paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Ludicrous Thursday, September 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years37 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tracer, Maveric, Hornet, Phantom
Marker Setup: Sheridan PGP with, PMI Battle Grip (Pistol Grip), Nasty Pump (Pump Handle), E-Z Pull Bolt, Constant Air Setup with a Velocity Adjuster, and a Hi-Viz Sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Velocity Adjuster (or you could chop and shim your spring, but I don't like doing that)
-Either a quick change CO2 plug, or constant Air system (I love my C/A)
-Bolt (either get an E-Z Pull Bolt, or cut/remove the spring in the original bolt)
Strengths: -Price, less then $100
-Durability, Solid metal never breaks
-Size, 12 x 6
-Simple design
Weaknesses: -Weighs as much as any other marker
-Customizing, you have to order/do your own
Review: The PGP will outlast any other marker you could buy with virtually no upkeep required, even if you are a mud crawling, river swiming, tree climbing, beach playing, paintballer.

Easy to customize yourself. Espeicaly if you have access to a metal shop (check any local high school). If you don't like the "rock and cock" loading method, just add a spring to the ammo tube. Want to see how many paintballs you have in it, drill a couple of holes. Easier cocking, only one spring to modify. Velocity adjustment, only one spring to cut/shim. You could even add a hopper with a little work. Then theres still pistol grips, pump handles, sites, speed loaders...ect

Range and accuracy. I can hit a person at about 125 feet with a PGP (at 280fps, most feilds only let you play at 230-300fps). Most markers out there only claim an accuracy of 150 feet, and those things are double the length of the PGP. A custom barrle alone is atleast as long if not longer then a PGP.

If you use your PGP alot, like me, buy a constant air setup, or make your own out of one of the old 12 grams you got. I get 30-40 accurate shots out of a 12 gram, although one 12 gram every 30 shots doesn't sound bad, the price really does add up. A C/A will save you money, plus its more fun not having to worry about running out of air. You can pick up a 4oz tank that will add virtully no size/weight to your marker and you'll get 200 plus shots from it.

The looks. Only true paintballers recognize the PGP when you walk on the field. New guys just look and go "Cool, but I can beat that with my semi no problem, hahaha", how little they know. The true paintballers will generaly admire your PGP (even the high grade/priced marker owners), and know that you'll be a force to reckon with, don't get me wrong, they won't be scared of you, but they'll respect you, or atleast notice you. The PGP teaches you to use skill, and to only shot when you can get a kill. The PGP player learns to be the one hiding in unexpected spots, and knows when to fire and when to bide his time, and this is what unerves your high priced opponents, and makes it all the more fun. There is nothing more a an Angel owner fears more then being marked by a PGP.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone. It's cheap, reliable, and fun. Even if you don't want to use it as a Primary (like I do), it's a great side arm/back up. It's also great as a loner, because your friends will have fun with it, and you don't have to worry about it being broken. I'd give the PGP a 9.5 but since you can't give halfs, it gets a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 11th, 2003 at 4:21 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Stavesacre21 Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme
PT Enforcer
Marker Setup: Stock Class PGP (Got sick of the whole Semi world)
Used to use a Tricked out Tippman Pro/Carbine
Recommended
Upgrades:
Velocity Adaptor
Quick Changer Adaptor
REGULAR OILING of internals
Lightened Cocking Bolt mod (personal mod)
Strengths: -CO2 usage! I get an average of 30-35 shots outta a 12g!
-Accuracy - more then likely this gun is MORE accurate then my Pro/Carb was
-Feel - Has a great feel for a stock grip
-Look - Could almost pass for a real gun with the magzine being a scope
-VERY VERY durable - hard to come by now days, but YES, I would bet you that
you could NOT break this gun if you tried.
-Price - Cost less then a box of paint! How could you go wrong?!?!
Weaknesses: -Cleaning the barrel - I must admit that when you do get a ball break (few and
far between), it sucks that you have to sit down at a table to clean the barrel.
-Weight - Some people would call this bad, but truthfully, I think it is a decent
weight for such a gun as this. The weight gives it a sturdy feeling, plus, it is
very well balanced, so you don't really notice the weight
-Undercoated barrel - I'm not sure if I just got a gun that was at the end of the
assembly line or something, but in less then a day, the inside of the barrel
turned from sleek black to rusty stain. Still very smooth and polished, but
no longer black.
-Tough to Cock - this really only depends on how long you have used it. You
get used to it very shortly, and all you have to do to lighten the cocking
pressure (as opposed to paying $30 for an aftermarket bolt) is take out the
bolt, take out the spring that goes between the 2 steel balls, and very slowly
take off more and more of the spring until it is the perfect cocking pressure
without much resistance (that is my personal Cocking Bolt mod)
Conclusion: Even thought it might seem that there are just as many bad's as there are good, this gun still kicks butt. Basically, all the bad except weight can be changed, so there really isn't much to complain about. Straight outta the box, this gun rox! Once you own it, you'll see why people have been trusting their PGP's for over 15 years now!

