paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, November 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL PLus: Obviously more controlled rapid fire but not nearly as accurate and not nearly same range. I guess the spyder was better for really close quarters fights but a lot of times other people would just get out of my range and then wait. NO MORE with the phantom.
Marker Setup: Of course now I have the phantom and I bought it From Ace Paintball at the store and they already had a .45 grip, bottom line, and 14" barrel on it. I got a 9 oz tank to go with it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The .45 grip is nice and from other reviews i hear the original sucked but i never even saw the original so who knows? all i know is the new one is great.
Strengths: This gun is very accurate and has a great range. Also the gun itself with a 9 oz CO2 tank is VERY light! It also saves you money because although it is fairly expensive (compared to a spyder or something) you barely use any CO2 and paintballs. It is also just fun to play with a pump. It is also great straight out of the box like everyone says. I can't think of anything I'd want to upgrade.
Weaknesses: Its terror if you have to take it apart. The 2 screws holding it together crossthread like nobodys business. Just pray you dont break a ball in the action. It breaks balls easy if you mess up but that would be the only reason it would. But, sometimes in all the action you may break a ball by not pumping it all the way back and then its over for that round. Another thing is the stupid way you have to chrono it. You have to put a special tool down the barrel and adjust a screw. I dont know why they do it that way, but it really isn't that big of a deal.
Conclusion: Like everyone else has said, you don't have to upgrade this. Just buy a 9 oz CO2 (of course depending on how long you play each time) and a hopper and you're set. The only other thing is that it takes a little time getting used to.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 18th, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: For a Paintball gun, this gun is extreamly accurate. I have shot quite a few midrange semies and pumps(the typical ones that everyone has) and this gun easly surpases them in accuracy and efficency. all of my friends who shoot this Gun are amazed by its accuracy.
i have never felt outguned by anyone when i am useing this gun. my opponents tend to let lose an unholy barrage of ammo at me and i calmly let off one shot and it hits almost every time
you will save money not playing with a semi
Weaknesses: - Balls roll out of the barrel, I had to buy a j&j ceramic to fix this problem, this is nice barrell
- Loud, new barrell fixed this too
- with stock springs i could not get my gun over 250 fps i had too by a spring set
- expensive and takes a long time to get here some people might not have this problem but i like far away from any urban area
Conclusion: I really like this gun, it is accurate and with a few upgrades it gets better. im my opinion it needs a new barrell (don't get me wrong the stock barrell is very nice and i could play with it for a long time) to stop the ball rollout problem, and silence the gun. it should also come with alternative springs because my gun was almost useless at the speed it was shooting at when i first got it, my bals would only go half as far as every one else, not amymore now people run from me.

I am giveing this gun a 9 because its not perfect, as current pump markers go in my opinon this is the best. if you buy one you will not be disapointed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CrazyTippA5 Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: Powerful, quiet, holds c02 good
Weaknesses: Pump
Review: It is definataly a great sniping gun if u get the red dot scope and get the pantom blak or camoflouge and it is also very light and very accurate i think it is the best pump gun ever but that is just me so hope you have a great time if u get or have this marker.
Conclusion: I think it is a great sniping gun so if like to use stealth this is the gun to ues if you snipe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bunkermonkey77 Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 Sniper- no chops, heavier, bigger profile
2001 Sniper- no chops, heavier, bigger profile
2002 Sniper- no chops, heavier, bigger profile
Stock Phantom- never chopped, held true to all the phantom fairy tales
Marker Setup: *02 WGP autococker (blue)
- STO RAM
- Shocktech bomb 2-way
- dead on pro products drop
- kapp pressure gauge
- J&J 2-piece barrel
- Hinge Trigger frame with as short of a trigger pull as I could get it
- Dye back block/ bolt combo
* Kingman Hammer
- Trracer grip frame
- duct tape
- electrical tape
- grease
- a lil' bit of magic
Recommended
Upgrades:
the phantom was just not meant to be upgraded... just modified to preference!
you may want:
- Hardline Kit
- nickel barrel
Strengths: low profile
light
quiet
Weaknesses: severe choppage
less accurate due to choppage
Review: ive played with just about every pump that has been created... this is, to the best of my knowledge, the only one that has ever chopped on me. No other phantoms did... just this one... or two actually, i tried multiple phantoms and they both acted the same. This model of phantom... chops.
Conclusion: Personally, if ur gonna get a pump, phantoms are a good deal, but get the stock class. and if u got more money, get a sniper. WGP Snipers Rock!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

