paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
pnda_express Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every pump there is minus a deuce for whoever knows what that is.
Marker Setup: Combat Connections Enforcer running a 10 oz and a 50 round hopper. Also use 2 kp-2's, 2 kp-3's, 3pgp's, P-68, PMI-II, Piranha SB, and lots and lots more pumps, mostly sheridan.



Recommended
Upgrades:
Make a fast changer by tapping in a hole so you can screw in a normal screw. If your cheap than JB weld on some washers or pennies. Battle grips or PMI rubbers, maybe a cocker frame adaptor, trrigger shoes, feed tube slots, speed loader, lots more. VELOCITY ADJUSTER.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: There are 2 versions. There is the 2001 model and the older ones. Also the zgp and the pg but lets forget about those.

Older one- Evrthing is flawless. Shoots darts, looks sweet, custimizable, its a pump, light, doesnt chop, and easliy taken apart. Efficient. Everything is good. I wish they still made these ones instead of the newer ones. Only bad parts is that it needs a velocity adjuster and a fasst changer out of the box. New bolts and speed loaders are good too.
Conclusion: Get these. Easy to modify and fun to work on. Good tinkerers gun. Better than 3/4 of the nelsons out there.
10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 26th, 2005 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ghetto-rat Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
delta .68, pt extream as far as pistolas
phantom, sl682, vulcan and talon for pumps.
didnt like the delta or pt, got the pgp instead.
as for the pumpers, phantom was excellent but i like the pgp alot more.
Marker Setup: stock pgp. sometimes a 2 inch air-cannon
Recommended
Upgrades:
better grips. i have big hands so its annoying. i took a roll of electrical tape to it and extended the grip about two inches so it feels alot better. also a quick changer fotr the co2. i think palmer sells them.
Strengths: you cant break it.
with a fresh co2, its dead on
intimidation factor,
stock class.
Weaknesses: changing the co2 on the run is h-e-double-hockeysticks.
Review: pgp is great. since i started playing, i used an e- spyder and graduated to phantom, then i went to pgp. i like it the most because it is a tank, compact and easy to use.
last weekend, i was at my field, and we were doing a 10 on 10. i had my pgp on a holster. on the break i ran behind a tree and ditched my white lab coat and santa hat i normally wear and turn the holster to my back.nobody notices me doing this, so i just walk up the middle of the field with my arms crossed in front of my chest all innocent like.i just stand there untill the other team gets used to me and then i walked to THIER end of the field. you would think i was invisible. i ended up making 6 of them surrender.
didnt even fire a shot. you should have seen thier faces.
the reason for saying this is because if i was using the spyder, i couldnt do that. i wouldnt have the ability to take crazy chances or anything. you have to get close in and take chances, thats why its best.
Conclusion: bottom line, semi's are too easy. play with a pgp for a couple weeks and youll see what i mean.
for beginners and experienced players, i say pick this one up. if you do it right you can really own up on people.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amhildreth Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PMI1-DF, NSG Splatmaster
Marker Setup: Cooper-T EZ Pull bolt, rear VA, oversized CO2 change knob
Recommended
Upgrades:
CO2 speed-changer, rear velocity adjuster, speed-loader
Strengths: The older PGP is very well built. The brass and metal construction make for a very solid-feeling shooter. Very accurate for such a small barrel. Compact size. Fairly conservative on CO2 (25-30 shots before dropoff). Great for tight situations, with no hopper to take a hit on or bump. Very little ball breakage, and if you do bust one inside, it's easy to squeegee out. Many aftermarket parts and mods still available to suit your style of play. Holsters easily. Short pump-stroke. Paints chambers with only a slight rearward tilt. Barrel is easy to polish for increased accuracy. It feels like yer shootin' somethin', son!
Weaknesses: without aftermarket speed-changer, 12 gram changes take too long while under fire. Stock bolt makes for stiff cocking until broken in properly. Needs a rear velocity adjuster, unless you enjoy clipping/shimming springs. Stock feeder-tube cap not quick to use, and easy to lose on the field. Valve system can only be removed with special Sheridan valve tool, and can be pretty complicated to reassemble once removed. Efficiency not as good as some markers, due to increased internal air path. Short pump stroke is cumbersome for some users. Marker is heavier compared to others in its size class. With no spring-assist, marker must be tipped back while cocking to chamber a ball. Most need to have the barrel polished for maximum accuracy. Field stripping for cleaning takes more time than other markers.
Conclusion: Built like a small tank, but much easier to carry. The PGP can take extended periods of abuse, and still throw paint like a champ. It's great for any type of game, fits right in with stock-class rules, and works well for speedball applications by helping to improve snapshooting and bunkering. As long as you clean it out at the end of the day and drop some oil in it, this is one of the few markers available that will be a dependable field friend for as long as you play. I've had mine for 7 years, and I'd never give it up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbcricket Saturday, September 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used anything like this. This is one of the best paintball markers I have ever used.
Marker Setup: I currenty have the PGP 2001 with no accessories.
Strengths: Reliability, accuracy, simplicity, and it uses .65 caliber paintballs.
Weaknesses: It is a litte bit big&heavy.
Review: This is the best paintball marker I have ever used. Most of my friends thought that it was ajoke when I told them that I would lite them up. At the end of the day, I was the one with last laugh. You would think that a barrel as short as it is would not be very accurate. My dad didn't either. So I took my Tippmann 98 Custom and my PGP out for a little accuracy contest. Guess which won? Yep my good ol' PGP. Another great thing about the PGP is its reliability. For the entire year and a half that I owned it, it has never given me problems. While my friends semi-autos broke down every once in a while and forked out half of their money to get it fixed, I was laughing to myself. Most paintball pistols use smaller paintballs that was very hard to find so you had to order them. The PGP uses .65 caliber paintballs so you can go to your local field to get paintballs. The only complaint that I have is the size and weight. They are a teensy weensy bigger than I would have liked. This is the only reason that I'm not giving it a perfect 10. Of course there will never be a perfect paintball marker so I will never give a perfect 10.
Conclusion: PGP $90
Paintballs $20
Seeing your friends face when you get them priceless
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

