paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
g_splat Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme, Sidekick Semi, Armotech Zeus
Marker Setup: Armotech SIM-4 Elite, Armotech Zeus Semi-Auto Pistol, PGP Pump Pistol, Spyder AMG Electric, Spartan Pump, Pure Energy HPA 3000, 12v Revolution, Raven Paintball Nuvis-1 1.0, Ronin Gear 5 pack, COPS 911 Scenario Vest & Military A.L.I.C.E Gear
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Holster. I have both a tactical leg holster as well as a shoulder holster.
A external velosity adjuster.
Strengths: Sturdy & dependable.
Weaknesses: It's a pump. Speed. Nuff said.
Review: You can throw this marker in a mud puddle, run it over with a car, pick it up, shake it off, refill it with paintballs and go shooting! It's a great backup.

This is a truely good marker. Mine is over 7 years old and shoots like new! Made back when dependable markers where dependable. The marker has a nice feel and weight. easy to use. Easy to strip down and clean.

I love my Zues Semi-auto, but I will never get rid of my PGP.

Conclusion: The price is great. The construction is great. If you don't mind pump or you're looking for a pump sidearm, this is the marker for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 11th, 2004 at 8:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamez54 Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various markers
Marker Setup: PGP w/ cocker .45 frame
CCI ball gate mod
Sight Rail
trigger shoe
Recommended
Upgrades:
faast changer or madchanger, speedloader (mod- see below)
rear velocity adjuster
trigger shoe
maybe a holster (www.cops911.com)
Instapierce (find instructions www.pgpog.org)
Quickstrip (search for instructions or ask airsmith on pgpog)
Strengths: durability- lasts forever, feel, accuracy, will improve your game
Weaknesses: oem grips suck, discontinued (not a big deal), non-removable barrel (doesn't matter)
Review: At first I was really worried about getting the "perfect" pump. I eventually settled on a simple pgp and am completely happy with my purchase. This thing kicks butt. People have complained about the weight, but I think it feels really good in either hand.
+Parts are readily available and are as cheap as they come.
+Everybody and their mother can mod a pgp for you.
-If you are going to be playing against semis (about 99% of rec ballers) you will need an upgraded co2 plug. 14 turns just to undo the darn thing is insanity.
-One other thing to replace would be the grips panels. It will vastly improve the pgp's feel.
-No Instapierce. This means after screwing in a 12 gram your first shot will be weak. Easily fixed, but a minor annoyance considering that practically every shot counts.
Buy a CCI ball gate and use sandpaper or something to make it fit on the feed tube like a speedloader. It will work miracles.
Buy a trigger shoe. They are very comfy and cheap.
I haven't talked about accuracy, because it isn't an issue. The only thing that will really hinder your accuracy is the 6.5" barrel which isn't enough for a paintball to reach full velocity. All this means is your shot grouping will be slightly wider beyond 50 yards.
Get a trigger shoe. They are cheap and feel comfy.
Conclusion: Stock this is a solid product. For 50-65 dollars you cannot afford to pass up one of these babies. They are pure metal! This will turn heads at your local field.
The best pump in this price range. I don't give it a ten, because of the stock co2 plug.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 at 11:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stockcom Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt extreme, other pgps, a pgp 2
Marker Setup: vf cocker with everything but an e-blade, and a pgp that is older than the time i have played paintball
Recommended
Upgrades:
some good paint, a holster, a camera to catch all the dissapointed faces when they find out you shot them with a pgp.
Strengths: accurate, durable, compact, easy maintenance, easy to take apart
Weaknesses: HEAVY, pump stroke is pretty heavy and not smooth, loud, rock n cock loading
Review: i bought my pgp off e-bay a couple of years ago. the guy who sold it to me said it was made in 96. i belive him. this thing is older than most paintball companies and it still shoots great. nice and accurate. it is also a tank. i have beat the tar out of this thing and it still shoots great. banged it on trees, left it in a puddle, dropped it ten feet onto rocks, dropped it in a lake, threw it about 50 feet, and ran it over with my car. it still works. however, with this durability comes a price. everything is made of steel or brass. that makes this probably the heaviest pistol in paintball. the thing feels like you are carrying a brick. also, the pump stroke is very labored and rigid, not smooth at all. plus, you have to rock and cock, letting the paintballs in the magazine roll down into the breech while you have the pump back. then you just pump forward and aim and shoot. now, don't get me wrong. it is still pretty simple and easy. it is just the fact that the pgp is ancient history in paintball terms, and the old school pgp is not quite as refined as some of the newer pistols, such as the pgp2. also, for all this, it is still the most reliable side-arms in paintball. during scenario games, i wouldn't carry anything else at my hip. it seems that most pgp users and owners have stories about how thier pgp saved them this way or that. i haven't used mine that much, but maybe one day i will have a story to tell.
Conclusion: the most durable and realiable pistol on the market still. the pgp2 is pretty much the same thing but with refinements. i wouldn't go out on a mission without mine, and if you need a sidearm that won't let you down, get a pgp. i give it an 8 due to it is heavy and old, but it still rocks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fireball16 Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PGP 2 (though the PGP is better)
Marker Setup: The PGP is good with a quick co2 changer
Recommended
Upgrades:
quick change co2 thing.
Strengths: very durable, accurate, never breaks balls, good backup ro primary.
Weaknesses: takes a while to change right in the middle of a battle
Review: IT is the best side arm/primary gun i have ever used. It is way better than the PGP 2 because taht is plastic. No one likes plastic, using an all plastic gun is like using a Brass Eagle----IT SUCKS. Plus, the PGP2 can break. Looks very intimidating also.
Conclusion: YOu gotta get it. IT is very good for bing a side arm, and is nice being a main. People WILL notice you and give you credit for using it as a primary.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jgo Factor Friday, August 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan P68SC -Basically its just a modified/updated version of the PGP
Marker Setup: Sheridan P68SC w/
-Crosman Modified Stock
-Speedloader
-Faast Changer
-Velocity Adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Faast Changer -So that you can replace 12grams faster
Speedloader -So that you can reload faster
Velocity Adjuster -So that you can adjust velocity
Insta-Pierce -So that you don't have to waste 1 shot piercing the 12gram
Strengths: Durable
Low Maintenance
Small Profile
Weaknesses: Paint rubs off over time.
Review: This was my first paintball gun.

