paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
PBSniper45 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Phantom Stock Class
10 Round Loader
Black
No Clear Parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sighting system (maybe)
Thermal lenses for your goggles so you can actually see what you shoot at.
Stock harness (so the CO2 cartridges don't rattle)
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Flat Trajectory
LIGHT!
Easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Can't hook up a remote to it
Review: I first got this marker in the mail and I thought the package was empty because it was soooo light.

When I first loaded it and fired it I was aiming down range about 50 yards using only the sight on top of the loader and I hit my target each time. I didn't even have to put the gun up at an angle, I just looked straight through the sight and fired.

If you keep the barrel clean you can hit anything.
Conclusion: I recomend this to any paintball sniper out there or someone who is on a tight budjet because it costs barely anything to play all day with it... maybe 200 paintballs and 10 CO2 cartridges (I can get mine for 40 cents each!). People may think your crazy for spending $200 on a pump but its worth every penny! You almost have to try to miss to be able to miss
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Samoth187 Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippman, Cold Fusion, Black Dragun, Evolution, Black Magick, Autococker, Angel, Emag, Mini Mag, DYE Autocoker, and Carter Machine
Marker Setup: Basic Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Let me just start off by saying that this is the best stock gun EVER!!! It is mind bogglingly accurate. (I hit a can at over 125 ft. !!!) This gun is also amazingly light. a two year old can lift it! And besides these great features, there's more! It is extremely efficient on CO2. Sleek and sexy, it will draw attentive stares! Can also be very easily field stripped and cleaned. There is nothing wrong with this gun!!!!! I own several other guns,. and this is by far the most fun to play with. It will increase your skills and make you a better player overall, whether with a stock or automatic. You'll nail people at over 200 feet and THEY WON'T EVEN KNOW IT WAS YOU!!!
Weaknesses: People might want to steal this beautiful gun!!
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Milky Spore Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Talon-Lol, not even close, but a fun marker to play with.
Marker Setup: SC Phantom
Trigger shoe
Detent rings
Recommended
Upgrades:
It only needs detent rings, otherwise, nothing. The only other upgrades would just be preference. There is a bunch you can get for it though.
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Efficent
Ease of maintenance
Reliability
Mike's support
Upgradability
Weaknesses: Long break in period
Review: I had ordered my Phantom because I was spending too much money on paint using semi-automatic markers, and maintaining them was expensive too. Not to mention you need hoppers, tanks, and lots of paint and more gear, and all that crap is expensive and weighs you down. So, I decided I was going for a pump marker, and I had to look no further than the Phantom.

I ordered this from Wevo, for $211.97 with a trigger shoe. It came packaged neatly in a white box with it sitting on a layer of foam, and a layer of foam sitting on it. Came with a manual, the velocity adjustment tool, spare parts kit, and Wevo's business card. If you're ordering a pump marker order it from Wevo. I thought the manual could have been a little better, but it is informative.

This is easily one of the best markers I've ever shot. Even with crappy Diablo Heat paint that doesn't fit the bore correctly it was still ball on ball accurate. It's light too, and balanced. Easy to manuver, snap shooting is very easy now as is running and diving and sliding. It is very efficent, mine's not broken in yet and I got 38 shots off of a 12g cartridge, and it will only get better. I have broken it in fully now and I saw an amazing 51 shots at 270 FPS! Maintenance is easy, which you don't have to do often. You don't need any tools to gain access to the bolt and hammer and main spring, and you only have to put a small drop of oil on each part like every month. If you over-oil it you will get horrible velocity fluctuations as I have found the hard way, and when I say bad I mean 200 +/- FPS. So, uh, don't soak the hammer and bolt in oil, and you'll be getting very consistent readings. I cleaned them off, only used very little oil, and now I'm getting 8 +/- FPS, pretty good for a un-regulated marker running on Co2 that isn't broken in yet. The pump stroke is nice and smooth, but takes a while to get very smooth, stupid break-in period. Plus, nothing beats that feeling of totally owning the rich kid with the ramping PMR, actually, that's what happened the first day I played with it. :) Last, Mike's support is great. I had lost two detent rings when I was playing, and I sent him an e-mail if it were possible to get the two I lost invdividually, and while I was expecting to pay $3.00 including shipping, he sent them out to me free of charge! I'm definitely recommending Phantoms every chance I can now, and I also plan on not breaking/losing anything else. It's service like what Mike delivers that keeps the players coming back, and instead of caring about gaining a few extra bucks, he'd rather have you think that he's a great guy and give you the parts.