shoutingtoe3 Saturday, March 20th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
no pistols
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, Flatline, HPA, PGP(backup)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't even know of any
Strengths: comes with holster
accurate
cool sound
intimedating
Weaknesses: PUMP
breaks balls in reserve
has to piont upto cock
co2 hart toget out
heavy
Review: I like the holster it comes with, but a leg holster would work better. This thing is really accurate, before I got my A-5, I had a Spyder and took sniper shots with my PGP. The pop sound that the PGP gives off is really cool, and you get alot of attention on the field. And of cours, the bragging rights are great when you take out someone useing a really nice simi.

the balls in the reserve break easily if you are a simi-rough player like me. The main thing I hate about this gun is that it takes two hands to cock, so you have to put your main down to use it. If you don't point it up to cock, you won't get a ball because there is no spring to feet the chamber. The co2 can be really hard to get out at times, its sorta heavy for a backup
Conclusion: all in all, this is just a average marker, I would recomend a simi-auto for a backup, but if are required to use a pump, this should be an ok gun to use 5 being average, I give it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

randomguy2476 Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon Ghost
no other pump guns
Marker Setup: 1)Kingman Spyder Victor: 2003 Bob Long style expansion chamber, Rebel '02 Bottomline vacuum chamber, View Loader Revolution electronic hopper, 14oz Co2, homemade sling
2)Sheridan PGP: Stock setup with some improvised, replaced, parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
none that i know of
Strengths: Built like a tank
more soon....
Weaknesses: heavy for a sidearm
more soon....
Review: i got this out of my dads closet. it had been in there for about 8-10 years. it had no seal for the Co2 so i couldn't shoot it. we made a duck tape seal and tried it out but we only got three successfully shots. actually they were not really successful they were pathetic. but i want a sidearm badly and this has gotten very good reviews so far. once i get it fixed i am going to finish my review.
Conclusion: as of now im going to give it a 5 just because of its extremely durable construction. when i fix it up and finish my review i will adjust my rating.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Keither Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ummm..... Not a whole hell of a lot to compare a PGP to...?
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, I mean its not like you can do a whole lot to it
Strengths: -Robust
-Accurate
-Built like a truck
-True quality was put into making this gun
Weaknesses: magazine capacity
Kicks hard
Loud
Permanent barrel
Hard to use as a side arm
Review: Ok, now lets face it... when I personally walk on a field now adays, I see a bunch of people with guns that resemble pimped out toys. You know, the ones with the espyders with all the chrome that think theyre bad-@$$es... yeah you know the types..
My point is that you dont see guns of this quality very much anymore besides Tippmanns (which i mean, come on... you could beat with a sledge hammer and still compete with it in a tournament.)

The PGP has the power of a pump gun in the size of a pistol.. well yeah... its a pump pistol.. but nonetheless, this thing has B@lls!! No pun intended.