If you are looking for a pump (at all), I would DEFINATLY recommend the PGP!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ibram_gaunt Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Armotech Zeus G2 - the grip and trigger guard on the G2 felt nicer then the PGP
Marker Setup: Armotech Zeus G2 (standard stock config)
That's it, that's my main marker, pistolier all the way!
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no manufacturer standard upgrades for the PGP to the best of my knowledge. But many other reviewers have plenty of recommended upgrades as is.
Strengths: - Feels very nice to use
- Accurate
- Just about indestructible
- Excellent CO2 efficiency (40 per 12g)
Weaknesses: - Extremely slow ROF
- Chrono'ing can be a pain
- Definitely NOT for the beginner
Review: If you have never used a pistol before. You'll immediately notice two things about the PGP.

Number 1 - You can move and shot extremely well with the PGP. Even when compared to a speedball style setup, there's just no way to match the agility you have with a PGP or any other pistol

Number 2 - More specific to the PGP, the pump and shot action is not nearly as bad as you'd think. Because you know every shot counts, you'll naturally learn very fast to aim quickly and repump the gun immediately after a shot.

Maintenance of the pump is extremely simple. Just clean the barrel itself, and maybe take the spring out if you know you won't be playing again for a while. Other then that, you can literally drop this thing on the floor multiple times, and the tough little bugger will still shot clean and straight every time!

Addtional Comments Added July 7, 2005

I have seen this in the forums multiple times, and it is truly infuriating. Pistols are NOT inherently inaccurate. Anybody with the slightest background knowledge or hands-on experience with real life firearms will tell you that!

If you're going to try to be an arrogant moron in saying that pistols are not accurate. YOU try firing an Angel or an Impulse using only one hand.

When you steady your aim with both hands, and use good marksmanship practices, the PB pistol is every bit as accurate as a semi-marker.

Both pistols and semi-auto markers fire their paintball ammunition at the same 220-250 fps velocity, both therefore have the same range. You can argue about bore-size and paint quality and everything else all you like, but unless you deliberately alter the velocity of your marker, you'll always get the same 100'ish feet range.

Give the PGP a try, if you're any good, you'll love it!!!!
Conclusion: The PGP is a ton of fun to play. When you walk into a field with a PGP, most custom uber upgraded gun players will laugh at you; but the refs know better that you're the dangerous one. Even if you get hit six times and score only one kill, you get plenty of kudos just for playing with a PGP.

Just know well ahead that you WILL get shot a lot if you're up against a bunch of semi's.

If you're lucky enough to have a designated Pistolier's Night at your favourite paintball field, you are sooo in for a great time!

For anyone that loves the rush of beating the odds as the underdog; and for any jaded pro-baller who wants something inexpensive, this is THE gun to get!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 11:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Curben Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon
A few whose names i dont remember
Marker Setup: PGP - Speedloader, Site Rail, Quick Change co2 knob, Laser, Velocity adjuster
98c basic with random accessories
X7 with Laser sight, Tac Light, Sling, Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick Chage co2, Velocity Adjuster, Speedloader. Maintenence: Polish the internals
Strengths: Its a tank, reliable, accurate, durable, good on co2
Weaknesses: Loading Method, Tough Pull
Review: This is the Paintball Marker I cut my Teeth on. It was used as a rental by a local feild for stock games, and even the beat up rentrals still performed beautifully compared to some other brands that showed up. Even after 10-15 years, many of their rentals were still in service. If you have one of your own and are taking care of it, It may very well last a lifetime. If your not taking care of it, Well you can pretty much run it under a hose and dry it off and it will still last for years.

