paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
p8ntballa100 Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp prostock-quacks can get annoying-way heavier-cant be turned stock class with out looking like a ghetto marker.
Marker Setup: Ion w/ tons of ups
phantom with frantom barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
frantom barrel- it lets you change bore sizes if you have a freak kit
red dot sight
Strengths: Light
Quiet
Efficient
Accurate
Must i continue
Weaknesses: Its a pain to put back together
Review: Ive had this for about three months now and i love it. I have loaned ti out to my friends even one of my friends who says all paintball guns are the same. He tried this with 2 year old monster balls and he was blown away with accuracy. Ive gotten tons of head shots from 110 feet with this obviously because my sight is tuned for far range. Even being 40 feet away from someone and shooting a them its so quiet they cant find where i am.
Conclusion: IF you want a pump BUY THIS NOW you will no be disappointed. Nothing to improve this product is perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 27th, 2008 at 10:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fontaine Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann SL-68 II
Line SI Bushmaster
Marker Setup: Ion (Serial#3448)
All-American
'04 Gladiator
Uni-Mount
Q-Lock
Firebolt
QEV
T-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a bottom line if you bought it without one, besides that the Phantom does not need anything to shoot amazing.
Strengths: Check the Review.
Weaknesses: Check the Review.
Review: The Phantom is one of the best markers I have ever used. It's key strengths have to be how light and accurate it is stock. The Phantom is very easy to maintain and clean. I have used this marker almost every game since I have had it. It may be a pump, but if you know what your doing on the paintball field, it doesn't really matter. All you have to do is throw a 40 round hopper and a small tank on this baby and you have a very light, compact marker that makes it easy to get around the field. You aim at someone and you will hit them 9 times out of 10. I wouldn't trade the Phantom for any other pump on the market.
Conclusion: If your not sure if you want a phantom or another pump. Get the Phantom. You can have it set up for open class pump play, or stock class. The upgrades to stock class do not cost alot of money, so you should be able to set it up for both. If you do decide to get this marker, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vendagunn2 Wednesday, May 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 Avant
Marker Setup: Phantom
clear pump arm
black trigger cushion
evolution II hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is fine as is but if you have some money and are bored you can get a trigger cushion or a T-stock if you do not have the bottom line system on it
Strengths: Very accurate
Very quiet
Light weight
Only need a 9oz. tank
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire (obveusoly cause its a pump)
Review: This was the first gun i had ever purchased. At the time i didnt no much about paintball but this is not the hardest gun to master. The only thing you need to practice is the pumping that you will have to do every time you want to fire a ball. A cool feature this gun has is called the auto trigger. This means all you have to do is hold down the trigger and pump. As you pump the balls will keep coming out ass fast as you can move your arm. Its good for when ur in building or close range because the movment of your arm shakes the gun around making it unacurate.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. After using a Spyder E-99 Avant this gun has got to be the most accurate gun on the planet. I would definetly recomend it for you snipers out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

voo Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maverick: good medium range gun it curves after certain distance for some reason
Talon: You know it was my first gun but with a pvc barrel it looked rather intriguing
Marker Setup: Vertical feed phantom with 45 round pocket hopper[brass eagle] 3.5 oz tank and 12 grams some times stock barrel 4x scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
45 round hopper it is the perfect size 4 volume and manuverabliity. I like the scope it keeps the horizontal straight all you got to do is adjust for range. This is preference . I do miss aiming down the barrel.
Strengths: Great accuracy
Good consistancy
You can run much faster from light marker
Under rated
Weaknesses: Lack of un needed upgrades
Large stock barrel bore
Review: Man I got this thing in the mail and I was Shocked. I got an acid wash on my marker and I didnt pay for it, Mike The maker of the phantom offered to just let me keep it because he screwed it up. Off the top $20 free upgrade.

I took it out to shoot it and was blown away by what I could hit with it . This thing is sooo accurate. Some other markers are accurate but this one can blow them all away. At points I hit Targets from 70 yrds away. Of course this took practice a scope and luck it flys that straight,

When you just target shoot with this thing you know it is a beast. the things you target can be so small and far away shooting a semi wielding whore is sooo easy after you get used to this gun.

I do have a gripe though the stock barrel is very accurate but extremely large bore. Most paint of normal size rolls out. Buy detent rings for $6 it is a very cheap fix that works wonders for the price.

This marker will teach you to play different than before but you will get much better from actually aiming at your opponet instead of just spraying around him.

Get good with this marker and you will dominate with a little team work
Conclusion: Buy it now. There are not enough pump players out there. I love the knowing that my marker will hold up against any marker on the field. I dont have to worry about my batteries running out on my hopper or my trigger. Please show some grattitude and play the right way one ball at a time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

silenstalker Monday, September 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have only used this gun, nothing comes close any way.
Marker Setup: Phantom right gravity feed, 30mm red dot, air-through stock, 14 inch barrel, 45 frame w/ dye sticky 3 grips (black), 5 in sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detent helps out
45 frame (preference)
Strengths: Reliable
Accurate
Makes you a more efficient/accurate player
Weaknesses: Prefers large bore paint
No ball detent
Not everyone like the pump play style
Review: I will try to be as unbiased about the gun as possible to give anyone interested in buying a phantom an accurate assesment of its performance.

