paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
PbCoyote Monday, July 16th, 2001
Strengths: Accurate
Relatively light
Looks nice
Very simple maintainence
Feels good when you waste semi users
Weaknesses: Minor things..can't leave this blank.

-Kind of loud when you fire. But by then they're dead.
-If you chop a ball, your accuracy is gone until you clean it
-Nothing to prevent constant cocking (infinate amount of balls in the chamber)...can cause chopped balls <but that ends up being my fault, not the gun>
Conclusion: Great overall gun. The satisfaction of taking out semi users beats anything else. It's practically invincible, and cleaning it is cake. No need to upgrade anything; competitive right out of the box. M16 grip isn't as bad as people make it out to be. Noise is kind of annoying when shooting at groups, but it really teaches you how to play smart paintball. Definately the best pump ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 15th, 2001
Strengths: It allows you to develop your game. The biggest aspect I've found is that when I go back to my 2klcd, I don't shoot wasted shots and I seem to aim more. Also I have become more of a communicator with the phantom, instead of lead man due to my limited fire power. The best part of owning a phantom is not taking out high end guns, but instead remaining in a standoff during speedball with them. Had this happen on many different occasions.
--The barrel is descent, not as quiet as I would like (getting a sp aa in a couple days), but accurate with different paint.
--Was able to shoot +/-2 with flatline.
--Easy to take apart and clean.
Weaknesses: --When you chop paint, you are screwed. With a pump you are counting on accuracy which the phantom has, but not with spuldge all over the bolt.
--Field strip screws aren't really since you have to loosen sight rail also (needs allen wrench)
--Sometimes forget I'm shooting pump and try to bunker someone; but when it works it is so sweet.
--Can't get a freak set; so consistency can very depending on weather and balls.
Conclusion: This gun is definately worth getting, but I would also have a semi in case you want to play more up front in speedball. I have run mine off co2, but prefer nitro. Also if you do get this gun, get a swab squeegie too, in-case you chop, to clean the body more easily.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 15th, 2001
Strengths: shoots really straight
stock barrel makes it shoots straight
not many parts
less co2 consumption
pump is smooth
light
Weaknesses: nothing really
it comes with a pretty tight pumping stroke
m-16 grip is a pain sometimes
Conclusion: to fix to the pump stroke, just sand the internals and remove the pump spring. hopefully, removing the pump spring will train me to pump return fully.
a trigger shoe and 45 grip is good for comfort and for more accurate shooting.
maybe if I get a job, i can buy a smart parts all american barrel so that i can only hear my internals hit each other.
this gun is very great for a pump. i use less paint now and i became more brave to get up with the other people's bases. too bad newbies don't go with me, even though they have semi autos
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, June 23rd, 2001
Strengths: Shoots really straight! (Can't really say that any gun is accurate).
Very light and small. Easy to move with it.
Easy to get to the internals, but not the easiet.
Easy to Clean
Saves lotso CO2
Looks cool (If gots all black phantom. Looks like a real gun!!!)

