paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Crazylegs Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
only pump i ever used only one i ever will
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line and constant air if you don't plan on playing stock .45 grip if you didn't buy it with one
Strengths: Accurate, light, reliable, easy to fix, dosen't eat paint, very air effecient.
Weaknesses: Hard to get used to playing with a pump at first
Review: plain and simple this marker rocks nothing is more humiliating than getting gogged by a single paint ball shot from a gun designed in the stone age of paintball. This thing can shoot further than anything that doesn't have a flatline and is accurate to no ends all you have to do is get a red dot sight if your not good at snap shots and wait for the right momment and let the utter poonage begin.

It takes a little getting used to at first but if your going to play pump this is the gun for you, just don't think your some sniper in Vietnam it can only shoot 200ft. well within the sight range of a normal person, and ghille suit make you look like the bush fairy princess get up there and actual shoot someone

Conclusion: Buy one, buy a whole flock of them if you can this gun is awsome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro/Carbine- Not as accurate, but faster firing and cheaper, alot louder, and not the same range

Tippmann Model 98- Same as Pro/Carbine

Stingray- Very poor range and accuracy, very loud. Good beginners gun though

Tigershark- Very stiff pump arm compared to the phantom, not very good range, not very good accuracy, loud. Good beginner gun though

Marker Setup: Phantom SC
T-stock
14" stock barrel, 8 inch old style no ports stock barrel, and will soon have the 14" nickel barrel
rifle scope
.45 grip
stickies
15 rd. feed tube
4 oz tank attached to stock
All black

Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing it is fine stock. But if you have some money and want to make it a little more comfortable you can get the .45 grip, t-stock, and bottomline with 4 oz. and don't forget the sight or scope.
Strengths: Withe the .45 and stickes its very comfortable. Its very light weight. Extremly accurate. I can hit a milk jug on my first shot at 140+ ft. Its very good on co2. I can turn my tank off and still get 10 shots just from the air in the hose. This gun is perfect for a paintball sniper. Very smooth pump also.Nice trigger too.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. You can't shoot fast but with a 1 shot 1 kill gun you don't need to shoot fast.
Conclusion: I I would say that this is one of the best guns made. Its definantly one of the most accurate and lightest. If your looking for a sniper gun you have just found it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

wombizle Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer
Sniper II
Sl-68 II
Marker Setup: does it matter?
(too lazy to type it all up)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A lighter return spring
Strengths: Weight
Looks
Accuracy
Custimization
simpleness
price
Weaknesses: Stiff return spring
Review: I was broke going into a local tourney (couldn't afford paint even at cheap sponsor prices), so I decided to use my phantom

The ref looked at me like I was retarded when we walked up to check in. He said I could use the pump if i wanted, but it probably woul;dn't work out too well. He asked if I would like to use his cocker, but I politely said no thank you, and explained my situation. He said good luck, and it was my fault if I got raped trying to hang with the electros

I play front, and thanks to amazing cover from my team mates (brandon and michael, you rock!) I was able to nail all 3 of the other players, in multiple games. It was really light, and small, perfect for a front man, and the accuracy/distance was amazing.

Yes it was scarry as **** when 3 guys are shooting their egos atyou, while you have a SC phantom, but patience, and intelegence arte the way to go.

efficiency was great! I used a 12g per mach and was able to get between 30-40 good shots off it, plenty for a 3 man tourney.

We ended up getting 4th, out of 16, but it was a ton of fun, and hilarious to see me attempt to do a 3 on 1 with my pump (I did get raped here).

Cleaning that night was a breze. it took all of 10 minuts, and It was good as new. there were no tools needed, and it was simple to reassemble.

It was a ton of fun, and worked 1000x better than I thought it would, but I would realy recomend a semi for tourneys
Conclusion: Get it!!! there is no way to describe how nice it shoots till you actually use one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

