paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
GIZMO8Z Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Considering that I work in a large proshop, I've come in contact with most paintball pistols.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Limited Edition Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Chrome Planet Eclipse NEXUS Upgrade Kit, Red KAPP Cosmetics, Chrome Shocktech Beavertail, 14" DYE Boomy, EGGY 2 & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank W/ DYE Rhino Tank Cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
...Maybe a holster or something to hold extra 12g CO2s/10rnd tubes.
Strengths: ~Durible Construction.
~Good Distance.
~Good Accuracy.
~Efficient.
Weaknesses: ~Pain to clean a ball break.
~Slow action.
Review: I found one of these markers in my proshops store room under some boxes a few days ago. I cleaned it up, got it working pretty nice and the owner let me have it at a steal of a price. I decided to give it to my brother as a late Christmas gift to go along with the Tippmann Prolite I found/assembled and gave to him too.

Pros:
~Durible Construction. This thing must have been sitting in the store room for about 5 or so years ... It had a good layer of dust on it, and the internals were gunked up. I took it apart, used rubbing alcohol to clean of the grit, and then lubed it up. It worked!
~Good Distance. This little thing seems to have some decent distance.
~Good Accuracy. Although the paint I used to test it was a little small for the barrel, I had some decent accuracy. (Better than expected.)
~Efficient. I got about 60 shots off of one 12g CO2 cartridge.

Cons:
~Doesn't like thin shelled paint. I used some Draxxus Hellfire, and it chopped up pretty good.
~Pain to clean a ball break. Once you break a ball, the splatter from inside the barrel tends to make its way into the tube containing your ammo ...causing your the majority of your stored rounds to be ruined. In addition, you need to strip the whole gun inorder to run a pull through squeege through the barrel.
~Slow action and limited ball capacity. You'll have trouble keeping up with even the oldest, cheapest semi-autos out there.
Conclusion: Over all, this is a nice toy. I got it for my brother because he rarely plays, and its something to tinker and play around with.

If you find one, get it, it's pretty cool.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 9:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slovakish Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ZGP-Czech variant of PGP
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic, 14"Smart Parts Progressive Barell, Propoint red dot sight, 9oz Co2
as a backup PGP
Strengths: Small size, accurate(closed bolt)
Weaknesses: little heavy
Review: I use my pgp as a backup gun. I have it loaded on every game day. Sometimes when I need to be fast and have to shoot snapshots from behind a corner I rather use PGP than semi. I have mounted classic pistol iron sights on it and it works fine, it is really usefull. Also in woods when we play at night is PGP usefull for fast attacks.
When you like PGP maybe you will like also ZGP it is czech variant of PGP but with minor upgrades and advantages.
Conclusion: great stock gun, I like it. PGP is PGP. You can use in on stock games or for military paintball as a backup in a holster.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unived Micindev Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ZGP - better than PGP, home made pump
Marker Setup: 68classic
- X-valve
- smart parts SS barrel
- minimag grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- flatline air system
VM68
- ZGP grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- torpedo reg
- dynaflow air system
- vl revolution 12v
- low pressure upgrade - 250psi
- semi or full auto 12bps
Sheridan P-12
- zgp velocity adjuster
ZGP
- stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-
Strengths: cheap, great 4 recreation
Weaknesses: nada..i really love this gun
Review: if u need cheap, good, small and classic gun / sidearm pgp is 4 u.... great 4 your childrens, great 4 wife, great 4 daddy..... if u will have it u will love it!!!... easy to manipulate and easy / cheap to repair... playing w this gun is real fun and very good training... if u marked somebody w semi u r good player :D...pgp is better than be blades and this kind of plastic sh*t
Conclusion: great sidearm or 4 oldschool players or 4 recreation paintball....i know lot of people who plays just w PGP or ZGP....in Slovakia we have PGP/ZGP ligue
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 at 9:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 23rd, 2001
 
2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: its a really durible gun and well if your like me and are ubsesed with accuracy then this is the gun to get . The accuracy it better then any other pump gun. I'm able to hit a target form 20 yard out with no problem.
Weaknesses: I sent it bad to the company to get it fixed since you can take it apart with out it breaking and it still leaks and it is a bit heavy for the size.
Conclusion: It's a good beginner side arm but, not recomended for those die hard fans and the more elite players in tournaments
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

buzzboy Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some PT something pistol-it sucked
Marker Setup: 03 Viking
WAS 1.5
CCM Clamper
Sidewinder
Javelin Barrel
Nitroduck MegaReg Tank
Xboard Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Velocity adjuster
c02 quick change
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: The only other time I played with a pistol was a PT something and it only shot like 200 fps. That sucked.