ACCURACY- The good news. the phantom definiatly lives up to its reputation. IF YOU USE HIGH QUALITY PAINT. The phantom barrel i~ .691 bore and prefers larger bore paint. I have fount through my 50,000 some odd rounds that i have shot through my gun, marbalizers shot amazing. Through no extention of the truth, you can honestly place ball on top of ball at 70 feet. This statement is in no way exagerated. You could literaly hit a quarter with the gun. For this reason, i keep my red dot zeroed at 70 feet. With experience, compensation for ball drop becomes second nature, and utilization of the guns entire range comes into play.
The bad news. When you use crappy paint, the gun will be your worst enemy. Big ball work well, as do super swirls, but i have found that once you break paint in the stock barrel you tend to continue to due so until you clean the barrel. In conclusion, your going to be shooting less so compensate and lay down some extra cash for high qaulity paint.

More to come... in progress.
Conclusion: Get this gun it is well worth the price and will make you a smarter, more focused player. The gun will force you to make your shots count and after making some awesome hits you will realize that everything else is junk compared to the mighty Phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 7:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pillipke Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've never really had any experience with any other pumps/stock class markers
Marker Setup: This gun was so great that I really didn't see anything else to do to it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Like I said before, I personally don't think it needs any upgrades, although I would recommend a ball detent, as it double feeds every now and then. But other than that, I practically took it out of the box, screwed a CO2 tank in, whipped out a hopper of paintballs, and I was good to go.
Strengths: Very nice price
Extremely accurate
Conserves paint/air
Light, simple
Weaknesses: Double feeds
Not as fast as a semi
Review: Well, this gun was the perfect gun for me, to put it simply. I didn't have a great amount of money, and didn't cost much. I had never really played paintball beforehand and this gun really got me into the game. What I did was buy a cheap plastic 50 round hopper (Brass Eagle, much appreciated)for only a few bucks, and that was good for avoiding hopper shots. I took it a bit farther by buying a remote line which I used like once or twice (personally I found it hard to balance the gun without a CO2 tank). After switching to regular shouldering with the tank, I found my game improved a lot. But if you want to continue in the direction of the CO2 tank/remote line, then you could just get a quick changer (which I find to be not-so-quick, so watch out) and a 12-ounce, and you wouldn't have to worry about the line or the tank (wherever you put it). It would also provide a very compact position.

I didn't feel the need to add anything to the gun (except maybe that ball detent...I really need to get that), though it really all comes down to personal preference. For me, I wanted a lightweight, accurate gun that would conserve paint and air, and got exactly that. I'm really happy with the gun, as it performs so well, and I didn't have to put any money into it at all.

Like I said before, the gun performs really well. Any mistake that occurs is 99% of the time strictly user error. When this gun chops, it is a pain, although it shoots REMARKABLY well after one (only a slight, slight curve). That first chop, however makes it prone to do it again...and it's the second, third, and fourth ones occuring that usually screw you over...but that's usually fixed with a good squeegie (keep one handy!).
Conclusion: Overall I would say this is about the best pump, based on my opinions of others via reviews and such. Very very good even without considering it was only $200. If you're going for affordable, accurate, and lightweight, then I recommend looking into this gun further.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 20th, 2004 at 10:50 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

l337pumper Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None compare
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get what you want the first time, although you can change it to any style of play.
Strengths: Light, small, has an auto trigger, looks great
Weaknesses: Pump handle is not undercocking
Review: This gun is a top-of-the-line quality pump action marker. It is hand assembled and you can customize it to whatever you like. Pump play is rare, but when you see a pump player, you know they're either really good, or really bad ^__^

I have played with my Phantom a good four or five times, and I must admit that the challenge factor of the game sky-rockets when you can't throw paint by the case at people just for fun. Nothing like down-grading in technology to realize how sucky you are, right? ;)

This gun will shoot exactly where you aim it. The stock barrel is honed nicely but it isn't any more accurate then lets say a Kingman Spyder or Tippmann M98c, but it appears that way because everything is slowing down when you take the time to aim, so it looks like it can hit something alot easier. Aiming is a rare skill, because now-a-days people only care about how much they can flick their fingers at the trigger.