As for upgrades, they're not needed, all you really need is detent rings (seriously, you NEED them), but you can get upgrades for preference. You can get things like .45 grips (although I like the M-16), L and T-stocks, undercocking kits, colored parts, ghost rings and other sights, different air configurations, different body configurations, barrels even (unless if you want a barrel kit because you use a lot of different paint, just choose the right detent ring and use the stock one, it's perfect), and you get get different length feedtubes, so you can basically turn this gun into whatever you want it to be. Want the smallest setup possible? Get a 6" barrel, 2.5" pump arm, and a dropout changer. Want to run the best open class setup? Get a .45 grip, T-stock, 22ci/3,000psi HPA tank, a VSC kit, and run the bottomline to the ASA on the gun. Is the black color getting boring? Get some colored acrylic parts. Want just the best stock gun? Well, for that, you don't need to do anything if you buy this beauty, it's perfect stock.

The only weakness in this gun is the long break-in period. If you have a full 20oz. tank, and a 3/8" allen wrench to remove the 12g changer adapter thingar, screw the 20oz. tank into the ASA, and dry fire until the tank runs dry. It may take a while, but this will break it in pretty well. Otherwise you will see less than satisfactory performance. My first two times with it at the field I was seeing velocity fluctuations and my pump stroke was very stiff. I had my 20oz. still filled, I did that, and when I came back to the field for the third time I was seeing 6+/- FPS for consistency, and my pump stroke is very smooth and quick now.
Conclusion: If you're wanting to play SC pump, look no further than the Phantom. It's an awesome perfomer, and the price is right. I was annoyed that it was $211.97 for a pump, I thought it should only be $150, but as soon as I held it I knew I was wrong. If you're looking to play open class I would say get a Sniper, but for SC play, you'll need no other marker. Absolutely perfect, great job Mike and the guys at Wevo. Light, efficent, accurate, fairly quiet for a HP marker, balanced, customizeable, ease of maintenance, great gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 3rd, 2007 at 8:06 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mezzamorphis Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
pump cockers
Marker Setup: SC Phantom

Spyder Pilot ACS
14" J&J Ceramics barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
DETENT RINGS
Strengths: Accuracy, Lightweight, 12 round feed tube "MONEY SAVER!"
Weaknesses: 12 ball feed tube, Pump arm is harder to pump than others.
Review: It shoots at what you point at. Seriously.
It saves money on paint and air.
It gives you major props from semis.
It is very light, i end up tossing it to show people how light it is.
It gives you so much satisfaction when hitting someone right in the face with your first shot.
It allows you to improve aiming/ snap shooting
It is unique from all the ions/spyders/tippmans/angels you see on the field.
It is not very expensive.
It is customizable. (bottomline/VSC/SC/back-bottle/direct feed)
It gets the game of paintball fun again.
It is easy to strip/clean
Conclusion: If playing semi doesn't do it for you anymore, buy this marker.
If you don't have the money to buy 100000000 paintballs, buy this marker.
If you want a challenge, buy this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 9th, 2006 at 11:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Foxen Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom VSC, Carter Buzzard, Bushmaster (old school pump, not the semi), and I guess the AFT...
Marker Setup: 11' Nickel Barrel, that's about it. Oh, 45 grip...and trigger shoe, and I popped out the safety. My Phantom never came with a "pump spring", I added one and hated it. The feed tube holds about 12 rounds.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Out of the box, Phantoms are pretty awesome and ready to go. Even the stock barrel is very accurate, especially compared to semis and some of the older pump markers. I do recommend a Nickel or other barrel if you really want to feel like you're improving your accuracy...I also use a Nickel barrel because the barrel diameter is slightly smaller than the stock barrel and will hold the ball better.