wakaflocka Monday, March 7th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pumps, but an a5, 98 custom
Marker Setup: Phantom with 9oz co2 and red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a light co2 tank and a red dot if you want it to look cool.
Strengths: Accuracy
Lightweight
Easy on air and paint
Weaknesses: Low fire rate (its a pump)
Review: The phantom is extremely accurate. The barrel inaccuracy is about 2 inches at 40 yards which is almost the max range of any marker. If you miss it is your fault.
The stock barrel is great but I hear pps barrels are better.
The bad thing about the phantom is that you have to hit your first shot. I usually watch my shots and just correct based on where they go, but you cant do that with this gun. I probably played ten rounds before I got the hang of it and hit somebody. But now I love it. you have to get used to it to play with it, but once you do, you will love this gun. It takes a good player to use it and will make you better if you use it. When I use my a5 now I do better with that as well.
Plus, you can actually use the sight and sometimes hit it right on the dot.
This is uncommonly accurate just make sure you use good paint so you can get the most performance out of the gun.
One thing i noticed about it is that when I played with the velocity up at my course limit(300) the paint would curve horribly. I play around 240 now. Maybe it was just my paint but I'm happy with 240.
Conclusion: This is a great gun at a great price. You will become a better player by using it and dominate the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rattle Rabbit Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
P68 Sheridan, Rebel-90
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Brown/green ano direct feed, back bottle adapter.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detent kit, never needed anything else.
Strengths: Light, accurate, tool-less breakdown.
Weaknesses: Velocity screw is awkward.
Review: Hands down the most accurate marker I've played with. Never missed that it was the guns fault. Paint to barrel match was Evil for me. No end to stories about other players test firing it and going wide-eyed at the accuracy. Dial it down to 265-270 and it's dead-on from 50 feet. Good enough long range.

The auto-trigger is a blessing as well, several times it's chased an enemy off who thought it was a semiauto.

Breakdown is cake, two thumbscrews and the whole she-bang comes apart for cleaning down to the bolts.

Again I can't stress the weight, or lack of, enough. Short of inverts or DP's I've never held something that light. 12oz tank and 50rd hopper and it's still a feather.

Durability is fantastic. This puppy's been dropped, whacked, stepped on, the works, and not a problem.

Customer service? Mike was fantastic when I ordered. He didn't have a back bottle adapter in the camo so I got a black one instead and he threw in a detent kit and a matching ano-ed trigger shoe for me for the convenience. Came pretty quick, can't remember for sure because it's been quite awhile.
Conclusion: Pump fan? Just buy it, you won't regret it one bit. Paid 325 for mine after shipping and haven't regretted a dime. Giving a 9 because there are no 10's
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 4th, 2009 at 8:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Tuesday, September 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom w/ response trigger and cyclone feed
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: Gravity fed, bulk air phantom
-red dot sight
-home made vertical air kit
-pool ball grip
(near future) - 45 grip and -t stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
vertical air, red dot sight
Strengths: Consistent, Accurate, Light, Low profile, Compact, Smooth!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: If you get back bottle the bottle is in a really weird place
Review: This is like the perfect paint ball gun in every way possible!!!!!!!!!! Just like i mentioned in the strengths area it is consistent, accurate, light , low profile, compact and very smooth after you break in the pump handle. It is dead accurate, just throw a red dot sight on there and you can hit the size of a campbells soup can top from like 50 feet away easily!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nsecamig Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Talon-- no comparison
A friends pump, not sure what kind-- got me into pump play the first time I used it
Semi-auto guns, but they're totally different from a Phantom
Marker Setup: Vertical air w/12 grams
Gravity feed w/45 rd. hopper
M-16 grip w/T-stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detent ring set, to prevent rollouts. I'm thinking about buying a red-dot sight to make sure the first shot is on target, and the Phantom is accurate enough to make use of it.
Strengths: -Extremely light
-Smooth action
-Efficient
-Consistent
-Accurate
-Easy to strip
-Very customizable
Weaknesses: -Front thumb screw seems to come loose a lot
Review: Phantoms seem to have a reputaion among pump players as the epitome of pump markers. This is one of the reasons I decided to buy one. The Phantom is the first pump I've actually owned, and I must say, it is a beautiful marker. It's a little pricey, but worth it. From what I've heard, they hold their value really well, and the quality is second to none. Each one is custom made and hand tested by Mike Casady at CCI, so you know you're getting something that is up to the high standard they've set for themselves. The entire setup (with 12 grams, at least) is so light, I sometimes forget I'm holding it. It allows me to remain maneuverable throughout the entire day, without getting tired. It's pretty efficient on CO2, and reputedly even more so once it gets broken in a bit. The velocity stays very consistent, making it easy to place shots on target time after time. As far as internals go, the Phantom is very simple to take apart for cleaning, and the whole thing fits right back together easily. The only problem I seem to have is that the front thumb screw comes loose. It won't fall out, because of the vertical air setup, so it's not a huge problem. One of my favorite things about this marker is the fact that it's so easy to customize. All the parts are availabe from CCI or an authorized dealer, so if you want to switch between stock class and gravity feed (right, left, or center), you can easliy do it. Want vertical air? Back bottle? Bottomline? M-16 grip? .45 grip? Long pump arm, short pump arm, 6 inch barrel all the way to 16 inch barrel, you name it. The Phantom can do anything.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who enjoys playing pump or stock class paintball. Maybe not as a first marker, just because of the price, but definetely a great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-Bolt Friday, May 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
AGD Tac One with Longbow and Q-Bow Config.

