paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created and the last barrel you will ever need. The patented features of the Scepter solve every major problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel.

Features like a front load, compression lock sleeve which eliminates any chance of the sleeve turning or shifting while firing, a self-align system which precisely aligns the bore of the sleeve with the bore of the muzzle, providing a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel, color coded inserts to match any size paint, and mirror honed bores for consistency, accuracy and range.

Choose below which bore size, tip length and color option you would like.

Avilable bore Sizes: .680" .684", .686", .688", .690" and .692" and .696"

Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
kurly Tuesday, August 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
bob long pro series
Marker Setup: bob long vice, 45/45 crossfire, halo v35
Recommended
Paintballs:
i like evil for back, and xo gold for front players
Strengths: Lower sound profile
Intence acuracy
Any choice of paint
Clears breaks.
Weaknesses: Nothings perfect
Review: I was going to buy an ultralite, but wanted bore sizeing capibilities, I was going to buy a stiffi, but wanted to be able to through it around, so i did my researching, and decided that the powerlyte scpeter was the best for the money. I got the full seven insert barrel in all gloss black, to match my vice, It has the cleanest looks of any barrel, other than the ultralite. It is just as quiet and just as accurate as them too, and because of the perfect gloss finish and the perfect bore matching, you can clear any breaks with in 5 shots, so like .5 seconds. All for the leasurely price of $109.99
Conclusion: I would reccomend this barrel to any player who wants gane the accuracy advantage, and wants all the avantages of all other barrels/kits on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nomahsib Saturday, October 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Freak with All-American front - Good, but Scepter is better for price
2006 Smart Parts Progressive - I loved this barrel, but it's a single piece so it can't use all paint
Marker Setup: Freak green Smart Parts Ion ^_^ - Q-lock neck, 360 QEV, CP sling blade trigger, Smart Parts dropforward with On/Off ASA, 2007 Powerlyte Scepter Barrel kit, Viewloader Evlution 2, and a 48/3,000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, it's a kit
Strengths: Barrel kit
Weaknesses: Haven't found any so far
Review: This barrel is awesome. I got it $108 shipped on Ebay. For that price you get seven inserts, a carrying case, and the barrel, what a steal. It's nice because it's one of the higher end barrel kits and one of the cheaper ones as well. People have been saying that the Freak isn't that great, but I have never had any problems with it when I tested it. Nonetheless, I found this barrel kit when matched with the inserts and paint to be just as accurate.
Conclusion: From what I've seen so far I love this barrel. There is no barrel kit out there better for the price you pay. If you are looking for a new barrel kit look into the Powerlyte Scepter or the Empire Revolver, the same thing. The only differences is the Empire Revolver is just more expensive, comes with 2 less bores, but a neat carrying case)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vebol85 Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Barrel
Lapco Snapshot
Lapco Bigshot
Dye Ultralite
Marker Setup: 2005 Ego
Powerlyte Scepter
Bump LPR and HPR pistons
Lucky Un1chip
Spitfire Board
Kila Detents
Empire Reloader B
CP On/off
Star Trigger
SPD Custom Viper Grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Lockable Inserts, 7 Inserts, beauty
Weaknesses: None
Review: Before I heard about the Scepter, I was using a freak because I believed that the insert system was the most cost efficient way to go, allowing many bores with a single barrel.

When I first received my freak however, I was dissapointed that the inserts were held in place using 2 O rings. When looking down the front of the barrel, I found that it was near impossible to perfectly line up the Barrel front with the insert in the barrel back.

It was a far cry from the perfection that was my Lapco Snapshot.

Then I heard about the Scepter kit, and how they used the front to screw into the back and lock the inserts into place. I did some research, and found that MANN from pbnation also did a huge test on many barrels and found the scepter to be superb.

With all the great reviews, and tests done, I decided to purchase a kit. To my surprise, I was able to find a 7 insert kit on Ebay for 100 dollars brand new.

The kit has yet to let me down, and I feel like the standard of quality over at Powerlyte is above many barrels I've used before.

Accuracy was top notch, barrel seemed pretty quiet on my Ego, and the anno is high quality and flawless.
Conclusion: I reccomend this barrel kit if you can afford it. It is handsdown the best insert based kit available.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

primezero Sunday, July 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak,empire,hammerhead
Marker Setup: ego 07 with crossfire 70/45 tank and powerlight septor o7 kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: 7 Incerts
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is the best kit i have found out there. the kit comes in a nice compact case that will hold 7 incerts 4 fronts and 2 backs. the incerts load into the backs from the front and when you screw the front on it locks the incert in place. the workmanship is great. i have had little problems shooting thrugh any breaks. it is a little louder then a freak but not that bad. the accuracy is ball on ball with a good match.
Conclusion: For the money it is a 10 and stands above the rest, for over all it is comparebal to the freak, so if you have a freak stay with it, if you are looking for a kit or to upgrade to a better onethis is the best bang for the $
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wallify Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sp Teardrop
Sp Progressive
J&J Ceramic
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: ION
Red Q-lock
Firebolt
360 QEV
Kila detents
HALO B w/ victory
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Red NDZ Frame
Red CP rail
Black CP on/off ASA
Black NDZ S-Treme Trigger
Hybrid Lady Grips
14" Powerlyte Sceptor Kit
Evil Detonator Reg.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything round
Strengths: Light, Quiet, Accurate and Cheap
Weaknesses: Backs only come in black at the moment
Review: I heard great things about the older version of the Scepter so I held out and waited months and months for this kit to be released. Boy am I glad I did. This thing shoots ball on ball. It also clears breaks in 2 or 3 balls as well. Its quieter than my J&J was and the finish is great.

