paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
CaptainFuzzy Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI hornet, BE pumps
Marker Setup: ?
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detent ring set, it doesn't really need anything else.
Strengths: Well made and very light
Weaknesses: Obvious stock class things, price
Review: The phantom is most definitely the best pump gun out there in relation to price. It gets pretty good efficiency, the stock barrel is great, and the gun is light as a feather. Every part of the gun is wonderfully crafted and it feels extremely well-made in your hands. The pump stroke feels nice and natural and the learning curve to getting used to the gun comes pretty fast.

Overall, just a very well made marker that I would recommend to anyone looking to get into pump play. My only complaint is that they're very pricy, but what'cha gonna do?
Conclusion: If you want to go pump, might as well go with a phantom because they're one of the kings all right. Highly recommended.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pump power Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle pump - not really similar it was a $20 gun
Marker Setup: stock class phantom with ADCO sight
Black Maxx
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight
15 round tube - 10 round tube stops you from being able to use a bulk CO2
harness
Strengths: accuracy - dead on all the time
reliable - havent had a problem yet
light - weightless
Weaknesses: NONE!
Review: This gun is the best i have ever used. The only problem someone could have with it is the fact it only can go 4 bps with its auto trigger. It is very easy to take apart and maintain.

You can really run with the thing because it was so light.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN IF YOU WANT TO HAVE SOME FUN PLAYING STOCK
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantom sniper1 Friday, January 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: phantom stock class, stock barrel, adco e-dot sight, and a T-stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, maybe a red dot sight. but it's great stock.
Strengths: EVERYTHING!!!! it's very compact, no hopper and it takes 12 grams. my whole gun fully loaded weighs no more than three pounds. you can run and not worry about dropping your hopper or breaking paint. but best of all it's incredibly accurate, i was able to hit a coffee can at 120 ft fairly consistently as soon as i took it out of the box. this gun also makes you a better player, since it only has 10 shots you learn to make every shot count. it's very cheap to buy and to use, you won't go through nearly as much paint as with a semi.
Weaknesses: i don't like the rock and cock part. that's all i can think of.
Conclusion: this is an excellent marker for any type of player. i would highly recommend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Col617 Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothin
Marker Setup: i just have the standard stock phantom but will soon get a sight .45 grip and a telescope stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a sight .45 grip and telescope stock
Strengths: accurate- can hit a can at 100 ft
Price- i use about 20$ less than i did w/ my spyder\
reliable- if you keep it clean it will serve you very well
Costmer service- if you e-mail CCI w/ a question they will e-mail you back the same day.
Skill- you learn to be such a good player using this
satifaction- satisfaction when you gog a guy w/ a mag w/ out him noin were u r
light- no hopper or tank it weighs like 2.5 lbs. fully loaded
Weaknesses: nothin really dont do the semi-auto thing its not accurate
Conclusion: i looooooove this gun. ive become sooo much better. if your a sniper u just found your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joonsoon Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing similar
Marker Setup: Phantom stock class. Running 12 grams and 10 round tubes. Anno'd red and black
Recommended
Upgrades:
anti double pump feature (not available as i can see)
vert air
3.5 oz tank
Strengths: -Really light
-small
-compact
-forces you to play better
Weaknesses: -Pumping problems*
-accuracy
-no ball detent
-stripping
Review: Strengths-
Its really small and really light. You can really get around without lugging your gun or worrying about your hopper falling off. It also forces you to play better. you cant just unload on the bunker. you have to sneak around back and hit him in the chest.

