paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper / Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper / Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper / Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper

Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1049

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Inline poppet valve design. ( not a spool valve)
Internal LPR design
Manifold mounted solenoid. ( no hoses)
Thin ergonomic grip frame.
Lightweight.
4 eye operation compatible. ( 30 bps can be acheived with 4 eyes. 4 eye system sold as an upgrade)
No rise wedge feed.
Swivel top regulator. ( fitting can be rotated to any position)
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Marq 7 Rapper is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
sonnemann Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker--junk
UL'd PM6--awesome, my second favorite behind this
Timmies--Nice feel, but I think Bob has hit gold with the Marqs
Egos--perhaps technically lighter and smaller but I think the Rapper is much more elegant and much more fun to shoot
Marker Setup: Marq 7 Rapper [dust black]
4 eyes
Kodachi trigger
Stock otherwise
14" Ultralight
VLocity
MacDev 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Board if you want to mess with modes...otherwise, stock is fine

Pillow bolt? QD ram? I have neither and the gun shoots perfectly...maybe if you're using super-brittle paint you could look into the pillow. New Marqs direct from Bob come with both of these installed.
Strengths: Frame!
Size!
It's light!
Feel when shooting
Speed!!
Weaknesses: More complex maintenance than you might think
Basic stock board
Trigger feel...
Review: So I got this in a trade for a Legend because I've always been interested to see how Bobby integrated the poppet design into a single tube...let's just say he did a very good job.

First impressions...this is light, very beautiful, and very small. It feels like a Shocker if the Shockers weren't made by SP...if you catch my drift. The frame is absolutely comfy as hell. It is as comfortable or more than a UL frame, for serious. Don't let the Matrix-like grip panels fool you; it's actually quite small and VERY thin, but not fragile.

The trigger...ahh, what a tragedy. The shape is amazing and does have a very nice feel, but must be sprung quite heavily in order to avoid bounce, and is set that way from the factory...

Which brings us to the board. It's very simple, which I like-just like the UL frame board, it basically has all you'll ever want in terms of firing modes. Where it lacks is dwell adjustment and debounce adjustment [hence the strong spring needed], so an aftermarket board might be something to look into if you like to tinker. I spent $48 on a new trigger rather than spending $145 on a new board...a much cheaper solution to cure bounce forever, I think.

Maintenance is perhaps a bit more complex than you might think. Poppet=simple, no? The tradeoff for the single tube is just a few more quirks in terms of alignment, but it's really not so bad. Just as with all Timmies before it, the Marq needs a little love in the forms of Dow and Triflow, but it's really not something to discourage you from buying one nor anything that will take more than a few minutes out of every few cases of paint to do.