Not similar but owned and used markers
Dye DM5
Tippmann Custom 98
Tippmann A5
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Phantom
w /45 degree right handed feed
200 Rd Viewloader Gravity feed hopper
30mm BSA Red Dot Site
Freak Barrel Kit 12" AA
Modified Pump Handle to accommodate the Freak
Palmer HP Stabilizer
CP Straight Rail
CP ASA On / Off 2K7
Pure Energy 68ci 4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak Barrel Kit and the modified pump handle. Other than that nothing.
Strengths: Accuracy
Ease of Maintenance
Reliable
Very Light
Weaknesses: ROF (Rate of Fire)
Double feeds some times
Stock Velocity Adjustment sucks
Review: The first time I used this marker I was amazed at the accuracy. Without a sight a couple shots down the road and I could call shots using good old Kentucky windage.
It proved to be difficult getting the velocity set just right but I picked mine up directly from the manufacturer in Newberg, OR. To all who say that these aren't being built anymore they are wrong. I picked mine up brand new. I told him I ran HPA and there is a stronger tensioned spring that will get it up in the correct range. After that I just adjusted downward with the palmer stabilizer.

This gun is so accurate as far as paintball guns go that you can actually zero it with an adjustable site. (Like my Red Dot BSA)

I love playing with it and just because of the accuracy of it I can hold my own against autos and semi autos.

I don't claim to be a paintball sniper but if there ever was one this would be the prefered weapon of choice. The TACONE by AGD with a longbow or Qbow setup doesn't even come close in accuracy.
Conclusion: If you are not into the attack by shear volume of paint then look at this as an option because the accuracy of it will blow you away.

If you want to be as close as you can be to a paintball sniper this is the weapon you would want to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pepsi4all Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Traccer, Autococker pump, sl II pump.
Marker Setup: I have to many to list.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You should get a regulator if it spikes.
Strengths: It is accurate.
Weaknesses: You need to buy a detent.
Review: I have played with this marker always.
I bought this pump because I am so tired of semi. Paintball become so boring because it was so easy to shoot almost everybody on walk on, and eliminate half or more in speedball. I need new challenge, so I look into pumps.
I pick phantom since it has great reviews. I chose vertical stock.

Bad Experience

When the first time I got it, I played in the field the next day. I chrono it and it was spiking so bad. It was plus and minus 30 fps, even 40. so that is 60 to 80 fps difference. It was like 210, 270, 195, 280... and so on. I was kinda piss.
My friend bought a phantom at the same time and we played the same day. He was having the same problems but it was only 20 plus and minus fps.
We ask the guy who is the captain of one the pump teams, he had a buzzard pump with him.
He said, sometimes you get a bad batch of guns.
I played two games in it, I only eliminate 2 people.
Then the paints was too small for the barrel, it started rolling out.
I look if they sell a barrel kit. WWA did... but, I hate Freak, they exhaust gas in between the kit and the barrel.
The same day I went back to my locker and took my dm6 and start launching like the Gladiator, killing the field.


Fixing the problem - I came home and did some research.

Fixing the barrel problem
-I found out that, their certain paints that has good match that the ball won't roll. like evil
-I also bought detents in case those paints were not available.
-The paint does not roll anymore.

Fixing the Spikes
- I clean the gun and lube it manufacture preferred lube.
I tried it and it was still spiking - arrggh.
Putting a regulator
- I took three regulators that I had, I replace the co2 changer to a reg.
- first regulator was cp, IT FIX IT. but still not happy. it was plus and minus 10 fps.
- Second regulator, it was worst, Black magic, plus and minus 15 fps.
- Third regulator,was evil reg. works perfect, plus and minus 2 fps.

its been many months now, the Evil reg was not outputing more, my gun shoots not more than 250 fps because it can regulate only upto 500 or maybe 600 psi.

alsoTo use NITRO or Air, you need to change the spring... contact Mike Cassidy.

I put a SIDEWINDER reg. it works even better. now it is 1fps.

Upgrading for more accuracy,
- I run a regulator to the tank, and I like it that way. They do sell a shoulder extension, but I am so use to a tank on my shoulder.
I bought bottom holder for my tank, which also serves to keep my tank intact with my shoulder, to prevent it from movement.

Great upgrades.
The gun I bought came with a GHOST RING, I must say, it works. Looking through it with one eye, while they other is look outside through the gun, It will shoot accurate.

Once you get use to it, you will be elimating so many people with one shot each of them.
Before I went to the field again, I tried and practice it in my backyard, which is the size of half of football field. Putting some Targets, and I shoot them with one shot or two.
If you ever go to the field, you train yourself and need to shoot opponents with just one shot, because they will comeback at you and bunker with fire power.

It is amazing. I love my phantom now, and will never trade it.
Shoots accurate 1 fps difference, and very efficient on air.
Acquired discipline and patience.
I gained accuracy.

I have learned a lot using my phantom.

Did I tell you that the Ref will love you and follow you all around, and laugh at every person you eliminate... Now that is priceless.
Conclusion: ONE SHOT... ONE KILL.
EVERY SHOT COUNTS.
Those are the words, I never understood before I got my PHANTOM.

THIS REVIEW SUPPOSE TO BE POSTED on VERTICAL STOCK PHANTOM
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 2nd, 2008 at 9:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media