I will say I am familiar with other sheridan products, and this one is as strong and well made as any of the others. It functions the same time and time again, can be used as a hammer, slid through the mod and still fire. If you break a ball in the barrel, or accidentally load more then one ball, you can shoot through it. I have even seen this piece fire balls from the ground, warped dirty and nasty. While not reccomended, it can take the abuse.

My setup cost me $120. I found the marker via some ebay hunting for $60, and got the rest of the mods for it for another $60.

Speedloader is a must, The current cap . . . well i dont even remember it, other reports talk about losing it, and i never planned to not go with a speedloader so, I saw it when i got it in the box and that was the last i saw of it. :) Speedloader can also at least double your capacity. Jam a 10 round tube in the back after loading ten and you are holding your 20 rounds which is good for a co2 12gram. However this marker will be able to get at time 40 rnds off of a co2, i often pushed it to 30rnds.

I added a site rail only for the option of a pointsite or laser, The sites are mostly useless, while they will be accurate, most players site down the side of the barrel and the magazine chamber. However with a little practice aiming can be a bit more second nature.

Another higly recommended upgrade is a quick change co2 knob, which i belive is available from madcustoms. Instead of taking 22 twists to remove the co2 cap, it takes three. The Only issue with the quick change is it adds significant length, I personally dont mind.

The only real issue of this gun that isnt as common with other pumps I have played with is the hard pull. While it will eventually wear down, it will still be quite stiff. I assume this is a side effect of the durability. Regardless, Polishing the internals can help with this, but it is not the most simple disassembly with a few flying parts if your not careful.
Conclusion: For being what it is, stock class pump. I give it a 10 in its category. I even carry it with on the feild as a backup sidearm to this day. While out of the box it could use a few mods, It is not unique to this marker, and some will not even accept the mods at all. The stiff pump can still be worked with and the issues with disassembly may never come up as its not really needed. Plus the fact that that you can frame a house using this as a hammer and still go play a game leads me to believe it is worth a high recomendation for the price you pay. If You want a stock class pump, or even a pump sidearm in general, This may very well be the marker for you.

Note:This review pertains the the pgp1, the pgp2 I have tested and while most stands the 2 has more plastic and isnt quite as durable with some of the same issues though a very hardy marker worthy of an 8-9.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MathU41 Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon (el mucho cheapo)
PT Pro (semi-auto. Not nearly as efficient.)
Marker Setup: Sheridan PGP - polished, clipped bolt spring, custom grip adapter, Evil grip, Palmer Pursuit FasstChange, eye bolt in loader plug.
Tippman A5 - Flatline/3A KO kit, WGP Ergo regulator
CCI Phantom - black body, stock green barrel, right-feed, rear bottle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fasst Change - Only Palmer makes them any more, that I know of. There's a BIG difference between 6 or more turns to release a 12-gram when it's empty, to the Fasst Change's 1.5 or two, whenever you need.

Clip bolt spring - lightens the pull. Clip it too far, and you'll have to hold the pump forward to keep the bolt from sliding back.

trigger shoe - The trigger's not bad once you're used to it, but a trigger shoe makes it more comfortable.

loader cap mod - There's a little hole in the rear loader cap. Just screw an eye bolt in it. This makes it a lot easier to grab and pull out. Mine has a wrist key holder (a plastic string coil) on it, and bolted to the rear grip frame bolt on the other end, so I don't drop or lose it.

polish internals - Not necessary, but nice. Just makes it a little smoother and more efficient, but it's built well enough not to need it.

Velocity adjuster - Just plain nice to have.

Whatever personal mods - they're not hard to do to a PGP. I made an adapter from some 1/8" Lexan and a dowel split down the middle to fit standard .45 grips on it. Had to get used to a slightly different angle, but it's VERY comfortable now. I also stripped the black paint off (was peeling off anyway. Bought it used) and polished the brass to a mirror shine. Not the easiest thing to hide in the woods, but it grabs attention. It's not too hard to find sight rails for it, or attach a fiber-optic set, or whatever.
Strengths: -accuracy
-durable
-light
-small
-stock class (to the letter)
-durable
-uncommon
-I mentioned durable?
Weaknesses: -no rear sights
-changing Co2
-stock class
-pump's kinda stiff
-dropping loader cap
Review: The Good;
Accurate: This thing shoots exactly where you point it. The hard part's actually pointing where you want.