Good:
-Its easier to sneak up on people w/this because there is no tank or hopper to get in the way.
-I've spent so little money on paint using this thing."$$$ Money Saver"
-Very Durable & Low Maintenence.I never had to change O-rings or anything. It never failed/jammed on me.
-Once you break it in (the pump stroke & cleaning out any paint thats in the barrel), It'll have great performance.

Bad:
-Because its a pistol, you are going to have limited range.
-Playing in cold weather limits the number of shots you get out of the 12gram.
-You have to "rock & cock" it to reload. I'm used to this so it doesn't bother me.
-It needs a velocity adjuster.
-Change the 12gram plug and the ammo plug ASAP.
Conclusion: It has Sheridan quality backing it up. Great gun, if you can find it for a good price then get one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

surferman09 Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel extension
Strengths: strong
small
accurate
doesnt waste co2
Weaknesses: hard to pump
Review: this is a very strong little gun..best used as a backup but i thought it was the best pistol i ever used.ive heard if u use the gun more often the pump will get worked in and its not as hard btu when i used it it was harder to pump than expected
Conclusion: i recommend to buy this gun..i got mine for 72 dollas on 888paintball and it was definately worth my money..extremely great backup gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meola Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP2
PT Enforcer
Marker Setup: Silver Angel Speed
68/4500 Blue Kiss A.I.R
Evil Pipe Bomb barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dont have any reccomended upgrades because I only used it as a side arm.
Strengths: Awesome little side arm for tough times
Weaknesses: Short Range
Review: The PGP is a great little sidearm, it provides awesome backup at a low cost. Although the gun is good I found it was only good in up close situations, because it didnt have that great of an effective range. I would highly reccomend this gun to anyone looking for a cheap and great little side arm or for something to shoot the dogs around your place with or something. Overall it is worth purchasing or at least trying; however I would not reccomend it to anyone looking to use it as a main gun.
Conclusion: Awesome Gun, Great Price and a fun extension to any gun collection. I give it a 9 because of these assests, but not a 10 because it doesnt have that great of an effective range, which is key to all guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOBO Saturday, December 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom stock class ( twice the cost )
Marker Setup: Micromag Lvl 10 ( power feed left), Crossfire 47CI 3000 tank 9 V revy.

What I tested is PFR Lvl 10 with SP AA barrel. Bulldog N2 tank 12V revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Co2 qwik change. or remote setup.
Strengths: Reliability , accurate, respectable air usage. Small ,extreemly well built this aint your mommas plastic pos. Its a well respected classic paintball marker.
Weaknesses: the only bad thing that I can think of is that more people dont use them.Some people are saying its heavy ( weenies). The extreemy short pump stroke can take a bit of getting used to.
Conclusion: Okay right off the bat they are a great gun thats the very basic bottom line, few markers can claim to be as well built. I have used mine outdoors & in ( perfect for indoor). I personally had a blast with it indoors . IA brand new marker will take some working in. The gun is extreemly tight right out of the box so you gotta work the pump action a bunch to get it to flow like butter. If you run across a used one that it broke in grab it. The PGP has got too be the most venerable paintball marker ever built.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pgp... Saturday, September 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: sheridan pgp
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really
Strengths: this gun is so efficient. It can be used as a primary gun or secondary. its accuracy is unbelievable. the design is perfect, and it is durable like a mofo.you can abuse this thing like no tommorow and it will still work.
Weaknesses: there are two bad things about this gun. one of them is it weighs a good amount to be used as a secondary sidearm. also the c02 is pretty hard to change during a game because you have t0 unscrew the chamber each time.
Conclusion: this gun is well worth the money you pay for it. most defintely one of sheridan's best.despite what other people say it is very good.there is defintely more good things about this gun then bad
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VMonster Sunday, August 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, AGA 62, NelSpot 007
Marker Setup: Nova 700 w/ Psychoballistics Pro Style drop 18" custom machined barrel, 3k 47ci. steel HPA tank, Ricochet 2K; VM-68 w/ 12" stainless & 13" Armson barrels, SkanLine 45° ASA & Xchamber kit, bottomline kit, Starfire bolt, 2 20 oz and 1 9oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none...there really aren't many anyway. on the other hand...you can put any Autococker grip frame on this gun...the sear and screw placement are the same. be the only one in the world with a WGP hinge trigger on your PGP! also, you can use 'Cocker spring kits with it...helpful if you've got crappy velocities or just want to crank up your pistol for some good ol' outlaw ball ;)
Strengths: -very accurate. for a pistol, it's more accurate than most semi makers. then again, it is a pump so there's very very little if any recoil.

-indestructible. made out of brass and steel. this thing is built like a tank.

-reliable. built tough so it can handle some abuse and still shoot fine.
Weaknesses: -heavy. for a pistol it weighs more than most Spyders. that's what you get when you use brass and steel though.
Conclusion: very well made like all of Benjiman Sheridan's old guns *cough* VM-68 *cough*...if you want a sidearm that absolutely positively will not let you down...this is the one for you. it makes a decent stock class marker too for those of you traditonalists out there. i highly recomend this maker...so much so that i'm giving it a perfect 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media