paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs

X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount X.O. Industries

Buy X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 46
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Spectrum is Quality Field Paint perfect for team practice.

Boasting a field grade shell, thick fill and straight, accurate shooting! Its one of the many reasons that XO paintballs are Extremely Addictive™
Product Availability 
The X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
yesman_chado Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marbalizers, RPS Premiums, RPS Polar Ice, Zapp Spank, Rampage, only marbs worked better(not by much)
Marker Setup: 98 custom pro ACT
response trigger
16'Empire Wicked twister barrel
GTA Inline Expansion CHamber
Recommended
Barrels:
Empire WIcked Twister Rifled barrel shoots amazing for such cheap paint.
Strengths: Cheap
Accuracy
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I am not in the money I would say, and am constantly on the search for cheap, good paint. I love the Marbs, but they are too expensive for me. I have tried the other stuff. Stingers, Rampage, Premiums, polar ice, and all the other borderline pricey stuff.
I was goin to get a bag of paint at the local shop and noticed spectrum. It was only 9.50 for a bag which is GREAT so i got a bag.

I shot with my friends worn down Model 98 with my barrel on it (see above) and it was breathtaking. My shots didnt quite go as far and the other paints, ( might be the gun dunno) but they were as straight as anything. They came within a foot of eachother from at least 60 feet. Also, the fill was bright orage andf even broke on my friend, who was wearing a heavy ghilly suit, which is really poofy!!! you conserve even more money because of how little paint you have to use. When i saw someone, 5 shots was generally enough to get em out, even playing two shot kills!

Overall, this paint deserves a 10 out of 10, not because it stands out in quality, but in relation to the tiny cost of $9.50 a bag, this paint is heaven for people that arent gonna spend hundreds.
Conclusion: Great paint for the money, if you are cheap like me, and want a reliable and accurate paint for your money, spectrum is the way to go. ;)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

professorchaos Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Whitebox
Rampage
Stinger
Marker Setup: 2005 Pirhana GTI
Halo TSA Hopper
20oz co2 Tank
14' inch PMI Razzor Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
My razzor did good.
Strengths: Shoots Straight
Cheap
Shell Is Visable On Hit
Never Broke In My Barrel
Weaknesses: None That I Know Of
Review: I got these to test in my backyard. They were AMAZING. They shot straight, easy to see hits, the paint is great and thick and they just kicked a**. The place i got them from i got for soooo cheap like forty bucks a case. I really really liked them.
Conclusion: Amazing! Get them . Best paint i have ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Barbasnoo Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
XO HotBox - not quite as good
XO WhiteBox - not quite as good
Draxxus WhiteBox - same
Marker Setup: Russian Legion Black/Red Shocker NXT - 74 of 200
Russian Legion Virtue Board w/ Destroyka Grips
Full Freak Kit

Virtue Laser Eyes
Nox Kilo Bolt
All The Other Good Private Label Parts (Color Matched)
CP Bullet ASA
Recommended
Barrels:
Any barrel that you can size the paint with. IE; Freak
Strengths: FILL!
Consistent shell
Price
Availibility
Weaknesses: Every now and then you get an odd ball.
Review: Well with me being mostly a local rec player, I don't look for the best most costly paint. So I was mostly using draxxus whitebox and some blaze. Then I started trying paint by xo, and I have never been back. Spectrum for the price 30-35 a case is amazing. I have heard mixed reviews on it, but I have never had a bit if trouble out of it. It has a cosisent size, about a .684, when its cold about a .682. And it has a niiice thick fill. The yellow is especially bright, the others are still pretty good too. I just love using this paint! Breaks pretty well for the most, lime any paint you will every now and then get an odd one and it will bounce, but this stuff does good!
Conclusion: So when saving money is the idea, you cannot go wrong with these, for around 30 a case, it kicks whitebox in the nuggets. Pick some of this stuff up. I can almost guarantee you that you will like it. I would give it a 9 out if 10, but since the fill is totally unwipeable and the price is so good. I give it a 10 out if 10.

Great paint for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bushmanNo1 Wednesday, September 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto
Pmi
rps
Marker Setup: 06 Black magic E2 WorrFrame, Eclipse QEV's, Orracle tickler Halo B 68/4500
06 Kaner barrel set
Karnivor, E2, Kaner kit,
PM6 dye ultralite
Also used titanium longbow and dye ultralite barrels and a deadly wind carbon fibur barrel with freak inserts.
Recommended
Barrels:
Best results with this paint was a Kaner system.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Inaccurate after 40 feet
oblong in shape
poor quality
Review: I noticed this paint showing up at the local pb stores so I thought I would try it. Let me state that I play woodsball 100%. So accuracy and distance are very important. So I went to my field and my son and I played with the paint all day. The first thing I noticed was when I had a clear shot on an opponent about 50-60 feet away, I would take the shot and miss. I would then get stuck in a fire fight and get hit even after unleashing 20-50 paintballs at the offender. I thought it might have been my barrel or the paint to barrel size match. I rechecked everything and played a few more games with the same frustrating results. So I took gun barrels and paint to the range.