Shooting this gun is just flat-out fun. It's very smooth in the hand, with little to no kick, and very quick. Efficiency is just about average, which is fine by me. It truly is the best of both worlds--spool valve feel, small profile, and ease of use, combined with poppet valve ease of maintenance and reliability.
Conclusion: I love this gun. I can honestly see myself shooting a Marq-platform gun for a long time hereafter...it really is just a great idea and a great product.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 17th, 2007 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilEye Friday, February 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR SE- kind of similar, but not....
Electra- "poppit" but still not that close.
Marker Setup: 2008 Bob Long Rapper w/ SC Proficiency Engine, OLED Tadao Yakuza USB, 4C Laser Eyes, Kila Magnetic Detents, Kila Blue/Black Carbon-Fiber Weaved Eye Plates, Warped Sportz Delron Trigger, Deathstix Barrel kit V2, Gear Drive ASA, and a Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing needed out of the box. If you choose I would say the SuperCharged Proficiency Engine would be number one on my list. Maybe a short reg if you want.
Strengths: Weight
consistency(after breaking in the reg.)
balance
overall performance
looks(I think...)
Weaknesses: consider getting the LPR notched, not a have-to.
Review: Out of the box the gun was great. Most of the time you take a gun out and after the first couple of days using the gun you start to make that upgrade list. I can honestly say that it took me a while to really justify the cost of upgrading the Rapper because I couldn't imagine how much of a difference it would make. I finally broke down and started transforming the Rapper out of pure boredom and that the SC Proficiency Engine got some really good press. I never want to sell this gun, and I've been shooting spoolies for almost 4 years now. I think the Marq platform really is the best mix of the poppit efficiency and the spoolie shot. Very unique and very nice. This is a great gun to get used for a really good price and then turn it into a project gun, building it up to whatever you like and you will be pleased. Good back-up, GREAT primary. I'm hard to convince and am always left unsatisfied with guns that I test or research. 100% happy with the money invested and I have no doubts this gun will be with me for a long time. Bob Long is full of win.
Conclusion: for 2010 I would suggest buying a used one for cheap and turning it into something you can truly call your own. These guns have great out-of-the-box presence and have HUGE potential with the ups available now. Get one. Just do it. Gets a 9 for that LPR notch business. I didn't do it cause it's too much of a hassle for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Batman 5-0 Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other pball markers they compare but the quality of the rapper is above all others.
Marker Setup: Decked out one of Species Intimidator, FS7, Rapper and an Ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
An asa of your choice, or a different barrel, new board to.
Strengths: Easy maintance consistancy light weight
Weaknesses: Membrain button a little hard to turn on trigger pull is to hard
Review: I have been using this marker for almost two months it has held up to a CFOA event and a few local tournies and 30 plus games with no problems other than user error. The new torpedo reg is different in that is uses shims instead of a spring and has derlin pistons the reg is much more consistan and I am geting +- 1-2 over the crono and it swivels too. The stock barrel is pretty good and is a .689 bore up to user to change it I personally went with a 14 UL. The marker is overall well designed and has a lot of cool features like the grip frame screws are held in place on the inside of the frame so no buttons on the frame. The wedge feedneck is nice and works well. It has a wedge on the inside of the neck the more you screw in the nut the father out the wedge sticks out and clamps on to the loader. The lpr is located on the inside of the gripframe so its kind of a pain to adjust but there is also no external regs to get in the way other than the hpr. The trigger is horrible from the factory and is very stiff I heard they are sending out spring kits with them now so that should no longer be a problem. I personally JBwelded some magnets to the spring plate and trigger screw for mine and it can be adjusted with out bounce. The board is not very adjustable and the on/off membraine is a little hard to press down sometimes. The non adjustability of the stock board is ok because it gives you only what you need and most users upgrade the electronics anyways. So if you like to leave that part of the gun alone then it is very easy to reset the stock settings in case you are having problems. Breaking down the gun is pretty is there is a set screw in the back that will let you pull the whole firing assembly out to service it. One problem I had here was that I did not know when putting the marker back together there is a certain way the end cap most be put back on. The hole on the end cap that must line up with two other holes on the firing can other wise the marker will not fire. This is not meantioned in the manual anywhere and should have been in the " Hot Tips" but its not. The four eyes are not kind of useless in my opinion they only speed up the marker in its unlimited ROF and serve no use in tournaments because they are all capped at 15. My rapper came with the pillow bolt and quick disconnect ram which made me very happy :) because the screw ram is a real pain.


Pro's- Well designed marker, covered by warranty, excellant customer service, came with pillow bolt, and a decent barrel, looks sexy, and is easy to service.

Cons- Stock trigger spring sucks, and the LED light gets clogged easily
Conclusion: Over all its a hot marker and is built very well comes with extra o-rings and a stock bob long asa its shoots nice and is flawless in its operation super consistant too I love it and is backed by some of the best in the industry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-R0D Monday, May 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion Upp'd - Decent
All Types Of Ego's - Decent


Marker Setup: Bob Long Rapper W/ Pillow Bolt
Tadao M8 Board
Vlocity Hopper
CP 14" Barrel
CP On/Off ASA
68/3000 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board (Just For Fun, Not Really Necessary)
On/Off ASA (I Have Used CP And OOPS, Both Are Great)
Barrel
Strengths: -FAST
-No Kick
-Quiet
-Lots More!!!
Weaknesses: -Price Maybe?
-A Little Heavier Than Ego... (Not By Much)
Review: Let me first just say that I have only tested this product and will be updating this review as time goes on and I use it more often...

