paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jazzvaulter Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year47 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman SL68-II (not even close)
Tippman 98 Custom Flatline (a little bit more range, but way less accurate)
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom w/remote through stock- everything annoed woodland
68/3000 fiberwrapped HPA
Red dot sight (yes, it does help)
40 round hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really needed- not many things available.
Barrels for this are really rare to find- stock one is awesome, though, so don't worry about it
You could get the vert air / 12 gram changers and top feed to make it stock class legal
Stocks are nice- remote line helps ballance the marker- it's very light.
Strengths: See the Actual review.
Weaknesses: The velocity adjustment.
Review: ACCURATE- most accurate gun I have seen (as good or better than my friend's $1800 autococker). It's accurate enough to use a red dot sight as an actual indicator of where the ball is going to go.

CONSISTENT- this goes right in hand with accuracy. The more consistent a gun is, the more accurate it is going to be. The gun is great at the chrono. Adjusting it is a pain, but once it is dialed in it doesn't fluctuate at all- my field limit is 290 and I hit 290, 289, 290, 290.

FAST- it's a relative term. It won't do crazy 15-20 balls per second rates, but with the autotrigger and the very smooth pump stroke (use a little grease in there and it works like magic) you can just move the pump arm back and forth while holding the trigger to get 4-5 balls per second (which is enough for cover fire anyways if you're just playing woodsball).

QUIET- I've snuck up on groups of people from behind and from twenty feet away shot two or three of them without the others noticing except when they hear the "OUCH" shouts from the people next to them. I also built a silencer, and now it's quiet enough where you only hear the gun a tiny tiny bit- the loudest sound is the paintball whooshing through the air (don't, in general, try to do this. silencers are mostly illegal unless you have a permit to make them).

OTHER REMARKS- This gun is good enought that when my friends with brand new impulses and autockers went to play speedball, I could go with them and still get as many or more kills than s. Granted, any pro speedball player with a fast gun and brains would smack the heck out of me, and I did get nastily bunkered a couple times, but with my friends playing againts little kids it was fine (by the way- some of the kids had timmies). It's so easy to pick people off if they don't pay attention- that accuracy just makes it point and shoot. The upside of using a Phantom is also that if you ever decide to move to high-end electro type guns you will be much more analytical about your situations and will have a better sense of strategy (hopefully). If you keep it up well (clean it out every once and a while, grease it a little bit under the bolt) it will be a great gun for a long time. You also save a TON of money on paint- I use at max 500 rounds a day.
Conclusion: Awesome gun. If you're looking for something that will be a reliable, accurate, non-costly weapon that will serve you well look no furthur.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 8th, 2004 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

phantompower Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer
Saber
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom, bottomline
14" stock barrel
Ricochet G2K Hopper
Marballizers, for sure
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom Line
Detent Rings
CCI Nickel Barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Dependable
Light
Durable
Sleek
Good customer service
Intimidation
Comfortable Handle
Stock barrel rocks
Efficient
Weaknesses: Slow ROF (duh it's a pump)
Large bore
Review: The HYPE:
. Well, hype is everything, when it comes down to the Phantom. Some have said that, all in all, it doesn't live up to the hype, and it's just a paintball gun, like any other. Well, while this is true, the fact is, all paintball guns are . . . well . . . paintball guns. They all have the same shortcomings, such as problems with bad balls, wind, and air.

The ACCURACY:
. Aside from these things, though, I would insist that some paintball guns are in fact accurate, and some much more so than others, like the Phantom. This is a work of art. The moment you pick one of these up, you know it's gonna work, it's light but very solid. Few other guns can make one shot snipes from over 100ft away, and can shoot so consistently (as long as you're not using the auto trigger, but who needs to?). It shoots exactly where you aim, and I've hardly ever needed to adjust for a trajectory, with its incredibly straight shot (it's not flatline, though).

The CONSTRUCTION:
. The gun is made in a very straightforward manner, and can be customized in many ways, with colours, and even many different models of the gun, which you can reassemble yourself with parts supplied by CCI.
. There are only three freely moving inner components when you immediately take it apart (bolt, spring, and "thing-that-hooks-to-the-bolt-before-you-fire").
This means when you open it up, you won't have parts flying everywhere that you won't be able to reassemble. It only really fits back together one way, and really easily. The entire gun comes apart with two huge (but not obstructively so) thumbscrews with o-rings inside them to make them stay put. And do they ever.
. After you've broken it in a little bit, the pump stroke is smooth and solid, and since it's not an undercocking pump, there's no chance you could break it (or pretty much anything else on this gun, short of dropping a VERY large rock on it).

