paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
2BLU Wednesday, December 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None quite as accurate......
Marker Setup: Pewter phantom built in June of '94, right feed, rear ca, m16 grip w/bottom line, 11in stock barrel with custom porting. pics here>> http://www.geocities.com/doughboy86/myguns.html
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing necessary, but here are a few options:
Undercocking from Punisher's Customs
Micro Kit from CCI
Regulator for better consistency, though it is already very stable
Strengths: Very accurate, I have yet to see another gun as accurate, although I have not shot my new Vector yet. Very easy assembly and disassembly. I recieved the gun disassembled(bought it off of ebay), with no manual. I was able to put it together within a minute, and I had never seen one before.
Very high quality.
Mike, the creator of the phantom, is so friendly on the phone. Yes, you heard me correctly, he answers the phone. And yes, he is the owner. I ordered some parts from him for the first time tonight and it only took about 2 minutes, it was the best ordering experience I have ever had.
Weaknesses: It is really lightweight - In my opinion. I like to be able to steady a gun, put a big tank on like my 24oz and this fixes it.
No other problems.................Period
Conclusion: Buy it, great value, great service, great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

y2ace Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Carter Pump
Marker Setup: Bottom Line
7oz/4oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel is fine and accurate but I would still get a new barrel as the first upgrade on the marker just to increase the "cool" factor. Trigger shoe makes the stroke much nicer as well.
Strengths: Not Expensive, Light, Compact, Great Internals, Accurate as hell
Weaknesses: Fieldstripping can be confusing 1st time, velocity adjusting is a tad difficult
Review: This gun is fantastic and I would reccomend it over any pump out there. For me the sniper is a bit too heavy and a gas hog, the carters are nice as all hell but cost an arm and a leg. The phantom s incredibly light accurate and not that loud. I love playing wood ball and sneaking up, this gun is very easy to crawl with and hasn't given me any problems yet and I bought mine off ebay used.
Conclusion: This gun will become your new baby and you will pamper this thing to all hell. It is extremely custmizable on the exterior and the interior needs no upgrading. If you are thinking about buying a pump and dont want to spend an arm and a leg on a carter I would definately reccomend this gun. It has more upgrade options than a carter and is much less expensive.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 4th, 2000
 