I also have several 3.5oz and 4oz tanks for the Phantom. I actually rarely use them, but for tourney play, most people I know compete with them. I prefer the 12gram...
Strengths: - Very accurate
- easy maintenance
- affordable
- light weight
- stock class

Weaknesses: - Compared with Carter Buzzard, slightly less range and accuracy
Review: There is nothing sweeter than gogging someone with one shot....and only to learn after the game that if they knew you were a pump player, they would have been way more careful playing against you.

The Phantom Stock Class is probably one of the best markers out there for their cost. At the cost of a "low-end" semi, with minimal upgrades $40 Nickel or Dye Barrel), this marker along with stock class play will blow your brains! Compared with other pumps, the Phantom is probably one of the most accurate pump markers out there. Compared with the Carter Buzzard, the Phantom is deinitely more air efficient (30-35 shots per 12 gram versus 20 shots for the Buzzard). The Phantom is very easy to break apart (2 thumb screws basically hold the entire gun together)...and clean. Also, it's fairly easy to adjust velocity...just stick the velocity adjuster down the barrel...fidgit a little, and twist...


Conclusion: Honestly, my Phantom SC is my favorite marker...because of it's ease of use, dead-on accuracy, light weight, and the thrill of stock class play against rain making Angels and Autocockers....I love it.

For anyone interested in taking on a new challenge in paintball, I strongly recommend stock class play with a Phantom. The learning curve is steep, but the rewards are great...it slows you down forcing you to think, to plan, to tighten your bunker play...where every shot counts...only to speed up into one of the greatest thrills.

Gotta love it!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantom_seth_07 Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
micro phantom and vsc phantom
Marker Setup: cci sc phantom,8 in. barrel, micro pump,m-16 grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
none maybe a trigger shoe and a t-stock or l-stock
Strengths: -Accuracy!!!!!!!!!
-Dont use as much paint
-Dont use as much co2
-Comfortable
-Light
Weaknesses: -No anti-double pump
Other than that none!!!!!!
Review: This gun is the most amazing gun i have ever used.
It is super accurate,super light,super comfortable.
You dont use almost any paintballs compared to semi.I played with semi for 5 hours and they used a thousand balls and i only used 100
and you dont have to fill bulk co2 all the time and u get about 35 shots of of one 12 gram
Conclusion: Get this gun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 9th, 2006 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sharpfitz Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade, SL-68 II, Trracer, Carter Buzzard
Marker Setup: Tank: 3.5 oz
Stock: CCI Black T-Stock
Feed Tube: 10 round
Grips: Red DYE Sticky 3's
Barrel: 8 inch stock Phantom barrel
and a trigger shoe

thats my Pump set up.

also got a Trilogy Pro with a few ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
theres alot of stuff you can get....personal Preferance
Strengths: Easy to maintain
light
you will ALWAYS be able to find parts for the phantoms...
Weaknesses: Arent really any weakness'
Review: yo yo yo.

alright, these phantoms are great!, i love it, its nice and light and you can play insanely tight with them. (depends on length of barrels and stocks i suppose)

If something is wrong with your it, usually jsut taking it apart and putting it back together will fix the problem, dont tighten the Thumb Screws too much then your marker wont fire. If playing in a sandy area and what not, be sure to strip your marker down and clean it, sand tends to get into the marker, and if you dont clean it up, the sand can scratch the internals inside whenever you pump and shoot, and you dont want that do you?

