paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, October 8th, 2001
Strengths: I have been playing for some time with this gun now and I really like it so far.
-Skilled Improved a lot since I first started out.
-Goes super straight even with the 11" stock!!!!!!!!
-Powerful
-Light
-Looks cool (if chosen good combination)
-Works great with a cheapo scope!
Weaknesses: -My velocity bolt is messed up. I think I need a new nylon set screw because it keeps loosening!!!!!!!!!!! Well, i kinda damaged it. Jejejejeje.
-Pump vs. Semi
-M-16, you'll say its comfy at first, but later you'll want a 45 grip!
-Need trigger shoe. These are cool.
Conclusion: Man, I used to suck. Now I can just run up with no effort with a pump gun. There are times that I want a Semi, but that's part of the training.
Gun hardly needs upgrades, but make sure you get one that already has good comfort like one with a 45 grip. Y
All I want on my phantom is a vert, 3.5 oz tank, 45 grip, and trigger shoe. That will complete my upgrades. yessory now. BTW, i seen some people with all these stuff on their phantoms. Geez, I couldn't even see the phantom, just the BIG-O TANK and a BIG-O Loader...thats why i like nice and compact type of phantoms...mmmmmmmmm......good. Oh yeah, and sniper2 looks cool. i want one. I see this guy with this shiney blue one. It looks sweet and bulky.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, October 6th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is very light, with a nice, smooth pump action. It is by far the most accurate gun I have ever fired. With a CCI 14" nickel barrel, I can hold 3" shot groupings at 30 yards firing from the shoulder. It is the most gas efficient gun on the market. A 9 oz tank will last all day long. It has an autotrigger feature that will give a rate of fire equal to a low end semi (amazing for a pump gun). The stock barrel is excellent. This is one of the few markers that is truly good "out of the box". This gun is also easily convertable between stock class and hopper fed play. There are 3 points you can put a bottle, two types of custom shoulder stocks, two styles of handgrips, and dozens of custom colors, so getting a configuration that is balanced for your playing style is no problem. It fires very quietly. Few, if any, upgrades are needed. If you are a sniper or disciplined mid field player, this is your gun.
Weaknesses: As with all pumps, it does not have a high ROF (6bps max). This can be tough on the front field against 12 bps markers. However, it's long range, pinpoint accuracy makes it so that you do not need "accuracy by volume". You can hit a target in 1-2 shots at 30 yards with this baby. The internal velocity adjustment is inconvienient, but only slightly so. Once you have made an adjustment, the velocity will remain consistent within 5fps. Other than that, there is nothing bad about this gun.
Conclusion: This gun is the end all and be all of pump markers. I reccomend you use its accuracy over distance as an advantage. Get good cover and laugh as the semi auto players' balls fall 5 yards short of you, while yours are still hitting them square in the head. This gun rules the outdoor field and is great even from the back of a speedball arena. Remember that your advatage fades when high end semis get in close, so be smart and move back or to the flanks. The phantom does not need to be modified, it is a great gun out of the box. It has, hands down, the best stock barrel in existance (better than most aftermarket barrels). However, if you get a CCI nickel plated barrel ($15-$20 upgrade), it will match or better the performance of a Palmer custom for hundereds of dollars less. No joke, I compared. If you use a horizontal bottle set up, get an ACI expansion chamber; vertical setups will not need this. By far the best marker I have ever used. I would reccomend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 2nd, 2001
Strengths: Its a phantom. :) How much better can you get? Its small, its light, and it rocks. I have recently bought a gravity feed breech for my SC phantom and it performs the same, only I shoot more now. I havn't played speedball with my new breech yet, but I have played speedball with my SC breech and I was hitting out guys like Devon (he can shoot is angel at 16 bps in semi-mode). Trust me, we clocked it. He is a pretty good shot too. But its just funny to laugh at guys who spend 1000's of dollars on electros and then get nailed by a pump.
Weaknesses: Price, but its worth it. I need to get a 45 grip cuz the m-16 is uncomfortable when tucking in.
Conclusion: A great gun, great value, you get what you pay for and then some. Angels beware, this pump will send you running for cover. Buy a phantom, its better than being on the recieveing end of its performance. I only gave it a 9 cuz everything has room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, September 14th, 2001
Strengths: -Most importantly-----------more ACCURATE than you would believe with the stock barrel
-very easily stripped
-few parts
-all metal
-dourable
-shoots as fast as a semi
Weaknesses: people say the grip is annoying but my opinion is neutral. Definately not worth the cost of a .45 grip .........so really nothing bad.
Conclusion: Cheap compaired to all semis
Middle cost compaired to pumps
Its high quality
If your looking for a pump ABSOLUTELY get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 27th, 2001
Strengths: This has to be my favorate gun. i've had my phantom for about 6-7 years now and i've only chopped like 10 balls in the whole time i've had it. i've played paintballs games for the past like 4 years and this gun has been the most accurate gun out of all my friends. the only thing i changed was the barrel mine came with an 11" i changed it to a 13". hoping to get a 18" or 21" custom barrel.
Weaknesses: this gun is pretty loud. baught with m-16 grip and i couldn't convert to verticle feed till i baught a 45 grip. not many places sell upgrades for the phantom anymore.