Review:

I bought my Bob Long Rapper off of a friend. He put all the upgrades on it and gave it to me for a decent price and let me tell you, as of now it was TOTALLY WORTH IT!

The gun is a Bob Long, so I had high standards, but This marker has reached them all.

Looks:
The gun is SEXY looking. When I first saw it I couldn't believe my eyes... I grabbed it right out of my friends hands =P

Speed:
It shoots over 30 bps with my tadao board... what more do you need? =P




Thats it for now, I will update more as I use it more.

EDIT: So It's been a while and I have been using this gun A LOT longer now... Works AMAZING still. This is my favorite marker I have ever touched in my life and would not change it/trade it for anything... My only qualm is that I do have first ball drop when I first fire up the marker (yes, I have adjusted the settings etc but still does it) not a big deal though, waste 1-2 paintballs before game and it's a charm!
Conclusion: As of right now, I am in LOVE with this gun. If you can find it for the right price GET IT
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 3rd, 2011 at 10:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BWelch07 Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm7, Dm6, Pm6, 06 Minion, 07 ego, 06 ego, Ion, shocker, nxt shocker, 2k5 timmy, 2k2 timmy, empire 2 timmy, invert mini, dm5, dm4, icd frestyle
Marker Setup: pillow bolt, 4 eyes, qd ram

72,45 PE
Halo
UL barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
4 eyes
new trigger
new barrel
pillow bolt
Strengths: light
super fast
very accurate
NEVER breaks paint
Weaknesses: Doesn't work well in cold conditions
Review: I got this gun bnib for my Dm7 and it was the best trade i ever made. I am somewhat of a gun whore and cannot keep a gun for a long time, but this gun will go the distance. there is not one thing about this gun that made me regret the trade. I used it in a rotation practice the day after i got it and it ripped after some quick trigger adjustments. I have snapped more people with this gun than any other gun i have used!
Conclusion: Buy it if you have the money. It is the ultimate gun Bob long made a piece of art here
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darth Tater Thursday, June 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmy, all models of shocker, all model of ego
Marker Setup: Red Ion, rake trigger, freak barrel, long shocktech drop forward, check it products asa, Hybrid clamping feed neck, 3000 psi tank, halo victory.

Tippmann sceneroi rifle, car stock, electro trigger, custom 20 inch camo barrel, remote, 3000psi tank, halo V35 hopper, custom paint job on all.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing everything is fine maybe an asa but thats about it
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Durable
Acurate
Weaknesses: Nothing so far.
Review: OK this is a sweet gun but i think that they kinda ripped the external design from the shocker ,but i really dont care. its small and is very accurate, i have only tested this briefly at my home field. I found that although it is small i am used to a drop forward so thats just me. i have customized it for my friend and put quite a few ups on it, i have given it a cool paint job got it black and put flame lines on it and added a custom steel stamp on the side with a dragons head pressed on it. one of my best jobs. anyway this is the best friggen gun ive shot in a long time so i have to say a 10. all i have to say if u have the optian go for an ego any model that is o6 or higher will out shoot this any day.
Conclusion: Its fast, light, and accurate i like it u should too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