PL's customer service is top notch and those guys will really take care of you.
Conclusion: Pick one up, you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Night.Hawk Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster Black w/ Silver Accents
ICDU Low Pressure Cylinder
07 Powerlyte Scepter Black Back/Silver Tip
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
CCM No-Pro Heli-Clamp Feedneck Silver with Black Clamp
Evil Detonator Reg
Pure Energy 48ci/3000psi
NDZ ASA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high quality that fit (I use toxic and weapons grade)
Strengths: Accurate
Not loud
LIGHT
GREAT LOOKS
Self Cleaning
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Scepter barrel is without a doubt one of the best barrel systems out there. If you don't believe me, check the ultimate barrel test on pbnation.com

At about 20-30 yards, I was getting dead on accuracy shot after shot on my Promaster. It looks great and it cleans itself if you chop (which i did accidentally because too many paintballs on barrel after taking out bolt in between games>.<) after about 3-4 shots its clean and back to perfect accuracy

As for sound, I can't really tell cuz my gun is louder than most other guns but it did soften the sound quite a bit compared to stock barrel(DM'S, Timmys, egos)

Conclusion: Great Barrel if you can afford it. Its better than the Freak and any other barrel kit out there. Customer service is great to. I had a defect on one of the bores and they sent one out no questions asked
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 7th, 2007 at 9:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skaarman Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline, hammer head, cp, armson,thunder pig
Marker Setup: Ion, Blackcell body mods, q-loader, red dot tactical sight, 73/3000, special ops vest
Recommended
Paintballs:
almost any !!BUT NOT OLD ONES!!
Strengths: ACCURATE, QUITE, Well Built, looks good
Weaknesses: Diffrent bore size tip (typical of barrel kits) causes cleaning problems with squeegees.
Review: This is the first barrel kit i have used it suprised me at just how accurate the barrel could actually shoot. (30 yards had a grouping of just under 6 inches with sight). After about 100 balls i broke one do to the cheapness of paint (walmart BIG BALLS~dont buy them no matter what~) shot about 5 times and pretty much cleared its self out but had a problem with breaks from then on for about 200 balls.
I got some paint from one of my friends (Nelson ?cant remember what called?) and shoot a perfect 500 with out a break with the barrel clean.

Conclusion: If you dont have a kit and would like one buy this it locks in all bore sizers and just looks cool on all guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oofox99 Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first barrel kit.
Marker Setup: Midnight E*Tek Ego
Smoke Halo V35
Crossfire 68/4500
Powerlyte Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything works...as long as you use the correct bore size.
Strengths: Price
Light
Accuracy
Self Cleaning
Weaknesses: None...maybe just the current available backs but that is only my personal preference.
Review: I did a lot of research before I chose this barrel kit and I was also looking for something that was under $150 and looked good on my E*Tek. I ordered this barrel kit on a Monday morning and it arrived by Thursday night. When I got the package I opened it and it came with a nice case that had fittings for the 7 backs, 2 extra barrel fronts and the back. I was really impressed because the finish (dust black) matched my E*Tek and the insides of the entire barrel system had a very nice mirror finish.

So Friday was the big day to use the kit for the first time and I was using premium paint first and then toxic paint. I tried matching the bore with the paint and the first game I played I had barrel breaks and the paintballs would curve maybe 15-20 feet in front of me. Even though I had some barrel breaks the barrel is self cleaning and I was still able to shoot through the breaks! It was a lil embarrassing at first but then I realized I was using the wrong back. So I switched it out and the whole night I was shooting wonders. Ever since then I still have a great time using this barrel.

The accuracy of the barrel is very good. I purchased a 12" front first and next is going to be a 14" front. As you know the longer the barrel the longer the paintball is guided to it's target. The set up and break down of the barrel system is very fast and easy; select the correct bore size and drop it in the back, twist the front and the back together and your set.

The most satisfying thing that I noticed was the price. Very good and reasonable for a kit and for someone who is on a budget. I bought the 5 piece kit and it totalled out to under $150. I lied to my g.f. about buying the kit for less than $100 but hopefully she doesn't read this or else. I'm definitely going to buy the rest of the backs and another front in the future...great job powerlyte!
Conclusion: I recommend this kit to anyone and everyone who is looking for a barrel kit. The Powerlyte barrel system is by far a great investment for you and your marker. A good looking barrel kit and the entire 7 piece kit totallying out to under $150 w/ free shipping is a steal. Thank you Powerlyte!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

garbageman_705 Friday, November 30th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Revolver, better machining and quality control.
Freak, good barrel but made by an evil company.
Marker Setup: 05 WGP superstock
ICD Lasoya Promaster
AGD 68 Automag Classic
HPA, HALO and Revvie
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Cool case, nothing much else.
Weaknesses: Poor quality control, inconsistent machining.
Review: Okay, I bought this barrel kit after reading dozens of good reviews on it. However when I got it in the mail I was appalled. First off, all of the inserts had rough burrs and a lot of streaking inside. Second, the inserts did not sit all the way into the back, they stopped short of the back at about 3/8 of an inch. Third, the back did not screw into my gun flush, when the back was screwed into my gun I could fit a penny in the crack between barrel and marker. Fourth the tips have an O-Ring on them that is meant to seal the two halves, the back was machined so poorly that the O-Ring made no contact with the back at all. I was like, okay, I got a factory defect. I sent the whole kit back to Powerlyte thinking it was a factory defect, they call me about 4 days later and tell me this is how they make them, that the offsets are there for a reason, so I get my money back and buy a Freak kit.

Conclusion: I do not recommend this product to anyone, if you want something that is the same concept but better quality get the Empire Revolver, also though I hate to say it, the Freak kit is not half bad.

If you want a barrel that wont screw into your gun all the way with terrible blow by and inserts the could break paint then by all means get this!

I give this barrel a 2 because it sucks but it comes with a nice case.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media