paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Thrillkil Sunday, August 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper II, various semis
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom, all silver, M-16 grip, L-stock, 14" nickel barrel, 45rd hopper, 3-9X32 tasco scope, 9oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
the nickel barrel - practically the only thing that can outdo the stock barrel
Strengths: -Very light
-EXTREMELY accurate
-easy to use
-easy to maintain
-new parts easy to install
-very efficient
-has a autotrigger, unlike a sniper 2/3
Weaknesses: -tends to lean to the side when you have a 200 rd hopper. use a 45 rd.
-kinda hard to change velocity
Conclusion: This gun kicks [butt]. It is simply the ideal sniper gun when you put a scope or red-dot on it. Take off the scope, get the stock kit, put in 5 minutes, and you have a fantastic stock class gun.

Playing with a pump will greatly increase your marksmanship, and in a hurry. Wheter you are learning, a rec player, or a stock class player, this gun has something for everyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Your basic gunky rental semis
I own or have owned A pirahna, spyder shutter, 96 autococker, a spyder flash, and now a phantom.
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter, nitro, 12 volt revy, 12 inch J&J ceramic
Spyder Flash, same upgrades
Back bottle phantom with T stock, .45 grips, Millet red dot sight, coil remote, 12 volt revy and a pnuematic assist from Doc's Machine
All markers run on nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
I like what I have. It depends on the game you play. The pnuematic assist is pricey, but the short pump stroke it creates rules. When you autrigger with this feature you don't lose as much fiepower to semis.
Strengths: I was a sceptic. I didn't buy into the legend,but it's true, this marker long ball like a witch. You can pull eliminations at 125 feet. You will NOT be making goggle shots, but you can reach a baller that far away. 100 footers are far more consistant. You can stack balls at 60 to 75 feet. I painted a guy at 85 feet that no one else could to through his cover. I have measued these distances folks, they aren't guesses, only facts.

It's cool. 4 different guys asked to shoot it on the range. They all left drooling and asking where I got it.

It's economical. I shoot less paint. I burn through fewer fills.

Weaknesses: You need game to play with a pump. If you can handle a reduced rate of fire that isn't a problem. I have broken a lot of balls in my barrel because I haven't found a great paint match yet.
Conclusion: Wicked ,wicked, wicked marker. There is a learning curve to pump play, but it makes you a better paintballer. All those guys that write that they are a "sniper" with their semi or electro frame, they are not. What they are is wishing they had the game to play with this SERIOUS piece of equipment. Are you the hunter or the hunted?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 15th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammer Plus
ACI maverick
The Phantom will outshoot, out perform, and just put any other pump to shame. Mike Cassady has a talent and a gift for making the best out of the box and quite possibly the best marker there is.
Marker Setup: I have .45 Phantom with a cheap scope with an infra-red piece mounted on it. (it looks strange) I also have the 14 inch barrel. I plan on getting the nikle plated barrel sometime soon. I bought the marker in black because I am going to guillie it anyway.
Recommended
Upgrades:
the CCI Nickel PLated barrel and that's about it
Strengths: Everything! Great marker out of the box, no need to worry about the over priced and overrated after market garbage, great accuracy, relativly quiet (with my silenc.....errrr....I mean barrel extension it is barely audible), it is light, very customizable, and comes with the great and personalized service of Good ole Mike!
Weaknesses: To say anything bad about this marker is sacreligous and that individual needs to be shot to death by Brass Eagle Talons.
Conclusion: Great marker. It can hang on the front lines of a speedball field or the backwoods of BFE. Its all around one of the paintball sniper's best friends and the unsuspecting prey's worst nightmare. One shot, one kill.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

M 69X Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Bottom line 45 grip Phantom, CCI 18" Sniper Barrel, PPS Stabilizer, Pmi Remote line, Voodoo folding stock, Bi-pod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Steel braided line for the 45 bottom line
Strengths: Accuracy, Quiet, Air usage, Overall look
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This marker is'nt just a gun. It is a legacy. This thing will not only turn heads with its minimalist design, but with its preformance it will make others take notice.

I have only used this marker for about 6 months, but I already love it.
It is so quiet compared to the hi-cost markers my opponets use i can get so close they never stand a chance.
One time I even got close enough to "barrel tag" an opponent.

The only thing i didnt like about this marker was the bottom line high pressure leakage.
But once i replaced it with a steel line no problem.

The bore is a bit large, but for $6 the detant kit solves that problem.