Weaknesses-
The accuracy isnt as nice as people say. I know people says this thing shoots straight, which is true but as with all paintball guns, its not like a bullet. Also get good paint or you will get lit up because you shot at that guy and your crappy brass eagle (which i dont get) paint missed.
The pumping of the phantom sucks. There is no anti double pump feature to help you if you already cocked on ball and forgot if you did. Also when your running around balls will roll right out the barrel (seriously this is unbelieveable). I went to bunker some guy (yes i said bunker.) and i brought up my marker to shoot and i shot a blank. The ball rolled out while i was running.
The other thing that sucks is you have to pump it ALL the way in. if you stop short by a millimeter or so you wont shoot anything, but you will have loaded a ball.
stripping is also a pain because when you take it apart, it takes 5 minutes or so to get the pump back on the bolt. you have to hold it all funky and its quite a challenge.
Conclusion: I personally wish i wouldnt have gotten this product. Im a front man and need quicker ROF but for all you accuracy junkies this gun is alright. Its kind of a pain though when that guy with the cocker in front of you is unloading and bunkering you while your changing your 12 gram or reloading.

im using this gun only to improve my game. I dont reccomend it. get a cocker, there just as accurate and about the same price.
2 because its light 1 because it has to many crappy things.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

Ace-o-Spades Tuesday, August 16th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon (lol)
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom (stock class)
Daisy 4x20 scope
Remote line to HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
For sure get a set of ball detents, a couple bucks it saves you many, many rollouts
Maybe the nickel barrel but it's not necessary
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: First Impressions:
I purchased the stock class CCI Phantom from White Wolf Airsmithing (it's about 20 bucks cheaper there than the CCI website), and a month later (shipping was a NIGHTMARE, USPS lost the package!) I finally got it in the mail. I took it out of the box, and was slightly taken aback. I mean, this marker is absolutely gorgeous! The look and feel is so smooth and well-crafted, I just know it's going to last a long time.
I put it on my lap and looked around PBreview's website for a while, and completely forgot it was on my lap, it was so light. The Phantom is one of the lightest markers I've held. It's also well balanced in my hands, the center of gravity is right on the trigger guard with CO2 and paint in it, perfect in my opinion.


Strengths:
Never in my experience playing paintball have I had to take wind into account of my shots (barring extreme winds, of course). None of my other markers simply have the accuracy and consistency to warrant it. I used to be able to rely on the much wider spread of my shots with semi-auto markers to counteract the effects of the wind. However, the Phantom is accurate and consistent enough that it will drift to the exact same spot every time. The Phantom is honestly the most accurate marker I've ever shot. Sure, high-end marker setups with enormous amounts of cash put into barrel systems and regulators probably shoot just as accurate (I've never truly tested the accuracy of such markers), but for under 200 dollars, you can't do better than the Phantom. Some say that scopes are useless for paintball, but I say nay. Properly tuned and adjusted, my Daisy scope is right on the money from 75 feet out, reliably enough so that I can use it to great effect whenever I want.
It's rather quiet, as well. I made a suppressor out of PVC and with it on, the noise it makes is comparable to a loud fart.
As I said before, it looks cool as hell, especially with the scope on it. You will definitely get looks from other players when you enter the field.
It's really easy to disassemble, as well. Two thumbscrews secure the marker together, and the trigger assembly comes off when they are taken out. Oiling the marker is as simple as unscrew, wipe, oil, screw back in. CCI kept to the KISS method (Keep It Simple, Stupid); I love the simplicity of the design.


Weaknesses:
The only thing I could think of as a weakness was the fact that it doesn't come standard with a ball detent, which keeps the loaded ball from rolling out of the chamber. I read some reviews here before purchasing and saw that people suggested buying some, and I'm really glad I did. I would say they are a requirement for this marker.
Other than that, the Phantom is absolutely flawless.
Conclusion: I'm definitely giving the CCI Phantom a ten, I have never seen such accuracy and consistency out of the box before. An all-around well-crafted marker, I'm looking forward to years of use.