The EFFICIENCY:
. You'll get a LOT more shots from one fill of gas on this gun than with any semi or autococker out there, especially if you upgrade to the nickel barrel. One 12oz CO2 fill lasts me an entire summer, and my friend's stock class gets a good 30 shots, with another 6-8 usable ones after that. This can also be attributed to the discrete porting on the end. This makes it a little louder than some, but a fair trade, in my opinion.

The CUSTOMER SERVICE:
. Mike Casady, the guy who makes the Phantom, and owns CCI, is awesome! He'll reply to your e-mails super fast, and he stands behind everything he makes 100%, no matter how old and how minor. He understands the little guy, and gives you so much bang for your buck (sometimes he'll even do stuff for you for free, if he sees fit!).

The STOCK BARREL:
. The stock barrel is tough, easy to clean and accurate. That being said, it is very simple in design, a little on the loud side, and has a fairly large bore size. Mike says this is so the Phantom can accomodate ANY paintball on the market, which is nice. But if you're not using some big paint, it'll roll right outta your barrel and onto the ground. You'll need to either pick up a set of detent rings (for only $6) or a CCI Nickel barrel with a tighter bore (and unbelievably enough, a little more accuracy).

The WRAP-UP
. The worst part about this gun, is playing against it. The knowledge that at any moment, without warning, you could get smacked by a single shot from out of nowhere, from farther away than a stock barrelled paintball gun should be able to shoot, and since there was only one shot fired, you never know where it came from. Scary.
Conclusion: . If you expect the results of a sniper rifle, you're bound to be disappointed by this gun. If you're simply expecting the most accurate paintball gun you've ever used, you will not be disappointed in any way. Also, you can't diss it for having a slow rate of fire, since it wasn't made to have a fast one, it was made to be stock class, and that's what it excels at. The only downside I can see is the easily remedied large bore size, which brings my rating down to 9.9, which quickly rounds up to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 28th, 2004 at 7:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantompb Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-lite, Spyder Compact 2000- those arent pumps though...
Marker Setup: Phantom, gravity feed, bottem line, 45 grip, and 14" stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a gas thru stock, even a scope will work
Strengths: Autotrigger, GREAT stock barrel, GREAT customer service, durable, lightweight, JUST PLAIN GREAT
Weaknesses: Just the ROF- but it has great ROF for a pump
Review: This is a great gun. Just add C02 and this gun is wonderful right out of the box. You don't need a new barrel, but there is one available at CCI's website.The autotrigger on this gun works great too. I had some questions about this gun so i emailed the CCI and recieved an email directly from the owner, giving me tips and ideas. CCI has great customer service. With this gun i can keep up with my friends Semi's no problem. I even convinced a pump hater into lovin my gun. I love my phantom!
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN! It deserves to be rated 10 outta 10!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 6:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TheProfessional Sunday, July 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GT Commando (tricked)
PT Professional (sidearm)
Too many Brass Eagle markers
Marker Setup: Urban Camo Anodized 45 feed Phantom with: after market springs, remote, 4oz. tank, CARcollapsible stock, sling, 4x7 scope, red dot sight, 45 hopper, yellowbelly/slam paintballs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker is perfect right out of the box, even without any upgrades. The only upgrade you may feel you need would be a 45 grip, (extra $30 from CCI) as opposed to the M16 style grip, which is made of a VERY high quality plastic.
If you want upgrades, it is best to buy from Component Concepts Inc. I will admit barrels are hard to come by, and even tho they are a favorite upgrade, it would be detrimental to the performance of the gun, instead of a help.
Strengths: This entire marker brings new meaning to the word sniper. If you play paintball and have dreamed of the "one shot-one kill" scenario, this is one of the only markers that will be up for the challenge. It's best features include:
-Outstanding accuracy with velocity options
-Extreme range that is bested only by a flatline barrel; (Tippmann 98)
-Superior design and simple to maintain
-This Pump gun can even get you out of tight situations when you are surrounded by autos and semi-auto players. It has a very good autotrigger which will keep players from rushing you. Just don't let them know the phantom is capable of that until they move in.
-Best customer service in existance. Mike Casady buildsthese himself, and is very friendly as well as professional with any problems (even though there are none) you may find regarding the phantom.
Weaknesses: I am not one to over-glorify a marker, but for what my opinion is worth I'd say that this is the perfect pump marker. If you prefer to play as the sniper or marksman of your group, or even if you need to cut back on paint and money you spend, this is your answer.
There is almost nothing "bad" about the phantom.
It works well with small bore paint although it is labeled for medium to large. (a bit odd, eh?)
Upgrade the handle for the extra $30. Buy it with the gun at phantom_online.com
YOU DO NOT NEED A NEW BARREL. The stock one is the best, longer is better in my opinion, for accuracy. Plus- any after-market barrel you want needs to fit through the pump in order to fit.

