have a large head, either buy a different mask or be prepared to get shot in te mouth, no neck protection, but I actually like haveing my neck open like that.

Overall, great, but I'd definitly take the Invisions over these, the invisions have a better foam, better ventalatin, and sleeker design. But some people are JT Loyalists, and if you are, this is the mask for you man.
Conclusion: Over all...good, comfy, good looks, good ventalation, rubber lower half, and multi-directional ear peices.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Devs Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray, Mirror Morph, Raven NVX, Dye Invision, JT Flex 7, nVader, and nForcer
Marker Setup: Vert 2K2 WGP Autococker (Green)
WGP Hinge (black)
Shocktech FGP (chrome)
WGP STO Ram (chrome)
WGP CT 3-Way (chrome)
Palmer Stab Reg (chrome)
Shocktech Rat 3:16 Valve
Kapp Cocking Rod (Green)
Kapp Beavertail (Green)
Shocktech Supafly (Black)
CP Flame Drop w/ Kapp On/Off (both green)
Strengths: Most comfortable mask I've ever worn.
Weaknesses: Spectra lense is a pain to remove...
Review: The single body construction of the mask makes it much more durable than the flex 7. Less pieces to have something go wrong.
The mask comes in against the back of your head for like the first week of use until the plastic is bent a little from wear. That was the only uncomfortable thing about it.
The silicone beaded strap holds put well.
The sound baffels dont' really seem to do a whole heck of a lot, but they did keep paint from spraying up on the side of my head.
The spinny directional ear things dont' do much either... But thats okay. They take hits well, and don't break!
I personally prefer the small profile of the mask. I like that it fits really closely to my skin. But some newer players may want a fuller coverage mask.
Conclusion: Overall, best mask I've ever worn. Second place has to go to the NVX, but thats just personal preference. WIth a vortex fan, the Proteus is the best mask out there. I can't wait to try JT's new mask! Get this mask, its cheap now (around 50). GET IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

normmclean Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nforcer thermal, Dye Invision
Marker Setup: 03 Matrix LED dye hyper inline, Dye rocket LPR,dye grip backplate, TMC black bolt kit
88cu4500psi pure energy,14"boomstick
Strengths: mask is by far best looking on the market
Weaknesses: thermal lens not effective
Review: I have had my proteus for a little less than a year and it does its job in most cases for speed ball and hyper ball works fine. very comfortable mask and nice and compact but not very much room between mask and mouth and not enough ventilation to compensate. works fine half of the year but just used it this weekend with some typical St. louis humidity and I had to call my self out of half of the games I played. I just switched to a dye invision which is not better but different invision has a lower mouth guard that come way out and has more than enough venting in the front but if you do get poped in the mouth you will be eating paint.
Conclusion: proteus is a very comfortable and sleek looking mask but I found it to be lacking enough ventilation.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aYaLpRoJaM Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex ize7
Marker Setup: Eclipse Impulse
Full freak
Maxflo.. normal stuff
Strengths: Looks
Vision
Weaknesses: Hits face
Hearing
Speaking
Review: Advantages
when they say this mask is like a helmet, they mean it, its like putting on a freeking halloween mask is what id describe it to, but its awsome, i can see better than any other mask that ive ever tried..


Disadvantages
it DOES hit your chin every time u talk, im a front player and not a very talkative one at that so it doesnt bother me as much
As far as the ear peices, they havnt helped me hear anything anymore than any other mask so just more selling promo to get u to buy it..
only thing i dont like about it persnally i think it sits real high on my head.. i feel like my whole neck is bare which it kinda is.. but thats the only thing i dont like about it, but it looks beast
Conclusion: very good mask id recommend it for anyone over ANY mask...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Acidspitter Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most all other Jt masks
Marker Setup: Dye izone red dot system, Electric agitating hopper up to 11 bps, 20 oz co2 with 9 0z backup tank, 12" stock barrel, 14" freak barrel, but plate, slip covers for hopper and gun to match my guilly suit, (which i made myself).
Strengths: Everything cant find a darn thing wrong with it
Weaknesses: none the mask works great
Review: This mask is great. Not much more to say, and yes it works for playing in the woods to, i made slip covers for it to match my guilly suit and its low profile helps make me nearly invisible.

The mask is not expensive if you know where to look for it, i got mine on sale. oh yeah, and the fact that people say you chin is to exposed, theyre prolly just fat and have 2 chins, cause mines fine.
Conclusion: I got my mask for 80 bucks on sale, branned new. so just search around and you wont have to worry about price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Turambar Sunday, March 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7, JT X-Fire
Marker Setup: M98, 14" J&J Ceramic, Double Trigger, Extreme Rage Stickies, 12v Revy, Lapco Drop
Strengths: Comfortable, doesn't fog, small profile
Weaknesses: The lense takes time to clean
Review: This is the best mask I have personally ever used. It fits my face perfectly, has not fogged up once in 6 months of using it, and is very comfortable. The only flaw that I could find in the Proteus is the fact that the lense is so hard to take out and put back in. Although with practice it will take less and less time to do this.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to everyone that can afford it. As long as you have a smaller head, this mask is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cocker kid 2k2 Saturday, March 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision. Both perform awesome, its a hard choice on which is better, but I would say the invision because its a tad bit smaller.
Marker Setup: Smart parts basic impulse s/n 17830
Vert reg
Tapeworm
Strengths: Fairly cheap, and VERY small.
Weaknesses: Nothing much really.
Review: These goggles are great, they are nice and tiny to cut back on the times you will get shot in the goggles, jt really cut down on this and took off any unnecessary part just so you could get one of the most compact goggle systems around, they fit great wont slip and look awesome too. Great goggles for the money, they just may be a bit too small for people who have big heads, but thats why we have the flex.
Conclusion: Awesome goggles, if you buy them you deffinatly wont regret them, I know I love my friends, the only goggles I would ever buy over these is the dye invision.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media