Durable: Mine's a decade old.

Light: It's three brass tubes, a valve, and a trigger. There's not much weight there. Even playing with my A5, I keep it holstered at my side.

Small: again, it's three brass tubes and a trigger. Even the pump doesn't extend past the bottom tube. For a comparison, take the hopper, barrel, and tank off a Spyder. Then whatever drops, regulators, or gas-throughs you may have. Even then, it's still an inch shorter at the front.

Stock Class: to the LETTER. Ten-rounds, 12-gram, fixed barrel, no auto trigger. If you want to play stock class, and you're obsessive-compulsive about the rules, this is probably the ONLY marker that you'll ever see that holds to them.

Durable: I've dropped mine. A lot. And it still works great.

Uncommon: Only the older guys at my field even know what it is, let alone know how to use it. The younger guys are always asking about it, and I have to explain that no, I didn't forget to attach the air. No, I didn't forget the hopper. No, I didn't forget the barrel. No, it won't overpower the Impulse your daddy bought you. Yes, I was the one that left a nice orange smear on your Halo.

Have I mentioned Durable yet? Dropping it, crawling with it on the ground, whacking it into trees, diving with it in my holster, literally burying it unexpectedly in the sand--and it still refuses to die. Just shake the sand out and re-oil it after the game. I would stake a year's pay that I could leave this thing in the road at a truck stop for a week, pick it up, and it would shoot.

The Bad;
No rear sights: The front ball-on-a-stick is nice and all, but you really have to get used to it without rear sights to square it up in.

Tough to change Co2's: it takes about a dozen turns to get the Co2 out, and forget about it if there's any pressure at all left in it. Just drop the $20 for a Fasst Change, and you'll love the marker again.

Stock class: Great bragging rights when you sneak up on someone and take them out. Bad luck when a small group sneaks up on you. Or during capture and defend games, where you have to pause every ten shots. Taking your few seconds to reload WILL get you flanked when you're playing against semi's.

Pump's a little stiff: Nothing too bad, just like a two-stage click back. Cutting the spring helps, but it's still not as nice as my Phantom.

Loader cap's easily dropped: Eh. Just keep an eye on it. Put an eye screw in it and tie it to the rear grip frame bolt. That will save you a lot of headaches when reloading.

Out of production: You'll have to go through a custom manufacturer (at least Palmer, that I know of) to get parts.

The Ugly:
Yes, ugly. The gun's a little stubby, and the paint around the grip wears off. AFter a few times playing with mine in the rain, the paint started bubbling (I'm abusive) and left it all splotchy. That made the younger crowd underestimate me, but the older guys tended to gang up on me. Just get a Dremel at it, or get some really tough paint at it (Duracote's nice). This thing is BEAUTIFUL polished to a mirror shine.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a stock-class marker, or simply want a backup that won't go down on you, this is your marker. If you're looking for a pump and have some money to toss, go for a Phantom, but this is a second choice. Even with my Phantom, I don't intend to retire the trusty old PGP. Make a cheap ghillie suit, pull out the PGP, and you can get places no one would expect. Or just play with it, and compensate for the stock-class play; it WILL make you a better player.

10 for craftsmanship. Built solid. It's a little brass Volvo.
8 for playability, on today's field. Stock class is good, but the sights, loading cap, and Co2 cap could be better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nel-Spot 007, Splatmaster, other pistols and pumps
Marker Setup: The PGP has a cooper-t bolt, velocity adjuster, PMI rubber grips, a glue on sight rail, lightened hammer, and a lanyard to the feed plug.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A sight rail/rear sight
cooper-t speed demon bolt
velocity adjuster
ca upgrades and other gizmos are available from cooper-t
lightened hammer
a holster
Strengths: Its small and Extremely reliable.
Weaknesses: Short range.
Review: The PGP was my first paintball marker and I still have it today. There's nothing like hearing the "boont" sound it makes when firing - It's pretty quiet. The small magazine and stock class feed make it harder to use in these days of speedball fields. Its a little harder to play stock against semi's in any kind of closed environment these days but you can have some fun if you can close the shooting distance to your opponent unseen.

