paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
TheLimeShock Monday, July 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme. PMI Tracer Pump. SL 68 II.
Marker Setup: 2002 Smart Parts All American Package. Lime Green 02 Shocker w/ Blade Trigger w/ smoke smart stickys, 14in all american two piece barrel. 14in stainless steel back matching front freak kit. 88ci 4500 max flow. Smart Parts drop forward. Gadget Grip. Lots of other markers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: I have a old skool PGP. All Brass Construction w/ steel pump arms. Very Rugged. And the Accuracy is amazing on this thing. The force from one single shot back brings the pump back a quarter so it makes up for speedy cocking. I have never broke a single ball in my PGP since I have purchased it.
Weaknesses: One thing that I noticed was in the older PGP. There is no Spring in the feed to assist with the feed. Maybe if it had one it might double feed??? Oh well.
Conclusion: If you like Playing Stock pump games. Then this is the pump marker to get besides the sterling and the phantom. There are other Pump markers out there that are very good. This one is low priced with a very rugged design. And the accuracy is good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FriendlyFire Monday, July 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT xtreme, PT enforcer, PT professional, Hammer
Marker Setup: I use a Spyder Shutter with an Elco Boo-Ya electronic grip with a Custom Products 16 in. barrel and a Ricoche 2K electronic hopper. As side-arms I use a Sheridan PGP and a PT Xtreme
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrades? who needs them?
Strengths: The PGP is a highly accurate gun, not what some would expect from a pistol, having such a small barrel. It is smaller than most side arms, and because of that fits in more places, and is easier to carry. I carry mine in a guppy slot on my utility belt. It looks cool, more like a real pistol than some of the other more bulky side arms. because it is a pump, the CO2 lasts longer than in does in a semi-auto marker using 12 grams. I get between 35 and 40 shots for each 12 gram.
Weaknesses: not much, unlike some pistols it doesn't have a spring in the loader to push the paint into the barrel. Sometimes this is a problem, and there ends up being no paint in the barrel when I shoot, but usually when I pump I pump at an angle, and the paint falls right into place. The CO2 is a...well it's hard to replace. you need a screw driver to unscrew it, and screw it in far enough so that the gas won't leek. but you usually don't need to change it in the middle of a game, so that too is not much of a problem.
Conclusion: This is a terrific gun. It's the perfect side-arm, accurate, and dependable. it has it's slight problems, but what doesn't. this was my first side-arm, and I still use it, even though I have a PT Xtreme, I carry them both just in case I need them. If you want a good pistol, and don't mind the pump, I sugest you get this gun.

