paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO

Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
TECH SPECS
All Weights and Measurements Include 14” Shaft II Barrel, On/Off/Purge System, Battery etc.
Full Set-Up Ready to Go:


Length: 531mm
Height: 216mm
Width: 26mm
Weight: 906g / 1.99 lbs



Features

Ultra-Lightweight Monoform Body
Deftek Offset Feed Tube
Flush-Fitting Eye Covers
Integrated Rammer Housing
Integrated FRM
Cure Bolt
Zick Rammer and Rammer Cap
Stepped Valve Chamber and Valve Guide
High-Flow Valve
Q-Block – New 1-Piece Dual QEV block
Light-weight Aluminum Regulator Pistons
Superior Coil Spring Regulator Design
Dual Trigger Sensing Board
Duel Instrument Grade Ball-Raced Trigger
Magnetic Trigger Return
Skinny-Fit Co-Molded Rubber E-Star Grips
T-Slot Rail Mounting System
Major Tournament Preset Modes
Capped and Uncapped Semi and Ramping Modes
9 Debounce Modes
Direct-Acting Solenoid
Black-on-White Transflective LCD Display
Swivel In-Line Regulator
Lever Operated Clamping Feed
Shaft II 2-Piece 14” 0.693” Barrel
On/Off/Purge System
Lower Cyclic Mass
Less Kick
Quieter Shot
Improved Efficiency
Low Profile Break-Beam Eyes
New Clam-Shell packaging
Tool Tube Hex Key Set

Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
itzburley Wednesday, April 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 ego, etek 3, 09 ego
Marker Setup: 08 ego, prophecy, 68/45 pure energy

SLG 09, halo b, 48/3000 steely
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel
Strengths: Weight.
Speed.
Feel.
Board.
maitenacne
Weaknesses: A little on the louder side.
Review: The 08 ego is the best feeling ego i have shot, I have shot all the egos from the 05. The 08 ego has a nice feel to the hand, and for being a poppet valve gun it is still a pretty nice smooth shot compared to some poppet valves. The 08 ego is pretty loud but i really dont understand what the big deal about that is. If your getting an 08 ego chances are your not going to be in the woods just camping away, its meant for the airball field. The ego is not going to shoot like a dm at all, these 2 guns are a complete different design, both have up both have downs but i still think the ego in my mind beats the dm.

This is by far my favourite gun i have ever owned, i am in no hurry to ever get rid of this gun, it is perfect for me.
Conclusion: In conclusion i would recomend the 08 ego to any expierenced baller out there. It is just such a great feeling marker in the hands, its sleek design and wieght. If your looking to spend the dollars for this, definatly get it over spending the extra dollars for the 09
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

virus209 Monday, April 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Spyder TLR
Inteminator
custom 98
Marker Setup: All stock
empire magna drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Very light, accurate, easy to clean.
Weaknesses: None, price is high
Review: Gun is great, my first high end marker. never had problems with it. wanted the Angel G-7 but getting the ego8 is an A+. i dont regret buying it. i love the ego8 because its really easy to clean. havent had a problem with it. also havent busted a ball in my barrel. The only problem is, it doesnt have a saftey switch. When finishing a game, valve needs to be turn to leak out the air so i wouldnt shoot any one by accident: important to have the barrel plug or condom.
Conclusion: Amazing gun. easy to clean, and work on. ego8 is accurate and light.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

zeek45 Sunday, April 12th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto cocker,EGO 05
Marker Setup: 68/45
14" smarts parts barrel with ball stabalizer a (must for the bush)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Light
Shoots straight
Good on air
Weaknesses: QEV valve
Noise with out ball stabalizer on
Review: After owning 2 EGO 05 (one for my son) and putting 150 000 + thought both these marker without replacing a "o" ring i thought going up to the 08 would be an improvement on this,At first they went very well on performance this was not to last as i found out there is a problem with the QEV valve only after 10 000 balls it gave up and caused the marker to not perform very well at all ,went to the manual couldnt find this fault in the manual had to e-mail tech help at eclipis to solve the problem.(not good as these markers are ment to be up with the best) you pay good money for these markers and to only get so few rounds threw it im not very happy you would think they would at lest send these diaphrams to people who have bought the 08 EGO as a good will gesture
Conclusion: poor QEV valve design
wouldnt buy one knowing they had this fault
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dm6user Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i notice how much people lie when saying what im about to say these where the real guns i have owned since this winter.
alias intimidator
angel g7
dm6 virtue eye's
alias intimidator
dm6
ego 06
Marker Setup: black ego 08, dye ul ,45 4500 crossfire lp, xsv vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel the barrel it comes with has a big bore size. virtue eyes saves battery life.
Strengths: Light,Fast,Efficient,Upgradable,Tight, Hey its an ego.
Weaknesses: Loud thats it.
Review: I bought this ego not to long ago i was very impresed does not chop guy's i set my gun up for best efficiency and mine is quiter than many other egos out there shoots straight amazing piece of macinery. Way better than any gun i have shot or owned i was very suprised with its performance.
Conclusion: Buy it it's an amazing gun unbelivale preformanse.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

albinorhino Tuesday, September 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 bob long alias, bob long vice
2005 ego
Marker Setup: ego 8 - silver/blue
pinokio hopper
ninja 68/4500
virtue grips
cure 3 bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue grips, new barrel
Strengths: Speed, efficiency, deadly good looks, did i mention speed, weight, everything
Weaknesses: Was the price, not anymore! otherwise none
Review: by this point anyone who is into paintball, even a little, knows about planet eclipse and how amazing all of their products are. every year the ego gets better and better. the ego 8 is no exception! these guns are built to last and made to be tanks on the field. You honestly cant go wrong with any type of ego. now for my ratings

Speed: ungodly fast. i can get it up to 28+ with a rotor and 22+ with my pinokio
Efficiency: I get roughly 1200+ per fill out of mine :D
Weight: Feels like holding air, incredibly light!
Durability: these things are tanks.