The only other time a pump was a tigershark that wasn't bad but was huge compared to this thing.

Strengths-Small, cheap

Weaknesses-Heavy

I just recently got my ~1990 pgp.

LOOKS-This gun looks kick awesome. It came to me with all the brass showing so I finished the job, removing the black from the grip frame and polishing the entire thing with mothers mag+alum. Now it downright shines.

SIZE-My whole gun/tank/hopper fits into my pocket. Runs up the field are great. Only problem is weight. It weighs around the same as my friend's mantis ego with tank. Not really a problem for me coming from another massive gun setup.

PERFORMANCE-The only two things this gun is missing performance wise are quick change c02 and anti double cocking. To change a c02 on the stock setup takes around 45 seconds. After a few mods(epoxying a nickle to the changer) I got it down to 25-30. Anti double cock would also be a nice feature. I have over pumped in games way to many times. From my PGP, shooting around 290-300 I can get 20 shots without drop off and another 10 before changing c02's.

DESIGN FLAWS-For some reason this thing has a 10rd tube cap that is extremely easy to loose. Luckly though it has a hole through it, which I reccoment threading a string to and tying it onto the pump arm.

PLAYING-Using this small pump made practice fun and cheap. I found that with this tiny gun I was able to make large runs easier and, even though I couldn't post a lane, hold people back with precision rather than bulk of paint.
Conclusion: If you plan to play stockclass or open class pump this is the way to go. Plus if you want to give it something else homemods and PPS are always there for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB4Christ Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Hammer

PCS USP pistol
Marker Setup: Custom built Sniper 2

Old style PGP w/custom holster

Recommended
Upgrades:
speed changer, gated feedneck, but nothing is really NEEDED.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Most accurate marker I've ever used
stock class 100%
Weaknesses: ...It's not made anymore...
Review: Ok let me start off by saying I use this little monster as a primary and NOT a back up.

That being said, after using the pgp for a year I have noticed my game improving dramatically, I've had to lear to pick my shots, snap shoot, MOVE, communicate with my team all in about 2 games of playing with this thing. The fact is, you MUST learn these skills to play with the PGP and learning them makes you a better player.

Now on to the build of the marker. The over-all construction and durability is incredible, I have thrown mine against a tree just to prove that point! A few design flaws include the 14-turn CO2 nut and the plug for the feed tube. But with a few dollars or alot of elbow grease both of these "problems" can be easily solved.

The PGP is extremely accurate, but a little picky on paint, the cheap stuff with burst in the small barrel and the high end paint will roll. This can however be fixed with the help of an airsmith if you find it to be a constant problem.

Air efficiency is great, I get about 25-28 good shots off of one twelve gram with the stock hammer (An airsmith can lighten the hammer for you which would increase gas efficiency even more!)
Conclusion: All in all, I love mine, and I don't ever want to part with it. The Sheridan PGP is a piece of paintball history and an incredible marker (You should see the looks on people's faces when I tell them it's older than I am haha)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sidekick
various pumps
Marker Setup: too many to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmers Quick-change
PMI Grips
Larger trigger shoe
Strengths: Price
Dependable
Accurate
25+shots off one 12 gram
Weaknesses: The 2k1 pgps tend to have a chopping issue
disassembly can be difficult
Review: Awhile back i was looking for a pgp to get and after some research decided to go with an older one due to others saying it was more reliable and that there was a chopping issue with the 2k1s.

The pump stroke is pretty hard and people who have never used one will think that the pump is locked into position, when in reality you just need to pump hard. This is caused by the anit-blowback bearing in the bolt.

Disassembly can be tricky. Really it depends on which model you have. The bolt bearings are under spring tension and will fly out when the bolt is taken out.