*Note: Notice how the Product Rating section says "10 - Best," not "10 - Perfect." Don't not give a product a 10 just because "nothing's perfect." Absolute perfection is not what a potential buyer is looking for, so don't rate things as if that's the case.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slowerpig81 Sunday, November 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used other pumps.
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Cyclone feed system
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA Tank
-or-
SC or OC Black CCI Phantom
14" stock barrel
Rear Bucket changer/3.5oz
Stock class stick feed/Winchester 50rnd hopper
Daisy electronic point sight
-or-
Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Drop Forward (Tippmann)
A-5 stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the .45 grip-better and more durable, lets you mount a bottomline or stock
Stock, I prefer L-stock, but any is good, it helps with pumping and ATing.
Undercocking kit, the Rainman kit is best, but get what you like.
Ghost ring, if you want a sight
Other breeches for OC play, and a 3.5 oz or 13 ci. HPA for winter
Detent rings to prevent rollouts
Trigger shoe for comfort
Strengths: Light, Stock barrel, consistent, simple to maintain, modularity, quiet
Weaknesses: Pump handle-adds friction to pump stroke, only one arm
see review for some more.
Review: So, I decided to put this review in the RSC Phantom group, I don't really like how they are separated, since all phantoms are the same internally, just different options available. The RSC was the first config that I used, and I have the most play with that config.

The Phantom was my first pump gun, also started with stock class trying to save paint and improve my game. Some of the most important things stood out from my Tippmann, like quality and craftsmanship. Every Phantom is hand assembled my Mike Casady of CCI, and he has been doing a great job since 1988. The stock barrel is all I will ever need, its quality is awesome, and it's price is too good. I have a 14" barrel, and it's really preference between it and the 11", both are accurate, quiet and efficient.

The consistency of the Phantom, after a break in period of about 500 shots, is amazing and a testament to the quality, even on unregulated CO2 and 12 grams. You will probably get more than 30 shots per 12 gram on a normal day, even more than 40. Shoot slowly, and you will be quite efficient.

The ergonomics of the Phantom are not perfect, but it is plenty comfortable, expecially with a stock. The stocks that CCI makes are great. I use an L-stock, and it makes pumping much easier, since you can push against your shoulder. Using the auto-trigger, a feature of the nelson valve, is possible with a stock. Without one, it is quite inaccurate, as the gun is getting jerked around by pumping.

The stock pump handle may make barrel sighting a little harder, but you can get an undercocking kit if you want. I don't have one myself. There is a 3/8" Dovetail on the SC feed block, and you can purchase a 2.5" or 5" long dovetail sight rail from CCI for about $5 that mounts onto the air adapter when a stock class feed is not being used. CCI's ghost ring is nice, it makes that first shot easier to get off.

The modularity of the marker is great. There are so many options for air, feed, stocks, and barrel and pump length. The Phantom can be made into a pistol that is about 10 or so inches long by getting a 6" barrel and short pump handle, and using a dropout 12 gram changer. It also gives the Phantom a nice straight, single tube look.

The 12 gram bucket changer that CCI makes is though of as the best, and it screws into any ASA, and is therefore used on many other guns. It is easy to turn and puncture the cartridge without wasting gas. The ASAs on the Phantom are ported to that when unscrewing a tank, the gas vents out of the port instead of the threads, saving your o-ring.

The finishes on the Phantom are great. There are many anodizing options that CCI offers and you can get many different colors and patterns. You can also get colored transparent plastic hardware, to match your anno.

The maintenance is quite easy. Put a drop of oil in the air source to lube the valve, and keep the bolt and hammer lightly lubed. To disassemble, just unscrew the two thumbscrews. Quite easy.
To adjust the velocity, you must turn what is known as the tuned port compensator (TPC), which is inside the bolt. It is the seat for the main spring, and turning it in or out adjusts the compression on the spring, changing the velocity. You must stick a rod down the barrel or remove it to adjust, using a slotted screwdriver. A rod is supplied with the Phantom. This is not the easiest way, but short of a reg, is part of the Nelson valve system. You can get a CCI spring kit that has a weaker and stronger spring for extreme temps. One complaint about the TPC, it has to be screwed in enough to prevent the bolt and hammer from kinking, this is when they join at an angle, and it causes friction in the breech, making the pump stroke stiffer, and wearing off the nickel plating on the internals faster. You can still operate it, but sometimes you have to switch springs.