vatowithagun Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmies
Cockers
Marker Setup: Rapper
68/4500 dxs tank
Vlo Jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off Asa
4 eye system
barrel kit
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Light and feels nice
Fast
Weaknesses: Maybe not having an on/off
nothing else that i have found.
Review: Purchased this marker and i was very impressed. I normaly shoot pumps and cockers but this gun has switche me over. Right out of the box this thing is ready to go. I would have to say that it shoots almost as accurate as my pump it not the same. It has very little kick and shoot very fast. This is definatly the best electronic marker i have ever shot. I tested 2 others before buying one of my own and they all shoot sooooo nice.
Conclusion: IF you have the cash i would definately invest in one of these you will not be disapointed. All my friends shot it and loved.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xjaynape3187x Wednesday, October 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmys matrixs cockers shockers egos.....pretty much everything
Marker Setup: marq 7 rapper
tadao yakuza board
cp unimount on/off
proto 2 piece barrel
rendition trigger
70/4500 dye throttle tank
vlocity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (personal prefrence)
yakuza board (will maximize your markers preformance)
4 eye kit (i mean if you HAVE to shoot 30 bps)
Strengths: Light ,super fast out of box,its made by bob long!!!!
Weaknesses: None that i can see ,maybe the price
Review: Well i have to say i was expecting alot out of this gun when i got it. and it deilivered on all my expections! i have owned timmy in the past and they were awesome guns,and the marq series are no different. when i opend the box and picked it up i noticed right off the bat how light the marker is. the trigger frame reminds me of an dye ultralight frame with the way it feels. even with my hopper and tank attached it was really balenced in my hands not heavy to one end or the other. i also was impressed with milling on the body,they look good on the internet and they look way better in person. these guns will turn heads on and off the feild. to be honest i played with it stock and i didnt feel that i needed to upgrade anything. i just made some adjustments to the trigger and i felt it was good to go. if you got the money id say buy one.
Conclusion: If you got the money for a marq id say buy one. you would be spending way less then you would if you were buying an ego and in my opinion your getting the same if not better preformance form this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

muchacho Wednesday, May 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
upped ion-not even close
alias-awesome but much bigger
vice/protege-just seems to outperform these too
closer-nice, well balanced, same performance, sick, but looks like weird alien poop
Russian Legion Marq-sexy, but not as comfy
Marker Setup: Rapper
Power Kodachi trigger
Tadao Yakuza
Four Eye upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
Yakuza (or at least the frenzy 3.0 flash)
Power trigger
High Efficiency engine
four eye upgrade
Strengths: Light, fast, sexy, accurate, comfy
Weaknesses: Efficiency could be better but not bad
kind of a pain to take apart
Review: Open the box up and I see this beauty gleaming in the light. Absolutely beautiful, and fits my hands very comfortably. The milling around the asa is perfect for gripping around the barrel. I put on air and a hopper, and it balances perfectly only adding to the comfort.
I shoot it, and it was paint on paint with only minor first shot drop off, but that gets fixed once the gun gets broken in after about ten cases of paint. It rips, very easy to walk even with the stock board, add a yakuza and it's a machine gun times five. Stock trigger isn't bad and there is no real need to upgrade it, but, it just wasn't really to my liking.
Conclusion: Beast!!! Buy one, they're sick. Only thing holding it back is a bit of efficiency, otherwise it would get a 10. That's also easily fixed with a high efficiency engine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_cool_cuban Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM'S, shcokers, umm other bob long guns i have used and owned most guns out there
none is as good as this
Marker Setup: a 2007 bob long marq 7 used by Jhony Perchacks with 4 eyes, pillow bolt, ul barrel, hybrid grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
it is amazing stock but i guess a barrel i us a dye ul barrel. and the 4 eye upgrade is real nice.
Strengths: What is'nt a strength it is light, oh my god it is so fast
Weaknesses: In my opinion there are none
Review: Okay well it took alot form me to get my marq it was used by a pro but i am so happy with this gun it is light, so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so fast, it is great with air i can get a a hoppper and like 5 or 6 pods off a 45/45 tank, it is accurate i love this gun so damn much. it is very reliable too
Conclusion: This hands down is the best gun i have ever owned i like it more than my 05 ego and that is saying something
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media