3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The Phantom is a very accurate gun. The pumping mechanism is smooth and crisp, and the trigger has a very nice feel to it. The Phantom feels like a quality marker. The gun has an auto-trigger, just hold it in and pump for a pretty good rate of fire. The stock barrel is very good. There are some very good aftermarket parts available for the Phantom, most are not true aftermarket parts but factory accesories from CCI the makers of the Phantom. The velocity is adjusted down the barrel with a flat screwdriver, or the supplied factory velocity adjustment bar. We slapped a laser sight on mine and were surprised at its' ability to put a ball between a 4" crack in a bunker at a distance of 40' easily with your first shot, it's not an impossible test, but a somewhat difficult one. The factory field strip screws make take down easier. CCI has very good customer service, and they are quite friendly when I phoned. It comes in a wide assrtment of anodized finishes. The Nickel barrel is rumored to be the most accurate and best barrel for the money, a factory CCI barrel.
Weaknesses: Velocity adjustment is rather difficult compared to the exterior knobs featured on most semis these days, which gives a clue to the Phantoms lengthy heritage. Overadjusting the velocity screw out will unseat it and often force you to break the gun down and reseat the screw or velocity fluctuations will abound. Using the auto-trigger creates significant shootdown, but you can compensate somewhat. The stock M-16 grip was not to my liking, and I replaced it with a 45 style grip available from CCI, the bottomline kit to fit on the 45 grip comes with a microline that would not stop hissing no matter how precise I tried to trim the end.
Conclusion: The gun performs very well stock, upgrades are not necessary, just help to fit the gun to its' owner. It is expensive for a pump, but it is a top of the line pump. The only pumps I have to compare it to are the SL68-II and Trracer, guns it far outshines (and outprices...). I would reccommend it to anyone who wants a high end pump, one that can also be converted to stock class with a kit available from CCI.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoatWarrior Thursday, June 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older walmart blades and ghosts- don't even compare
Cheap low end semi's- higher rate of fire but considerably less accurate
Souped up stingray- less accurate, louder,
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
i guess you could get a new barrel for it, but i don't think you really need one
bottomline so you can aim with a red dot site
Strengths: Accurate
Decent range
Weaknesses: Low rate of fire
ball breakage with crazy pump
occasional curve
not cheap
Review: Started playing paintball again with this gun recently, and I can honestly say i am satisfied with its performance. It can and will keep up with semi automatics and even those suckers with the electric triggers. It is not as insanely accurate as people say it is, and i cannot aim with a red dot site properly because of the tank, the thing could use a bottom line. It is a pleasure to actually aim this gun, not point it like you do with other inaccurate semi auto spyders and spyder clones. It does not have pinpoint accuracy like others say it has, but it is far more accurate than other paintball guns, the most accurate i have ever seen or used. I use mid grade paint and some of the balls will curve slightly sometimes, and sometimes they curve way off. But, mostly, the gun shoots very accurately.
Playing woodsball with this gun is great. I'm that guy that wears full camo, sets up where the other team will flank, and sits as still as a stone. The biggest weakness of this gun is the rate of fire. I did get pinned today against people with semi's. However, people learned quickly to be wary of the accuracy of this gun. Once i could hone in on them they were gone. Though the gun suffers in rate of fire, you can hold the trigger down, bunker the enemy, and just keep pumping. It is not a slow pump.
Conclusion: For 180$ it is an accurate intimidating gun. If the gun were a semi auto, it would get a 10/10. Because if the lower rate of fire and occasional ball curve ( With the chrono set at 290), this is an 8/10 when compared to all other guns. It owns the cheaper pump category. If you are a stealthy person and enjoy actually aiming and shooting people, get this gun. It is not a pull-the-trigger-alot-and-hope-you-hit-someone gun. Aim it, pop'em.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 18th, 2009 at 7:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schnauze Thursday, July 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
First time I have ever used a pump :)
Marker Setup: Phantom (black colored)
45 Grip Frame
Bottom line ASA
Right feed
Detent rings
stock 14 in. barrel (great barrel)
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you have an m-16 grip on your phantom then get a 45 grip, trust me its better
Detent rings
Strengths: Easy to maintain
Durable Durable Durable
Accurate stock barrel
Weaknesses: Pump stroke feels a little rough but isnt a problem
Right feed is sometimes annoying
Review: I have been playing semi for a few years now and was getting bored of it because I'm good enough to hold my own against the advanced players at my local fields but not good enough or wealthy enough to be on a team

So I decided to start playing pump, because I have always had respect for the crazy guy with the pump.

This gun is amazing, I recommend it to anybody who is in the market for a pump

It is so fun using a pump, you just get a good feeling earning your G's shot by shot, and you will save money on paint (as long as you store you extra paint correctly) and air (if your field charges for refills)

Mike, the guy who makes these guns is very helpful, I had a problem with the asa that came with mine and I called him and told him and he said when he is done in the shop that day he will send me a new asa for FREE.

The machine work on the phantoms is flawless, the paint finish is perfect, and a freaking 10 year old noob could service this gun, it is just that user-friendly

Parts for this gun are easy to find as well, you can get them from wevopaintball or mike who makes the guns, the only part you will ever probably replace would be he cupseal, but the gun comes with an extra one so you pretty much have problem free paintball when you are using a phantom.
Conclusion: Great gun, not too pricey, I think you will like it
I give it an 8 because 9's are hard to come by and in my opinion a marker worth the rating of 10 currently doent exist because that means its the perfect marker and nobody makes the perfect marker, thats why companies make new products.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 28th, 2008 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