Conclusion: If God wanted a paintball gun to snipe sinners all the way from heaven, he would use a phantom to do so.

It's just that dirty.Most importantly, using a pump will signifigantly help you or force you rather, to improve your skills in shooting, stealth, and team work. Like Smart Parts says about their Freak series barrel, "It will not miss without your help."

In fact, it is light-weight and has a low profile too, which helps to give you maximum movement. With the phantom, you do not need a great deal of paint, maybe a 45 hopper (even brass eagle will do) and 2 tubes of paint will last many games.

I hope that you will consider the Phantom as your marker of choice. Friends will be impressed by the gun, as well as your skills.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wolfpack64 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
First Gen Pirahna, Bloodsucker, SL68, Thunderbolt, PGP, Greyghost, Grayspirt, Maverick. Just to name a few.
Marker Setup: custom 98. w/ RT, Lapco DF w/stock, Lapco Rear V.A. , rocketcock, Ricochet AK, J&J ceramic, Polished interals, Smart parts Wood grips. Dragun Tes stock. Phantom w/ 14in ported CCI. barrel, A5 stock, Bloodsucker, VM 68, more guns then room to li
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is the only upgrade you need. Then just customize it to your liking.
Strengths: Very accurate, light, extremily reliable. This gun is one of the best markers ever!
Weaknesses: Not a one.
Review: This gun is the last pump that I used before switching over to a semi. It's the most accurate maker I have ever shot after over 15 years of play. It sadily is not used nearly as much as the old days. I always bring with just incase, because it works in any weather.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for stockclass and / or anyone who craves the Old School ways.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brophog Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann SL68II
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
Male Stabilizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shoots VERY well out of the box.
Stabilizer adds further consistency with CO2
Variety of upgrades available, mostly cosmetic
Strengths: Very Consistent
Well Balanced
Excellent Customer Service
Weaknesses: Nelson style valve has limited flow compared to today's high end markers.
Review: I have used a phantom for several years now, and consider it the pinnacle of the pump world. There are more high priced pumps out there, but consider them more show pieces than game markers due to being incredibly high priced and very limited gain over a phantom.

If you consider only pump guns, the phantom really has no weaknesses. It is true the Nelson valve has a limited flow rate, but considering your only able to pump out 5-6 BPS with the autotrigger, this is not a factor.

The versatility of the phantom is a really big strength. You can play either stock class or direct feed (left, right, center). For air you can play either 12 gram, or constant air. You can place your bottle either back bottle, bottomline, or vertical. There isn't a configuration that is not do able with a phantom.

The biggest strength is the ability to aim the marker. It is incredibly well balanced, and its single tube design makes the gun point very well. It is very light weight compared to today's standards at only 1.7 stock.
Conclusion: If you like to play pump, just get the phantom. If your a fan of the autococker or sniper and are accustomed to that setup, then that is a great route to go. If you have the money, you may want to go with a Palmer or Carter. If you just want a great pump gun, that can be used anywhere, buy the phantom. There is nothing to go wrong with this gun, and replacement parts are easily accessible at phantomonline.com.

The fact the phantom is still in production is a real testament to the design and service of CCI. You won't have any fear of not getting parts for this marker for a very long time. Even new markers come out with a new design every year, making getting parts for the older model difficult. The phantom has stayed relatively unchanged for over 14 years now. I highly recommend.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Talon, garbage compared to this.
Marker Setup: Gravity feed Phantom with 12 gram co2 changer and 11" stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
The ridge on the m-16 grip can wear on your hands after a while. It's not so bad if you have gloves on. Regardless, the .45 grip might be worth the extra expense.

Barrel and internals are nearly perfect stock. For an easier pump stroke you can take out the external pump spring. The internal spring moves the bolt back into place even without it.

CCI Detent rings are a cheap upgrade I intend on making.
Strengths: lightweight
Small profile
Accurate
Made with precision
Easy disassembly
Weaknesses: The m-16 grip could be more comfortable
Review: I bought this gun used. On the same day the package arrived, I took it to a local field.

Of course, I should have oiled and disassembled it first, but I went right into play. It is extremely accurate, moderately quiet, and the internals are very smooth in operation.

The pump stroke and spring back are very nice, the return spring was enough to prevent any double feeding. If you break a ball or double feed with this marker, it's your own fault.

Efficiency with 12-gram CO2 cartridges was impressive. Unfortunately, the o-rings in my marker were lacking lubrication and allowed leakage after half a day of playing on the first day. Disassembly and replacement is both cheap and simple.

Field stripping is easy, just two thumb screws and the barrel to take off.