What I found was that the paint would fly straight for about 40-50 feet then curve off in random direction left right up down and even corkscrew (I've never seen a paintball do that). I shot over a case of paint. I used an old longbow titanium barrel, a dye ultalite barrel and a kaner barrel all sized to the paint. The best results were with the kaner. However I could only get about 10 more feet of accuracy.

This was pitiful.

Well I thought it might have been a bad box so later on I went to another pb store and bought another case. When I shot a bag out of this case the results were similar. But this time I was getting breaks about every thirty or forty balls. When I examined the balls I noticed that some were distended they were not round but oblong in shape. I figure that these were lodging in the barrel and breaking.

I then had a third experience with this paint. I went on vacation and went to a local field. They only permitted their paint. Guess what their paint was? You got it.
They also had signs declaring that they would kick you off the field if they caught you using another type of paint. So as much as I hated it I had to buy another case.

After playing a few games and just getting frustrated I looked around at the other local players they all had bags of the same paint. But as I continued to watch they kept going back to their vehicles between games. I soon realized they were filling up with their own paint. So I asked them what the deal was and was told by everyone including the ref's (who overlooked this discression) that this paint sucked and they didnt like putting it in their guns.

I hope I do not have any more experience with this paint.

I almost forgot I found in one case that the paint was actualy stuck together and I had to hand sort it before I could use it. Paintballs stuck together sure messes up a Halo. I believe I ended up throwing about 200 balls away.

Thge last bags of paint I have are useless I cant ever use them for target practice.
Conclusion: I would reccommend Monster ball over this paint. If you dont have to shoot over 30 feet or like getting tagged then this paint might work for you. Or if you are playing against me I would reccomend this paint. But if you want accuracy, distance and consistency in your paint dont by this junk.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 12th, 2007 at 10:17 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NCballer28 Monday, February 14th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
WPN Weapons Grade
Diablo Heat
Visible Impact Rec Grade
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion w/ Q-lock feedneck, Sly 16 inch Carbon fiber Barrel, Firebolt
Ninja 48/3000
Invert Halo Too

Recommended
Barrels:
None
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Just about everything.
Review: Hello, I've recently been testing paints that are around the $30-$45 price range. Yes these are very cheap but they are terrible. They are like rocks, they break on target maybe 3 out of 10 times. They do not fly straight, they are some of them are oblong shape causing jams. The only thing good about these is that I got a case for about $35.
Conclusion: Do not buy this paint unless of course you like your paint to fly all different directions. I give them a 4/10 just for the price.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AdR_EXTi Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo
Marballizer
Marker Setup: Tippmann Carver One on CO2 with a Rotor Hopper

(Yes overkill but I didn't have the standard hopper at home, this was my wife's gun)
Recommended
Barrels:
Won't make a difference.
Strengths: Economical
Thick paint
Price
Solid Color (Good/Bad)
Weaknesses: Extremely Hard Shell
Ovalized balls
Protruded seam
Solid Color (Good/Bad)
Review: I bought a case of this paint since I am a returning player after almost a 10 year hiatus. I had no knowledge of the brand since I used to use Diablo or PMI Marballizer paint.

Box = Pretty generic white box with black lettering. Who cares for the box...

Packaging = Standard for a 2000 ball box, four bags all correctly sealed.

Paintball apperance = In the package they looked ok, but after a closer look I couldn't take my eyes away from the incredibly protrudent seam. I mean, it is clearly indicative that they will pose problems just because of that. There weren't many odd shaped or dimpled but that wouldn't be as much a problem as the seam would. The color was green with orange paint. Not really pretty but a hunter green color is great for woodsball games.

Paintball texture = The feel of it was that it had a really hard casing which is both a positive and a negative at the same time. The seam was clearly felt, other than that they felt smooth.

Experience = I tried it at a target 40ft away with a full tank of CO2 and the spray was everywhere. I had never seen so many balls take curves at such a close range. The target was a 2ftx4ft target and some of the balls cleared the target and went their way. I would have expected that to happen at 80ft with a low grade paint but this was just out there. I would have thought that the hard casing would stop ball breaks but one imploded on the barrel. I mean, there is no reason to even practice with these since you'll spend more times cursing and getting frustrated than practicing at all.