N.H. hick Friday, August 31st, 2001
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: 1- UNGODLY AMOUNTS OF SHOTS WITH A SINGLE 12 GRAM. With the stock barrel i ussaly get about 50 shots running the velocity at about 250.
2- LIGHTEST MARKER OUT THERE, weighs in at 3 pounds dry, and 4.2 pounds fully loaded.
3- VERY PERCISE, will even put brass egale paint right on top of each other shot, after shot, after shot.
4- BASIC. I can disasemble and put back together in about 3 minutes.
5- GRIN FACTOR. Its what you get after getting more kills then the guy with a cocker or mag
6- DAILY PLAYING COSTS- I think i spend about 20 dollars a day playing at my local field, that includes paint, co2, and admission fee. that also means i play more often with my very limited cash flow.
7- STOCK BARREL- my stock barrel outpreforms big shots and J&J ceramics, about the ony barrel it doesn't out perform is its big brother, CCI Nickel plated.
8- BREAKAGE- I have shot through my gun at least 2 cases in the first week, and had not a signal break that was the guns falut(i dubble cockeda few times)
9- AUTOTRIGGER- makes speed ball even possible, although i just stay in the back and lay cover fire.
10- RANGE- i can get kills from over 200 feet and hit exactly where i want.
11- INDESTRUCTABLE- i have droped, thrown, booted and soaked my gun, still no rust, no dents, only a few scratches and still performs kick arse.
12- CUSTOMER SERVICE- mike cassidy is running a great business over there in oregon, He is very nice and will trick out your gun for you in anyway, well anyway possible.
Weaknesses: 1- THUMB SCREWS- come loose often, but you get used to checking them every 10 minutes to make sure there there.
2- BREAK IN- the gun will not stand up to its reputation for the first half case. Its just breaking in, after that the gun is godly.
3- COST - expensive, but deffinatly worth cost.
Conclusion: I have had my gun for a long time, well about a month, It has exceeded my expectations and will for a long time to come. If you want somthing that is kick right out of the box, go for this gun, it will cut your cost at the field, but if your into wasting cash on upgrades, go for the sniper 2 or the sniper 3. WIth awesome customer service and reliablility that top the rating charts, you can't get a better deal then the phantom.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

YonderNorthWest Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom with flat-line, gravity hopper and car stock (huge disappointment)
98 custom with 14 inch JJ ceramic barrel, gravity hopper and car stock (decent but not great)
Marker Setup: Stock class Phantom with M16 grip,10" barrel, an adjustable T-stock, an open sight and an upgraded trigger surface
Recommended
Upgrades:
The T-stock and open sight greatly improved my ability to put my balls where i wanted them (no pun intended). For any other hunters or shooters on here, you already know that having a third point of contact on your weapon greatly increases your accuracy, and the concept holds true to this marker. The open sight not only gave me something consistent to aim with, but also quickened my ADS (Aiming Down Sight) target acquisition.
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
Small Profile
Simplicity
Paint Consumption
Pump-Intimidation
Customer Service
Weaknesses: Fire Rate (pump)
Price
Cold Weather Performance (Co2)
Gravity Fed Pump
Review: I hadn't even thought of playing with a pump gun until i was in a shop buying a pair of I-4s to replace my awful mask and saw a Phantom hanging on the wall. I picked it up and it was love at first touch. It was light, sleek and sexy. The only problem was the price tag. The store wanted 300 some dollars and i only had about $250 to spend. I went online to do some research and discovered that the factory where they were built was only a few miles away from where I lived. I contacted the owner via e-mail and he was incredibly helpful.

I bought the standard, stock-class setup and headed out to the field to try it out. To be honest, my first performance with the pump was less than spectacular. I didn't know the strengths of my marker or how to properly utilize them on the field. The result was all of my buddies laughing at me as I tried to play with my pump like I had with my semi-auto marker. I was also lacking any kind of sight which made it difficult (for me anyways) to hit anything. The lack of a stock also made it feel like I was two-handing some kind of freak-hand-cannon. Let's just say I didn't know what I was doing and needed to head back to the drawing board.

What I did know was that I needed to make some modifications to my marker but I wasn't quite sure how so I went to the maker's website. That's where I found the T-stock, open sight and trigger modification. I rang up the owner, bought all three and threw them on my marker. I couldn't wait for round two.