The only weird thing about this gun is that you have to stick the velocity rod down the barrel to change your FPS. I lost mine and i have to unscrew the barrel and use a screw driver now. :(

Also, the pump stroke is not very smooth when you first get it, but if you take off the spring and just play with it a few times, it'll be as smooth as silk (like mine)
Conclusion: This is the greatest pump in terms of price, quality, and feel. If you have a ton of money to waste, go ahead and get a E.Carter or a CCMJ2, but don't excpect the performance to go up alot, because this is as good as it gets!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jinks Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Tigershark, Tippmann SL68 II
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom with a 14 inch barrel, Vertical CO2 adapter, Dye grips, and a hopper feed port.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel isn't necessary, but 12 inches is the optimal length for accuracy (or so I've been hearing). If you have a vertical adapter, I'd recommend a stock. You can get them from phantomonline.com for $40 - $60 depending on your setup. If you don't like autotriggering, you can remove the pump spring altogether, which also aids in reassembly. A red dot sight is good to have, but not necessary. Most of my sniping kills were done without it, but seeing as I do use it occasionally and it doesn't get in the way, I keep it on my gun for those moments when it comes in handy. Also, a 50 round hopper is very nice. I always play with only 50 rounds, and having a big VL200 makes noise and gets in the way (plus it's another target).
Strengths: This is the most accurate marker ever; also reliable and extremely gas efficient.
Weaknesses: In the event that a ball is chopped (very, very rare), sniping won't happen.
Review: The phantom has been around for a long time, and CCI hasn't made very many changes since the first markers were introduced. It is a very inexpensive gun with a starting price of about $175. There used to be a problem with the front and rear screws with the original phantoms; they always came loose and you ran the risk of the gun literally falling apart in your hands on the field. CCI fixed this by putting o-rings on the screws to ensure a snug fit. Now the gun is flawless. Cleaning is very simple, and once you get the hang of it, so is reassembly. I won't get into the details, but the simplicity of the gun can make putting things back together frustrating until you've worked with it for a few weeks. Make sure you keep an eye on the plastic ring on the end of your cocking handle bar! Anyway, 5 friends of mine and I purchased phantoms together because we wanted to try something different, and we've been playing twice a week for 6 weeks now. I have a 12 ounce tank and fill it after playing about 17 or 18 games, and we fill our hoppers with only 50 rounds, only about half of which we use. The gun uses gas or liquid and operates the same with either. None of us have had a single problem save for when a ball gets chopped, which makes the paintballs drop down after shooting. Chopping only really occurs when autotriggering (pumping constantly with the trigger held down). When I chopped a ball, I took off the barrel and ran a squeegee through it, put the barrel back on and kept playing just fine. A friend of mine chopped a ball real bad one game and paint got up in the elbow. I covered him and he field stripped his gun, cleaned it, oiled it, and had it in working order again in a few minutes and we went on to win the game (try that with a 'mag or 'cocker). A word of warning: There is no mechanism to prevent you from double loading. If you don't know how to tell if the gun is loaded by feeling the trigger, this might be a problem. My advice is to just keep it unloaded until you really need to fire; otherwise, you run the risk of chopping, or shooting 2 balls at once, neither of which will hit your target. Also, in becoming familiar with the phantom, be sure to pull back pretty hard on the pump handle at first. Sometimes a ball will load into the chamber but the gun will not cock. To solve this, you could double load, or turn the gun upside down (to prevent double loading) and cock again. Once you're familiar with using the Phantom, this isn't a problem. This gun isn't for speedball players, it's definitely for people who like to play with strategy out in the woods and away from all the bunkers. If that's the way you like to play, then I'd venture to say that this is the perfect paintball gun.
Conclusion: Accurate, reliable, simple, inexpensive, and conservative on gas. I recommend this gun to anyone looking to improve their game by learning how to play with a pump because of these reasons. And if you've ever seen the Phantom, admit it, it's just plain sexy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Misiek Thursday, December 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other pumps: TigerShark, Maverick/Hornet, Sterling, PGP (strictly slovak copy: ZGP-94)
Marker Setup: 1) CCI Phantom with 14" J&J HardChrom barrel, InYoFace stock,
2) Autococker Eclipse'98 with extras
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) 45grip 2) other barrel (if You want)
Strengths: all! very accurate pump (with good paint2barrel match), very reliable, light [in comparison to my cocker :-) ]. very consistent.
Weaknesses: price? and it is not available in my country (but Mike sending parts to Poland). kinda loud (my barrel wasn't porting)
Conclusion: very good pump marker for all, who's wants play with pump. bring more fun than some semi-
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Knappsterx Friday, August 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
maverick, hornet, sl68 II, hammer
Marker Setup: Phantom gravity feed 14" stock barrel
2 stage exp chamber off back to bottomline
Recommended
Upgrades:
an expansion chamber off the back to a bottomline helps the consistency of the co2
Strengths: -accurate, more accurate than an automag, shoots farther too
-durable, withstood a lot of abuse
-light, small easily used
-auto trigger, hold it down and pump and i can get 5 shots a second
Weaknesses: -expensive, $200 for the simplest setup, but it is worth it
-loud, not as loud as a maverick/hornet, but it will be heard
-no ball detent, if you tilt the gun down, the ball will just roll out the barrel, cci has made something to prevent that though, check out their site: http://www.phantomonline.com
Conclusion: they are right, it is the best pump gun out there. a little pricey but you get what you pay for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media