If you have any questions about anything concerning paintball email me at FriendlyFire2870@yahoo.com or IM me on AIM, Beatlesfreak04.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NcicHit Monday, June 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, Hammer, Armson Pump, Phantom, Sig P220, Sig P226,
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, RT trigger, 32* Expansion Chamber, 32* Drop-Forward with Guage, Rocket Cock (which works great), Smart Parts Progressive Barrel (new model), VL 2000 with X-board, CO2000 Regulator, 20 ounce anti-siphon tank with on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I guess you could paint the front site red, white or some other color. New grips.
Strengths: Probably one of the best well made paintball pistols ever. It is small and compact and fits great in a FN-FAL or M14 magazine pouch. I found the PGP to be a very accurate pistol at close range. There is no recoll with this pistol so there is no flinching like with a real hand gun. It is a great back-up or if you play stock this is everything you need. The black finish will last for ever if you keep it oiled. Next to the VM68 Magnum this is one of the best built guns around.
Weaknesses: The worse thing about this gun is changing the CO2 cartridge. If all the CO2 isn't spent it takes the "Jaws of Life" to take it out.
Conclusion: In conclustion I would like to say that this is a very good gun. It makes a great back-up or stock gun. I carry mine on the left side in an old army .308 magazine pouch (not a clip pouch, clips or used in an M1) with a two pod Tiger Stripe holder. It comes when you run out of paintballs. I usually play the scout or defender of the fort in woods ball (which is all we play) so I use a lot of ammo. If your looking for a second gun to carry while your play this would be the one. It beats putting a sling on a pump rifle and lugging it around.
If you looking for something that doesn't cost too much and something that will last you for a long time this is the one to get. I have owned three of them and my friends liked it so well I ended up selling them and buying more.
"SHERIDAN NEEDS TO BRING BACK THE VM68 MAGNUM IN A LIGHTER FORM, IT WAS AND IS A GREAT GUN'".
I didn't use the spell check so I'm sorry about any goofs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JTramoDude Monday, May 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
well... i'm not a stock man so nothing for me
Marker Setup: My Gun:
Piranha STS g3 titanium
core 22 stage X-chamber (yes that's 22 stage... i wrote a review for it)
Remote off of X-chamber
Custom soft grips
Dye excel
chopped stock barrel (4 inches)
Aftermarket PMI beavertail sight rail
ADCO imp sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
a quick change CO2 adapter if u can find one
Strengths: it's amazingly cool
you get comments from everyone on the field... (get "cool" comments if it's your sidearm... and get "you got balls" in open class if it's ur primary)
Suprisingly Accurate
I can fire it quite fast for a stock
paint and air saver!!!!!
light (considering what it is)
is a great sidearm
get respect of both nOOb's and seasoned angel carriers.
Weaknesses: it takes a lllllong time to change 12 grams
NO BALL DETENT... if you cock it and lean it forward the ball goes up in the chamber... and for me it breaks when i fire which drastically kills accuracy :(
(what i do for that is only pump it when i have an immediate target)
on mine the litle aimer ball on the front tore the hell out of my holster... i put a normal screw in with a lower top.
i cant find any way to hold 12 grams and cigar tubes besides normal pockets
Conclusion: all together a simple, working, fun paintball stock gun (Stock being 10 rnd, 12g powered, pump gun)

it has it's flaws, which come standard with it's basicness.... all together however i totoally love it.

my first time using it, i played open class and i used it two rounds... my first round i actually sniped someone with it (major skill on my part)... and my second round i got bunkered while reloading CO2 cartrage. however the person bunkering me didn't knwo i was there lol. after us both screaming surrener we shot eachother.

even if it's not the best paintball gun in the world... it gets my vote as the funnest
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extremes and others. The only pump gun I like better is the Phantoms!
Marker Setup: Primary
Pro TS with Storm, Ricochet 2k2, Shocktech springs, PE regulator, 32 Degrees Magna Port valve, Vigalante L.P. Valve spring, modified venturi, polished internals, Shocktech LPC, 14" 2002 SmartParts AA, 12" Lapco Bigshot, PMI N2, custom rubber grips,

Secondary
Piranha STS G2
Mako Electro grip
.45 rubber grips
Polished Internals
Modified Venturi
Shocktech Spring Kit
Drilled out ASA w/o filters
Turbo Valve
12v Revvie with x-board
ACI 6 Stage Expansion Chamber
Lapco Drop Forward
Macro Line
Blue ThunderPig 16"
2001 SM AA 14"
Crossfire N2 47 3000
Chameleon Proteus with Vortex fan



Last Stand
PGP for those really desperate times
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get lots of CO2 cannisters as well as 10 round tubes!
Strengths: I've had the same PGP since 1995 and it works flawlessly. The thing is a darn tank. I've abused it out on the field I don't know how many times but the reliability and consistency of high performance this thing delivers is beyond any other marker I have owned or tried. Its fun to use. Its light weight. It delivers failry good distance and its accuracy is better than you realize.

And nothing gives me more joy when I bunker some "tournie" player with that big bucks marker. The look on his face when he realizes that all the money he poured into his high priced gun didn't do a thing for him in that one moment is simply priceless.

And you don't use a lot of paint.
Weaknesses: When that guy with the high price marker sees you before you bunker him. OUCH!!!!