The next game I went to was a scenario big game. During the opening hours of the day we played some small, single map games. I was a little worried that my pump would be under powered in the large fire fights that would inevitably happen during these short games. I couldn't have been more wrong. The surprising accuracy of the Phantom made it unnecessary to fire more than one shot at any target. For the first time I was experiencing the one-shot-kill, and I liked it. Not only was I playing very well, but I was being recognized for it. People would come up to me after a game and praise me just because I was using a pump. I had similar results during the scenario big game, and was also pleased with the prone mobility the Phantom gave me. By the end of the day I was very pleased with my marker setup.
Conclusion: This marker has been nothing but a pleasure since I made the last modifications to it. I would recommend this marker to anyone and everyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OldSchoolPumper Tuesday, September 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black Stock Class Phantom
Pro Star Custom Stalk
Crossman Red Dot Sight
or AIM 3-9 x 40x Sniper Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
A stock is all you really need, it helps with pumping and consistent accuracy. Some kind of scope is nice if you are not too good with "snap shooting".
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Low profile
Easy to pump
Maneuverable
Gets you attention
Perfect for snipers
Weaknesses: Harder to keep peoples' heads down, that might be a good thing though, more targets
Review: This is an awesome gun. I've played a lot with it in the short time I've had it and i am proud to say this is the best purchase I've ever made.
1. It saves you a crap load of money on paint.
2. You get lots of attention from the pros, and the noobs.
3. It looks awesome.
4. You will learn the best tactics with this gun because the lack of BPS forces you to learn new strategies to get the kill.
5. And, you will kick more @$$ than ever before.
Conclusion: If you are a noob looking for a gun, or a pro, buy this gun because it has never miss for me, and saves you money. This gun cannot be described in words, it is too... :) I rate this a 10 because it is as close as you can get to being perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

easix6 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom VSC, WGP SC Sniper, Nelspot 007, Nelspot Challenger (single shot bolt action)
Marker Setup: Stock Class Phantom, standard black finish, M-16 grip, back bucket 12 gram changer.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detent rings and spare parts / seals from CCI. The stock barrel is nice. You don't really need any aftermarket upgrades for this gun. An Edge Kit for the Phantom would likely increase efficiency, but it really isn't a needed expense.
Strengths: Very light weight but durable. Exceedingly good craftsmanship.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: The CCI SC Phantom is likely the best SC gun on the market for the price, performance and quality of craftmanship. I used to run a VSC Phantom - but I think I actually prefer the standard Model SC Phantom better.

I have owned several guns since I started playing back in '87and in all honesty I find the CCI Phantom to be the best I have had the pleasure of owning to date. It's construction is simple with very easy breakdown characteristics. All parts on the gun are obviously of the utmost quality upon inspection and have been very durable. It is evident that Mr. Casady at CCI has excellent quality control and does not cut corners on quality material. The gun is lightweight, yet is extremely durable.

The marker is ready to go out of the box. There are absolutely NO AFTER MARKET PARTS needed when you purchase a Phantom. The only parts / accessories that I have purchased have been extra parts and detent rings to prevent ball roll outs in the stock barrel. The marker is very accurate, reliable and a joy to shoot. My Phantoms have never given me an ounce of grief.

Finally, the customer service of CCI is well beyond that you will experience with ANY OTHER PAINTBALL COMPANY. Mike is a great guy who will go to great lengths to see that you are satisfied with your purchase. CCI as a company is simply the best paintball entity that I have ever dealt with since I started playing back in 1987.
Conclusion: There is no better stock gun on the market in my opinion. The CCI Phantom is built of quality materials formed with the apex of craftsmanship. It is light, rugged and simple to operate / maintain. The customer service is the tops in the industry BAR NONE! I would strongly recommend anyone seriously interested in a stock / pump marker to purchase the CCI SC Phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 at 9:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ItVVazntM3 Saturday, November 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
responce trigger
folding stock
Ceramic J&J EDGE Barrel Kit 14"

Phantom (Stock Class)
J&J EDGE Barrel Kit 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Sight ~ Yea... this gun is actually sight worthy, it's that accurate!
Strengths: Gas efficiency
Looks
Durability
Field stripping
ACCURACY!
Weaknesses: Rate of Fire
Review: Looks - This gun is one that will turn heads. Where I play, the refferees definetly favor me. Even if you don't get an acid wash or another color or any upgrades, it still will look great!

Durability - I haven't dropped it much, but with what I have done to it (hit a few rocks with it... oops), it still handles great!

Gas efficiency - I can get off about 25 balls per CO2 cartridge. That is keeping it going at the same distance each time, then it starts to deteriorate and overall I can probably get about 35 balls out of each 12 gram cartridge.

Field stripping - Field stripping on this gun is pretty dang easy, I haven't needed to do it on the field (Haven't had a ball break), but I do clean my gun by taking it apart when I get home. All that is needed to be done is unscrew a 2 screws and BANG, your gun is apart!