The PGP II has more features that you would have to buy as upgrades for the PGP. The factory oversprays the inside of the front part of the barrel which can cause some shooting problems - polish it out.
If you like the idea of playing stock this isn't a bad way to get into stock class at a low price. The PGP II though does offer more features though but if plastic isn't your bag then the original rugged PGP is the way to go. These markers are very reliable. All I've dont to my 93 model is lube it and change the bolt o-rings. Chances are even if you pick up an older model from the late 80's it'll still be working.

The cooper-t delrin speed demon bolt makes the marker 100% better to pump. If you don't get one you can trim the bolt detent spring to make it easier to pump.

A velocity adjuster is also one thing you can't live without although you can easily shim the hammer spring with washers to bring the velocity up on cold days.

I put a shoe string through the centre of the feed plug and ran it between the grip frame and body so I wouldn't lose the plug.

A sight rail allows you to put on a red dot site. The PGP used to have a rear sight which means you have to tilt up the marker slightly to aim it properly.

If you can find and install a lighter hammer the number of shots will go up dramatically, doubling. A friend and I found that we got over 60 shots after installing lightened hammers.
Conclusion: A good solid reliable marker well worth purchasing. Upgrades improve performance considerably but are harder to find. The PGP II has many good features and is worth a look but I like my original because of the plastic used on the PGP II.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HotelSecurity Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007, National Survival Games Splatmaster, CCI Phantom.
Marker Setup: PGP marker is not mine, though I use it extensively. It has new grips, ball count windows, a string to hold the back of the top loading tube, and some other home jobs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing! You can get the barrel polished, but this gun is good to go out of the box. A new pump can help grip during rain/snow.
Strengths: -Cheap
-Accurate
-Extremely durable
-Spare parts still made
Weaknesses: -Range
-Heavy (Doesn't bother me...)
Review: The Sheridan PGP is a real classic. Despite the fact that Sheridan just stopped producing the PGP series, PGPs are all over the fields of America as sidearms and stockguns. The PGP is the best way to get into stock class or pump play, and makes a great backup for military style play or scenario games. Its also great for training on to acquire skills you can use on your main gun.

Constructed mostly of brass, the PGP is one solid gun. A true stock gun (rock n' cock), it has a capacity of about 10 rounds in the upper magazine tube, with one in the chamber. The pump on the one I use is a little hard, but nothing unmanagable. The characteristic "FOOMP!" of a PGP going off is enough to get anyone's attention. While the gun may sound and appear weak, it gets plenty of range off a 12 gram. While the reach of the gun is equal to "normal" markers, the length of the barrel limits the effective range of the gun. I'd say you could get accurate shots from about 20 meters away, having to start "lobbing" balls to reach 30, and anything beyond that is a fry cry in hell.

The stacked three tube design is great. Unlike semi automatic pistols, like the PT Extreme and Delta 68, the PGP usually isn't being "rapid fired" and so it gets some more shots off a 12 gram. I'd say you could get around 35 good shots, with a few weaker shots afterward off a 12 gram cartridge. While constant air is available, most PGPs I've seen are left stock class.

The main strength of the gun is the durability and price. This is the sort of gun you can really give a beating and have it still work. While many older pumps like the PGP are out of production and have a rapidly drying resevoir of spare parts, the PGP has many upgrades available. While Sheridan has stopped production, a new company is said to have bought the PGP for production. Thus, parts shouldn't be a problem....if you break the PGP in the first place. Hard brass does not crack or warp like the plastic on a Brass Eagle pump has the potential of doing. I've dropped this gun in the dirt, dragged it through the snow, and landed on it - it still performs great.

The PGP is nice and compact. You won't ever feel exposed in a bunker with this thing, because you can tuck as much as possible into your bunker. Its small enough to be holstered or put into a pocket.