Pros:
speed, weight, looks, efficiency, etc.

Cons:
.693 barrel back is a little big
Conclusion: Buy an ego 8! as long as its under $550, then pick one up. they wont dissapoint you!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gotink Wednesday, November 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM6, DM7, PE Geo 09
Marker Setup: Stock 08 Ego, Dye Rotor, Guerilla Air..
Strengths: Air Efficient, Low maintenance, Shoots incredibly fast and Accurate..
Weaknesses: Kick, Noise level.. That's about it. I love this gun.
Review: Overall, I am totally happy with this marker. It shoots amazingly well and is so easy to work on. I have literally never chopped a ball with the current setup, not counting a few barrel breaks of course. I am very pleased with the gun.
Without a doubt, I feel that the Ego that I own is one of the best and most reliable markers in the sport. There are plenty of great ones but I don't see them getting too much better. PE never ceases to amaze me though.
Conclusion: At today's prices, you cannot go wrong with the Ego 08. I'd like to try out the 10 but am happy with what I have.. I'd highly recommend P.E. markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballing93 Tuesday, April 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM8 (my friends) LUXE (team mates gun) 09 ego (friends gun)
Marker Setup: All stock 08 ego Halo loader and 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing mabey a new barrel
Strengths: Claping feedneck
LCD screen
light as hell
fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Absolutly nothing
Review: I have now used this gun for 6 months and have to say it is the best gun i have owned its absoulutly flawless in every single way. It shoots ropes.fast light. Planet eclipse really set the bar on this one. All i can say now is BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT
Conclusion: Great gun recomend it for anyone with some experiance under his/her belt

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pballjunkie08 Monday, October 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 7
Marker Setup: Ego 08 w/ laser eyes and virtue board. Vlocity/72/4500 pure energy tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Laser eyes/stiffi barrel
Strengths: Fast/ accurate/ smooth/ Light/ moveable
Weaknesses: Barrel can melt together
Review: Overall I give this gun a 10/10 starts. It is amazing. Price has dropped down to $900 some and if I were you I would get it now. AMAZING marker. Great for tournaments or just regular play. No problems with it. I have played with this gun about 20 times and every single time it has shot perfectly. Virtue is not needed but it is amazing with the ego 08.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. It is simpily amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdub949 Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Vice
Marker Setup: 08 Ego,VL Velocity,68/4500

SI Ion , Qev, 14 inCP one piece barel, Reloader B, 64/45 tank, NDZ on/off asa, Clamping feed neck, warrior bolt,dye sticky
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit but stock isn't horrible
Strengths: Speed,Weight,
Weaknesses: None
Review: THIS GUN ROCKS, it is a verry fast gun and it is verry light only weighing only 2 pounds. If you have the money go out and get this gun you wont be dissapointed. If you dont have the money you can get a bob long vice for about 800 wich is also a great gun but no where near the ego its just a verry great gun. Jack Woods is a genuis when he designed these guns.the stock barrel is a decent barrel but if your not playing rec ball you deff want to get a barrel kit.
Conclusion: Buy this gun you wont be sorry
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

.:LAS:. Tuesday, June 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 ego, 09 ego
Marker Setup: 08 ego, white reloader b, DXS 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
literally nothing
Strengths: light
sexy
FAST
no kick
Weaknesses: A little loud when you first get it
Review: Ok, first off i want to say that i didnt just get this gun 5 minutes ago and then write a review on it saying how its the best gun. I waited a couple month of playing with this gun every weekend to write a review so here it goes. When i got the gun i noticed how slim and light it was out of the box. So the next day i had a tournament, i was a little scetched out because it a tournament and its my first time using the gun and i didnt know what to expect. I was so amazed at this gun. Straight of the box it rips. No chops whatsoever, straight up accuracy with stock barrel using formula 13(ok paint). I felt as if my game play had improved ALOT by this gun and i was very happy to be the owner of an 08 ego(a gun ive wanted for a long time). This being my first ego i cant see myself shooting any other gun(except a luxe, i mean who wouldnt haha) this gun is an A+++++ gun. Why do you think all the pros choose planet eclipse, huh.
Conclusion: This gun truly blew me away, im outstanded by it. Ive been using this gun for about 3 mounths and let me tell you its been great. For me i used to have a pm8(nightmare), and it seems it was in the shop more than on the field. Now that i have an ego its so great to know that every weekend when i pull it out of my bag, put the loader and tank on and gas it up, it will work no matter what, great job planet eclipse, A++++++.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media