Accuracy - This thing is amazing in accuracy!! Even with the stock barrel, you can hit people pretty far out. Now if you upgrade your barrel to something like the J&J EDGE like I did... you won't miss!

Rate of fire - It's a stock class gun, so if you are going to buy it DON'T expect to get 16 balls per second! What it lacks in ROF it has in accuracy.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the player who wants a greater challange on the field. I wouldn't reccomend it to a newbie who has no experience. I love this gun and will continue to use it over my A-5. I give Mike props on making this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kjt3337 Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing could ever possibly compare to the Phantom.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Stock Class with T-Stock and 18" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accuracy, money saver, looks, solid feel, reliable, and customer service.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Accuracy - It is hard to explain how unbelievanbly accurate this gun is. I knew the Phantom was supposed to be accurate but I truly underestimated it. Igot this my phantom in the winter and i waited to fire it until spring. when i finally did i was shocked. Iset up a paper target about 100 feet away. The Phantom hit 10 out of 10 times. i the decided to challenge the Phantom by setting up a CD as a target at 100 feet. once again the Phantom amazed me and hit and shattered it on the first shot. To this day I have not been in a situation where a target was out of range for my Phantom. The faces people make after being hit in the mask from 100+ feet is the best part.

Money Saver - some people may think that the Phantom is a bit expensive. It was pretty expensive for me anyways. My Phantom has easily made up for the expense by using very few balls and not a lot of CO2. i couldn't afford to by paint when i had a semi, now all i buy are marballizers and its still cheaper.

Looks - This is a sexy gun. I got the gun in an urban camo paint. evrywhere i go i get compliments. Some people underestimate my Phantom like i did. These people pay dearly for this. I really don't know what they are thinking when they pop their heads up but after the game they tell me whats on their mind. Those who know what it is give me nothing but respect.

Solid and Reliable - i don't think i could break this gun if i tried. All the parts are solid and i don't expect there to any be problems with my Phantom, EVER. and if there are any problems the customer service is great. Mike Cassidy is the kindest and most helpful man i have ever met.
Conclusion: The Phantom is only Gun i will use for the rest of my days. With the Phantom and practice every paintballer has the potential to be feared and to dominate evry time the step on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 26th, 2004 at 3:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, October 6th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is the lightest stock marker out there. It has the best stock barrel in existance, however with a CCI nickel plated barrel upgrade ($15-$25), it will equal or better the performance of a Palmer custom while being more than one hundred dollars cheaper. The gun is insanely accuracte. I can get 3" groupings at 30 yards. There are a large variety of factory customizations and configurations available, including 10 or 15 round feed tubes, hand grips, and shoulder stocks. This is one of the few stock guns that can be easily converted to hopper fed with one quick change. Efficient on CO2: it gets 30-40 shots out of a single little 12 gram! When playing against semi's, using this gun completely changes the game. It forces one to think and plan movements carefully. It gives a real feeling of being a sniper because every shot has to count and you can't afford to give away your position. Using a stock gun will make anyone a better paintball player. There is nothing more rewarding in all of paintball than the look an autococker/angel player's face when they realize they were taken out by a 12 gram stock gun. It's not just about ego, it's just damn funny to see (you stock guys know what I'm talking about, the shock, the drooping face, the denial) ;) If you're gonna get a stock marker, get the best. Phantoms rule!
Weaknesses: The internal velocity adjustment is a pain, but once its on, its dead on. Velocity will stay within 5fps for a long time. Phanotms dominate stock tournaments of any sort. When playing against semi's, the ammo limitation is evident. However, people buy this gun knowing that and adjust their playing style accordingly. You have to think and aim clearly to use a stock gun against semis. Don't buy this gun if you like to play like a machinegunner. This is a one hit elimination surgical scapel, not a paint flamethrower.
Conclusion: This gun is superb out of the box and needs no upgrades. However, I reccomend a nickel plated CCI barrel no longer than 8"-11" ($15-$25 upgrade). That will maximize gas efficiency, distance, and accuracy when using a 12 gram. It is the best stock gun in the world, bar none. Most of the best players in the world learned their stalking, stealth, and aiming skills while playing stock class. It is a great idea for any player to do. It teaches discipline and tactical thinking. Come join the adrenaline charged ranks of real snipers. There is nothing like playing stock and no stock gun as good as a phantom. I would reccomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media