The one thing overall that i can say that I love about this gun is the fact that you could drop it in the mud, throw it in a locker for 6 months, then take it out, give it a quick cleaning, and shoot it. it has the reliability not found in most modern guns. These days, if a gun doesnt break constantly and works like it should, its concidered reliable... well i hate to tell you, but my definition of reliable isnt having something i paid for do what advertisements said it would do... reliability is doing all the things advertisements promise... AFTER the gun has been beaten to hell.

I dont like walking around a field thinking about "omg did i just rub my gun against a tree? it might be busted now!!!"

I guess what Im trying to say is that you wont find a gun like this anymore, and if you get a chance to buy one, which you probably wont, but if you do, I would. I've had my PGP since i was 8 years old.... Im now 21...and this beast is still shooting as good, straigt as it did on my 8th birthday, AND I havent lost any gas efficiency. THATS quality.
Conclusion: Though I kinda rambled this is my point:
If you can get your hands on a PGP for a reasonable price, BUY IT! You will not be sorry you did. This gun cost $120 back in 1492 when Columbus drank the ocean blue, and let me tell you, its still worth the money today, EVERY BIT OF IT!

If youre looking for a side arm, get a sling for your primary gun, and a holster for the PGP, its worth it.
Not to mention, that it looks and sounds pretty Bad@$$!

Im feel this gun deserves a perfect 10 becaus I cant think of another gun besides a TIppmann, that you could own for 13 years, have about 60, 000 rounds shot from it, and still perform just as it did the day it came out of the box. this truly is an amazing gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

68kaiser Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
hammer "A", trracer.
Marker Setup: stock pgp with spring change to pump easier.
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above.
Strengths: Simple design, small, very accurate.
Weaknesses: Takes time to change gas cartridge but they have upgrades for that.
Review: This is my back up gun or side arm. You do not have the fire power that other markers have so you will play with skill and make every shot count. if you can see your opponent you can hit them the pgp is very accurate, if you now haw to shoot a pistol.
i haven't had the chance yet but this marker would be sweet for indoor since it is so mall. The marker hits hard to there is no shortage of power and i can get 20 to30 good shots in 45 degree weather which if great.
Conclusion: The pgp is a great marker for what is was made for. if you think you can use one with the style of game you play do not hesitate to get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
P68 SC, Nel-Spot 007, DSDS 494
Marker Setup: Well tuned and totally modifyed basic black CF Autococker with all the best parts I've collected over the past 12 years, another old square front 'Cocker made up of all the leftover parts (c: 1994 vintage Automag with all the goodies from back then and a level 10 kit, Tippmann Factory F/A, PGP, VM 68, Nelspot 007 etc etc ...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips
Strengths: Leave this on a highway for a week and it would probably still work.
Weaknesses: Grips come loose easily and are small, weighs a ton.
Review: I'm reviewing an older PGP with an aluminum pump handle, the only real difference I've seen between the new and old ones is the pump handle. I don't know why they would switch to plastic since the rest of the gun is rock solid brass. However, the plastic seems strong enough. This is definitely THE stock pistol all others are judged by. Solid and reliable. It's not perfect though ... the weight is a factor if you're going to carry it as a backup, but if you're playing with it the weight seems to give it stability. The grips also come loose once you play with it for a while since they have a single screw in the middle holding the panels on and since you're cocking the gun your hand is constantly putting pressure on the grips. The grips are a bit small too, especially for a huge and heavy gun. Battle grips are a plus here ... with some minor filing Autococker grips will fit BTW (not the .45 frame but the old school frames). You still have to "rock and cock" to load a ball since it doesn't have a spring loaded magazine but that's not a big deal, but the magazine has to be loaded, you can't just jam a tube in there. you can't easily adjust the velocity stock either, and it takes what seems like forever to unscrew the 12 gram loader.
Conclusion: All in all a reliable and acurate pump pistol, but not perfect. However some minor upgrades will certainly help.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1 Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossman 3357, Splatmaster, Mod-85, Delta68
Marker Setup: Autococker2000(overrated) Palmer reg,32 deg. Terminator barrel,PMI air 3000 68ci Dye sticky grips swing trigger frame. VM-68 (very reliable) car stock 9oz tank 14 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I had a barrel extention co2 quick change and stock on mine and grips
Strengths: Rugged!!!!! Very reliable
Weaknesses: slow cocking, gravity feed, co2 was slow to change
Review: old school gun but I wauld still use it if I didnt sell it like a fool. I will probably get another soon since its such a great back up, or just to play rec ball with. Palmer paintball will still mod these out if you want to send them to his shop and pay the $$ which is worth it if you intend to use it.
Conclusion: I wish guns were made as well as they used to be. Sheridan made alot of rugged guns back in the day and the PGP was no exception. For its class of mrker it earns a 10 for its well made body and reliablity.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media