Now to the pump. It is guided by the barrel, and so with use makes the barrel dull and you can tell where the pump is, as well as making a lot of friction. The pump has only one arm, so it has a little slop. You also may need to modify the pump for different barrels, or get an undercocking kit.

I sometimes get double feeds, this is when two balls fall into the breech in one pump stroke. This causes a reduced velocity on the shot, since the same amount of air has to shoot two balls, but rarely results in a break. I'm going to install a home made detent to prevent this.
Conclusion: The Phantom is a great mid level pump and a very user friendly marker. It will last for a long time and has many options for changing it after purchase without modification, since it really doesn't need much. The plastic parts and lack or fancy milling keep cost down for people like me, as well as keeping it light. It's a great marker for people wanting a quality pump that can fit most playing styles.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gotpaint92 Thursday, January 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP - So many levels below the phantom

SL-68II- once again, not even close
Marker Setup: HSC Phantom
12g changer
15 round feedstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
As far as upgrading this marker...there isn't any thing that you NEED to have other than detent rings. I've heard good things about the 86 grip from CCM, some might say a new barrel. I would recomend getting different bodies, pumphandles, and grips to play around with. It's very easy to switch around, I recommend taking advantage of that.
Strengths: Smooth pump stroke
Durable
Reliable
Efficient
Easy to maintain
Accurate
Light
Weaknesses: I really can't think of anything.
Review: I started playing pump paintball a year ago with a PGP, after a month or so I upgraded to a CCI Phantom and I picked up a SL-68II for a loaner. The Phantom without a doubt blows them both out of the water.

PUMP STROKE- Compared to the SL-68II and the PGP, the pump stoke is easy and buttery smooth. I have no return spring in my phantom so that may contribute, I've heard from some people that the return spring can cut down on the smoothness of the pump stroke. If you find that's a problem Wevo sells return springs that are 1/2 the strength of the stock ones.

DURABILITY- I think I failed to mention the fact that the Phantom I bought is 15 years old. I think that speaks for itself, this gun has all the original parts that it came with from the factory and it works flawlessly. Even the anno is still in almost perfect shape.

RELIABLITY- Did I mention the fact that this marker is 15 years old? I've never had it break down on me. It's a simple design...very little to go wrong with it.

EFFICIENCY- This is where the marker really shines. I get an insane number of shots out of a single 12g. I have gotten upwords of 60 shots at a reasonable velocity. Back-Bottle kit = super efficiency.

EASE OF MAINTAINENCE- I had some crap in the barrel and I was breaking paint like mad. The paint worked it's way into the gun and swabbing out the barrel just wasn't helping anymore. I had less than 5 minutes until the next game, I was able to completely field strip it, put it back together, and refill my tubes before they called the game warning. Completely cleaning and oiling everything (bolt, hammer, valve, etc) takes less than 10 minutes, unscrewing 2 thumb-screws and the valve face.

ACCURACY- It's as accurate as anything out there, don't be fooled by someone saying pumps are more accurate then semi's. Pumps just force you to aim.