This is the mecca of pump guns. If you cant buy one at least rent it!
Conclusion: This bugger kicks hard! Buy or rent one today!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punisher32 Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker Pump
Different phantom
Marker Setup: E99 avant,Cp barrel,halo b,Nitro tank,spyder xtra bolt, lapco feed neck
04 Vertical Autocoker, Dye sticky grip, Pump conversion kit, 50 round mini hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is perfect, maybe a trigger shoe
Strengths: Acurate, low matanence, autotrigger
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is great, it is a well built pump. Plus it is really acurate. A friend let me borrow his phantom ans i have to say that it is a really inpressive gun. Some people might say that 200 is alot of money for a pump, but those people have never uised a phatom. I am getting my own phantom pretty soon, because it is a really reliable gun.
Conclusion: Buy, it is perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chacho Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: its a phantom (VSC) pump and puncture adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
you definatly need a stock, and unless you don't mind having lots of 12 grams everywhere then you should get a 3 or 4 oz c02 tank
Strengths: Hella accurate and incredably light
Weaknesses: Really slow
Review: this gun is great, even though its nothing like an Angle speed.....this gun is great for woods ball because of its overall lightness, and compactness. its also great because you really don't have to worry a whole lot about running out of either paint or co2. i think that, and its great accuracy makes up for its slowness.
Conclusion: I think that its a great gun, and its not incredably expensive, so unless you want a really fast gun, this is well worth it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yuppers913 Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon pump guns: Fun, but break after a while, no where near as accurate, no upgrade path.
Automag: Semi so its different, but a great marker none the less. Phantom never breaks, so its a lot easier to depend on.
Spyder tl+: Reliabel and fun to play with, but still just can't compare to the feeling of the phantom.
Marker Setup: Phantom: Stock Barrel, Palmer Sideline reg, 45 grip, vertical and stock class feed. Clear pump handle/ stock class breach, Macroline.
Automag: Powerfeed, 9v revy, all american barrel, 5 inch drop forward w/ on-off, benchmark grip frame and foregrip, marcoline kit, pmi 47/3000 steel nitro tanks (2)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't upgrade, buy the gun the way you want it to be, this will save you a bunch of cash. I would recommend a 45 grip, a stock if you aren't going to use a bottom line tank settup, maybe a regulator, but thats all you really need.
Strengths: Sleekness, style, feel, weight (light), simplicity, convertable (stock class to gravity feed in five min)
Weaknesses: Velocity adjustment, but even that isn't a huge pain
Review: I bought this bad boy a while ago, and since then i have shelved my other two markers almost completely simply because this one is more fun to play with and more reliable, not to mention accurate as hell and less expensive to play with. The internals are SO simple, you don't have to worry about not understanding whats wrong with the gun. THe pump stroke is passably smooth, the stock barrel is excelent, i still use it. 45 grip is key, and if i were you i would try to get a CCI stock to go with this puppy, since the stock is made for the phantom and therefor makes the proper angle for the stock to be at. ALSO, vert feed is AWESOME. For more info on this bad boy, hit up the owner's group forum, the guys there are friendly and super helpfull about this marker search google for it, i can't post a link here... check it out.
Conclusion: Get this marker, you learn to make each shot count, you can play more cuz you shoot less paint, you get more satisfaction with every kill knowing that you were outgunned and still won, Its a blast
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

apunkjunkie Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pump
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom with stock 14" barrel, bottom line setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
A couple different barrels (slightly bigger and slightly smaller bore size for different playing conditions and paint)
Strengths: -Straight as an arrow
-Only errors are user made
-Makes you better
Weaknesses: -You don't buy as much paint (weekness for field owners)
-Not many aftermarket barrels
Review: I was going to write a review as soon as I bought this thing after testing it, but I decided to hold off and wait a few months. If you want to play paintball, and play a lot without braking the bank, then a pump is the way to go. If you decide to go the pump route, then the Phantom is the way to go. The setup out of the box is as accurate as those Angels and Cockers with the Freak barrel system. I've only had it a short time, but I'm already learning how to better myself without the "spray and pray" methods used by most paintballers. Easy to field strip, easy to use, and easy to get great customer service round off the list of strengths. The only thing I would recommend is that you purchase a few different bore sized barrels, though for most paint the stock barrel is incredible. J&J makes a great barrel, as well as DYE (though it's a bit pricey). Also there is next to nothing you can purchase aftermarket wise for this gun, though who needs it? :P
Conclusion: I suggest that if you have about $200-$270 to spend and want to get into pump play, then get a Phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MAJ. RaZoR -MR- Friday, September 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann pump. (oops i forgot the name) its not as good.
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5 (all stock, AWESOME GUN!)

PT Extreme Black (all stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
NOTHING! Great out of the box! the barrel is good enough. dont buy a new one. dont even think about a new trigger. this one is pretty nice.
Strengths: VERY acurate!!!
Reliable
LIGHT AS A FEATHER (even with a 20 OZ co2 and a 200 round hopper)
If you have the strength, u can crank out balls fairly fast
easy trigger pull
easy to dismantle and adjust velocity
Great for sniping. you cold probably git rid of 3 or 4 guys before they knew where you were at.
Pretty quiet.
the barrel is long and accurate.
Not a long pump pull either


Weaknesses: Couldnt really find anything. when they say best pump ever made.. they arent kidding ya. it is a little expensive, but im buying it used.
Conclusion: ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! BUY IT! you will be happy! i wouldnt hesitate to use this pump in a big tourney. i love my semis but i like this baby alot!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hmm Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT excellerator 4.0, talon ghost, blade, potato gun, slingshot, stingray II. The phantom is even a match for the semi excellerator (in woods combat more), less firepower but more range and accuracy.
Marker Setup: JT excellerator 4.0 as it came from the box with a 9 oz. C02 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
rifle stock thing to put on C02 tank
Strengths: Accurate (easily outranges my JT excellerator 4.0)
Reliable
Looks kinda cool (especially with rifle stock type thing)
Doesnt waste paint/C02
Rarely chops (ive never had it chop)
Easy to cock
Not too loud
Weaknesses: Kinda expensive ($198), though you can get it on Ebay for less, still worth the money, id get one but i got an excellerator 4.0 3 months ago.
Conclusion: Best pump ive ever used!!! I didnt realize that it could take on semis and win, but i would not suggest getting into a long ranged firefight against this beast (unless you want to waste alot of paint). Easy to cock, uses much less paint than a semi, uses C02 efficiently. I think im gonna buy one meself someday. Buy it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media