I thought I'd give them a try but now I have 1,500 paintballs that are pretty much useless.
Conclusion: All I can say is buy at your own risk. They have a very attractive price but I believe no frustration is worth the savings.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2010 at 3:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

backyard sniper Sunday, June 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BT munitions (shell)
Marker Setup: tippmann a5
super old but insanely good hammerhead barrel
12oz crome-molly co2
liberty stock
military diggi camo vest
Recommended
Barrels:
Any other than stock
Strengths: Color
Weaknesses: Seam
Review: The second i opened the bag and saw these i laughed so hard, cuz they were purple. i really dont know why. but the funniest thing was my younger brothe took one and said 'i wonder what the fill color is' and popped it. well it went all over his face and it was a really thick orange.

Filling our pods and hoppers this stuff has no problems with the shock of running or jumping. but emptying one after the giant big game, half were stuck together because it was raining. like any paintball dont get it wet. my younger brother learned that the hard way.

Overall decent considering that i was more of a "cover the area the guy is at" type of shooting, it worked well.
Conclusion: Its not terrible but take the normal precautions like you would with any cheaper paints. check before you buy
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hexAGA Sunday, May 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil
Marbs
Heat
Anarchy
Marker Setup: PMI Trracer
14" J&J Ceramic barrel
Custom foregrip
Custom 13-round feed tube
Recommended
Barrels:
Smallish bore, ported. Underbore if you can
Strengths: Cheap
No breaks
Weaknesses: Often misshapen
Hard shell
Review: I bought these solely for outlaw purposes as the fields close to me are all Field Paint Only. In Canada, forty dollars for a full case is a better price than you will get at most Walmarts, no matter how terrible the paint.

As far as good-quality paint goes this is worthless. I wouldn't advocate using these on any fields and I'd cringe even when giving this paint to renters. One in four paintballs are egg-shaped and many do not break; as a pump user it is kind of a pain to have to use these.

However, in my situation (jobless and in desperate need of my renegade-ball fix) for 2 cents a ball these could not be better. When playing out back with three or four people you stop caring about the equipment; the whole point of outlaw ball is to do it cheap and dirty, for fun purposes only, and I have to say that these suffice.

The only reason you would be buying these is for their price, and I can't say they aren't cheap. Better than buying a case at Canadian Tire, where you have no idea of the paint's age and no chance to check it for breaks before you purchase it. Other than that, there are no real redeeming factors to this. They won't chop or break for the sole reason that they hardly break upon a hit anyway. Play if you don't mind some bruises. At least these won't break in your cyclone feed like the Camotacs that XO also sell.
Conclusion: Use this for outlaw ball only. It's totally pointless to buy high-grade paint when you're playing out back. The whole point of outlaw is to have fun anyway, not to win. Buy the cheapest, most horrible paint you can get and hope it matches your barrel to some degree.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sean305 Monday, March 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Formula 13 and higher end balls.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
HE E-grip
Flatline
Full Tech T upgrade (squishy paddles, vortex mod, QEPH, Lightning rod, )
X7 hopper, or 50 rnd tac cap
Crossfire 68/4500 grip bottle
Phat expansion chamber
Recommended
Barrels:
Flatline
Strengths: Cheap $31/case
Accurate
No breaks/jams
Hard shell thick bright fill

Weaknesses: None.
Review: In all honesty the paint performed damn good. I bought 3 additional cases to go play at a field in Tampa this weekend. I compare the Spectrum to Formula 13. The ball is extremely accurate with a thick bright fill, BUT at a FRACTION of the cost ($31 USD). The ball is very round and has a nice hard shell which I like and no sign of the seam sticking out from the ball. I thought they would bounce off a target but they didnt. only bounced when i tested them dropping them on the floor. I tested the ball against a full suited up mannequin and all the balls broke. I even tested it against a empty 2L coke bottle held in a vice grip and it broke every time. I was very weary of buying these "white box" paintballs when it came to breaks and deformed balls but my shop said XO is a sister company to RPS so i tried them out and they definitely was very happy and surprised to how well they performed.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend them as they perform like a premium priced paintball for half the cost.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 15th, 2010 at 10:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yankeeshortfan2 Friday, March 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much EVERYTHING
Marker Setup: Etek3
Cure 3 Bolt
Freak Barrel Kit/Stock Barrel
88ci/4500 Crossfire HPA Tank
Evo2 Hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Between freak and stock, neither did any better or worse than the other
Strengths: See Body
Weaknesses: See Body
Review: Id use them again if I were in a pinch or the price dropped dramatically, other than that I can find something better to use. Nothing great but nothing good either. Accurate when they didnt break though!

Strengths ~ Great fill, hard to wipe, easy to see
Dimples were non existent
Flew straight
Seems very very small, great


Weaknesses ~ Break A LOT more than I would have liked to seen for the price
$48 for a case is too much for the quality
Conclusion: Like I said, only if the price dropped or if I were in a pinch to find a decent ball
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media