LIGHT- Any stock-class phantom is going to be super light. Aluminum body, acrylic/delrin pump handle and feed block, plastic or aluminum body. My phantom weighs in at about 2 pounds with paint and 12g. No tank and hopper to bulk up the marker, I love playing with this marker it lets me make fast moves and play super tight.
Conclusion: If you are looking to get into pump paintball this is the marker for you. It's very simple to maintain, easy to switch between stock-class, modified stock class, and open class, which is great...it's like having three pumps in one. Are there better pumps? Yes, but you won't find a better value for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alliedcommando Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
(none)
Marker Setup: Autococker Tactical Trilogy w/ 14" Whisper barrel
PMI Pure Energy 20 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red-dot sight
Strengths: Less weight
Quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered and received this marker (I own a REAL .223 AR-15 rifle, so I will NOT classify this gelatin-launcher as a "gun.") It came packaged nice and neat, encased in soft white foam,
the first thing that struck me was it's light-weight and the beautiful black glossy finish on the marker. I had a few 12 grams handy, so I gassed the marker up and decided to see how many shots I could get off a 12 gram, to my surprise, the Phantom will shoot 40 shots before it needs another 12 gram (maybe 50 if you oil and lube it before a game.) The pump is kind of stiff at first, but that's not a problem after shooting a few shot's off. This is the most quiet paintball marker you can get that is efficent with Co2, it sounds like you are blowing air through the barrel, that's how quiet it is. The barrel is nice, I ordered mine with an 11", the barrel is ported AND has some a few rifled groves at the end of the barrel (which means it is going to shoot straight regardless of the quality of paint you put through it!) I still need to get a red-dot sight for mine, otherwise this is a good marker and very economic (I ordered mine from bulldogpaintball.com and had it shipped for $191!) I have an Autococker and thought I would try something more simple and easy, I am happy to own this marker. I plan to use this marker on newbies only, when I am playing woodsball and I'm up against Tourney players I use my Autococker to pick them off, maybe I'll use the Phantom, I'm still thinking about that one.
Conclusion: Good product, great price (if you know where to shop) and a great addition to anyone's list of paintball gear, great for those considering a switch to a more simple style of paintball. I myself like to play both Semi and Stock-class, great marker for any level of play or experience.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lastman Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really my first pump marker, so how could I compare?
Marker Setup: Phantom
M-16 Grips
Ghost Ring
L Stock
3.5 oz Tank
Green/Black Anno
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything to suit your style of play, depends on the person, I like having a stock and the ghost ring. A better barrel is not needed, though you might want it to get that peak accuracy.
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Light
Cheap
Easy to maintain
Runs great on CO2
Looks great
Weaknesses: Rate of fire (not always a weakness)
Velocity adjust inside barrel


Review: Its been 3 months since I have had my phantom, so I feel a review is needed.

I was first attracted to the Phantom for two reason, accuracy and how cheap it would be to play pump. I also found out that, the Phantom has very little to upgrade, no need for HPA, efficient . Anything you add to it is optional and is for the players own preference. All this for about 200, which is about the cost of a Ion, or a A-5( both are extremely popular markers), without their much needed ups. From the outlook this marker is very good.

When I first received it, I was so happy. I couldn't wait for my first game with it. I personally thought I was invincible (not really but it seemed like it). I played with a friend who had a semi, shot him multiple times in a close quarter match. I thought I knew what was coming. Then on my first scenario game (and official game with my pump) I had several issues. My spring was broken, which took me a 2 hours to figure out. When I was able to play, the day was halfway over. I realized that this was going to be harder then I thought. The rate of fire of a phantom means you cannot "walk" your shots towards the enemy. You need to shoot once and thats it, because the player will duck his head down. Rinse repeat the situation till you can shoot the guy. By the end of the day I had zero eliminations, but I learned alot.

The second time I play (today), I learned even more. I got a few eliminations, fired more accurately, and thought more tactically. I still need improvement playing with my phantom. This way of playing is much cheaper, and very fun when done correctly.

EDIT: More then a year has passed since I first got my phantom. I'll say that until I learned my marker inside and out (which is what I suggest everyone does for their own paintball marker it saves you alot of trouble), I didn't understand pump play. I was so new to the sport that I needed some time on a semi. I went and got a cheap spyder, played a few games. And I found that it became pretty easy, thanks to playing pump. An encounter with a excellent pump player made me switch back to the phantom. And I did great. I've made a name for pump paintball and I'm getting offers to try out the phantom. I've pulled off ridiculous shots, and won games singlehandedly. It's been a good experience so far.
Conclusion: I would recommend this pump for people who know how to gun fight better then the average person, and take care of their marker well. EDIT: I say this more then ever now, at first I didn't understand paintball as well End of EDIT. Phantoms are excellent markers, but only if you know how to use them well.
This does not mean you can't get one if your new, its just harder on you. Pump play will help you improve your paintball skills, and if you ever go back to semi, in the words of Tyger will become "pure evil". I would know, I switched to semi for a game and owned.

This marker is good, but it is not perfect, and nothing is.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 19th, 2008 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media