paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power Threshold / Dangerous Power Threshold / Dangerous Power Threshold / Dangerous Power Threshold

Dangerous Power Threshold Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power Threshold

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power Threshold
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Dangerous Power™ Threshold™ was never meant to be released to the public. Our engineers and design team had a bit of a clash when it came to the aesthetics of the new marker. Leaning towards ‘clean lines,’ where function is hailed above form, the chief engineers of the project commented that the milling was ‘too wild, and far too excessive.’ Cost was another prohibitive factor. 20 tools utilizing the latest 3D software, running 24 hours per day to produce only 7 bodies!"

"Weighing in at just 35.2oz (2.2lbs), which includes the full two piece barrel, feed neck, ASA, and battery, the Threshold consists of only 2 parts and 6 easily accessible O-rings in the entire operation. Based off of a ‘dump valve’ system and a custom, in-house designed 3-way solenoid, the Threshold boasts excellent efficiency numbers."
Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power Threshold is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
dunner98 Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts epiphany worse
Invert mini better
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power threshold
70/45 fiberwarp tank
Halo b V35 w/rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA maybe i'm not a huge fan of the flip
Reg the stock one is every hard to set
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Sick milling
Light
Good stock barrel
Clamping feedneck
Weaknesses: Reg
ASA not a big deal
Review: I have had this gun for a few weeks now i have played with it three times it is very easy to clean it is very light and fast easy to walk the reg is very touchy which makes it hard to set and the macroline fittings leak don't know why i love the barrel and feedneck the milling is just beautiful all in all it's a great gun a few little kinks that need fixed but it's a good gun for the money
Conclusion: It has some little problems nothing big i really like this gun but i think you will need to fix some little things on it it's a good gun for 350 bucks
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdwmma Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bob long alias, intimidator, shocker, ion, dragun tes, bko, evil omen, impulse, nerve, vice,
Marker Setup: dangerous powers threshold, invert barrel, torque hopper. ape board, gourilla air 48ci 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
board made by ape they just came out and are limited,this board lets you control your marker alot more than stock
Strengths: Fast, Cheap, Nice milling, Trigger
Weaknesses: No weaknesses at all but stock asa is hard to flip.
Review: I got the marker and opened it up and yea it came with a really nice allen key set and looked great. I played with it for a while and liked it but for some reason I wanted something different so I bought a bob long dont get me wrong they make good guns but when i usedit there was always something wrong so I ended up using the threshold anyways I have used it a ton and never had a problem with it. But . they are nice I dont think ill own any thing else.
Conclusion: One really important thing to remember that i just learned was when you order you marker order some dow 55 it is the lube that they recomend for it but thats not just because they want you to buy there product because dow 55 isnt even made from them,it swells the orings which believe it or not that is what you want with this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blitz121 Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray-Old School single trigger very little maintenance though.
Spyder Sonix(older)- Double Trigger but still a mech
03 black magic Autococker- I love WGP but I gotta hand it to DP
Marker Setup: 68/4500 Tank
Vents goggle
Stock Barrel
Stock Gun
Vlocity Jr Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Heard the Magnet trigger kit helps a bit. I will keep you posted on what I think about that(don't have the part yet)
Strengths: Electric
RAPS (Lifesaver)
Fast
Milling
Stock Reg
Weaknesses: Rare
Dipswitch
Review: What is there to say about this gun? I love it. So we will start with the good. Ever since DP started Shipping out guns I have loved their selection. Finally I got my hands on a threshold! First off, cost I paid $349.99 for this gun and opening the box I could have sworn it was $700+. It looks as if right out of the box it has been upgraded. The RAPS Quick disconnect is a lifesaver a flip and its on, a flip and its off.

The bad
The only things about this gun that I would like to see is one a new trigger. This trigger does rock but it has one downfall. It feels iffy. I got used to it so it is alright.
Conclusion: This is a great add-on to the DP family I love their guns and hope to get a revi when I get the money for it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