Weaknesses: ROF (now that's out of the way)
Velocity adjustment is fart. Two tools you need is the adjustment rod or flathead screwdriver and an allen head (the right size though). You need to adjust the velocity thingy and then you have to set the nylon set screw. Total fart because you have to take your gun apart to set the nylon screw.
Kinda cost a lot.
No raised site rail, helps if you just have a regular zoom in scope so you can use it as a site rail and nails people's feet that peek out.
Conclusion: STOCK!!! man how it is super good as a pump gun. I challenged my friend on a target match. He had a stock spyder tl :D and i had a stock phantom with a scope. I hit everything with one shot!!!! He had to spray and pray!!!!!!! Then it came the ring target, i shot it through the hole and my friend hit the ring. Oh the ACCURACY is so awesome (unless you break a ball of course). Man, after using a scope, it finally molded myself where I can finally be accurate as the scope.
Costs pretty expensive compared to other guns. Because some pretty good semi's are cheaper than this gun.
And it should be recommended to anyone including a beginner. I greatly improved my game from Day 1 and Day 2. It was nice. But some people are lazy and don't like pumping for each shot. They are just spray and pray cousins. So I don't recommend it to them people even when they think that the phantom is a really good pump gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, June 9th, 2001
Strengths: -It's light
-It's not bulky
-accuracy
-maintenance is good
-doesn't need lotso upgrades
Weaknesses: m-16 grip, it suxorz. the angle sux. the reason why is because when you hold it straight, it makes the gun point more upward, making it go further up, but still lined to the person.
Conclusion: -Upgrade to the 45 grip as soon as possible!!!!!!!!!! There will be more comfort and the position of the gun will be much better.
-The rest is all good
-The refs and players get really impressed, so get you phantom to trick out it's looks and they will be in awe when they look at your gun and when they try it out.
-I give it a 10 when the phantom as a 45 grip on it, but with the m-16, it drops to 9.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MicromagMan Thursday, June 7th, 2001
Strengths: I bought this product 2 weeks ago. I had never shot a pump but it is awesome. I used to shoot a spyder compact. compared to this product the spyder compact is a steaming pile of $hit. The first time i shot it it went twice as far as the spyder compact and and hit my target dead center. This is an amazing gun if you get it you should get a remote and put the co2 on your back its pretty amazing.
Weaknesses: the stock m16 handle sucks but everything else is awesome.
Conclusion: Over all this is an awesome gun and if you are interested in a pump bye it.
But plz try it first u may not like it compared to a semi. U cant compete in close battles half as well as a semi so if you are used to a pump get it. Im sorry im being a hipicrit but plz try one first.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, June 2nd, 2001
Strengths: -Precise
-Easy to maintain
-Easy field strip
-Short trigger pull
-No ball breaks, unless you remove the pump spring and you accidentally pump the gun twice.
-Cool Autotrigger, sometimes it might be more accurate than some shots because you would pump forward to your target.
-Less CO2 Consumption
-Doesn't eat balls (Paintballs that is!)
Weaknesses: -If your CA Adapter is connected near your site rail, then it can be really hard to aim because the CO2 tank is in the way.
-Just a bit pricey compared to other guns.
-Looks kinda dull, I should've got my gun anodized and with clear grips. Oh well, now people won't go WOW until I get them out.
Conclusion: -The only upgrade that is really necessary is the bottomline. The CO2 tank will get in the way if you hook it up near the site rail.
-Don't remove the pump spring! Sometimes, the bolt will slide back and will load a another ball along with one that was previously loaded and it will break you balls! (Paintballs that is!)
-Patience brings the gold home
-A bit pricey
-If you're not into that semi auto fart boring stuff, get THIS PUMP GUN! If you really want to have fun with semi auto, I'd say, "Get the PT Extreme!" for a fast, running gameplay!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 28th, 2001
Strengths: EVERYTHING!! - most accurate gun ive ever shot
-light
-very short light pump action
-autotrigger lets you shoot pretty fast, especially with a pump(7-10 bps)
-looks great
-very customizable
-good priced
Weaknesses: hmm.....you have to wait for it to come in the mail if you order it.
Conclusion: i love my phantom!!!
- i got mine about a year ago, and i hav almost every upgrage for it, both breeches(stock/standard), t- stock, both grips(m-16/.45), two barrels, quick change, c/a adapter, bottomline and clear pump handle
i reccomend everybody buy this gun, all you cocker owners- throw those things away!! get a real pump, not a gun that pumps for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 18th, 2001
Strengths: 1.) the range is excellent. it can shoot 200 feet with no arc.
2.) the accuracy is INCREDIBLE. at 200 feet, you can hit a paper plate consistantly. (i've done it)
3.) the gun is extremely light weight. roughly 2 lbs.
4.) the stock barrel is more than good enough which is rare to say about stock barrels.
5.) for the performance, the gun is fairly cheap. with a bottom line, 45 grip and gravity feed it runs about $270.
6.) one shot one kill.
Weaknesses: 1.) the thread size for the barrel is phantom size and few companies make a barrel that will fit it. dye makes one and lapco i believe but that's about it. the stock barrel is extremely accurate anyway so it doesn't really matter.
2.) there is nothing else wrong with it....
Conclusion: the gun performs well in stock and you don't really need to upgrade it at all. it is well worth the money for what you get. when you use it out on the field, a lot of people ask if they can be on your team or when the teams are made, you end up being a captain or being selected first. that's always a good feeling. i use this gun over my angel frequently. as far as pumps go, it is the best by far. the sl-68 2 and the pgp are good but the phantom blows it out of the water. this is the mercedes of pump guns and i would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 29th, 2001
Strengths: Very nice stock barrel
Tuned port compensator eliminates ball breakage
High quality of construction
Extremely reliable
Excellent customer service
One of the fastest auto triggers avaiable
Weaknesses: Bottom line should come as standard equipment
Stock barrel is .693 - a bit too big for the premium paints
Conclusion: I've played with a phantom for about ten years now and can honestly say there is no better pumpgun for the money. CCI has continued to refine the phantom over the years and I'm continually impressed with it on the field. I've had excellent luck with maintenance. I had to replace a cup seal after about seven years (about 50 days of play). Customer service is excellent - I've spoken with Mike Cassidy personally on the phone on two occasions.

The funny thing is that most peoples' first impression with the phantom is "What's the big deal" - especially from semi players. But as those players get better and really learn how to play Pump, they realize what a genius piece of equipment the phantom really is.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media