poopheadface Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle talon is the only other pump marker I have used
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
Bottomline, 45 grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are really needed except a ball detent
and maybe if you want, a trigger shoe.
Strengths: pump.
Affordable
Very light
Accurate (excellent barrel)
Consistent, reliable and durable.
Looks nice.
Weaknesses: Obviously has a slow rate of fire.
Doesn't come with ball detents.
Review: I began playing paintball with a semi. Never ever liked electronic guns, I don't understand why computer chips were introduced into paintball. But anyhow, playing semi was fine with my tippmann 98c. After playing many games with it, I began to fall in love with pump guns. The thought of playing more strategy based was appealing. A semi will perform much the same as a pump, however a pump effects your mentality. I had played with a phantom owner previously, I didn't really take to much notice to him until he goggle shot me with one ball from an unknown location. So enough rambling.. I'v used my phantom twice now and I have to say, I am very very impressed. When I picked it up I firstly noticed how incredibly light it was. Then I instinctively began to strip it. My god is this thing simplistic, the design is flawless. There's nothing there that doesn't need to be. So shortly after, I take it out into the boonies for some test firing. I put about 150 rounds of RPS Big Ball through it. No breaks of course. But what was impressive was the accuracy. This is hands down the most accurate paintball marker I have shot. Although, its still a paintball gun so don't expect to turn into some sort of sniper. At 50 feet its ball on top of ball. If you can get the angle right I found it possible to hit specific trees from over 100 yards away with less then 10 shots. The first time I played with it, I played a 2v2 in a wooded area with some friends. I found It slightly difficult to adjust at first, but by the time we were done I felt like a "pump player". The games played through much the same as if I were using any other gun. But I played differently, not only did I save a lot of money but I found myself actually hitting people whilst using less then 5 shots. My most notable moment was a 2 shots 2 kills : ) . I got lucky yes, but I would have never had placed my shots quite the same with a semi-automatic. The phantom in my opinion is one of the best pump markers ever made, if not one of the best markers ever made.
Conclusion: If you want to get into pump or are just looking for a new pump, definitely consider a phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wang949 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used a Pump before
Marker Setup: Phantom
M16 Grip
Bottom Line
16'' Nickel w/ Muzzle
12 Oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Consistency
Economical
Weaknesses: Chopping due to shooter's fault
Rate of fire
Adjusting FPS
Review: It's a very good gun for "sniping" or picking people off at far distances.

It's economical because it uses less paint and gas.

It's dependable and relies on the ability of the shooter. (In other words, if you can't meet the strategy and motions of a pump, you should not buy one.)

It gets attention on the field (everyone admires the guy with the pump)

It does lack in ability to rush or fight at close range(slow rate of fire), but you should not allow the other team to get that close to begin with.

My only real complaint that is not a game issue is that chronoing in the gun takes several minutes as you adjust the fps directly through the bore (the business end of the gun).

Also, it's very easy to take apart (contains few parts) and has a simple/bulletproof design.
Conclusion: This is the ultimate sniper rifle, but it sacrifices close combat for it.

If you dream of taking out people at long range with an "old school" pump, then this is definitely the gun for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

johnathan820 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
havent owned but have shot- Tippman 98 custom, VL Triton, and Psycho Ballistics Silver Bullet
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom with 20 ounce tank, Brass eagle 45 round hopper, 14" anodized barrel, and CORE red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, maybe an m-16 grip, but you really dont need anything else with this marker
Strengths: Accuracy
Consistency
Reliability
Feel
Durability
Weaknesses: Can be hard to pump at first
No ball detent
Pump wobbles
Cleaning
Review: Strengths:

accuracy-

This is a very accurate gun compared to any other gun Iíve fired. With the Triton

the ball would curve away from the target within the first 40 ft. The Tippmann that I shot

did come close to the Phantoms accuracy with the Dusk paint balls I was using. And

as for the silver bullet, its not even worth getting into. But then again the silver bullet

was pritty much stock except for the teardrop barrel on it, and a lack of a low pressure

regulator, so you canít really blame it. But the Phantom shot very well. From about 75

feet I was able to hit a small tree that I was shooting at almost dead on. And the tree is

only about 12" wide. But there was an occasional ball that would curve to the side or

hop up. But then again I was shooting cheap pioneer paint at that time.