meMYSELFnI Friday, July 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Shockers
quest
any single tube marker
Marker Setup: Threshold
Fasta
68/45 hp assult reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Could use a new board to help with bounce
Trigger style options
Strengths: Min kick
Weight
Simplicity
Speed
Cosmetics
Efficiency (1500 min on 68/45 on mine)
Limited
Weaknesses: Aftermarket support (not needed, but would be nice)
Review: I bought this marker last year from a preorder. One of the first runs, and have had it my primary marker since then. When I first got this marker everything was perfect from the weight distribution, efficiency, feel, speed, and consistency. I've had 1 problem with this marker in all the time that I've used it. The problem was the #3 oring on the bolt. After you have used the marker for a while, the #3 oring wears and stops sealing against the body. This seems to be the only downfall to the design of the Threshold. DP made the oring a special size that isn't readily available without special ordering. With the fail of this oring sealing, it'll stop the bolt from cycling. Since then I've found a couple fixes that should make this problem none existent. Either replace the oring with a 2 x 16mm oring or do what I've been calling a the teflon mod. Remove the oring and wrap 1/2 teflon about 2x in the #3 oring slot. Then just put a tank oring in there. Works better than stock and better than the 2 x 16mm oring.

That is the only thing that has gone wrong with my marker. Almost 1 yr and marker still shoots and looks like new.

Efficiency is great. I typically get a min of 1500 off my 68/45 HP tank. My #'s are usually about high 1600 to 1700 shooting at 280fps. My numbers are higher than most. Could be the lube I use or how I maintain the orings.

The Threshold isn't then most quiet marker out but it's not the loudest either.

If you need this for tourny play you will have to buy a universal board for it. Since the noid is unique and made in house by DP, most boards won't work with this marker. You will need to contact DP to know what additionally will be needed to hook up a aftermarket board. It's the only way to get this thing not to bounce. If you adjust the trigger you can almost completely eliminate bounce but not worth playing and getting docked points if the ref checks.

2 moving parts. Trigger and bolt. Maintenance on thing literally takes less then 5 min. That's cleaning the HPR too. For after a day of play maintenance less than 2 min and your done. 1 allen to remove the back cap, slide out bolt, wipe bolt, relube bolt, slide bolt in and screw backcap back on. Easy!

Shooting this marker is great. Nearly no kick at all lets you rip a steady stream of paint all in the same location. The barrel is very consistent. I have a barrel kit and still use the stock over it. Shoots as good as my barrel kit and looks better too. The .690 barrel lets you shoot most paint out on the market.
Last big pluses - RAPS (lever asa best on market imo) Clamping feedneck that holds all the loaders I've tried. Vlocity, halo, fasta. The 2 vlocity jrs I tried 1 fit really nice the other didn't. Don't know if the one that didn't was unique or if the one that fit was???
Conclusion: With the lack of aftermarket parts available I can't mark this a 10. For me a new board just means the means to adjust bounce.
I honestly think that this marker is one of the best on the market. The ease of maintenance and simplicity of the design will give you more time on the field and less time off repairs your marker. Easy enough for beginners to do.
Efficiency - is good enough for those woods/scenario games.

At less than $550 I paid for mine, I would HIGHLY recommend this marker for intermediate to pro players. There are few markers I would choose to shoot over the Threshold and even less I would want to own over it. None of which are even close to the price of the Threshold.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 4th, 2008 at 12:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Capn Red Legs Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
F7, F8, Shocker
Marker Setup: DP F8 Ocean Blue
Freak
Vlocity Loader w/Gangstar chip
DXS 68ci/4500psi

A FREAKISHLY light-weight setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is ok stock, maybe a barrel kit. I prefer the Freak or Redz
Strengths: Fast
Light
easy to clean
Weaknesses: In review
Review: This gun is sweet! It really does what it says it will do right out of the box. The stock barrel is a bit loud for my taste, and is not as accurate as a Freak, but it does fine.

I really do not like the POP sound made with the stock barrel. Put your Freak on and it is better, but not gone.

The other problem I have with this gun is when it gets dirty or dries up on the bolt. Let me explain:

By design, this gun will use up lubricant pretty fast, which is ok because it is reletively inexpensive. I have yet to make it a full day without having to take it apart and re-lube just so it will cycle. When it has a fresh lube, I think there is nothing in its price range that can come close to touching its performance, efficiency,and overall feel.

When clean and functioning, I love this gun. I used to play with a Shocker so it has a lot of the same kind of feel to it, just lighter and more efficient.

It is not a real problem having to lube a lot because it take all of 3 seconds to completely disassemble this gun. One screw and its out. So, stripping and lubing take about 1 min. Not that much of a hassel except when it dries up on you during a game!


Conclusion: I like the price tag at $550 and nothing in that range can even come close. If you want a gun with all of its features and do not want to worry about the lubing problem, get an F8 or F7. They are essentially the same in every performace aspect but operate with FASOR system, which is even more air efficient!