If you want you can remove the Return spring, so you have a faster and easier pump, thats what i do and its more comfortable.

if you want you can get a stock...i use one and i like it, it works for me and lets me make my shots count.

purchase a trigger shoe,they make your trigger feel much nicer; they arent expensive.

and if you want, you can change your pump handle, to something like an 8-ball or w/e you want..

and for sights....the Armson Sight (or DYE Izon, same thing as an Armson) is great for these as well

and if you have any questions about them, you can jsut talk to Mike Cassidy and he'll most likely be more than welcome to help you out.

also it would be good to get some detents so your balls dont roll down your barrel.....especially when using a feed tube






Conclusion: i would reccomend this to anyone wanting to play pump....Phantoms are extremely Popular.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 26th, 2005 at 6:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

man of stihl Wednesday, March 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
new hammer pump,
pmi pump
other cheap pumps
Marker Setup: BKO, with CP barrel and Halo B with rip drive
Backup
A-5 Hell Cat with Empire 3 peice set
Stock Class
Phantom, with 3.5 ounce tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker does not need any upgrades, but if your not strick on SC play, i would say get a 3.5 or 4 ounce tank for about 15.00 bucks
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Efficient
Durable
accurate
accurate
need i say more
Weaknesses: Velocity changing can be a trick at first
Review: I am a woods ball player, i did have a tippman 98C with flatline and response, but i was wasting paint up the wazzoo. So i started looking into pumps, when i got my phantom i was questionable on the price. I payed nearly 250 dollars for mine, would it pay itself off.. is this a rip off.. well it wasn't, i would play all day long with my 3.5 ounce tank, AND use only 20-30 rounds a game, now this compared to 200-400 rounds a game is pretty good. So in about 3 or 4 weeks of playing i had almost payed the thing off. NOW the gun. This gun is accurate, i mean really accurate. When playing you will learn that you don't need to spray and pray you can simply snap shoot and get the guy.. Lean back and take the time to get a good shot and you will hit your target, as long as you have good aim, you don't have to take guess shots or any of this, it simply hits what you point it at. The range is ok..... i didn't notice a super difference but then again i went from a flat line, to a pump... so i couldn't give you a accurate description of range. Other then that its a great gun.
Conclusion: IF you want to play for cheap and get good props from other players, Get this gun it will pay it self off just from as little paint as you use. Don't worry you don't have to stay strickly on SC play, you can do woods ball or speed ball and you'll do just fine.

easy 10, no question
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crazylegs Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
only pump i ever used only one i ever will
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line and constant air if you don't plan on playing stock .45 grip if you didn't buy it with one
Strengths: Accurate, light, reliable, easy to fix, dosen't eat paint, very air effecient.
Weaknesses: Hard to get used to playing with a pump at first
Review: plain and simple this marker rocks nothing is more humiliating than getting gogged by a single paint ball shot from a gun designed in the stone age of paintball. This thing can shoot further than anything that doesn't have a flatline and is accurate to no ends all you have to do is get a red dot sight if your not good at snap shots and wait for the right momment and let the utter poonage begin.

It takes a little getting used to at first but if your going to play pump this is the gun for you, just don't think your some sniper in Vietnam it can only shoot 200ft. well within the sight range of a normal person, and ghille suit make you look like the bush fairy princess get up there and actual shoot someone

Conclusion: Buy one, buy a whole flock of them if you can this gun is awsome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to own a good old Tippmann 98. I sold it to get my Phantom. The Tippmann 98 was no where close to the Phantom's accuracy. The 98 was also very loud ( much unllike the Phantom). The 98 was also considerably larger than the Phantom.
Marker Setup: I currently play witht the Phantom. Nickel plated barrel, .45 PMI grips, gun silver in color.
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCI Nickel Plated barrel (accuracy) ( but the stock barrel is great)! and .45 PMI grips ( comfort)
Strengths: The Phantom is THE most accurate marker I have laid hands on. I have friends with sem's and pumps and their markers do not compare in accuracy. The Phantom is also rather quiet. When using 12 grams it is very efficent 30-35 shot a game. RELIABLE, never had a problem with it. Saves money ( I can go all day for 12 dollars US) It makes paintball a challenging and fun sport. You get a lot of looks and questions in the staging area. If you take care of this gun it will last you for years.
Weaknesses: Nothing is wrong with The Phantom. I love it
Conclusion: All, in all , the Phantom is an wonderful gun. I don't regret purchasing it. I look forward to playing with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media