So why buy it? Well its cheap. The PGP (not the PGP2) is mostly sold used on paintball forums for around 50 - 70 dollars shipped. Its a perfect opportunity to get a great pumpgun that isn't a Brass Eagle. It also helps hone in some great skills. Its the end of the day, and there's only about 5 games left to be played before the field closes up. You feel behind you for a full pod, but you're all out. You only have half a hopper left. Usually this is where people light up the nearest bunker and leave for the day. With the PGP you'll have enough to get in those final games, practice communication, snapshooting, and have a good time. And should your main gun ever break and need fixing, you won't get stranded at the field without a marker!
Conclusion: Great gun. Accurate, cheap in price, very high quality. Upgradable and parts readily accessible. Perfect stock gun for beginners and pros alike - also great for new collectors trying to get ahold of an old gun for cheap. Pick one of these up, feel the solid construction, load up a 12 gram and go bunker someone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mavalon Tuesday, February 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreame - Faster rate of fire but with a ten round ammo tube I'm not sure if that is a good thing. This one leaked so bad that it emptied a 9oz in 20 minutes. (from what I've read that is not uncommon with PT Xtreames)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with polished internals, response trigger, cyclone hopper, and apex barrel. Or a Sheridan P-68 AT
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polishing the bolt and barrel
Strengths: Extreamly reliable
Decent accuracy
It is small
Mine is over 18 years old(no joke)
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire
Hates the cold
Review: I got this gun of a friend for $60. He said that he had only used it once or twice and that it had sat in his closet for several years. Mine had origionally come in a set with a P-68 and the tank with them was from 92. When I first shot it I had some problems with the cup seal but it was nothing that a bit of oil couldn't fix. The pump action was extreamly difficult, but If you polish the barrel and the bolt you shouldn't have any more trouble. My bigest complant is that when the gun was manufactured a lot of paint got into the barrel which really messes up your accuracy and made the gun hard to pump. Like I said before though if you polish it it eliminates the problems. Because the gun uses 12 gram co2 cartridges it hates the cold and usually fires about 80 fps less if it is 20 degrees out. (where I live if I don't play when its cold out then I might as well not play at all)
Conclusion: On the whole this is a great gun for stock players and also makes a good side arm. Because it is made almost exclusivly out of brass the thing is almost indestructible and because of its age it is kind of rare. If you get a chance buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

3022 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ZGP-94 (Czech PGP clone), P68SC (Long-barreled PGP with other bolt), PGP-2001
Marker Setup: Old style PGP (many), ZGP-94 (two), PGP-2001, Sterling Bronze (three), P68SC, AGD MiniMag, AGD Automag, Kingmann New Hammer, Spyder Compact (two), Crosmann 3357 Spotmarker
Recommended
Upgrades:
No one really need for good play, but you can do lot for it:

Locking of grips together with black electrician tape
Locking feed tube cap (there's a little hole in) to pump rod with whipcord
Polished internals & barrel honing
New bolt (similar to Speed Daemon Bolt)
Wedgits
Little Valve work (for better air flow) or brand new custom (late autococker style) valve body
Lightened stock hammer (from stock 43g you can go to 15g) and new valve/hammer spring
Instant pierce, new valve pin and Back Flow valve
Oversized CO2 change knob or 3,5oz C/A or remote or integral refilable tank instead 12g
Rear cap velocity adjuster
New pump handle (Cooper T nasty pump, or better own custom PTFE pump handle)
Holster & ten round SC tubes
Tritium tree dot adjustable sights?
Small red dot?
Strengths: Cheap
Small & compact
Very well made and durable
Good accuracy & range
Good CO2 efficency
Weaknesses: No ball detent
Small magazine & Powerlets
Cleaning take lot time
Non-removable barrel
Plastic grips
Review: If you like a challenge, then THIS is the marker for you. It's limited in range and firepower (like everyone pistol), but surprisingly accurate, and its size and robustness make it perfect for running, jumping, dodging, sliding, climbing, snapshooting or anything that you need to do in game to get your oponent.

Maybe this is not the type of gun what you want if you charge into the front line, but it's a good fun/learning gun. Great for someone who wants to learn how to play better. The perfect weapon for close range stealth kill. The slower rate of fire and limited ammo will teach you many lessons on the battlefield. With PGP you can't simply stand up and shoot. You will have to learn how to stalk your prey, use cover and obstances, remaining hidden untill they make a mistake and give you a chance for one accurate shot. It's not a tourney gun, but in the hands of experienced player it can waste anyone with any gun.

If you are big or fat, P68SC is a better choice for you - it has better long-range capabilities. But if you are small and quick, get a PGP and you will be able to get to places where no one would expect. You were not permanent winner, but respected player for others and the most feared for the electros owners on the field. As many before says, this thing really makes you better player.