Shoot one and decide for yourself, but I warn you......If you shoot one, you will walk away with it!

It gets a 9 because of its performance, price and weight. I deducted 1 pt. for the lubing thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BC_07 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Hybrid Fusion, mini invert (kinda)
Marker Setup: -Dragon Threshold
-68/4500 crossfire
-stinger grips
-Shocktech reg
-Fibur barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel (Duh!)
-Reg... stock is ok after u break it in but who waits 4 that huh?
-Grips... stock r kinda think but not horrible
Strengths: -trigger... tight
-lack of a spring... no wearing out YESSS!
-Sexy factor
-balance
Weaknesses: -Weight... a little heavy
-loud... only w/ stock barrel
Review: This gun used for practices instead of my A1 its a fun gun to use. It has the *power* to let noobs get to high ROF/BPS. The reg i stuck on there blended seemlessly with the anno job which is well done along with the milling. When I 1st bought it the gas chamber wasnt filling w/ enough air so the 1st shot would drop out. I found out later it was a manufacturing issue (some Kretard had put the wrong size o-ring on the bolt) a minor one but one that lose u a game in D3 (i that found out at practice thx Drew)... Good gun kinda hard to find but hey some1 is always selling if u can get ur hands on it try it out...Oh and collector stay away I want to c ppl playing w/ not looking at a paintball gun like this!
Conclusion: 9/10 (factory issue and weight r big no-nos DP but keep workin' on it)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 14th, 2008 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sflusch Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
NXT Shocker, PMR, Quest, many other guns.
Marker Setup: DP Threshold (Deep Ocean), Petty'd Alias Timmy, PMR.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed.
Strengths: Easy to tech, fast, efficient.
Weaknesses: Optical trigger prone to bounce.
Review: I've really enjoyed my Threshold. I love how light and fast the gun is. It's very efficient as well, and having used an NXT previously, I was thrilled to see even more efficiency out of the Threshold. I love the feel of single-tube guns, but I've always had a problem with their efficiency ratings, so the Threshold was a breath of fresh air.

My only complaint lies with the trigger. Too far out and I have a hard time getting a consistent pull, too far in and it bounces a lot.

I would really like to see a micro-switched board, but I doubt they're going to release anything.

That said, if your choice is between buying a threshold or not, GO FOR IT!

They're amazing guns.
Conclusion: I would defintely buy it again!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 10th, 2008 at 9:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brydude Thursday, September 20th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego7, Dms, baisicly all of the top of the line guns
Marker Setup: DP Threshold
Halo w/ v35
Pmi 68/45

Ego5(Blue/Gold)
Virtue
Matching Ul Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
When it comes out virtue, barrel and trigger if u dont like it.
Strengths: The kick(or lack there of)
Accuracy
Speed
Efficiency
Maintenance
Concistancy
Weaknesses: Opti switch(i prefer micro)
Barrel
When you get a scratch, you get pissed
Review: Well i found this gun at a field in New Jersey, at Toms River Paintball/One Shot

Paintball. I saw it and was amazed because i have never seen it before so I had to

shoot it. The guy aired it up and my first impression was, wow its light. I was shooting

around with it but i couldnt shoot paint cuz it was for sale. I was ripping on this thing so i

asked how much it was and when i found out he was selling it for 550 I was the

happiest boy in the world. I went home and got some cash and he shipped it to me(I

dont live there i had to order over the phone). I got it and was extatic. I immedatly aired

it up took it outside and shot around. I did notice that the accuracy was not the best cuz

the bore was quite large, 690. I slipped my ul on there and it was shooting dead on

every shot. The kick, well was not there. The trigger is spring but im used to magnetic

so i had to co-operate, although there is a mod you can do to put a magnet in there, not

really a mod but just buy a little magnet from radioshack and replace the spring for it.

The diasembally could not be any easier. I just got freaked out and PISSED when i dis

and reassemballed the reg and found a leak. I had to screw in the elbow to beyond

belief scratching the SH!T out of the inner reg and outter reg, then i later found out i

could have just loctighted it!! So dont make the same mistake i did. The consistancy

was fantabulous and the accuracy was greak with a ul.
Conclusion: This gun, in my opinion is the best gun out right now for that price,550. So i say 9 because of the leak and stock barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 20th, 2007 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media