Consistency-

This marker shoots the ball the same almost every time. As I said before, there

was the occasional paint ball that went astray, but it was a rare occurrence. This gun

never double feeds, and it always shoots at about the same velocity. It can jump or

drop 10 or so feet per second but thatís really not that much.

Feel-

This gun feels sturdy in your hand, witch to me makes a lot of difference. It has a

good solid construction giving it the feel of a real gun. I also personally think that with

the right

sized barrel that this gun feels like a rifle, witch is an added bonus in my eyes. Although

the pump can feel a little unstable at times but its not a big deal.

Durability-

This is a very durable gun. Its not quite at the 98 custom standard, but then again not

that many guns are.

Weaknesses:

This gun can be hard to pump when you first get it but it gets easier the more times

you use it. There's also no ball detent for this gun but if your using big paint balls then

the ball will usually get stuck in the barrel and not come out anyways. but for about 6

bucks you can just buy a ball detent kit and you don't have to worry about it anyways.


The pump wobbles a lot without the barrel in but it doesnt make the gun any less

accurate or anything. Also the barrel is very wobbly until you get to the last quarter turn

when your screwing it in. Cleaning on this gun is pritty tuff because the gun can be

tricky to put back together after you take it apart. and also it is important to remember

that when your putting the screws back in, the big one goes in the back and the little

one goes in the front. And when the co2 tank is low the gun sounds hollow and echos

when you pull the trigger, or pump it, but that doesn't effect the guns preformance at all

though.

Conclusion: Over all i think this is a very good gun for the money. It may not be semi-auto, but you

can just hold down the trigger and pump the gun and get anywhere from 3-6 bps. or i

like to pump the gun 3 times and shoot it. you get almost the same range and the balls

only spread about a foot away from each other every 50 feet. but anyways this is a

quality gun and is great for any player, noob or pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wally Sunday, October 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2's etc, etc.
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC Grayacidwash, 6" micro barrel, 14" CF Anned to match, T-stock, 10rd tube, 4oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
guys, i recomend a longer barrel, it helps sighting. i have a hard time hitting peeps with my 6" :( but its still fun to play with.
Strengths: This gun is accurate, compact, Light, easy to clean/use, Nice auto trigger, and damn,
Weaknesses: not much at all
Review: Well, i started working at a feild last year, i started to play with my freinds phantom, i loved it, i bought it, it was the best phantom ever, my black phantom Vsc, then i wanted a Gold one so i got one. Gold Phantom Vsc, i got rid of em bought a cocker, then bought another phantom cuz it owned my cocker. these guns rock. if you have the cash and the creativity (mike can do anything for you) you can have any phantom setup/anno ever, mike @ CCI Rocks! hes the man, phantoms own! period
Conclusion: If you have the Cash, Buy this gun, if not sell your markers to buy this one. Good luck.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mjlhebert Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon, tigershark
Marker Setup: stock cci phantom
soon to have bottom line setup
red dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line
red dot scope
Strengths: ACCURATE!
durable
light
auto trigger
Weaknesses: rof obviousley
um hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm well nothing else.
Review: OH MY GOD! i just got done playing today for the first time of owning this gun. wow. first game of capture the flag; only used 6 balls and i got the flag. oh yes! my God the accuracy is amazing. every time (adjusting for the wind) i lined my red dot scope up w/ a target BAM hit it dead on everytime. I was snipering (oh yes snipering--i will say it) people from at least twice the distance they were shooting. i was lofting though, but it was still really accurate. it was amazing. One match i leaped over a huge dirt pile and it shot through dirt in the barrel. wow.
rps/pmi superswirls (marbellizers) are the best. big ballz dont shoot as far.
Mike is right about that! He sure knew what he was doing when he made this gun.
Conclusion: definatley buy this gun if you're looking to downgrade (but its really not a downgrade) to save money, get better skills, and have ALOT more fun! This gun is amazing. I dont understand why you're still reading this and cant comprehend that this is an AWESOME gun. Look at all the friggen reviews. they all say the same thing! Get this GUN!!!! ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media