Conclusion: suggested upgrades.. 45 grip with bottem or verticle feed, t-stock, red dot sight, and longer barrel. this must be the best pump gun ever made.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 29th, 2001
Strengths: This gun does rock. I think it has got to be the best pump gun ever made. I picked mine up used for 80 bucks what a deal. It was in perfect condition. Except there was a noticable scratch on the inside of the barrel. It still shot straight as an arrow though. The quality is unmatched too. After playing with an old trracer with all the plastic crap on it this gun felt good. The only thing I don't like about mine is it has those stupid m16 style grips. Thats a quick upgrade though. Beside that this gun is awesome. If you want a pump gun that will last forever and shoot darts then this is your gun. Even the stock barrel is awesome. No need to change it (even though I will just for kicks). Oh yeah compared to that trracer this gun is quiet.
Weaknesses: If you have to adjust your velocity more than 20-25 fps up or down you need to change springs. This is pretty easy to do though so no biggy. Besides that there is nothing bad about this gun at all.
Conclusion: My gun is completely stock and it shot great. I got mine for eighty bucks used so no complaint for me on the price. I think this is the best pump you can get and most other pumps don't even compare. I reccommend this gun to anyone who wants the best quality, accurate pump, and is serious about pump play. Go and get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 29th, 2001
Strengths: Ive waited to write this review to give it 2 days of play before I judge it. Well those two days are up and I have only one thing to say about this gun....IT ROCKED!!! My Phantom has the bottomline, 45 grip and a 14 inch barrel, with Acid Green anodizing. I got this gun without having the experience of using a pump so at first I was a bit nervous about using it. Once I got it on the field and popped multiple semis and super semis my nervousness soon resolved. The gun performed very well and had the best range and was one of the most accurate guns on the field. Once other players relized that their balls were dropping at my feet as mine planted themselves in the middle of their goggles, I had players ducking for cover every time I raised my gun.
Weaknesses: There are hardly any things bad about this gun at all. I have only a couple of minor complaints. One thing is that the barrel doesnt shoot all that well through ball breaks(which happens rarely, unless you double cock) and you need to tighten down the velocity drag screw a little bit to keep the velocity screw from changing. You also might want to re-chrono after 50 shots or so from a full tank cause the velocity tends to drop a bit. But other than that...a great gun.
Conclusion: This gun is probably one of the best guns that come stock that you can buy. Awesome performance, accuracy, amazing distance, great looks and quality. It is a very reliable gun and comes with several spare parts. Although 290 might be a bit pricey to some for a pump, this isnt just a pump, this is a Phantom, and the Phantom can take down any other pump out there and several entry level semis. If you dont take your time to aim and dont have the patience to choose shots wisely, and of course if you like to spray and pray, this gun is not for you. If you like outsmarting your opponents and like using tactics and "One Shot, One Kill" tactics, this gun is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 26th, 2001
Strengths: It comes apar for easy mainenance (i clean it out with wd40 after every game) afer i clean it though i wipe ofdf all teh oil and wd40 (the gun needs NO oilat all, make sure al internals are dry or it might spray the paintball with oily residue and make it inaccurate)

It is very accurate, the stock abrrel is one of the best
i upgraded mine with bottom line and a 45 grip ,highly recomended, easyer to aim and mroe comfy :)
Weaknesses: nothing really, cept i didnt have enouhg time to use it :) so fun to crawl around and snipe with this gun.. dont get it dirty, then it might be a bit inaccurate but cleaning is easy
Conclusion: only thing u might want to add is a 45 grip, botom line (and make it steel thread)
if peopels ay it is inaccurate they do not know how to take care of the gun, need to make sure all internals are dry and clean it after every game!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, July 25th, 2001
Strengths: There's so many things; It shoots perfectly. It's very reliable. Easy to strip and clean. It is almost perfect out of the box. There's no real need to upgrade. The internals are as good as it gets. It's light and easy to carry. I could go on and on....
Weaknesses: Ok, these are mostly opinions. The Phantom functions perfectly, and it does what it was designed to do perfectly.
-The M-16 grip is some-what uncomfortible. When pumping the gun, the grip puts all the pressure between the thumb and index finger, so the web(???) between the two fingers may (may, no definate) get sore.
-It requires two hands to shot. ROF is definately not an issue. I can shot just as fast as a most semi players using the auto-trigger. If this is a problem for you, I suggest you get a semi instead of a pump.
-It is somewhat expensive, but it's a very good deal considering it is better than other pumps with a higher price tag.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a pump, buy this one. You can't get any better than a Phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 24th, 2001
Strengths: extremely accurate
very light
very small
very simple
IMPOSSIBLE to break
you can switch from CA to 12 gram stock class.
Weaknesses: uhh... bad?
Conclusion: This was my first gun. Beleive it or not, this is the 15 year old model. Although it isnt as nice as todays phantoms, it still gets a 10. the differences are: the barrel is not removable, the feed elbow is old style. This is the foundation of my paintball techniques. I started summer of 97, used it for about a year, bought a model 98, sold the phantom for 100 bucks, used the 98 till christmas 2k, then sold it and bought the phantom back for 50 bucks. Also, I got an impulse. The gun is definately worth the money. It pays for itself in saved paint in like a month.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media