The only other bad things is that changing either the air cannister or especially replacing paintballs can be a real pain in the butt.
Conclusion: I take out in open games to have fun. People laugh at you at first but then stop when they realize how effective you can be in taking them out. I've had semis come and go but this pistol has stayed with me for almost seven years and I absolutely love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
never really tried a pistol other than this one that i just got
Marker Setup: green fade defiant w/ ANS green drop forward, green ANS duck bill bottomline, also i have an 8 inch taso speedball barrel, to go with a "12 long shot barrelIt also has a macro line setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: smaller than most pistols, extremely reliabe, pump action. The reason i say pump action, is because all pistols run on a 12 gram and 10 shots, and if you have a semi, youd want to shoot it really quick. and it is a pain to change the air and paint. With a pump, u dont shoot as much.
Weaknesses: nothin yet, it seems really nice.
Conclusion: great pistol, the PT's (enforcer, extreme) are HUGE! how could any1 have those as a sidearm? this is just the right size, small, and is cooler than the pt's. i love to have a pump action as a back up to my super-fast electronic defiant. its a good change.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass egale .68 No contest.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL is my main gun, but my PGP has a 4" barrel extension, PMI grips, Quick bolt, Sheridan FASST Changer. Pics at HTTP://lovinpaintball.n3.net.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You wouldn't have to do any, but if you did I would replace the ball baring spring on the bolt.
Strengths: The best part about this gun is how compact it is. It wonít break down on you and it is very accurate. It has a nice realistic weight that lets you know you are holding it. It may be Sheridans best gun to date. Some might say that the only thing it is good for is a stock class game but I would say that those people are wrong.
Weaknesses: Nothing, I would suggest it to any one that wants a dependable sidearm.
Conclusion: Worth the money. I would suggest buying a PGP, not the PGP 2001, on that model the replaced some of the key parts with plastic ones that are less durable and don't look as nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP 2001, also a very good gun but the original is better.
Marker Setup: I have a Spyder TL Plus with a 14" teardrop barrel and a richochet loader. I also have a PGP.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A squeege and a right or left hand holster depending on which is your primary hand.
Strengths: It is a small gun that works very well for a secondary gun. It shoots really far for its size and it is amazingly accurate. I was standing 30 yards away from a sunflower and i aimed at it and clipped the top of the flower off. It was awesome. It isn't a CO2 hog either. I can get about 80 shots out of mine on those little 9-oz clips. It is also really cool looking for a pistol.
Weaknesses: Nothing except it really hates the pmi marbelizers. It is also kind of heavy and it is really hard to change CO2 clips during a match because it is hard to unscrew the mother.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want a secondary gun and even though it is a pistol you can still use it for a primary gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: I have a Spyder TL Plus with a 14" teardrop barrel and a richochet loader. I also have a PGP.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not really anything at all this gun is good by itself.
Strengths: It is small...Shoots far...pretty accurate...good secondary gun...all stainless steel so you could throw it off a cliff and run it over with the car a couple of times and it would still be good to go. Easy loading. Not a CO2 hog. Easy to aim and you can get a holster for it.
Weaknesses: Nothing but the pump on mine is starting to stick even when I oil it. It can only hold 10 to 11 paintballs but as a secondary thats really not a problem because you allready have your first ones.
Conclusion: Buy this gun for a secondary or even primary gun. It is just an all around awesome gun for anyone and I almost gurantee that if you get it you'll like it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tiger shark, talon, saber, blade
these products do not compare the the pgp
Marker Setup: i use a tippmann custom 98 w/a jj 2 piece barrel and a gas through stock and a remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: this gun is a verry nice marker for the price i have used it for about a year now and i have had no problems with it and have only broken paint when using cheep paint. this gun is also verry accurate and has awesome range i would recomend this pistol for someone who is looking for a back up gun or just something to goof around w/ your friends or to shoot some of them damn birds
Weaknesses: the only thing that i have found about this gun that i dont like is that the velocity adjustment is in a spot on the gun where it is hard to access it
Conclusion: in conclusion this gun is a verry good marker and one of Sheridans best guns and is one of if not the best pistol marker on the market and i would reccomend it to anyone who plays paintball i give this gun a 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media