Accuracy is great. I was really suprised at this. Again it can differ with models, as the 2k1's tend to have overspray which can affect the path of the ball. With my pgp i was able to hit targets squarely where i aimed. Very good overall.

Expect to get 30 decent shots off of one twelve gram. This is very good compared to say an armotech zues or pt extreme.

This gun is one of the most reliable markers made and rest assured it will be working for another ten years. Its all brass construction and powder coating also make it very durable, no worries diving into those snakes!
Conclusion: Very good marker overall. Would recommend to anyone looking for a pump. Look around and you can easily find one for $50.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 2nd, 2004 at 7:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P38bandit Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A splatmaster gun, very bad. Had no pump had to cock it like bb gun.
Marker Setup: Automag with wooden handle I made myself. Dye barrel, nitro setup. Love P38's need to have mandatory p38 games at fields.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, it's perfection
Strengths: Paintball gun achieved perfection with this one.
Weaknesses: Not a semi auto, runs out of paint quick if playing a bunch of machinegunners.
Review: Paintball guns achieved perfection with this one. It is so simple and that is great. I much rather go to a field and play p38 games all day rather that spending over $100 on paint sittining in a bunker shooting an automag all day. This product will last for ever and you can treat it like dirt. Just give it some oil once in a while and it will serve you well.

Plus it is great satisfaction taking out someone with this. Especially when they have a $1200 gun and wasted $100 bucks on paint trying to shoot ya.
Conclusion: Everyone should have one of these and there should be mandatory P38 only fields.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CowboyShot Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme
Marker Setup: 03 VF WGP Autococker. Superfly bolt, Freak barrel system, Orracle 3 way, Halo Hopper, 4000psi Nitro.

PGP
Recommended
Upgrades:
hmmm. none
Strengths: very accurate, very durable
Weaknesses: pump
Review: I purchased this gun back when I had a Talon pump. I have had this thing forever, and I always take great care of my guns but I have never had to clean or touch this thing, this thing will always shoot, you could leave it it a pile of mud for a month and pull it out and shoot someone. I don't use it much anymore except for a few Rec games, but I will probably never sell it. One thing I like alot about this gun is it hurts like crap. I call it the Bruise Maker. Every person I have ever shot has received a huge bruise that always looks nasty, its all purple and yellow. If you got the extra money and want something to play around with this gun is it.
Conclusion: got money to spend? Want something that will make your friends cry? buy this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Raptor SE w/expansion chamber, macroline, T-stock, 24-oz tank
Pure stock PGP
Recommended
Upgrades:
None whatsoever
Strengths: 1) Tried and true design; a true Old School classic marker. It's the '57 Chevy of paintball markers
2) Heft and feel: it's heavy, yet well-balanced. It feels just right in your hand.
3) Built like a tank; it's all-metal, and as close to indestructible as you can get in a marker.
4) Cool; it gets noticed a lot.
5) Incredibly fun to play with; stock class forces you to play with your head instead of your trigger finger. After a few games you note a real improvement in your skills, as you learn from mistakes that a semi's firepower would have rescued you from.
6) Gives you an excuse to wear a tactical holster and web belt.
7) Allows you to pull attitude at people: "You NEED that e-gun?" Of course, often they don't, but there's no glory in nailing a guy using a PGP with your Angel, whereas the other way around..:)
8) Incredibly handy in close quarters; my main marker is a BE Raptor with a T-stock, which can get in the way in a tiny bunker. The PGP is so small you hardly notice it.
9) Surprisingly accurate.
10) Did I mention how fun it is to play with? A game of speedball with everyone armed with PGP's would be a gas... No hosing, just sheer shooting and tactical skill, and actual speed.
Weaknesses: 1) It is a stock class marker and some people will not be able to get over this. It holds 10 shots, is pump-action, and 12-gram-fed. If you live to shoot 400 rounds a game, you might find the PGP hard to adapt to.

2) Modern, small-bore paint sometimes rolls out the barrel.

Aside from this, the PGP has no flaws in my opinion. It's the best $80 I ever spent on paintball. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Conclusion: If at all possible, get one of the older snub-nosed PGPs rather than the PGP2; the PGP2 is apparently not bad, but it just isn't a classic PGP!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media