What I really love about this gun is the weight. It is incredibly light, especially with the 12-gram Co2.

To make a comparison, a BE Talon weighs just about the same as this Phantom. The Phantom is twice as long and is almost completely metal construction. The Talon is almost completely plastic. You can snap shoot at close range just as quickly with the Phantom as you could with the little Talon.

I was dashing around for an entire day of paintballing with it, bunkering semi players who couldn't react fast enough as I ran by. The autotrigger is great for this, and I had no problem with double feeding. The light weight also means one handed operation - between pumps, at least - doesn't tire your wrist out.
Conclusion: The Phantom is an unbeatable value, and a precise marker crafted with great attention to detail. This may be the last gun I ever want.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 19th, 2004 at 9:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ariade Friday, July 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon (excellent gun, doesn't matter what anyone says)
Worr Games Sniper 2 (excellent quality, but not a phantom)
ACI Maverick (good back up, I like it, but certain quality issues)
PGP 2 (excellent pistol, tough as a tank)
Sidekick Semi (very good product, not the PGP, but worth every penny)
Marker Setup: Phantom (stock and direct feed) with either a 4oz tank or a 9oz. Nothing else (it doesn't need it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Choose wisely between stock class and direct feed, then just use the marker as is...nothing else is needed.
Strengths: Reliable, accurate, beautiful. The bmw of paintball.
Weaknesses: If you don't like pump then this is not for you. Somewhat expensive.
Review: This marker is a truely brilliant piece of work, there is nothing that happens to this that can't be fixed in 5 minutes, not that anything WILL go wrong with it. The autotrigger works great, though I usually only bother taking single shots (as this baby will put the ball exactly where you aim). The weight of the marker is very light, even with 200 paintballs and a full 9oz tank, and even lighter when you play stock class (duh). There isn't much to say about this gun apart from the fact that it is basically the king of pump guns, and if you're wanting a pump, this one is worth the price.
Conclusion: For the hardcore pump player, this is your marker, for the recball player, give this a try and you'll soon find that even angels fall to a single shot, when it's fired from something as excellent as this. Build quality is unsurpassed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniperz95 Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman hammer, aci maverick
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom w/ 14" barrel
PMI Pirahna PRO TS 2002
Recommended
Upgrades:
You dont need any, but i guess if you were to get one, get a new barrel
Strengths: Extremely light, most accuarate gun i've ever shot, and powerful
Weaknesses: The aiming, you may want to buy a sight for it
Review: I just got mine today, and i cant even begin to tell you how happy I am with it.

when i fired it, it was either on target every time or at least very very close to it

The barrel looks custom and performs perfectly already, i see no need to replace it

Maintenance is easy, as is adjusting the velocity with the barrel accessory

It looks sleek, and feels like a rifle when holding it
Conclusion: This is by far the best pump for the money out there, i couldnt believe how powerful and accurate this thing was, and I'm very h appy with it. I give it a 9 because of the aiming, go get a sight for it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pump Phantom Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No pumps are built as well as the Phantom.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom-back bottle- red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A red dot sight if your playing woodsball as a sniper or go to stock class and vertical air if playing stockclass or speedball.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, durable, built like a tank and maximum performance.
Weaknesses: None besides that velocity is a litle trouble to change but thats not too bad.
Review: Where do I start, the phantom is in my opinion the best paintball pump on the market today. The phantom is dead accurate and durable. If you compare the price to other good higher class pump markers, the phantom is cheaper. The WGP snipers go for about $385 and an all decked out, stock class, vertical feed phantom costs about $280 to about $300 max. The basic Phantom I own only costs a mere $190! If your looking for a great pump that can set the standards for a fair price compared to other higher class pump markers, i suggest the phantom. All phantoms also have the ability to make it use 12 grams if you get the 12 gram changer with it ( all stock class phantoms have the 12 gram changer ). A good temperated day can get you around 40-45 shots max on your 12 gram. Im not sure if that shot count is completely correct because i don't run my phantom on 12's, but 40-45 shots i heard is about right if its a good temperature day. The phantom after you "break it in" will have a super smooth and silky pump stroke. You will be racking those paintballs in and shooting them very quickly. The phantom is also good for saving money on paint and air ( or c02 ). You can screw in a 9 oz. tank and be set for the whole day and then some. There is only one essential upgrade needed for your phantom and that is some detent rings. Read a review on CCI's detent rings for more information on the rings and what they do. I can only see one bad thing on the phantom. That is your velocity. To change it you must put this metal rod down the barrel and turn it. Once you have your phantom dialed in at your velocity its not much of a problem.
Conclusion: If you are looking to save $$ on paint or just want to show the semi's that the gun or the speed of the gun doesnt make the player, grab a phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 8:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media