With fresh CO2 you have in PGP a pocket sniper gun. With experience, you have submachine gun. In close quarters you have the best gun. You need a lot of practice to effectively use this thing (rock n' cock, lobbing balls, limited paint and gas), but then... it is small, shoots straight and far (for pistol), and with the adrenaline rush during a firefight you can get upon to 2 aimed shots per second. Not bad for a cheap, small, simple and old stock class marker. To be perfect, it need some tinkering work (see above), but even out of the box it is damn good... and after a tune-up it's really deadly. So, as novice, you can easily afford this gun for fun and not very expensive play and later on, you can customize it (the most important upgrades can be done by yourself - they cost nothing) and stay with it - this is the only pistol you will ever need.

Heavily customized Sterling is a better semi-killer, too, but a lot more expensive and big. This gun shoots good and is cheap, durable, small. With this gun you can not just pray and spray, but in large opened areas with cover and hides, as in close quarters, a skilled player who knows its limitation is easy able to compete with semis.

There are two variants of "snub-nosed" PGP - one (pre '96) with old style valve and second (post '96) with new "carriage valve". The new valve has only one opening on diameter (what is a lot better for efficiency) and needs not special tools to be removed. The old style valve can be removed only with special Sheridan valve tool (5/16 inch key), and his valve body with four openings and channel on the diameter is not so efficient, but he has little better potential for performance tuning (central diameter in the valve body can be little larger here). I like the old style valve better, because they allow more alterations, but on other side, I think that the new style valve was good improvement because the marker in stock condition is more efficient with them and his manufacturing is easier (not so much work with the bottom pipe and with mounting) that the old style.



The main weakness of this gun is it's small magazine and powerlets... Its Stock class, sure. The magazine is small, since the entire gun is small. 12g have limited capacity and are expensive. On the other side, the CO2 efficiency is good out of the box (not bad, not perfect - 10 great long-range (260-240 fps) shoots and other 15-20 decent short-shots (~200 fps) from one twelve gram), and you spent so little money on paint using this thing... Later you can tune it (easy gets 40-45 shots beyond 200 fps from one twelve gram) and maybe swith to 3,5/4oz C/A or remote, or integral refilable tank.
Conclusion: This is my favorite gun. Great little marker. The ZGP-94 (Czech PGP clone) or PGP2k have perhaps some minor advantages, but PGP is better out of the box and is a true classic. P68SC is very nice and has better long-range capability, but is a lot bigger (, rare and not so efficient) than this.

If you are looking for your first pump, I would recommend you the PGP... clasic, old, snub-nosed PGP. It's still the most durable and reliable pistol on the market, it is still the best way to get into pump/stock class play. After many, many years, when you choose another gun as primary (some of us will never do it), you will at least have great sidearm/backup/true Stock class/old school gun that will be admired by others.

I give it a 10 because nothing is perfect, but PGP is still the best choice between paintball pistols - they are cheap and good out of the box and extremly deadly after some custom work. The only comparable are Palmer's, with are based on PGP and a lot more expensive.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 21st, 2007 at 12:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patrick_Spears Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Winchester Laredo
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (Silver) With Reactive Trigger (Modified to 35 BPS), Car-Stock (Adjustable), lighter trigger spring, 5x scope and custom cut grip

Piranha 2K3 E-Force Pro (Black)

PGP Pump-Action Pistol with magazine extention (Mine can hold 20), custom sight, quick change C02 valve, custom stock, rear velocity adjuster, custom camo paint job, extended barrel and lightened trigger pull (when cocked). (Sheridan)

PT Enforcer Semo-Automatic Pistol with custom scope mount (Has 4x Scope), bottom line adapter, custom gravity feeding magazine (Original magazine with upward tube) , Stock and silver paint job (32 Degrees?)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick Change C02 Adapters
Quick Change Ammo Pods
Strengths: Durable and compact
Weaknesses: Heavy, pump difficutly
Review: I would say this gun is quite a good little piece. It may like like crap, but when you get used to it, you'll love it as much as a hot @$$ girl. I have had it for many years without any major problems to deal with. It's a great back-up marker as well as a great woods gun. Even so, I carry it as my 1st back-up pistol in a speedball game. It's accurate, good C02 shot usage (I get about 40-50 shots per 12 gram) and I also like it's easy to feed magazine.
Conclusion: Buy it! It's a great starter/back-up/woods gun. The problem is, the newer models aren't as good as the old school model (I have this one). But if you manage to come upon an older model, it's usually $60-$80.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media